2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
4. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
5. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 21, 26 & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abouzied et al (Pub No. US 2024/0178795), in view of Rajavi et al (Pub No. US 2022/0011352) and further in view of Reggiannini et al (Pub No. US 2023/0421199).
Regarding claim 1, Abouzied et al discloses wireless circuitry (Fig. 1 & 4) comprising: a radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Amplifier-254); a mixer coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Mixer-130 connected to amplifierAmplifier-254); and configured to receive an oscillating signal (Fig. 4: Oscillator providing LO signal 306 to the mixer-130); and a power detection circuit having an input port coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Power detector-402 & control ckt-404 input coupled to the amplifier-254) and having a common mode input port, different than the input port (Fig. 4: Circuit having tuning input 308 different than input signal- 302 & Para. 67 & 77), configured to receive a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal (Para. 99: The tuning circuitry 134 can reduce the LO leakage from the mixer circuit 130. System input receives a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal and reduce/ cancel the common mode leakage signals) & (Para. 104: cancelation of LO leakage from the applied current) & (Para. 82 & 104 & Fig. 10: Calibrate the mixer operation- adjust leakage based on the power detection).
Abouzied et al is silent regarding common mode cancellation input port.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rajavi et al discloses a common mode cancellation input port for common mode power adjustment (Fig. 2 & Para. 28-30: The common mode input RFp/RFn measure common mode power. The power measuring ckt-205 subtracts the common mode power to cancel any common mode power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the differential RF power detector of Rajavi’s disclosure with the, wireless circuit system oscillation and calibration process as taught by Abouzied. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting power in the common mode circuit to achieve better quality signals and eliminate any power loss in the system.
Abouzied et al is also silent regarding a transformer coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer and a power detection circuit coupled to the transformer.
Reggiannini et al discloses a transformer coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer (Fig. 1: A transformer-11 connected between an amplifier-PA-12 and a mixer-23a/b) and a power detection circuit coupled to the transformer (Para. 106 & Fig. 1: leakage compensation circuit 7 with leakage observation circuit 31-power detector connected to the transformer-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power detector with power amplifier to determine power leakage in the system to adjust the system for optimum signal control.
Regarding claim 10, Abouzied et al discloses the power detection circuit comprises: a first input transistor having a gate terminal coupled to the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6-7 & Para. 87-89: transistor with gate terminal); a second input transistor having a gate terminal coupled to the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6-7 & Para. 87: transistor input/ output with gate terminal); a replica input transistor; a first load transistor coupled in series with the first and second input transistors; a second load transistor coupled in series with the replica input transistor (Fig. 6-7: replica & load transistor-multiple transistor in the circuitry).
Regarding claim 11, Abouzied et al discloses the replica input transistor has a gate terminal coupled to the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6-7: replica transistor in the circuitry).
Regarding claim 21, Abouzied et al discloses a method of operating wireless circuitry (Fig. 1 & 4) comprising: a radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Amplifier-254); a mixer coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Mixer-130 connected to amplifierAmplifier-254); and configured to receive an oscillating signal (Fig. 4: Oscillator providing LO signal 306 to the mixer-130); and a power detection circuit having an input port coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Power detector-402 & control ckt-404 input coupled to the amplifier-254) and having a common mode input port, different than the input port (Fig. 4: Circuit having tuning input 308 different than input signal- 302 & Para. 67 & 77), configured to receive a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal (Para. 99: The tuning circuitry 134 can reduce the LO leakage from the mixer circuit 130. System input receives a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal and reduce/ cancel the common mode leakage signals) & (Para. 104: cancelation of LO leakage from the applied current) & (Para. 82 & 104 & Fig. 10: Calibrate the mixer operation- adjust leakage based on the power detection).
Abouzied et al is silent regarding common mode cancellation input port.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rajavi et al discloses a common mode cancellation input port for common mode power adjustment (Fig. 2 & Para. 28-30: The common mode input RFp/RFn measure common mode power. The power measuring ckt-205 subtracts the common mode power to cancel any common mode power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the differential RF power detector of Rajavi’s disclosure with the, circuit oscillation and calibration system as taught by Abouzied. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting power in the common mode circuit to achieve better quality signals and eliminate any power loss in the system.
Abouzied et al is also silent regarding a transformer coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer and a power detection circuit coupled to the transformer.
Reggiannini et al discloses a transformer coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer (Fig. 1: A transformer-11 connected between an amplifier-PA-12 and a mixer-23a/b) and a power detection circuit coupled to the transformer (Para. 106 & Fig. 1: leakage compensation circuit 7 with leakage observation circuit 31-power detector connected to the transformer-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power detector with power amplifier to determine power leakage in the system to adjust the system for optimum signal control.
Regarding claim 26, Abouzied et al discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more antennas (Fig. 1 & 4): a radio-frequency amplifier coupled to the antenna (Fig. 4: Amplifier-254 to antenna); a mixer coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Mixer-130 connected to amplifierAmplifier-254); and configured to receive an oscillating signal (Fig. 4: Oscillator providing LO signal 306 to the mixer-130); and a power detection circuit having an input port coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier (Fig. 4: Power detector-402 & control ckt-404 input coupled to the amplifier-254) and having a common mode input port, different than the input port (Fig. 4: Circuit having tuning input 308 different than input signal- 302 & Para. 67 & 77), configured to receive a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal (Para. 99: The tuning circuitry 134 can reduce the LO leakage from the mixer circuit 130. System input receives a common mode leakage signal associated with the oscillating signal and reduce/ cancel the common mode leakage signals) & (Para. 104: cancelation of LO leakage from the applied current) & (Para. 82 & 104 & Fig. 10: Calibrate the mixer operation- adjust leakage based on the power detection).
Abouzied et al is silent regarding common mode cancellation input port.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rajavi et al discloses a common mode cancellation input port for common mode power adjustment (Fig. 2 & Para. 28-30: The common mode input RFp/RFn measure common mode power. The power measuring ckt-205 subtracts the common mode power to cancel any common mode power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the differential RF power detector of Rajavi’s disclosure with the, wireless circuit system oscillation and calibration process as taught by Abouzied. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting power in the common mode circuit to achieve better quality signals and eliminate any power loss in the system.
Abouzied et al is also silent regarding a power detection circuit coupled to the mixer.
Reggiannini et al discloses a transformer coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer (Fig. 1: A transformer-11 connected between an amplifier-PA-12 and a mixer-23a/b) and a power detection circuit coupled to the mixer (Para. 106 & Fig. 1: leakage compensation circuit 7 with leakage observation circuit 31-power detector connected to the mixer23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power detector with power amplifier to determine power leakage in the system to adjust the system for optimum signal control.
Regarding claim 27, Abouzied et al discloses the power detection circuit comprises: a first input transistor having a gate terminal coupled to the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6-7 & Para. 87-89: transistor with gate terminal); a second input transistor having a gate terminal coupled to the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6-7 & Para. 87: transistor input/ output with gate terminal); a third input transistor having a gate terminal coupled to the second port of the power detector (Fig. 6-7 & Para. 87); a first load transistor coupled in series with the first and second input transistors; and a second load transistor coupled in series with the third input transistor (Fig. 6-7: load transistor-multiple transistors in the circuitry).
Claims 2-9 & 22-25 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abouzied et al (Pub No. US 2024/0178795), in view of Rajavi et al (Pub No. US 2022/0011352), in view of Reggiannini et al (Pub No. US 2023/0421199) and further in view of Yu et al (Pub No. US 2013/0040695).
Regarding claim 2, Abouzied et al is silent regarding a transformer having a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and having a second coil coupled to the mixer.
Yu et al discloses a transformer having a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and having a second coil coupled to the mixer (Fig. 2: Transformer first coil-238 coupled to the amplifier-220 and second coil-236 coupled to the mixer-216a/b & Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transformer with amplifier and mixer to process signals properly.
Regarding claim 3, Abouzied et al discloses a first capacitor coupled between a first output or input terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 2: Power detector with capacitor 402*).
Abouzied is silent regarding a second capacitor coupled between a second output or input terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and the input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses a second capacitor coupled between a second output or input terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: & Abstract: first and 2nd capacitor at output or input terminal of the amplifier and the input port of the power detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 4, Abouzied is silent regarding a third capacitor coupled between the first capacitor and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit; and a fourth capacitor coupled between the second capacitor and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses a third capacitor coupled between the first capacitor and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit; and a fourth capacitor coupled between the second capacitor and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: multiple capacitors & Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 5, Abouzied is silent regarding a third capacitor coupled between a first terminal of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit; and a fourth capacitor coupled between a second terminal of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses a third capacitor coupled between a first terminal of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit; and a fourth capacitor coupled between a second terminal of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: multiple capacitors & Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 6, Abouzied is silent regarding a third capacitor coupled between a center tap of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses a third capacitor coupled between a center tap of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: multiple capacitors & Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 7 & 8, Abouzied is silent regarding the third capacitor has an adjustable capacitance that is trimmed to cancel out a common mode leakage signal/ only partially cancel out a common mode leakage signal received at the input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses the third capacitor that is trimmed to cancel out a common mode leakage signal/ only partially cancel out a common mode leakage signal received at the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: multiple capacitors & Abstract & Para. 22-24: common mode rejection circuit with capacitor). Examiner taking official notice that circuitry can use adjustable capacitance to adjust calavance level in the circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 9, Abouzied et al discloses a resistor coupled between a center tap of the second coil and the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit, wherein the resistor trimmed to fully cancel out or only partially cancel out a common mode leakage signal received at the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 6: a resistor coupled between a center tap and the common mode cancellation input). Examiner taking official notice that resistor can be adjustable resister. Using adjustable register to adjusting the resistance in the circuit to control the power properly in the RF device.
Regarding claim 22, Abouzied et al is silent regarding a transformer, coupling signals between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer, wherein the transformer has a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and a second coil coupled to the mixer.
Yu et al discloses a transformer, coupling signals between the radio-frequency amplifier and the mixer, wherein the transformer has a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and a second coil coupled to the mixer (Fig. 2: Transformer first coil-238 coupled to the amplifier-220 and second coil-236 coupled to the mixer-216a/b & Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transformer with amplifier and mixer to process signals properly.
Regarding claim 23, Abouzied et al discloses a first capacitor coupled between a first output or input terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and the input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 2: Power detector with capacitor 402*).
Abouzied is silent regarding a first pair of capacitors, coupling signals at an input or output of the radio- frequency amplifier to the power detection circuit; and with a second pair of capacitors, coupling signals from the first pair of capacitors to the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses a first pair of capacitors, coupling signals at an input or output of the radio- frequency amplifier to the power detection circuit; and with a second pair of capacitors, coupling signals from the first pair of capacitors to the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: & Abstract: first and 2nd pair of capacitors at output or input terminal of the amplifier and the input port of the power detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 24, Abouzied is silent regarding with first capacitors, coupling signals across the first coil of the transformer to the power detection circuit; and with one or more second capacitors, coupling signals from the second coil of the transformer to the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit.
Rajavi et al discloses with first capacitors, coupling signals across the first coil of the transformer to the power detection circuit; and with one or more second capacitors, coupling signals from the second coil of the transformer to the common mode cancellation input port of the power detection circuit (Fig. 1: multiple capacitors & Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the capacitor with amplifier and power detector circuit to control power properly.
Regarding claim 25, Claim 25 corresponds to claim 5 & 7 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 28, Abouzied et al is silent regarding a transformer having a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and a second coil coupled to the mixer; a pair of capacitors coupled between the first coil and the first port of the power detector; and one or more additional capacitors coupled between the transformer and the second port of the power detector.
Yu et al discloses a transformer having a first coil coupled to the radio-frequency amplifier and a second coil coupled to the mixer; a pair of capacitors coupled between the first coil and the first port of the power detector; and one or more additional capacitors coupled between the transformer and the second port of the power detector (Fig. 2: Transformer first coil-238 coupled to the amplifier-220 and second coil-236 coupled to the mixer-216a/b & Para. 37 & Fig. 6: a pair of capacitors & additional capacitors in the circuit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transformer with amplifier and mixer to process signals properly.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abouzied et al (Pub No. US 2024/0178795), in view of Rajavi et al (Pub No. US 2022/0011352), in view of Reggiannini et al (Pub No. US 2023/0421199) and further in view of Ranta et al (Pub No. US 2020/0007088).
Regarding claim 12, Abouzied et al is silent regarding the first input transistor has a first transistor size, wherein the second input transistor has a second transistor size equal to the first transistor size, and wherein the replica input transistor has a third transistor size greater than the first transistor size.
Ranta et al discloses the first input transistor has a first transistor size, wherein the second input transistor has a second transistor size equal to the first transistor size, and wherein the replica input transistor has a third transistor size greater than the first transistor size (Para. 182: Multiple transistor size can be equal or different- small/ larger transistor for voltage-controlled circuit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transistor of multiple different size to function the circuit properly to adjust voltage.
Another Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Another prior art, Song et al (US 2016/0365859) discloses a transceiver integrated circuit includes a Digital Baseband (DBB) portion. RF transceiver is transmitting, a stream of digital values output by the DBB portion is supplied to a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) 5of a transmit chain. The transmit chain includes the DAC, a Baseband (BB) filter, a mixer, a transformer, and a Power Amplifier (PA). The DAC converts the stream of digital values into a corresponding analog signal, and the analog signal is filtered by the BB filter, and is upconverted to an RF transmission frequency by mixer. The upconverted signal passes through transformer and is amplified by PA.
CONCLUSION
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD K TALUKDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648