DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 4/29/2024.
2. Claims 1-10 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1 and 10 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: displaying skin theme for multimedia based on environment information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Healey et al. (hereinafter “Healey”), U.S. Published Application No. 20140207338 A1 in view of Hanon et al. (hereinafter “Hanon”), U.S. Published Application No. 20130176209 A1.
Claim 1:
Healey teaches A multimedia device comprising:
a display; (e.g., display or projector device par. 13; As illustrated, the operational environment 100 includes a vehicle 104 that has a group of customization components 110.sub.1-110.sub.11 and an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system 120 par. 13; a customization component can be embodied in or can comprise a surface onto which content can be rendered (e.g. projected) via another customization component (e.g., an audiovisual projector, or a display unit) par. 14; an audiovisual projector and/or a display unit (such as a vehicle dashboard, a navigation system display, or any other terminal display within the vehicle 104, or a combination of the foregoing).)
a sensor configured to detect surrounding environment information around the multimedia device; (e.g., customizing vehicle based on sensor or cameras that detect surrounding environment information abstract; Customization can be accomplished via configuration of one or more customization components comprising sensors, rendering units, lighting fixtures, or control components. Par. 13; It should be appreciated that, in one aspect, customization of the vehicle in response to certain information received from an internal or external source (e.g., a sensor, a device, a network node, or the like) can permit dynamic customization of the vehicle 104. Par. 13; Moreover or as another alternative, a customization criterion can contemplate presence of a specific occupant or combination of occupants within the vehicle 104. par. 14; In still another aspect, a sensor can be embodied in or can comprise a sonar sensor or a camera (such as a driver-facing camera, a front-facing camera, a rear-view camera, or a blind-spot camera). Par. 17; In certain scenarios, information that is acquired from an internal source (e.g., at least one sensor) can be transmitted, )
a controller; (e.g., processor par. 13; ., execution of the one or more customization instructions by a customization component or a processor therein or functionally coupled thereto, can permit customization of the vehicle. par. 35; programmable logic controllers)
and a memory storing instructions thereon, which when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: (e.g., memory 630 for storing par. 36; permit exchange of information (data, metadata, and/or signaling) between the processor(s) 612, the I/O interface(s) 616, and/or the memory 630, or respective functional element therein.)
and change to displaying a second skin theme corresponding to the surrounding environment information sensed in real time by the sensor. (e.g., changing to a second skin theme based on detected environment information sensed by a sensor par. 11; Customization of the vehicle in accordance with a customization theme can leverage customization information from a variety of sources, which can be internal to the vehicle, external to the vehicle, or both Par. 13; It should be appreciated that, in one aspect, customization of the vehicle in response to certain information received from an internal or external source (e.g., a sensor, a device, a network node, or the like) can permit dynamic customization of the vehicle 104. Par. 13; Moreover or as another alternative, a customization criterion can contemplate presence of a specific occupant or combination of occupants within the vehicle 104.)
Healey fails to expressly teach determine whether device model information is stored in the memory;
display, via the display, a first skin theme based on the determination of whether device model information is stored in the memory;
However, Hanon teaches determine whether device model information is stored in the memory; ( par. 11; In some embodiments, the integration system 100 may identify its environment 150. For example, if the environment 150 is a vehicle, the integration system 100 may detect the brand and/or model and/or trim of the vehicle from the vehicle's onboard computer.)
display, via the display, a first skin theme based on the determination of whether device model information is stored in the memory; (par. 11; The integration system 100 may communicate with a local or remote database 180 to receive instructions related to how the environment should look and feel. Par. 12; The database 180 may provide fonts, colors, graphical assets, pictures, layout information, color depth, auditory information, tactile information, or other data related to customization.)
In the analogous art of customizing a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory as taught by Healey to include model information for determinizing the theme of the vehicle as taught by Hanon, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of efficiently customizing a vehicle as desired by a user (see Hanon; par. 4, par. 5)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Healey teaches wherein execution of the stored instructions further cause the controller to: receive the device model information and a third skin theme corresponding thereto via a network interface based on a determination that the device model information is not stored in the memory, wherein the displayed first skin theme corresponds to the received third skin theme. (e.g., receiving additional theme customizations from external sources via wireless network interface par. 11; Customization of the vehicle in accordance with a customization theme can leverage customization information from a variety of sources, which can be internal to the vehicle, external to the vehicle, or both. Par. 13; customization of the vehicle in response to certain information received from an internal or external source (e.g., a sensor, a device, a network node, or the like) can permit dynamic customization of the vehicle 104. Par. 15; Furthermore or as yet another alternative, the IVI system 120 can be functionally coupled to a wireless network 160 via wireless link(s) 164. Par. 37; The I/O interface(s) 616 permit communication of information between the computing device 610 and an external device. As an example, the external device can be embodied in or can comprise a sensor of the sensor(s) 208. )
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Healey/Hanon teaches wherein execution of the instructions further cause the controller to execute a skin system, wherein the skin system includes:
an UI component block configured to construct a screen; (e.g., displaying content (i.e., constructed screen) Healey; par. 13; In addition or in the alternative, a customization component can be embodied in or can comprise a surface onto which content can be rendered (e.g. projected) via another customization component (e.g., an audiovisual projector, or a display unit).)
a logic block configured to control user event flow; (e.g., authoring a theme based on input from user (i.e., user event flow) Healey; par. 10; Customization themes can comprise, for example, personal themes or corporate themes), wherein personal themes can be authored--e.g., designed, generated, or designed and generated--by an occupant of a vehicle or a third-party, and corporate themes can be authored by a specific organization (e.g., a trucking company, a logistics company, etc.). par. 18; Accordingly, in one aspect, the scope of the customization theme can be unconstrained and can comprise any information (e.g. content) devised by an author (e.g., an occupant of a car, a vendor, an organization, or the like) of the customization theme.)
and a customize block, wherein the customize block is configured to allow a user to define at least one of a font, a color, a layout, or a shape of a skin theme. (e.g., configuring a color for a customized theme Healey; par. 23; In one aspect, a feature of the customization theme can permit composition and implementation of the customization theme. The feature can comprise one or more of an image, a video segment, an audio segment (such as sound), a video stream, a type of communication, a location, an illumination level and/or a color, specific functionality, or the like.)
(e.g., configuring font, layout, color depth for a customized theme Hanon; par. 12; For example, and not limitation, various software interfaces of various products 50 in the environment may be configured with a similar color scheme and layout. The database 180 may provide fonts, colors, graphical assets, pictures, layout information, color depth, auditory information, tactile information, or other data related to customization.)
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Healey teaches wherein execution of the stored instructions further cause the controller to: change to displaying an exceptional situation skin theme based on a specific event detected by the sensor. (e.g., displaying a customized theme based on a specific criteria that may be detected by a sensor par. 10; In addition or in the alternative, the customization can be based at least on vehicular context (such as time of day, day of week, special occasion, or the like) of the occupants and the vehicle. In certain implementations, a specific customization can be effected in response to a change in the vehicular context of the vehicle. Par. 14; In addition, the group of customization components 110.sub.1-110.sub.11 can include at least one rendering component; at least one control component (e.g., one or more electronic control units); at least one lighting component; and/or at least one sensor. Par. 31; Implementation of the customization can utilize or otherwise leverage the capability of a customization platform (e.g., platform 224) to detect time, data, and/or a tagged location (e.g., workplace location) to initiate customization according to the theme. par. 65; In one aspect, a criterion for vehicular customization criterion can comprise one or more of occurrences of a specific event (e.g., a sports team victory, a job promotion, a birthday, and the like), specific instants (e.g., such as time of day, time of week, and the like), presence of a specific occupant (owner, child of owner, sibling of owner, etc.) or combination of occupants (mother and child, husband and wife, child and parent) within the vehicle 104.)
Claim 5 depends on claim 4:
Healey teaches wherein at least some options of the exceptional situation skin theme are not changed according to a user command. (e.g., changes to customized theme based on occurrence of specific events Par. 31; Implementation of the customization can utilize or otherwise leverage the capability of a customization platform (e.g., platform 224) to detect time, data, and/or a tagged location (e.g., workplace location) to initiate customization according to the theme. par. 65; In one aspect, a criterion for vehicular customization criterion can comprise one or more of occurrences of a specific event (e.g., a sports team victory, a job promotion, a birthday, and the like), specific instants (e.g., such as time of day, time of week, and the like), presence of a specific occupant (owner, child of owner, sibling of owner, etc.) or combination of occupants (mother and child, husband and wife, child and parent) within the vehicle 104.)
Claim 6 depends on claim 4:
Healey teaches wherein the at least some options of the exceptional situation skin theme are determined based on a type of sensor or a type of combination of sensors related to the specific event. (e.g., changes to customized theme based on occurrence of specific events or specific instants that are detected by varying type of sensors Par. 31; Implementation of the customization can utilize or otherwise leverage the capability of a customization platform (e.g., platform 224) to detect time, data, and/or a tagged location (e.g., workplace location) to initiate customization according to the theme. par. 65; In one aspect, a criterion for vehicular customization criterion can comprise one or more of occurrences of a specific event (e.g., a sports team victory, a job promotion, a birthday, and the like), specific instants (e.g., such as time of day, time of week, and the like), presence of a specific occupant (owner, child of owner, sibling of owner, etc.) or combination of occupants (mother and child, husband and wife, child and parent) within the vehicle 104.)
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Healey fails to expressly teach further comprising a user interface for receiving a user command, wherein at least one option of the first skin theme is changed based on the user command received via the user interface.
However, Hanon teaches further comprising a user interface for receiving a user command, wherein at least one option of the first skin theme is changed based on the user command received via the user interface. (e.g., further tuning a customized themed user interface from manufacturer based on input commands from user par. 21; One or more of the product interfaces, particularly those integrated into the environment 150, may need to be tuned to achieve the designer's desired result. The voice recognition may need to be developed to understand the user. Par. 22; A display configured to provide visual output may need to be designed and tuned for color depth, brightness, contrast, or viewing angle.)
In the analogous art of customizing a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the theme customizations for a vehicle as taught by Healey to further include tuning design inputs by a user as taught by Hanon, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of efficiently customizing a vehicle as desired by a user (see Hanon; par. 4, par. 5)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Healey teaches wherein the surrounding environment information includes at least one of brightness, a color value, an interior material, an interior, a temperature value, weather information, position information, or time information. (e.g., surrounding environment information includes vehicular context such as time information par. 10; In addition or in the alternative, the customization can be based at least on vehicular context (such as time of day, day of week, special occasion, or the like) of the occupants and the vehicle.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 1:
Healey teaches wherein the sensor further includes an external object sensor and an internal object sensor, (e.g., internal or external sensor permit dynamic customization of vehicle par. 11; Customization of the vehicle in accordance with a customization theme can leverage customization information from a variety of sources, which can be internal to the vehicle, external to the vehicle, or both. Par. 13; customization of the vehicle in response to certain information received from an internal or external source (e.g., a sensor, a device, a network node, or the like) can permit dynamic customization of the vehicle 104.)
wherein the external object sensor and the internal object sensor are each controlled based on a type of the multimedia device. (e.g., external or external sensor controlled based on in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system par. 10; the customization can be accomplished via customization themes that can integrate with an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system and/or one or more customization components, such as in-cabin lighting fixtures, projection devices or other rendering units, information streams, or the like. par. 11; Customization of the vehicle in accordance with a customization theme can leverage customization information from a variety of sources, which can be internal to the vehicle, external to the vehicle, or both. par. 14; As illustrated in FIG. 2, in certain scenarios, the group of customization components 110.sub.1-110.sub.11 can be referred to as customization component(s) 210, which can include one or more rendering components 202, one or more control components 204, one or more lighting components 206, and one or more sensor(s) 208. The customization component(s) 210 can be functionally coupled to the IVI system 120 via one or more links 218 that can comprise wireless link(s), wireline link(s), or any combination thereof.))
Claim 10 depends on claim 1:
Claim 10 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120326834 A1 Kennedy; Sean Patrick
Par. 6; Methods and systems disclosed herein allow electronic devices to adapt their settings to changes in their surroundings. In various embodiments, the adjustments are made based on external stimuli received from the surroundings, e.g., lighting, sound, or temperature. Also, in some embodiments, the adjustments may be made based on inputs from the user or on the user's activity, e.g., a user-selected theme, a user-selected mood, or a determined mood derived from the user's input or activity.
Par. 39; In some embodiments, remote server 304 uses the environmental information for determining the desired settings for device 302. In some embodiments, remote server 304 sends the desired settings to device 302 for adjusting its settings. Alternatively, in some embodiments, remote server 304 directly interacts with device controls on device 302 and adjusts its settings according to the desired settings. For example, in some embodiments, remote server 304 can directly interact with controls for display or for sound of device 302 to adjust the display lighting, color, or volume of device 302.
US 7889063 B2 Rovik; Christopher L.
Abstract; A system and method for creating a customizable video display in a vehicle is provided for allowing a user to select what driving information is to be displayed. The system having a video display device fixed on the instrument panel of a vehicle, and an input device allowing users to choose what to view and the size the information will appear in, from a list of vehicle driver information.
(5) FIG. 3A is a front view of the selectable display portion in a display configuration where the user chooses to display one line of information in a large font setting;
(6) FIG. 3B is a front view of the selectable display portion in a display configuration where the user chooses to display one line of information in a smaller default font setting;
(7) FIG. 3C is a front view of the selectable display portion in a display configuration where the user chooses to display two lines of information, one line of information is placed above the other and both lines are presented in the default font;
US 20130044129 A1 Latta; Stephen G.
[0033] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of filtering content output of other applications displayed by a see-through, mixed reality display device system based on a theme of one or more skins associated with a location.
[0099] For certain skin visual effects like soft focus or a color effect image data may track the edges of real objects in a scene to provide the soft focus effect. In other examples such as black and white, rose colored or blue tone, and sepia tone, the virtual objects appearance characteristics are selected to match the visual effect. In some examples, real objects are tracked and image data overlaid on real objects to modify colors to appear in the visual effect, e.g. black and white and sepia tone. In other examples, the opacity filter may also implement color filter effects, e.g. seeing the world through rose colored glasses, so light from the real world view is filtered when it reaches the user's eyes in a similar manner as a color filter over a camera sensor causes a color effect in the resulting photograph.
US 20140200762 A1 SHAW; DAVID I.
Par. 52; The system may facilitate access to the stored device data to one or more users via at least one network. In some embodiments, instructions may be transmitted to display the device data on one or more interior surfaces of the vehicle 102. The instructions may include instructions to display the device data on one or more windows of the vehicle 102 or on one or more interior surfaces of the vehicle 102.
Par. 53; The system may facilitate access to the stored device data to one or more users via at least one network. In some embodiments, instructions may be transmitted to display the device data on one or more interior surfaces of the vehicle 102. The instructions may include instructions to display the device data on one or more windows of the vehicle 102 or on one or more interior surfaces of the vehicle 102.
Gormley; Joseph US 20140249714 A1
See abstract; The software component is downloaded into the corresponding portable electronic processing device, and implements a supervisory controller, a vehicle interface and a user interface. The supervisory controller provides control information that is utilized by the vehicle subsystem connected through the vehicle interconnection component to implement a customized vehicle configuration.
/HENRY ORR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172