DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7-17, 22-23, 28-30, 32, 34, and 40-68 remain pending in the application, and claims 2-6, 18-21, 24-27, 31, 33, and 35-39 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection, however has not overcome the prior art rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 12/19/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Applicant’s remarks on pages 10-11 in that maximal expansion of Wyzgala’s coiled wire spring 82 requires rotation of the central drive tube 84, the Office respectfully disagrees. As disclosed in paragraphs 73, “any torque induced in the drive tube 84 by the drive shaft 24 will be transmitted to the nose cone 86 and the distal end of the spring 82.” The elongate member (drive tube 84) does not rotate for the expandable abrasion feature 82 to expand, and instead the drive shaft 24 rotates to cause axial movement of the shaft 94 into the distal lumen 92 which controls maximum expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82. Additionally, the limitation claimed in functional, and as seen in the transition from figure 4A to figure 4B, and as disclosed in paragraph 74, “When the ablation burr 80 extends out the distal end of the guide catheter 22, as shown in FIG. 4B, the spring 82 expands into its ellipsoidal shape, thereby increasing the maximum outer diameter of the burr.” Therefore, the expandable abrasion feature is capable of maximally expanding when extending out the distal end of the catheter 22 without needing any rotation, and the rejection is maintained.
With regards to Applicant’s remarks on page 11 that ablation by the spring 82 requires rotation of the spring 82 itself, which is driven by rotation of the central drive tube 84, the Office respectfully disagrees. Applicant cites to paragraph 48 of Wyzgala that describes rotation of the drive shaft 24 (and hence the drive tube 84 and spring 82), however that is a different embodiment in which the drive tube 84 is not shown. There are many embodiments shown in Wyzgala where the drive tube and drive shaft are coupled differently, and in the case of figures 4A-4B, the drive shaft 24 is the element that rotates and not the drive tube 84. Additionally, the limitation claimed is functional, and a manually linear reciprocal movement of the at least one strand of the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of detaching the number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
With regards to Applicant’s remarks on page 12 Wyzgala requires rotation of the central drive tube 84 and the coiled wire spring 82 relative to the guide catheter, in order for the coiled wire spring the maximally expand and operate as needed, the Office respectfully disagrees. As disclosed in paragraph 74, “When the ablation burr 80 extends out the distal end of the guide catheter 22, as shown in FIG. 4B, the spring 82 expands into its ellipsoidal shape, thereby increasing the maximum outer diameter of the burr.” Thus, when the burr 80 extends out the distal end of the guide catheter 22, the spring 82 expands and increases the maximum outer diameter. Since this is a functional limitation, the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of maximally expanding without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 as the expandable abrasion feature 82 extends out the distal end of the catheter 22 as shown in the transition from figure 4A to figure 4B. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 45 on pages 12-14 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous interpretation of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (see rejection of Wyzgala in view of Pannek below).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control mechanism” in claims 1, 66, 68; and “expandable mechanism” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 66 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wyzgala et al. (US PGPub 2004/0158270), hereinafter known as “Wyzgala.”
With regards to claim 66, Wyzgala discloses (Figures 4A-4B) a tissue treatment device 80 for detaching and enabling removal of mucus producing cells from an airway wall of a lung of a patient (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – ablation burr 80 is capable of being inserted into an airway wall of a lung of a patient to remove mucus producing cells), comprising:
an elongate member 84;
an expandable abrasion feature 82 disposed on the elongate member 84, wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 comprises at least one strand (paragraphs 72-74 – combination of 82 and the abrasive plated on the outer surface of the spring coils is the expandable abrasion feature) and is configured to maximally expand without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 (paragraphs 72-74 – “any torque induced in the drive tube 84 by the drive shaft 24 will be transmitted to the nose cone 86 and the distal end of the spring 82” - the elongate member (drive tube 84) does not rotate for the expandable abrasion feature 82 to expand, and instead the drive shaft 24 rotates to cause axial movement of the shaft 94 into the distal lumen 92 which controls maximum expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82), and wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a fiber (paragraph 72 - coiled wire spring 82 is interpreted as a fiber);
a control mechanism (motor disclosed in paragraph 48 is combination with 24/94; see Note below; paragraph 74; although the motor is not disclosed explicitly with regards to the figures 4A-4B embodiment, figure 1A and paragraph 48 discloses a similar drive shaft 24 coupled to an electric motor) in operative association with the elongate member 84, wherein the control mechanism (motor/24/94) is configured to expand the expandable abrasion feature 82 until it makes contact with the airway wall of the lung, the airway wall comprising a basement membrane, a smooth muscle layer, and a cartilage layer (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – expandable abrasion feature 82 expands and is capable of contacting the airway wall of the lung); and
wherein the at least one strand 82 of the expandable abrasion feature 82, when the expandable abrasion feature 82 is expanded by the control mechanism (motor/24/94), is configured to detach a number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – a manually linear reciprocal movement of the at least one strand of the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of detaching the number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84), and
wherein the at least one strand 82 of the expandable abrasion feature, upon withdrawal from the patient, is configured to remove a first portion of the number of detached mucus producing cells from the lung while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 - the at least one strand of the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of removing a first portion of the number of detached mucus producing cells by manual movement of the user).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s control mechanism is a motor assembly, a motion driving handpiece, handpiece, or the like that cause the catheter to rotate and/or translate in an oscillatory or vibrational manner (spec. [00203]); Wyzgala’s control mechanism is a motor that rotates and axially translates the drive shaft to control the maximum diameter of the spring 82 (paragraphs 48 and 74); therefore both control mechanisms are equivalent in rotating/translating a catheter/shaft.
With regards to claim 68, Wyzgala discloses (Figures 4A-4B) a tissue treatment device 80 for detaching and enabling removal of mucus producing cells from an airway wall of a lung of a patient (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – ablation burr 80 is capable of being inserted into an airway wall of a lung of a patient to remove mucus producing cells), comprising:
an elongate member 84;
an expandable abrasion feature 82 disposed on the elongate member 84, wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 comprises at least one strand (paragraphs 72-74 – combination of 82 and the abrasive plated on the outer surface of the spring coils is the expandable abrasion feature) and is configured to maximally expand without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 (paragraphs 72-74 – “any torque induced in the drive tube 84 by the drive shaft 24 will be transmitted to the nose cone 86 and the distal end of the spring 82” - the elongate member (drive tube 84) does not rotate for the expandable abrasion feature 82 to expand, and instead the drive shaft 24 rotates to cause axial movement of the shaft 94 into the distal lumen 92 which controls maximum expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82), and wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a fiber (paragraph 72 - coiled wire spring 82 is interpreted as a fiber);
a control mechanism (motor disclosed in paragraph 48 in combination with 24/94; see Note below; paragraph 74; although the motor is not disclosed explicitly with regards to the figures 4A-4B embodiment, figure 1A and paragraph 48 discloses a similar drive shaft 24 coupled to an electric motor) in operative association with the elongate member 84, wherein the control mechanism (motor/24/94) is configured to enable expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82 until it makes contact with the airway wall of the lung, the airway wall comprising a basement membrane, a smooth muscle layer, and a cartilage layer (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – expandable abrasion feature 82 expands and is capable of contacting the airway wall of the lung); and
wherein the at least one strand 82 of the expandable abrasion feature 82, when the expandable abrasion feature 82 is expanded to make contact with the airway wall of the lung, is configured to detach a number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84, and wherein the number of detached mucus producing cells are removable from the lung while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – a manually linear reciprocal movement of the at least one strand of the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of detaching and removing the number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s control mechanism is a motor assembly, a motion driving handpiece, handpiece, or the like that cause the catheter to rotate and/or translate in an oscillatory or vibrational manner (spec. [00203]); Wyzgala’s control mechanism is a motor that rotates and axially translates the drive shaft to control the maximum diameter of the spring 82 (paragraphs 48 and 74); therefore both control mechanisms are equivalent in rotating/translating a catheter/shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-17, 22-23, 28-30, 32, 34, 40-44, 50-51, 55-65, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyzgala.
With regards to claim 1, Wyzgala discloses (Figures 4A-4B) a tissue treatment device 80 for detaching and removing a number of mucus producing cells from an airway wall of a lung of a patient (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – ablation burr 80 is capable of being inserted into an airway wall of a lung of a patient to remove mucus producing cells), comprising:
an elongate member 84;
an expandable abrasion feature 82 disposed on the elongate member 84, wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 comprises at least one strand (paragraphs 72-74 – combination of 82 and the abrasive plated on the outer surface of the spring coils is the expandable abrasion feature) and is configured to maximally expand without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 (paragraphs 72-74 – “any torque induced in the drive tube 84 by the drive shaft 24 will be transmitted to the nose cone 86 and the distal end of the spring 82” - the elongate member (drive tube 84) does not rotate for the expandable abrasion feature 82 to expand, and instead the drive shaft 24 rotates to cause axial movement of the shaft 94 into the distal lumen 92 which controls maximum expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82), and wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a metallic wire (paragraph 72 – coiled wire spring; although metal is not explicitly disclosed, paragraph 57 discloses materials used for a burr which includes metal);
a control mechanism (motor disclosed in paragraph 48 in combination with 24/94; see Note below; paragraph 74; although the motor is not disclosed explicitly with regards to the figures 4A-4B embodiment, figure 1A and paragraph 48 discloses a similar drive shaft 24 coupled to an electric motor) in operative association with the elongate member 84, wherein the control mechanism (motor/24/94) is configured to expand the expandable abrasion feature 82 until it makes contact with the airway wall of the lung, the airway wall comprising a basement membrane, a smooth muscle layer, and a cartilage layer (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – expandable abrasion feature 82 expands and is capable of contacting the airway wall of the lung); and
wherein the at least one strand 82 of the expandable abrasion feature 82, when the expandable abrasion feature 82 is expanded by the control mechanism (motor/24/94), is configured to detach the number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 (functional limitation – paragraphs 72-74 – a manually linear reciprocal movement of the at least one strand of the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of detaching the number of mucus producing cells from the airway wall of the lung of the patient, without separating the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall from the cartilage layer of the airway wall and without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s control mechanism is a motor assembly, a motion driving handpiece, handpiece, or the like that cause the catheter to rotate and/or translate in an oscillatory or vibrational manner (spec. [00203]); Wyzgala’s control mechanism is a motor that rotates and axially translates the drive shaft to control the maximum diameter of the spring 82 (paragraphs 48 and 74); therefore both control mechanisms are equivalent in rotating/translating a catheter/shaft.
Wyzgala is silent in the figures 4A-4B embodiment to a removal means;
wherein the removal means is configured to remove the number of detached mucus producing cells from the lung of the of the patient while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall.
However, Wyzgala teaches in the figures 19A-19D embodiment a removal means 574 (see Note below; paragraphs 152 and 156);
wherein the removal means 574 is configured to remove the number of detached mucus producing cells from the lung of the of the patient while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall (functional limitation – paragraphs 152 and 156 – removal means/aspiration sheath 574 is capable of removing the number of detached mucus producing cells from the lung of the of the patient while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall by applying a vacuum).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s removal means is a vacuum operated to remove abraded tissue from the lumen of the patient (spec. [00129]); Wyzgala’s removal means is an aspiration sheath that applies a slight vacuum to remove tissue from the vessel (paragraph 152); therefore both removal means are equivalent in applying vacuum to remove tissue.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the figures 4A-4B embodiment of Wyzgala to include a removal means as taught by the figures 19A-19D embodiment of Wyzgala for the purpose of reversing the flow of the fluid and loose particulate so that it may be removed from the vessel (paragraph 152 of Wyzgala).
With regards to claim 7, Wyzgala discloses wherein the removal means 574 comprises a vacuum source that operates to draw the airway wall toward the expandable abrasion feature 82 (functional limitation – paragraphs 152 and 156 – aspiration sheath 574 uses slight vacuum pressure and thus is capable of drawing the airway wall toward the expandable abrasion feature).
With regards to claim 8, Wyzgala discloses wherein the vacuum source 574 operates to remove the number of detached mucus producing cells from the lung (functional limitation – paragraphs 152 and 156 – aspiration sheath 574 uses slight vacuum pressure and thus is capable of removing the number of detached mucus producing cells).
With regards to claim 9, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 comprises an abrasive media selected from the group consisting of diamond (paragraph 72 discloses the abrasive plated to the outer surface of the individual spring coils, paragraph 54 discloses the small diamond chips as an abrasive).
With regards to claim 10, Wyzgala discloses wherein the abrasive media has a grit size within a range from about 2 microns in average particle diameter to 3000 microns in average particle diameter (paragraph 54).
With regards to claim 11, Wyzgala discloses wherein the elongate member 84 comprises an expandable mechanism 90/92 (see Note below), and the expandable abrasion feature (abrasive on the spring 82) is disposed on the expandable mechanism 90/92 (figures 4A-4B).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s expandable mechanism is a balloon that inflates for expansion and causes abrasion (spec. [00127]); Wyzgala’s expandable mechanism is a proximal 90 and distal 92 lumen that receives a drive shaft 24 and shaft 94, respectively, to cause expansion of the spring 82 (paragraphs 73-74 of Wyzgala); therefore both expandable mechanisms are equivalent in expanding the expandable abrasion feature to cause abrasion.
With regards to claim 12, Wyzgala discloses wherein the control mechanism (motor/24/94) is configured to produce linear motion in the expandable abrasion feature 82 (paragraph 74 – 94 is axially moved to control the maximum diameter of the spring 82, thus is capable of producing linear and radial motion of the expandable abrasion feature 82).
With regards to claim 13, Wyzgala discloses wherein the removal means 574 further comprises a filter trap configured to receive the number of detached mucus producing cells (paragraphs 152 and 154 – aspiration pump/filter; functional limitation – the aspiration filter is capable of filtering through the detached mucus producing cells).
With regards to claim 14, Wyzgala discloses further comprising a guidewire, wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is mounted on the guidewire (paragraph 73 – “Although not shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, the drive tube 84 and nose cone 86 preferably include a lumen extending therethrough for passage of a guide wire” – expandable abrasion feature is mounted on the guidewire by way of being mounted on the drive tube 84).
With regards to claim 15, Wyzgala discloses wherein the guidewire comprises a blunt distal tip (although the guidewire is disclosed in paragraph 73 but not shown in figures 4A-4B, the guidewire is shown in another embodiment of figures 1A-1B as element 26 that has a rounded flat surface at the distal end).
With regards to claim 16, Wyzgala discloses wherein the guidewire comprises a wire cable (although the guidewire is disclosed in paragraph 73 but not shown in figures 4A-4B, the guidewire is shown in another embodiment of figures 1A-1B as element 26 that is a wire cable).
With regards to claim 17, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 14. Wyzgala is silent wherein the guidewire has a diameter within a range of 0.005 inches to 0.100 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wyzgala to have wherein the guidewire has a diameter within a range of 0.005 inches to 0.100 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Wyzgala would not operate differently with the claimed diameter and since the guidewire is intended to reside within the elongate member 84, the method would function appropriately having the claimed diameter. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter is “preferably” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [00240]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the guidewire of Wyzgala to range from 0.005 inches to 0.100 inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
With regards to claim 22, Wyzgala discloses wherein the removal means 574 comprises a catheter, a suction source, and a filter trap, and wherein the suction source is configured to produce suction that draws the number of detached mucus producing cells through the catheter into the filter trap (paragraphs 152, 154, and 156 – aspiration sheath 574 is a catheter that is connected to an aspiration pump/filter, the aspiration pump produces suction and is capable of drawing the number of detached mucus producing cells through the catheter and into the filter trap).
With regards to claim 23, Wyzgala discloses further comprising a catheter 22, wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is coupled with the catheter 22 (figures 4A-4B; paragraph 72), and wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is configured to maximally expand without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 and the expandable abrasion feature 82 relative to the catheter 22 (paragraphs 72-74 – “any torque induced in the drive tube 84 by the drive shaft 24 will be transmitted to the nose cone 86 and the distal end of the spring 82… When the ablation burr 80 extends out the distal end of the guide catheter 22, as shown in FIG. 4B, the spring 82 expands into its ellipsoidal shape, thereby increasing the maximum outer diameter of the burr” - the elongate member (drive tube 84) does not rotate for the expandable abrasion feature 82 to expand, and instead the drive shaft 24 rotates to cause axial movement of the shaft 94 into the distal lumen 92 which controls maximum expansion of the expandable abrasion feature 82; additionally when the burr 80 extends out the distal end of the guide catheter 22, the spring 82 expands and increases the maximum outer diameter. Since this is a functional limitation, the expandable abrasion feature 82 is capable of maximally expanding without requiring rotation of the elongate member 84 as the expandable abrasion feature 82 extends out the distal end of the catheter 22 as shown in the transition from figure 4A to figure 4B).
With regards to claim 28, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises the metallic wire (paragraph 72 – coiled wire spring; although metal is not explicitly disclosed, paragraph 57 discloses materials used for a burr which includes metal).
With regards to claim 29, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a cross-section selected from the group consisting of a round cross-section (figures 4A-4B – coiled wire spring is round).
With regards to claim 30, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a shape selected from the group consisting of a helical shape (paragraph 72 – coiled wire spring).
With regards to claim 32, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises multiple strands (paragraph 72 – individual spring coils).
With regards to claim 34, 40, and 58-59, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 1. The combination of embodiments of Wyzgala is silent wherein the at least one strand comprises nitinol (claim 34); wherein the expandable abrasion feature comprises a shape memory material (claim 40); wherein the at least one strand comprises the metallic wire, and the metallic wire comprises a member selected from the group consisting of stainless steel, titanium, and a nickel based alloy (claim 58); and wherein the metallic wire comprises the nickel based alloy, and wherein the nickel based alloy comprises nitinol (claim 59).
However, Wyzgala further teaches in the figures 19A-19D embodiment of a spring metal mesh 612 made of Nitinol (paragraph 153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one strand of the figures 4A-4B embodiment of Wyzgala to include wherein the at least one strand comprises nitinol; and wherein the expandable abrasion feature comprises a shape memory material as taught by the figures 19A-19D embodiment of Wyzgala for the purpose of utilizing the shape memory effect during expansion of the at least one strand.
With regards to claim 41, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand and press against the wall of the lung airway (paragraphs 48 and 72-74 – expandable abrasion feature expands by way of the control mechanism (motor/24/94) and is capable of pressing up against the wall of the lung airway.
With regards to claim 42, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand and press against the wall of the lung airway, and wherein the lung airway has a diameter within a range from 2 mm to 25 mm (functional limitation – paragraphs 48 and 72-74 - expandable abrasion feature 82 expands by way of the control mechanism (motor/24/94) and is capable of pressing up against the wall of the lung airway that has a diameter within a range from 2 mm to 25 mm).
With regards to claim 43, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to change diameter from a first value to a second value that are within a range from 0.01 mm to 28 mm (functional limitation – paragraph 75 discloses the several diameters that can be used; thus the expandable abrasion feature is capable of changing diameters from a first value to a second value that are within a range from 0.01 mm to 28 mm).
With regards to claim 44, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand by actuation of the control mechanism (motor/24/94; paragraphs 48 and 74).
With regards to claim 50, Wyzgala further discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand by actuation of a handle (motor) of the control mechanism (motor/24/94; paragraphs 48 and 74 – motor is interpreted as the handle as being on the proximal end of the device).
With regards to claim 51, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand by actuation of a motorized driver of the control mechanism (motor/24/94; paragraphs 48 and 74).
With regards to claim 55, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 has at least one etched surface (paragraphs 72 and 134).
With regards to claim 56, Wyzgala discloses wherein the control mechanism (motor/24/94) comprises an electrically actuated driver (paragraphs 48 and 74).
With regards to claim 57, Wyzgala discloses wherein the expandable abrasion feature 82 is operable to expand driven by stored strain energy (paragraphs 72-74 - elasticity of the spring 82 that expands).
With regards to claim 60, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises the fiber, and wherein the fiber is a monofilament fiber or a multifilament fiber (paragraph 72 – coiled wire spring is interpreted as a fiber since the spring is made of wires).
With regards to claims 61-62, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 1. The combination of embodiments are silent wherein the at least one strand comprises the fiber, and wherein the fiber comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a polymer, a ceramic, and a glass (claim 61); and wherein the at least one strand comprises the fiber, and wherein the fiber comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a plastic, Kevlar®, a carbon fiber, nylon, polyurethane, and polypropylene (claim 62).
However, Wyzgala further teaches (Figures 9-11) in paragraph 105 of “using an elastic polymeric material for the expansion tube of the burr” and paragraph 108 “The proximal end section 432 of ablation burr 428 is preferably made from a polymeric material such as polyurethane.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one strand of the figures 4A-4B embodiment of Wyzgala to include being polyurethane as taught by the figures 9-11 embodiment of Wyzgala for the purpose of utilizing a material with higher flexibility and resistance to abrasion.
With regards to claim 63, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 is a component of a wire basket (figures 4A-4B – coiled wire spring 82 is interpreted as a component of a wire basket). The combination of embodiments of Wyzgala is silent wherein the at least one strand comprises nitinol.
However, Wyzgala further teaches in the figures 19A-19D embodiment of a spring metal mesh 612 made of Nitinol (paragraph 153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one strand of the figures 4A-4B embodiment of Wyzgala to include wherein the at least one strand comprises nitinol as taught by the figures 19A-19D embodiment of Wyzgala for the purpose of utilizing the shape memory effect during expansion of the at least one strand.
With regards to claim 64, Wyzgala discloses wherein the at least one strand 82 comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a round section-wire (figures 4A-4B – coiled wire spring is round).
With regards to claim 65, Wyzgala discloses further comprising a connector hub 85 and a distal end 86, wherein the at least one strand 82 is coupled with and positioned between the connector hub 85 and the distal end 86 (figures 4A-4B; paragraph 72).
With regards to claim 67, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 66. Wyzgala is silent to further comprising a low pressure source operative to remove a second portion of the number of detached mucus producing cells while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall.
However, Wyzgala teaches in the figures 19A-19D embodiment a low pressure source 574 (paragraphs 152 and 156) operative to remove a second portion of the number of detached mucus producing cells while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall (functional limitation – paragraphs 152 and 156 – aspiration sheath 574 is capable of removing the number of detached mucus producing cells while the smooth muscle layer of the airway wall remains supported by the cartilage layer of the airway wall by applying a vacuum).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the figures 4A-4B embodiment of Wyzgala to include a low pressure source as taught by the figures 19A-19D embodiment of Wyzgala for the purpose of reversing the flow of the fluid and loose particulate so that it may be removed from the vessel (paragraph 152 of Wyzgala).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyzgala in view of Pannek, JR. (US Patent 5,224,945), hereinafter known as “Pannek.”
With regards to claim 45, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 1. Wyzgala is silent wherein the expandable abrasion feature is operable to expand by actuation of a pull wire of the control mechanism.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of abrasion, Pannek teaches (Figures 1-4C) wherein the expandable abrasion feature 10 is operable to expand by actuation of a pull wire 14 of the control mechanism 14/16 (Col 5 line 33 - Col 6 line 20).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the control mechanism of Wyzgala for the control mechanism of Pannek. The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Wyzgala does not teach expansion by actuation of a pull wire. Pannek teaches (see Figs. 1-4C) a similar control mechanism comprising actuation of a pull wire for expansion of the cutter and rotation of the torque tube to rotate the cutter (Col 5 line 33 – Col 6 line 20). Accordingly, the prior art references teach that it is known that the control mechanism of Wyzgala and the control mechanism of Pannek are elements that are functional equivalents for providing expansion and rotation of the abrasion feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the control mechanism taught by Pannek for the control mechanism of Wyzgala because both elements were known equivalents for providing and would have resulted in the predictable results of providing expansion and rotation of the abrasion feature.
Claim 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyzgala in view of Springmeyer et al. (US PGPub 2012/0101428), hereinafter known as “Springmeyer.”
With regards to claims 46-48, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 1. Wyzgala is silent to further comprising a bronchoscope having a flexible trunk and a working channel exit port, wherein the working channel exit port of the bronchoscope is configured to receive the elongate member, and wherein the bronchoscope is steerable (claim 46); wherein the bronchoscope has a working channel that is 3.2 mm or smaller (claim 47); and wherein the bronchoscope has a working channel that is 2.0 mm or smaller (claim 48).
However, in a similar field of endeavor of tissue treatment devices, Springmeyer teaches (Figures 3-6) a bronchoscope 50 having a flexible trunk (paragraph 25) and a working channel exit port (opening at the distal end of 54), wherein the working channel exit port (opening at the distal end of 54) of the bronchoscope 50 is configured to receive the elongate member 60 (see figure 5), and wherein the bronchoscope 50 is steerable (paragraphs 28 and 30);
wherein the bronchoscope has a working channel 54 that is 2.0 mm or smaller (paragraph 26 — catheter 60 that extends through the working channel 54 has a diameter of about 2 mm, catheter 60 is seen in figure 5 as extending fully within the working channel 54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wyzgala to include the bronchoscope as taught by Springmeyer for the purpose of better guiding and visualizing the diseased lung (paragraphs 12 and 25 of Springmeyer).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyzgala in view of Springmeyer, and further in view of Rafii-Tari et al. (US PGPub 2019/0183587), hereinafter known as “Rafii-Tari.”
With regards to claim 49, Wyzgala/Springmeyer disclose the device as claimed in claim 46. The combination is silent wherein the bronchoscope is steerable by an electrical driver.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of tissue treatment devices, Rafii-Tari teaches (Figure 1) wherein the bronchoscope 13 is steerable by an electrical driver (paragraphs 55, 59, and 62-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bronchoscope of Wyzgala/Springmeyer to be steerable by an electrical driver as taught by Rafii-Tari for the purpose of reducing manual user error.
Claim 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyzgala in view of Bonutti et al. (US PGPub 2013/0253387), hereinafter known as “Bonutti.”
With regards to claims 52-54, Wyzgala discloses the device as claimed in claim 1. Wyzgala is silent wherein the expandable abrasion feature is operable to expand via robot operation of the control mechanism (claim 52); wherein the expandable abrasion feature is operable to move along or within the airway wall via robot operation of the control mechanism (claim 53); and wherein the expandable abrasion feature is operable to expand or move along or within the airway wall via robot motor or magnetic actuator operation of the control mechanism (claim 54).
However, in a similar field of endeavor of tissue treatment devices, Bonutti teaches in paragraph 180 that “Therapeutic substances may be positioned with a guidance device, for example a bronchoscope” and in paragraphs 234-235 that “Embodiments may be configured to utilize any type of energy, for example magnetic energy. Embodiments may include a magnet, electromagnet, and/or magnetizable materials, for example, to position the embodiments herein with a magnetic field… Embodiments may include a robotic arm. The robotic arm may include a robotic mechanism. Embodiments may be configured to position and/or guide any portion of the system, for example effector 110. The robotic arm may be utilized to remove tissue, expand, or if this is open channels to enhance drainage.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the movement of the expandable abrasion feature of Wyzgala to be controlled via a robotic/magnetic actuator operation as taught by Bonutti for the purpose of reducing manual user error.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S ADAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 07/24/2026