DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action corresponds to application 18/649,446 which was filed on 4/29/2024.
Response to Amendment
In the reply filed 6/5/2026, claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended. No additional claims have been added or canceled. Accordingly claims 1-20 stand pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11-13, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincent (US9,298,723, previously presented in ‘892), in view of Georgievski et al. (US2021/0311957, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Georgievski, Liu et al. (US2021/0064618, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Liu, and Singh et al. (US12,664,173), hereinafter Singh.
Regarding Claim 1:
Vincent teaches:
A system for external data source data orchestration (Vincent, figure 7), the system comprising:
a gateway (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note gateways);
an integration service layer that obtains configuration information indicating access protocols, communication formats, or schemas for an external data source, wherein the integration service layer includes including integration service components (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, column 19 lines 21-39, note the gateway may present standard data access interfaces to the client’s applications at the front-end, convert the data accesses into storage service requests at the back-end, and transfer the data. The conversion of the data accesses to storage service requests is interpreted as an integration service component for the external data sources; note the gateway may expose the storage protocols (e.g., iSCSI, GNBD, NFS, CIFS, REST, etc.) to access the data from the remote data store which is interepted as obtaining configuration information indicating access protocols like iSCSI, NFS, and CIFS and communication formats like REST. Additionally, when combined with the other cited references below this would be for the plurality of integration components and plurality of external data sources as taught by Georgievski below), and
wherein each integration service component is configured to communicate with external data source in accordance with an access protocol, a communication format, or a schema that is specific to its respective external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, column 19 lines 21-39, note the gateway may present standard data access interfaces to the client’s applications at the front-end, convert the data accesses into storage service requests at the back-end, and transfer the data. The conversion of the data accesses to storage service requests is interpreted as an integration service component for the external data sources; note remote data store comprise multiple volumes; note the gateway may expose the storage protocols (e.g., iSCSI, GNBD, NFS, CIFS, REST, etc.) to access the data from the remote data store which is interepted as obtaining configuration information indicating access protocols like iSCSI, NFS, and CIFS and communication formats like REST. Additionally, when combined with the other cited references below this would be for the plurality of integration components and plurality of external data sources as taught by Georgievski below); and
an orchestration component, the orchestration component comprising: one or more memories (Vincent, figure 8, note memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Vincent, figure 8, note memory and processors) configured to:
receive, via a client device, a first request for data that is accessible via an external data source of the plurality of external data sources (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store comprising multiple volumes, e.g., plurality of external data sources. Additionally, when combined with the other cited references below this would be for the plurality of integration components and plurality of external data sources as taught by Georgievski below);
provide, to an integration service component of the plurality of integration service components, the first request, wherein the integration service component is configured to generate requests for data from the external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store. When combined with the other cited references below this would be for the plurality of integration components as taught by Georgievski below), and
generate, based on providing the first request to the integration service component, a second request via the integration service component (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store);
provide, by the integration service component and via the gateway, the second request to the external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store and then transfer the data, which means the second request was provided to the remote data store);
receive, by the integration service component and via the gateway, a response from the external data source that includes the data indicated by the first request (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store and then transfer the data; note this applies to data reads which means the integration service/gateway receives the response to provide to the client); and
provide, to the client device, the data requested by the first request based on receiving the response (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store and then transfer the data; note this applies to data reads which means the integration service/gateway receives the response to provide to the client).
While Vincent teaches an integration service layer to receive and transfer requests for data, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach an integration service layer including a plurality of integration service components, wherein each integration service component, of the plurality of integration service components, is configured to communicate with a single respective external data source of a plurality of external data sources, in accordance with a protocol, a format, or a schema that is specific to its respective external data source; wherein the integration service component is configured to validate the first request by verifying one or more credentials and checking request parameters or attributes against expected formats or constraints. However, Georgievski is in the same field of endeavor, data management and retrieval, and Georgievski teaches:
an integration service layer that obtains configuration information indicating access protocols, communication formats, or schemas for a plurality of external data sources, wherein the integration service layer includes a plurality of integration service components (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0062-0064, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of storage devices; note the use of shared metadata that includes information regarding how data is organized in the remote data store which is interpreted as schema information; note the resource manager provides information from the shared metadata to the rest of the system, which is interepted as the integration service layer obtaining schema information. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent), and
wherein each integration service component, of the plurality of integration service components, is configured to communicate exclusively with a single respective external data source, of the plurality of external data sources, in accordance with an access protocol, a communication format, or a schema that is specific to its respective external data source (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of storage devices; note the use of shared metadata that includes information regarding how data is organized in the remote data store which is interpreted as schema information. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent);
wherein the integration service component is configured to validate the first request by verifying one or more credentials (Georgievski, [0048-0049], note validating the API token passed with the request);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
While Vincent as modified teaches an integration service layer to receive and transfer requests for data that obtains access protocols, communication formats, and schemas for the external data sources, Vincent as modified doesn’t specifically state obtaining a schema. However, Liu is in the same field of endeavor, data management and retrieval, and Liu teaches:
an integration service layer that obtains configuration information indicating access protocols, communication formats, or schemas for a plurality of external data sources, wherein the integration service layer includes a plurality of integration service components (Liu, [0093], note in order to access data from a remote database the schema is obtained. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components as taught by Vincent and Georgievski).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Liu because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Liu would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing schema information to effectively access required disparate data.
While Vincent as modified teaches an integration service layer to receive and transfer requests for data that obtains access protocols, communication formats, and schemas for the external data sources, Vincent as modified doesn’t specifically state checking request parameters or attributes against expected formats or constraints. However, Singh is in the same field of endeavor, data management and retrieval, and Singh teaches:
wherein the integration service component is configured to validate the first request by verifying one or more credentials and checking request parameters or attributes against expected formats or constraints (Singh, column 17 line 61 – column 18 line 2, note verifying the request is in an expected format is interpreted as checking request parameters or attributes against expected formats since the parameters or attributes are a part of the request; note performing authorization checks. When combined with the previously cited art this would be for the requests as taught by Vincent and Georgievski).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Singh because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Singh would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data access which would improve the integrity data by utilizing authorization and format checks.
Regarding Claim 2:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein each integration service component is configured to generate communications using the access protocol, the communication format, and the schema that are specific to its respective external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, column 19 lines 21-39, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store; note the gateway may expose the storage protocols (e.g., iSCSI, GNBD, NFS, CIFS, REST, etc.) to access the data from the remote data store which is interepted as obtaining configuration information indicating access protocols like iSCSI, NFS, and CIFS and communication formats like REST to access the data from the remote data store) (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note the use of shared metadata which includes format and schema information. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent) (Liu, [0093], note in order to access data from a remote database the schema is obtained. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components as taught by Vincent and Georgievski);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Liu because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Liu would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing schema information to effectively access required disparate data.
Regarding Claim 3:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the plurality of integration service components are configured to: obtain configuration information to enable each integration service component to exchange information with its respective external data source of the plurality of external data sources (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note the gateway is configured with a storage service to enable the gateway to exchange information with volumes on the remote data store, e.g., plurality of external data sources) (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of external databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of data storage devices; note the use of shared metadata which includes format and schema information. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
Regarding Claim 6:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the orchestration component is further configured to: provide, via a streaming platform, the data to a data lake based on receiving the response (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33; note customer can read files; note the files may be stored locally when read from the remote data store, which is interpreted as the data is provide to a data lake based on receiving the response).
Claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 11 is directed to a method while claim 1 is directed to a system. Therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
generating, via the integration service component, a payload of the second request using the first request and a protocol configuration associated with the external data source, wherein the integration service component stores the protocol configuration (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store; note reading data from the remote data store; note the gateway may expose the storage protocols, e.g., generate communications using the protocols, to access the data from the remote data store; note the storage gateway is configured, e.g., protocol information is stored).
Claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 13 is directed to a method while claim 2 is directed to a system. Therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 17 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processors (Vincent, figure 8, note processors) while claim 1 is directed to a system. Therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 18:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
generating, via the integration service component, a payload of the second request using the first request and a protocol configuration associated with the external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note receive a request from client’s application on the front-end for data from a remote data store and convert the data access request into storage service requests at the back-end to the remote data store; note reading data from the remote data store; note the gateway may expose the storage protocols, e.g., generate communications using the protocols, to access the data from the remote data store; note the storage gateway is configured, e.g., protocol information is stored).
Regarding Claim 20:
Vincent shows the non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: store the data in a first database and a second database (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note storing the data in the remote database; note remote data store comprise multiple volumes, e.g. a plurality of external data sources) (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of storage devices; note storing the data in a first and second database. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8, 10, 14-16, and 19is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincent in view of Georgievski, Liu, Singh, and Prahlad et al. (US2010/0332401, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Prahlad.
Regarding Claim 4:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the second request includes the request information (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33; note converting the client request to a storage request means the second request includes the request information).
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores by converting requests, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach the use of tokenized information. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the first request includes tokenized information, wherein the integration service component is configured to decrypt the tokenized information to obtain request information, and wherein the second request includes the request information (Prahlad, [0122, 0338, 0405-0406], note using tokenized information to request retrieval of an object which means the token comprises request information and was decrypted to obtain and receive it. When combined with the previous references this would be for the converted second request as taught by Vincent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Regarding Claim 5:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the response includes sensitive information (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33; note the data access requests are for client data, which may be interepted as sensitive information).
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores by converting requests, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach the use of tokenized information. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the response includes sensitive information, wherein the integration service component is configured to encrypt the sensitive information to generate tokenized information to obfuscate the sensitive information, and wherein the data includes in the tokenized information (Prahlad, [0122, 0338, 0349, 0405-0406], note using tokenized information to request retrieval of an object which means the token comprises request information; note the authentication of the user to access the information means the response includes sensitive information; note the generation of a URI or token for the object; When combined with the previous references the generation of the token would be a part of the integration components as taught by Vincent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the data is accessible via multiple external data sources including the external data source (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note retrieving data form the remote data store; note remote data store comprise multiple volumes, e.g. a plurality of external data sources) (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of storage devices; When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach determining that the data is to be retrieved via the external data source based on performance parameters associated with the respective external data sources of the multiple external data sources. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the data is accessible via multiple external data sources including the external data source (Prahlad, figures 1, 15, 16, and 21, [0067], note multiple external data sources), and
wherein the orchestration component is further configured to: determine that the data is to be retrieved via the external data source based on performance parameters associated with the respective external data sources of the multiple external data sources (Prahlad, figures 1, 15, 16, and 21, [0067, 0070-0071, 0123-0124], note multiple external data sources; note storage policies may specify types of data be stored only in external data sources with required performance characteristics to ensure the time to recover, e.g., retrieve, a file is less than a specified time. This is interpreted to mean the orchestration component determines that the data is to be retrieved based on performance parameters associated with the external data sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Regarding Claim 8:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the orchestration component is further configured to: store the data in a first database and a second database (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33, note storing the data in the remote database; note remote data store comprise multiple volumes, e.g. a plurality of external data sources) (Georgievski, figures 1 and 6-8, [0020-0022, 0029, 0063, 0072], note integration components specific to a single respective external database of a plurality of databases; note that a specific execution node may also be assigned to a specific data storage device of a plurality of storage devices; note storing the data in a first and second database. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the integration components and remote data stores as taught by Vincent);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Georgievski because all references are directed towards data management and retrieval and because Georgievski would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data integration which would improve the efficiency of accessing the external data sources by providing and utilizing dedicated modules for the external sources in parallel.
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach wherein the data is temporarily stored in the first database for an amount of time that is based on a configuration associated with the external data source, and wherein the data is archived in the second database. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the orchestration component is further configured to: store the data in a first database and a second database, wherein the data is temporarily stored in the first database for an amount of time that is based on a configuration associated with the external data source, and wherein the data is archived in the second database (Prahlad, figure 16, [0105, 0277, 0288], note migrating a file from a first storage device to a second storage device due to lifecycle management policies, e.g., configurations associated with the data source, which is interpreted to mean the first database is a temporarily database and the second database is an archival database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Regarding Claim 10:
Vincent shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the first request is associated with an identifier (Vincent, column 14 line 58 – column 15 line 4, note the use of identifiers)
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach store log information indicating any communications with the external data source, including the second request, in connection with the identifier. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the first request is associated with an identifier, and wherein the orchestration component is further configured to: store log information indicating any communications with the external data source, including the second request, in connection with the identifier (Prahlad, [0112, 0125, 0338], note log requests and responses; note the request is associated with identifiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Regarding Claim 14:
Vincent shows the method as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the second request includes the request information (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33; note converting the client request to a storage request means the second request includes the request information).
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores by converting requests, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach the use of encrypted information. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the first request includes encrypted information, wherein the method further comprises: decrypting, via the integration service component, the encrypted information to obtain request information, wherein the second request includes the request information (Prahlad, [0122, 0338, 0405-0406], note using tokenized information, e.g., encrypted information, to request retrieval of an object which means the token comprises request information and was decrypted to obtain and receive it. When combined with the previous references this would be for the converted second request as taught by Vincent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7 respectively, except claim 15 is directed to a method while claim 7 is directed to a system. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 7.
Claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 8 respectively, except claim 16 is directed to a method while claim 8 is directed to a system. Therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19:
Vincent shows the non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed above;
Vincent further teaches:
wherein the response includes sensitive information (Vincent, figure 7, column 15 line 36 – column 16 line 13, column 17 line 43 – column 18 line 33; note the data access requests are for client data, which may be interepted as sensitive information).
While Vincent teaches accessing data from remote data stores by converting requests, Vincent doesn’t specifically teach the use of tokenized information. However, Prahlad is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Prahlad teaches:
wherein the response includes sensitive information, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: encrypt, via the integration service component, the sensitive information to obtain encrypted information, wherein the data provided to the client device includes the encrypted information (Prahlad, [0122, 0338, 0349, 0405-0406], note using tokenized information to request retrieval of an object which means the token comprises request information; note the authentication of the user to access the information means the response includes sensitive information; note the generation of a URI or token for the object; When combined with the previous references the generation of the token would be a part of the integration components as taught by Vincent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincent in view of Georgievski, Liu, Singh, Prahlad, and Tang et al. (US9384202, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Tang.
Regarding Claim 9:
Vincent as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Vincent as modified further teaches:
wherein the second database is an object storage database (Prahlad, figure 22, [0314], note utilization of an object storage database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Prahlad because all references are directed towards data management and because Prahlad would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the scalability and security of the system by providing scalable mechanisms data management and ensuring sufficient privacy between various clients (Prahlad, abstract, [0011-0016, 0338]).
While Vincent as modified teaches accessing data from remote data, Vincent as modified doesn’t specifically wherein the first database is a not only structured query language (NoSQL) database. However, Tang is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Tang teaches:
wherein the first database is a not only structured query language (NoSQL) database (Tang, figure 6, column 14 lines 7-25, note the databases used by the gateway may include NoSQL databases. When combined with the previous references this would be for the databases used by Vincent and Prahlad), and
wherein the second database is an object storage database (Tang, Tang, figure 6, column 14 lines 7-25, note the databases used by the gateway may include object storage databases. When combined with the previous references this would be for the databases used by Vincent and Prahlad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Tang because all references are directed towards data management and because Tang would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in information retrieval which would improve the compatibility of the system by enabling the use of different types of databases (Tang, column 1 lines 6-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McClory et al. (US2018/0321993) teaches validating credentials of a request and verifying the format.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN J MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 8/14/2026
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151