DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
2. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 7 -8, filed January 26th 2026, with
respect to the rejections of claims 29, 30, 34 – 42, 45, 46, 48 and 49 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The crux of Applicant’s arguments is that the second subset of data and their corresponding label are stored with a second timestamp of when the subset of data that corresponds to the physical type of content was received from the one or more of a microphone, camera or global positioning system
Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of the cited references teach the acclaimed subject matter. Schwabe references teaches a plurality of subsets of data derived from chemical/biological/technical paradigm in paragraph [0085] and the Warshavsky teaches subsets of data from the aforementioned devices that have their own timestamps in paragraphs [0036], [0064] and [0042]. The statutory rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 29, 30, 34 – 42, 45, 46, 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwabe et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20220019608 ), hereinafter Schwabe, in view of Warshavsky et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2023/0092849) hereinafter Warshavsky
Regarding claim 29 Schwabe teaches a system (information retrieval system [0065]) for generating a semantic index, the system comprising: at least one processor; (a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) [0076]) and memory storing instructions that, (memory (shared, dedicated, or group) [0076]) when executed by the at least one processor, (a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) [0076]) causes the system (information retrieval system [0065]) to perform a set of operations, (FIG. 6 illustrates the operations of an exemplary method 200 for performing a search on a corpus of data objects. [0109]) the set of operations (FIG. 6 illustrates the operations of an exemplary method 200 for performing a search on a corpus of data objects. [0109]) comprising: receiving content data, (expert domains [0084]) such as “content data” the content data (expert domains [0084]) such as “content data” comprising: a first subset of data (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain such as chemical/biological/technical paradigm [0085]) such as “first subset data” which corresponds to a virtual type of content; (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example chemical/biological/technical paradigm [0085]) such as “corresponds to virtual type of content” and a second subset of data, (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example legal/government/public services/international organization/non-profit organization/academia [0086]) such as “second subset data” physical type of content; (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example legal/government/public services/international organization/non-profit organization/academia [0086]) such as such as “corresponds to physical type of content” labeling each of the plurality of subsets of data, based on a semantic context (the expert domains may include one or more semantic annotations labelling [0086] [0087]) corresponding to the content data; (expert domains [0084]) such as “content data” storing the plurality of subsets of data (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain such as chemical/biological/technical paradigm [0085]) such as “first subset data” (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example legal/government/public services/international organization/non-profit organization/academia [0086]) such as “second subset data” and their corresponding labels; (semantic annotations labelling [0086] [0087])
Schwabe does not fully disclose received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system, which corresponds to a; labels, each subset of data of the plurality of subsets of data having a corresponding label being stored with a respective timestamp of when the subset of data was received, such that the first subset of data and a corresponding label of the first subset of data are stored with a first timestamp of when the first subset of data that corresponds to the virtual type of content was received, and the second subset of data and a corresponding label of the second subset of data are stored with a second timestamp of when the second subset of data that corresponds to the physical type of content was received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system; grouping the plurality of subsets of data, based on the corresponding labels and the first and second timestamps, thereby generating one or more groups of subsets of data; and performing an action, based on the one or more groups of subsets of data.
Warshavsky teaches received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system, (receives from user system of input devices like microphones, cameras, and/or the like. [0036], [0064]) which corresponds to a; labels, (version number [0043]) such as “labels” each subset of data (subset of the metadata 314.; subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) of the plurality of subsets of data (subset of the metadata 314.; subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) having a corresponding label (version number [0042]) such as “labels” being stored with a respective timestamp of when the subset of data was received, (a timestamp indicating when the virtual content collection 310A was created or last modified [0042]) such that the first subset of data (subset of the metadata 314. [0042]) such as “first subset” and a corresponding label(version number [0042]) such as “labels” of the first subset of data (subset of the metadata 314. [0042]) such as “first subset” are stored with a first timestamp(a timestamp indicating when the virtual content collection 310A was created or last modified [0042]) such as “first timestamp” of when the first subset of data (subset of the metadata 314. [0042]) such as “first subset” that corresponds to the virtual type of content was received, (virtual content collection 310A was created or last modified [0042]) and the second subset of data (subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) such as “second subset” and a corresponding label (version number [0042]) such as “labels” of the second subset of data (subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) such as “second subset” are stored with a second timestamp (the metadata 304 can include … a timestamp, [0042]) such as “second timestamp” of when the second subset of data (subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) such as “second subset” that corresponds to the physical type of content (Leaming resources can include one or more types of educational content in the form of knowledge articles, audio files, videos, electronic presentations, interactive tests, and/or the like [0034]) was received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system; (receives from user system of input devices like microphones, cameras, and/or the like. [0036], [0064]) grouping the plurality of subsets of data, (subset of the metadata 314.; subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) based on the corresponding labels (version number [0042]) such as “labels” and the first and second timestamps, (a timestamp indicating when the virtual content collection 310A was created or last modified [0042]) such as “first timestamp” (the metadata 304 can include … a timestamp, [0042]) such as “second timestamp” thereby generating one or more groups of subsets of data; (subset of the metadata 314.; subset of the metadata 304 [0042]) and performing an action, (control logic for determining which version, local or external, of the data is controlling may be required. [0019]) based on the one or more groups of subsets of data. (subset of the metadata 314.; subset of the metadata 304 [0042])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwabe to incorporate the teachings of Warshavsky wherein received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system, which corresponds to a; labels, each subset of data of the plurality of subsets of data having a corresponding label being stored with a respective timestamp of when the subset of data was received, such that the first subset of data and a corresponding label of the first subset of data are stored with a first timestamp of when the first subset of data that corresponds to the virtual type of content was received, and the second subset of data and a corresponding label of the second subset of data are stored with a second timestamp of when the second subset of data that corresponds to the physical type of content was received from the one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system; grouping the plurality of subsets of data, based on the corresponding labels and the first and second timestamps, thereby generating one or more groups of subsets of data; and performing an action, based on the one or more groups of subsets of data. By doing so an ID mapping may provide a one-to-one linking between a local ID of a proxy entity and an external ID of an external counterpart to the proxy entity. Warshavsky [0030]
Claims 46 and 41 correspond to claim 29 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 30 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the action comprises annotating one or more elements on a display or generating an email corresponding to the received content data (the expert domains may include one or more semantic annotations labelling image and/or scientific plot. For example, when searching for patent documents, the user may specify, via the semantic query, that relevant drawings of search results are displayed [0087])
Claim 42 corresponds to claim 30 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 34 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified further teaches wherein the content data (expert domains [0084]) such as “content data” further comprises a third subset of data (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain such as regulatory/health/environment/safety information [0085]) such as “third subset of data” including at least one of weather data or news data. (regulatory, health, environment and safety information as it relates to news [0085])
Regarding claim 35 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 34,
Schwabe as modified further teaches, wherein the virtual type of content comprises one or more of visual data (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example chemical/biological/technical paradigm [0085]) such as “corresponds to virtual type of content” from a virtual environment, (Fig. 3 device, the computer-implemented method 200 may be implemented as a device [0057], [0110]) such as “virtual environment” audio data (labelled utterances [0030]); (natural language utterances [0083], [0102], [0108]) such as “audio data” from a virtual environment, (Fig. 3 device the computer-implemented method 200 may be implemented as a device [0057], [0110]) such as “virtual environment” or document data (a corpus of data
objects, for example, a set of documents. The documents may be received electronically, scanned in, or communicated by any reasonable means. [0080]) from a virtual environment. (Fig. 3 device, the computer-implemented method 200 may be implemented as a device [0057], [0110]) such as “virtual environment”
Regarding claim 36 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified further teaches wherein the content data (expert domains [0084]) such as “content data” further comprises a third subset of data(predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain such as regulatory/health/environment/safety information [0085]) such as “third subset of data” including information regarding a particular computing device (the device 10 and the database 20 may be combined. For example, the device 10 may include one or
more databases in addition to or instead of the database 20. [0064]) associated with the first subset of data (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain such as chemical/biological/technical paradigm [0085]) such as “first subset data” and the second subset of data. (predefined semantic category of a predefined expert domain for example legal/government/public services/international organization/non-profit organization/academia [0086]) such as “second subset data
Regarding claim 37 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the set of operations (FIG. 6 illustrates the operations of an exemplary method 200 for performing a search on a corpus of data objects. [0109]) further comprises: generating a user-interface; (Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058]) receiving, via the user-interface, a query, (In step 210, i.e. step a), an input channel receives a syntactic query and at least one semantic query e.g. from a user interface. [0111]) the query comprising information corresponding to at least two different content types; (audio data [0121]) and (graphical images [0121]) and receiving, from the semantic index, (semantic search index data structure [0113]) a search result (In step 230, i.e. step c), the processor further matches the at least one semantic query against at least one semantic search index data structure to obtain second set of the data objects, each of which has a set of terms that are semantically related to the at least one semantic query. [0113]) corresponding to the query (a syntactic query and at least one semantic query [0111])
Regarding claim 38 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 37,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the at least two different content types are from the group of: a person, (persons [0103]) a time, a location, (countries [0103]) such as “locations” audio content, visual content, weather, and a device.
Regarding claim 39 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 37,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the set of operations (FIG. 6 illustrates the operations of an exemplary method 200 for performing a search on a corpus of data objects. [0109]) further comprises: causing the user-interface to be displayed and causing the search result to be displayed (Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058])
Regarding claim 40 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 37,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the user-interface comprises(Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058]) a first filter for specifying a first content type of the at least two different content types and a second filter for specifying a second content type of the at least two different content types (The user may select one or more semantic categories A to Z in the query editor 120. [0100])
Regarding claim 45 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the method of claim 41,
Warshavsky teaches wherein the sensor (input device [0036]) such as “sensor” comprises one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system (microphones, cameras, and/or the like [0036])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwabe to incorporate the teachings of Warshavsky wherein the sensor comprises one or more of a microphone, camera, or global positioning system. By doing so media content can be provided to user (client) systems 912 to support the access by user systems 912 as tenants of system 916. Warshavsky [0099]
Claim 48 corresponds to claim 45 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 49 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 46,
Schwabe as modified teaches wherein the set of operations (FIG. 6 illustrates the operations of an exemplary method 200 for performing a search on a corpus of data objects. [0109]) further comprises: generating a user-interface, (Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058]) wherein the user-interface(Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058]) comprises a first filter for specifying a first content type (audio data [0121])and a second filter for specifying a second content type; (graphical images [0121]) receiving, via the user-interface, (Fig. 4 user interface designed to provide searching and displaying of corresponding search results [0058]) a query, (user supplied query [0067], semantic query [0086], syntactic query [0092]) the query comprising information corresponding to at least two different content types (content types made up data objects comprising syntactic related data objects and subsets made up of semantically related data objects [0072]) eg (audio data [0121]) and (graphical images [0121]) based on the first filter (syntactic category [0072]) and the second filter; (semantic category [0072]) and receiving, from the semantic index, (Fig. 2, (54) semantic search index [0056], [0090]) a search result (search result [0087]) corresponding to the query (user supplied query [0067], semantic query [0086], syntactic query [0092])
Claims 31, 32, 43, 44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwabe et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20220019608 ), hereinafter Schwabe, in view of Warshavsky et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2023/0092849) hereinafter Warshavsky and in further view of Rogynskyy et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190363945), hereinafter referred to as Rogynskyy.
Regarding claim 31 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified does not fully disclose wherein the action comprises generating a calendar entry corresponding to the received content data.
Rogynskyy teaches wherein the action (performing actions on messages [0750]) comprises generating a calendar entry (fig. 5C calendar entry [0067], [0338], [0431], [0564] and [0590]) / calendar invite [0130], [0364] and [0402]) corresponding to the received content data. (Figs. 5A – 9 identified candidate record objects based on matching rules [0536]) such as “received content data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwabe to incorporate the teachings of Rogynskyy wherein the action comprises generating a calendar entry corresponding to the received content data. By doing so electronic activities can appear to be internal communications based on analyzing the words used
in emails, the meeting numbers used in meeting and calendar invites, as well as determining if the email addresses match certain regex rules that may indicate that the domain names belong to the same company. Rogynskyy [0130].
Claim 43 corresponds to claim 31 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 32 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the system of claim 29,
Schwabe as modified does not fully disclose wherein the action comprises populating a clipboard with a document corresponding to the received content data.
Rogynskyy teaches wherein the action comprises(performing actions on messages [0750]) populating (other documents to build the master list of keywords [0326]) a clipboard (implementing the client computing system as a tablet [0748], [0749]) such as “clipboard” with a document (shared documents, [0061]) corresponding to the received content data. (Figs. 5A – 9 identified candidate record objects based on matching rules [0536]) such as “received content data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwabe to incorporate the teachings of Rogynskyy wherein the action comprises populating a clipboard with a document corresponding to the received content data. By doing so the electronic activity can be associated with or otherwise maintained, stored or aggregated
by an electronic activity source. Rogynskyy [0062].
Claim 44 corresponds to claim 32 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 47 Schwabe in view of Warshavsky teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 46,
Schwabe as modified further teaches wherein the action comprises at least one selected from the group comprising annotating one or more elements on a display, (the expert domains may include one or more semantic annotations labelling image and/or scientific plot. For example, when searching for patent documents, the user may specify, via the semantic query, that relevant drawings of search results are displayed [0087])
Schwabe does not fully disclose generating an email corresponding to the received content data, generating a calendar entry corresponding to the received content data, and populating a clipboard with a document corresponding to the received content data
Rogynskyy teaches generating an email (Fig. 5A, emails [0065]) corresponding to the received content data, (Figs. 5A – 9 identified candidate record objects based on matching rules [0536]) such as “received content data” generating a calendar entry (fig. 5C calendar entry [0067], [0338], [0431], [0564] and [0590]) / calendar invite [0130], [0364] and [0402])corresponding to the received content data, (Figs. 5A – 9 identified candidate record objects based on matching rules [0536]) such as “received content data” and populating (other documents to build the master list of keywords [0326])a clipboard (implementing the client computing system as a tablet [0748], [0749]) such as “clipboard” with a document (shared documents, [0061]) corresponding to the received content data (Figs. 5A – 9 identified candidate record objects based on matching rules [0536]) such as “received content data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwabe to incorporate the teachings of Rogynskyy wherein generating an email corresponding to the received content data, generating a calendar entry corresponding to the received content data, and populating a clipboard with a document corresponding to the received content data. By doing so it can process electronic activities using specific electronic activity management policies selected based on a location-based condition or a communication history to generate, update, or otherwise manage data structures such that the data structures satisfy relevant specification. Rogynskyy [0056]
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is
filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action
is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory
period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will
the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this
final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469)295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272 - 4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166