DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s corrections filed 06/18/2026 with respect to claim objections for claim(s) 4, 6, 7, and 11 made on 03/20/2026 have been considered and the objection to the claims is withdrawn.
Applicant’s corrections filed 06/18/2026 with respect to claim rejection under 112(d) for claim(s) 3-7, 10-12, and 16-17 made on 03/20/2026 have been considered and the claim rejection under 112(d) to the claims are withdrawn.
Applicant’s corrections filed 06/18/2026 with respect to claim rejection under 101 for claim(s) 1-20 made on 03/20/2026 have been considered and the claim rejection under 101 to the claims are withdrawn
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 06/18/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davydov et al. (US 2024/0260010 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Davydovdiscloses A method for wireless communication, comprising and A terminal device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected to the processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the executable instructions to perform an operation of:
determining, by a terminal device, a first time domain duration, wherein the first time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a first search space set group on a target time domain duration (Figs. 2A, B, [0027]: a SS set may be configured in a number (Y) of consecutive non-overlapping slots (MO slots) within slot groups of a number (X) of consecutive non-overlapping slots. [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein the target time domain duration comprises X consecutive slots, where X is a positive integer (Figs. 2A, B: X =4 slots); and
monitoring, by the terminal device, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates based on the first search space set group (Figs. 2A, B, [0027]: the UE may perform multi-slot monitoring by monitoring the MO slots within the slot group of the configured SS sets. [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Davydov discloses all features of claims 1 and 14.
Davydov discloses wherein the first search space set group comprises at least one of ([0034]: CAT-2 SS sets may comprise one or more):
type1 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type1-PDCCH CSS) set, type3 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type3-PDCCH CSS) set or UE-specific search space (USS) set configured by dedicated signaling ([0034]: a Type 1 CSS set with the dedicated RRC configuration, a Type 3 CSS set and UE-specific search space (USS) set),
wherein the first time domain duration comprises Y1 consecutive slots, where Y1 is a positive integer (Figs. 2A, B, [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group, where Y=2 slots).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Davydov discloses all features of claims 1 and 14.
Davydov discloses further comprising:
determining, by the terminal device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein the second search space set group comprises at least one of ([0034]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of):
Type1-PDCCH CSS set, type0 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) set, type0A physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0A-PDCCH CSS) set or type2 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type2-PDCCH CSS) set configured by non-dedicated signaling ([0034]: Type 0, Type 0A, Type 2 and Type 1 common search space (CSS) sets without a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) configuration),
wherein the second time domain duration comprises one slot (Fig. 2A, B, [0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group. [0028]: if a slot group comprises four slots, up to two slots comprise the PDCCH MO. In other words, there may be one slot comprising the PDCCH MO).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Davydov discloses all features of claims 1 and 14.
Davydov discloses further comprising:
determining, by the terminal device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein target position(s) of the second time domain duration are determined according to positions of a type0 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) set corresponding to the second time domain duration in the second search space set group ([0032]: the value of (Y) as well as the position of the consecutive MO slots within the slot group may be determined by the UE by analyzing the configured SS sets. [0033]: the SS sets may comprise at least one of category 1 (CAT-1) SS sets. [0034]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of Type 0 … common search space (CSS) sets. Fig. 2B, [0076]: 3 possible positions of the Y=2 slots in the slot group with X=4. [0077]: For the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets mod(k+y, X) in the X-slot group, y=0, 1 . . . Y−1… for the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets k+y, x=0, 1, . . . Y−1 …For a slot offset k+y≥X, it is associated with the slot offset mod(k+y, X) of the next X-slot group. [0082]: The time position of search space set category 1 (CAT-1) depends on the position of the associated SS/PBCH block, e.g., Type 0/0A/1/2 CSS sets with search space set 0… search space set CAT-1 may include Type0 … CSS sets. [0090]: the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by only considering the search space set CAT-1).
Regarding claim 5, Davydov discloses all features of claim 4.
Davydov discloses wherein a start position of the second time domain duration is determined according to a start position of the Type0-PDCCH CSS set ([0090]: if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by only considering the search space set CAT-1, an active position of the Y slots could be determined by 1) the starting slot or ending slot of the position contains any search space set. [0034], [0082]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of Type 0 … common search space (CSS) sets).
Regarding claim 6, Davydov discloses all features of claim 1.
Davydov discloses further comprising:
determining, by the terminal device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein target positions of the second time domain duration are determined according to positions of type0 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) set, the Type0-PDCCH CSS set is associated with a first synchronization signal block (SSB), and the first SSB is determined by the terminal device or indicated by a network device ([0032]: the value of (Y) as well as the position of the consecutive MO slots within the slot group may be determined by the UE by analyzing the configured SS sets. [0033]: the SS sets may comprise at least one of category 1 (CAT-1) SS sets. [0034]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of Type 0 … common search space (CSS) sets. Fig. 2B, [0076]: 3 possible positions of the Y=2 slots in the slot group with X=4. [0077]: For the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets mod(k+y, X) in the X-slot group, y=0, 1 . . . Y−1… for the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets k+y, x=0, 1, . . . Y−1 …For a slot offset k+y≥X, it is associated with the slot offset mod(k+y, X) of the next X-slot group. [0082]: The time position of search space set category 1 (CAT-1) depends on the position of the associated SS/PBCH block, e.g., Type 0/0A/1/2 CSS sets with search space set 0… search space set CAT-1 may include Type0 … CSS sets. [0090]: the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by only considering the search space set CAT-1. [0117]: Though gNB can transmit an arbitrary subset of SSBs, there is a limitation on the indicated SSBs by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1).
Regarding claim 7, Davydov discloses all features of claim 6.
Davydov discloses further comprising:
based on a target SSB changing from the first SSB to a second SSB, updating, by the terminal device, positions of the first time domain duration and/or positions of the second time domain duration according to the second SSB (Fig. 4C, [0100]: If the SSB of the UE is changed, the Y slots for CAT-2 search space set may change to a new position in the X-slot group accordingly).
Regarding claim 18, Davydov discloses all features of claim 14.
Davydov discloses wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the executable instructions to cause the terminal device to further perform:
determining a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein positions of the first time domain duration are determined according to positions of the second time domain duration ([0105]: The position of the Y slots in a X-slot group can be determined by the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group), and
wherein a start position of the first time domain duration is determined according to a start position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group); or
the start position of the first time domain duration is determined according to an end position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group).
Regarding claim 19, Davydov in view of Fei discloses all features of claim 18.
Davydov discloses wherein
the start position of the first time domain duration has a first offset relative to the start position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group); or
the start position of the first time domain duration has the first offset relative to the end position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group); or
the start position of the second time domain duration has the first offset relative to the start position of the first time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group); or
the end position of the second time domain duration has the first offset relative to the start position of the first time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group).
Regarding claim 20, Davydov discloses all features of claim 14.
Davydov discloses wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the executable instructions to cause the terminal device to further perform:
determining a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X); and
receiving, through the transceiver, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of:
the first time domain duration (Fig. 3B, [0085]: the quantity of y consecutive slots in a USS slot range 350 may be configurable for a UE 120. For example, the base station 110 may configure … the quantity of y consecutive slots in a USS slot range 350), the second time domain duration([0027]: the UE may decode higher-layer signalling comprising configuration information received from a gNodeB (gNB). The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring. In these embodiments, at least some slots of the SS sets may be indicated to have a PDCCH monitoring occasion (MO). In these embodiments, a SS set may be configured in a number (Y) of consecutive non-overlapping slots (MO slots) within slot groups of a number (X) of consecutive non-overlapping slots),
Regarding claim 8, Davydov discloses A method for wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a network device, a first time domain duration, wherein the first time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a first search space set group on a target time domain duration ([0027]: the UE may decode higher-layer signalling comprising configuration information received from a gNodeB (gNB). The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring. In these embodiments, at least some slots of the SS sets may be indicated to have a PDCCH monitoring occasion (MO). In these embodiments, a SS set may be configured in a number (Y) of consecutive non-overlapping slots (MO slots) within slot groups of a number (X) of consecutive non-overlapping slots. [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein the target time domain duration comprises X consecutive slots, where X is a positive integer (Figs. 2A, B: X =4 slots); and
configurating, by the network device, the first search space set group to enable a terminal device to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates based on the first search space set group (Figs. 2A, B, [0027]: The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring … the UE may perform multi-slot monitoring by monitoring the MO slots within the slot group of the configured SS sets. [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group).
Regarding claim 9, Davydov discloses all features of claim 8.
Davydov discloses wherein the first search space set group comprises at least one of ([0034]: CAT-2 SS sets may comprise one or more):
type1 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type1-PDCCH CSS) set, type3 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type3-PDCCH CSS) set or UE-specific search space (USS) set configured by dedicated signaling ([0034]: a Type 1 CSS set with the dedicated RRC configuration, a Type 3 CSS set and UE-specific search space (USS) set),
wherein the first time domain duration comprises Y1 consecutive slots, where Y1 is a positive integer (Figs. 2A, B, [0033]: the UE may be configured to monitor the CAT-2 SS sets in Y consecutive slots of an X-slot group, where Y=2 slots).
Regarding claim 10, Davydov discloses all features of claim 8.
Davydov discloses determining, by the network device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0027]: the UE may decode higher-layer signalling comprising configuration information received from a gNodeB (gNB). The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring. [0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein the second search space set group comprises at least one of ([0034]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of):
Type1-PDCCH CSS set, type0 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) set, type0A physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0A-PDCCH CSS) set or type2 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type2-PDCCH CSS) set configured by non-dedicated signaling ([0034]: Type 0, Type 0A, Type 2 and Type 1 common search space (CSS) sets without a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) configuration),
wherein the second time domain duration comprises one slot (Fig. 2A, B, [0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group. [0028]: if a slot group comprises four slots, up to two slots comprise the PDCCH MO. In other words, there may be one slot comprising the PDCCH MO).
Regarding claim 11, Davydov discloses all features of claim 8.
Davydov discloses determining, by the network device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0027]: the UE may decode higher-layer signalling comprising configuration information received from a gNodeB (gNB). The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring. [0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein target position(s) of the second time domain duration are determined according to positions of a type0 physical downlink control channel common search space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) set corresponding to the second time domain duration in the second search space set group ([0032]: the value of (Y) as well as the position of the consecutive MO slots within the slot group may be determined by the UE by analyzing the configured SS sets. [0033]: the SS sets may comprise at least one of category 1 (CAT-1) SS sets. [0034]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of Type 0 … common search space (CSS) sets. Fig. 2B, [0076]: 3 possible positions of the Y=2 slots in the slot group with X=4. [0077]: For the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets mod(k+y, X) in the X-slot group, y=0, 1 . . . Y−1… for the position starting from offset k in a X-slot group, the Y slots may include slot offsets k+y, x=0, 1, . . . Y−1 …For a slot offset k+y≥X, it is associated with the slot offset mod(k+y, X) of the next X-slot group. [0082]: The time position of search space set category 1 (CAT-1) depends on the position of the associated SS/PBCH block, e.g., Type 0/0A/1/2 CSS sets with search space set 0… search space set CAT-1 may include Type0 … CSS sets. [0090]: the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by only considering the search space set CAT-1).
Regarding claim 12, Davydov discloses all features of claim 11.
Davydov discloses wherein a start position of the second time domain duration is determined according to a start position of the Type0-PDCCH CSS set ([0090]: if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by only considering the search space set CAT-1, an active position of the Y slots could be determined by 1) the starting slot or ending slot of the position contains any search space set. [0034], [0082]: the CAT-1 SS sets may comprise one or more of Type 0 … common search space (CSS) sets).
Regarding claim 13, Davydov discloses all features of claim 8.
Davydov discloses determining, by the network device, a second time domain duration, wherein the second time domain duration corresponds to a maximum time domain duration of a second search space set group on the target time domain duration ([0027]: the UE may decode higher-layer signalling comprising configuration information received from a gNodeB (gNB). The configuration information may configure the UE with search space (SS) sets for multi-slot PDCCH monitoring. [0033]: the UE may monitor the CAT-1 SS sets in Y2=X consecutive slots of an X-slot group… Y2=X and the CAT-1 search space sets are monitored in Y2 consecutive slots in a X-slot group. Note: [0075] describes an option where Y=X),
wherein positions of the first time domain duration are determined according to positions of the second time domain duration ([0105]: The position of the Y slots in a X-slot group can be determined by the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group), and
wherein a start position of the first time domain duration is determined according to a start position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group); or
the start position of the first time domain duration is determined according to an end position of the second time domain duration ([0111]: there can be multiple candidate positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group for CAT-2 search space sets once the position of the Y2 slots in the X-slot group for CAT-1 search space sets is determined. FIG. 4B can be considered as the case with Y2=2. Therefore, after determination of the Y2=2 slots for CAT-1 search space sets, there are still three candidates of the Y slots in the X-slot group to accommodate CAT-2 search space sets, i.e., position 1, 2 or 3. [0112] In one option, if multiple positions of the Y slots in the X-slot group can be determined by the Y2 slots, an active position of the Y slots can be determined by a rule, e.g., the position with lowest or highest starting slot of the Y slots in the X-slot group).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov