Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-14, 17, 21, and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI et al. (Patent No: CN 109818769 A)in view of Sun et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0075864 A1), hereinafter, Sun.
Regarding Claim 1, WEI teaches,
A method for controlling Quality of Service (QoS), comprising: receiving, by a Session Management Function (SMF), first media unit control information of a Service Data Flow (SDF) from a Policy Control Function (PCF), -Page 5, Paragraph 12; Page 11, Paragraph 12(Page 5, Paragraph 12 recites, “indication information is sent by the session management function SMF to the UE according to the received control policy for the service data flow SDF from the policy and control function PCF..” Page 11, Paragraph 12 recites, “The PCF sends the SMF the control policy for the SDF”)
wherein the first media unit control information comprises a first media unit control parameter, and the first media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: a bit error rate or a transmission delay; -Page 10, Paragraph 3 (Page 10, Paragraph 3 recites, “The control mechanism of the QoS flow granularity refers to that the same QoS parameter is adopted by the data packet controlled by the same QoS flow for transmission processing. Here, QoS parameters include, but are not limited to: processing priority, packet delay, packet loss rate, bit rate, etc.”)
Although implicit, Wei does not explicitly mention,
determining, by the SMF a QoS flow corresponding to the SDF based on the first media unit control information of the SDF; wherein the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF; and sending an identifier of the QoS flow (QoS Flow Identifier, QFI) and second media unit control information.
However, in an analogous invention, Sun teaches,
determining, by the SMF a QoS flow corresponding to the SDF based on the first media unit control information of the SDF; wherein the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF -Fig. 3; Paragraph [0068] ([0068] recites, “Step 301: An SMF network element instructs, according to a local policy, or a policy and charging control (PCC) rule sent by a PCF network element, a terminal device, an RAN device, and a UPF network element to establish a QoS flow. An establishment process is divided into three stages: Step 301A: The SMF network element sends service data flow (SDF) information to the UPF network element, where the service data flow information includes QoS control information. Step 301B: The SMF network element sends a QoS profile of the QoS flow to the (R)AN device using an AMF network element. Step 301C: The SMF network element sends a QoS rule to the terminal device using the AMF network element and/or the (R)AN device, where the QoS rule includes QoS control information. It should be noted that content included in the QoS profile and content included in the QoS control information are basically the same, and both are generated by the SMF according to the local policy or the PCC rule.”)
and sending an identifier of the QoS flow (QoS Flow Identifier, QFI) and second media unit control information. -Paragraph [0069-0071] ([0069-0071] recites, “…During data packet transmission between the terminal device, the RAN device, and the UPF network element, in a downlink direction, when receiving a downlink data packet, the UPF network element performs QoS control based on the SDF information sent by the SMF network element, and adds, to a packet header of the downlink data packet, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) used to identify the QoS flow.…. the QoS profile may include a 5G QoS identifier (5QI) used to identify QoS attribute information, an allocation and retention priority (ARP), a guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), and a maximum bit rate (MBR). Optionally, the QoS profile may further include notification control information.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “determining, by the SMF a QoS flow corresponding to the SDF based on the first media unit control information of the SDF; wherein the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF; and sending an identifier of the QoS flow (QoS Flow Identifier, QFI) and second media unit control information.” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 2, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of claim 1.
WEI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second media unit control information indicates a QoS control at a media unit based handling. -Page 10, Paragraph 3 (Page 10, Paragraph 3 recites, “The control mechanism of the QoS flow granularity refers to that the same QoS parameter is adopted by the data packet controlled by the same QoS flow for transmission processing. Here, QoS parameters include, but are not limited to: processing priority, packet delay, packet loss rate, bit rate, etc.”)
Regarding Claim 5, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of claim 2.
WEI further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the media unit is a set of one or more data packets. -Page 10; Paragraph 3 (recites, “In the architecture shown in fig. 1, in order to guarantee quality of service (QoS) in a 5G communication system, a control mechanism of QoS flow granularity on an end-to-end basis (between UE and UPF) is proposed. The control mechanism of the QoS flow granularity refers to that the same QoS parameter is adopted by the data packet controlled by the same QoS flow for transmission processing.”)
Claim 6 is the Apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 6 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
WEI further teaches,
Session Management Function (SMF), comprising: a processor; a memory for storing a computer program; and a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program -Page 7; Paragraph 11 (recites,”…a communication device comprising a transceiver, a processor, and a memory. The processor is used for controlling the transceiver to transmit and receive signals, the memory is used for storing a computer program, and the processor is used for calling and running the computer program from the memory…” SMF is a communication device)
Claim 7 is the Apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 2. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 2 above which is rejected. Claim 7 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10, WEI and Sun teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The SMF of Claim 6, wherein the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter and/or a second media unit control indication.
However, in an analogous invention, Sun teaches,
The SMF of Claim 6, wherein the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter and/or a second media unit control indication. -Paragraph [0070-0074] ([0070-0072] recites, “Because the QoS profiles generated by the SMF are different, the established QoS flow may include two types…the QoS profile may include a 5G QoS identifier (5QI) used to identify QoS attribute information, an allocation and retention priority (ARP), a guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), and a maximum bit rate (MBR). Optionally, the QoS profile may further include notification control information…… In an example, when a bit rate for transmitting a data packet does not reach an expected bit rate specified by the GFBR, it may be considered that the quality of service requirement of the GBR QoS flow cannot be met. In another example, when a transmission delay (or a packet loss rate, or the like) during data packet transmission does not meet a transmission delay (or a packet loss rate, or the like) included in the 5QI, it may also be considered that the quality of service requirement of the GBR QoS flow cannot be met.” As explained above, control parameter might be transmission delay or packet loss rate etc.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter and/or a second media unit control indication.” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 11, WEI and Sun teaches the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The SMF of Claim 10, wherein the second media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: the bit error rate or the transmission delay.
However, in an analogous invention Sun teaches,
The SMF of Claim 10, wherein the second media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: the bit error rate or the transmission delay. -Paragraph [0072] ([0072] recites, “…In another example, when a transmission delay (or a packet loss rate, or the like) during data packet transmission does not meet a transmission delay (or a packet loss rate, or the like) included in the 5QI, it may also be considered that the quality of service requirement of the GBR QoS flow cannot be met.” As stated above, control parameters may be transmission delay, packet loss/error rate or the like.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “the second media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: the bit error rate or the transmission delay.” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Claim 12 is the Apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 5. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 5 above which is rejected. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 14, WEI and Sun teaches the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The SMF of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to control the transceiver to: send the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device.
Sun further teaches,
The SMF of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to control the transceiver to: send the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device. -Paragraph [0069] ([0069] recites, “…the UPF network element performs QoS control based on the SDF information sent by the SMF network element, and adds, to a packet header of the downlink data packet, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) used to identify the QoS flow. When receiving the downlink data packet, the RAN device determines, by parsing the QFI in the packet header, a QoS flow that can be used, and transmits the downlink data packet over a corresponding DRB based on the stored binding relationship between the QoS flow and the DRB.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “send the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 17, WEI teaches,
A Policy Control Function (PCF), comprising: a processor; a memory for storing a computer program; and a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to: --Page 7; Paragraph 11 (recites,”…a communication device comprising a transceiver, a processor, and a memory. The processor is used for controlling the transceiver to transmit and receive signals, the memory is used for storing a computer program, and the processor is used for calling and running the computer program from the memory…” PCF is a communication device)
control the transceiver to send first media unit control information of a Service Data Flow (SDF) to Session Management Function (SMF), --Page 5, Paragraph 12; Page 11, Paragraph 12(Page 5, Paragraph 12 recites, “indication information is sent by the session management function SMF to the UE according to the received control policy for the service data flow SDF from the policy and control function PCF..” Page 11, Paragraph 12 recites, “The PCF sends the SMF the control policy for the SDF”)
wherein the first media unit control information comprises a first media unit control parameter, and the first media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: a bit error rate or a transmission delay; -Page 10, Paragraph 3 (Page 10, Paragraph 3 recites, “The control mechanism of the QoS flow granularity refers to that the same QoS parameter is adopted by the data packet controlled by the same QoS flow for transmission processing. Here, QoS parameters include, but are not limited to: processing priority, packet delay, packet loss rate, bit rate, etc.”)
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
and wherein the first media unit control information is used for determining a Quality of Service (QoS) flow corresponding to the SDF, and the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF.
However, in an analogous invention, Sun teaches,
and wherein the first media unit control information is used for determining a Quality of Service (QoS) flow corresponding to the SDF, and the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF. -Fig. 3; Paragraph [0068] ([0068] recites, “Step 301: An SMF network element instructs, according to a local policy, or a policy and charging control (PCC) rule sent by a PCF network element, a terminal device, an RAN device, and a UPF network element to establish a QoS flow. An establishment process is divided into three stages: Step 301A: The SMF network element sends service data flow (SDF) information to the UPF network element, where the service data flow information includes QoS control information. Step 301B: The SMF network element sends a QoS profile of the QoS flow to the (R)AN device using an AMF network element. Step 301C: The SMF network element sends a QoS rule to the terminal device using the AMF network element and/or the (R)AN device, where the QoS rule includes QoS control information. It should be noted that content included in the QoS profile and content included in the QoS control information are basically the same, and both are generated by the SMF according to the local policy or the PCC rule.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “media unit control information is used for determining a Quality of Service (QoS) flow corresponding to the SDF, and the QoS flow is only used for transmitting the SDF.” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 21, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
WEI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the SMF, a filter of the SDF from the PCF. -Page 11, Paragraph 12; Page 10, Paragraph 5 ( Page 11, Paragraph 12 recites, “The PCF sends the SMF the control policy for the SDF” Page 10, Paragraph 5 recites, “one or more Packet Data Unit (PDU) sessions can be established with the core network, and each access network AN can establish one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) for each session. The non-access stratum (NAS) and the UPF of the UE map the uplink and downlink packets onto one QoS flow based on a packet filter. The Access Stratum (AS) and RAN of the UE associate the QoS flow of uplink and downlink to a radio data bearer (DRB) for transmission.” As described above the packet filter information of SDF is part of the control policy from PCF.)
Regarding Claim 23, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter.
However, in an analogous invention, Sun teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter. -Fig. 3; Paragraph [0003, 0068] ([0003] recites, “a terminal device may establish at least one packet data unit (PDU) session with a core network device using an access network device. For each PDU session, at least one quality of service (QoS) flow may be established, and a quality of service requirement for transmitting a data packet using a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to each QoS flow is configured for the QoS flow. “ [0068] recites, “Step 301: An SMF network element instructs, according to a local policy, or a policy and charging control (PCC) rule sent by a PCF network element, a terminal device, an RAN device, and a UPF network element to establish a QoS flow. An establishment process is divided into three stages: Step 301A: The SMF network element sends service data flow (SDF) information to the UPF network element, where the service data flow information includes QoS control information. Step 301B: The SMF network element sends a QoS profile of the QoS flow to the (R)AN device using an AMF network element. Step 301C: The SMF network element sends a QoS rule to the terminal device using the AMF network element and/or the (R)AN device, where the QoS rule includes QoS control information. It should be noted that content included in the QoS profile and content included in the QoS control information are basically the same, and both are generated by the SMF according to the local policy or the PCC rule.” As discussed above for each media unit, there may be separate QoS flow configured with each having separate control information.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “the second media unit control information comprises a second media unit control parameter” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 24, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 23.
WEI further teaches,
The method of claim 23, wherein the second media unit control parameter comprises one or more of: the bit error rate or the transmission delay.-Page 10, Paragraph 3 (Page 10, Paragraph 3 recites, “The control mechanism of the QoS flow granularity refers to that the same QoS parameter is adopted by the data packet controlled by the same QoS flow for transmission processing. Here, QoS parameters include, but are not limited to: processing priority, packet delay, packet loss rate, bit rate, etc.”)
Regarding Claim 25, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 23.
WEI further teaches,
The method of claim 23, wherein the second media unit control parameter is determined based on the first media unit control parameter in the first media unit control information. -Page 5; Paragraph 6 (recites, “In order to save the signaling overhead caused by the network side issuing the QoS rules to the UE, a Reflection QoS (RQ) mechanism is introduced in the 5G network. In a Reflective QoS scene, the UE does not need to acquire a QoS rule from a signaling surface of a network, and the QoS of an uplink data packet sent by the UE is transmitted by adopting a QoS flow consistent with downlink data.” As described above for Reflecting QoS mechanism, control parameter of the second media unit is based on the first media unit control information. (e.g., uplink data packet is based on the QoS attributes of downlink packet data)
Regarding Claim 26, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 23.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 23, wherein sending the QFI and the second media unit control information comprises: sending, by the SMF, the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device.
However, in an analogous invention, Sun teaches,
The method of claim 23, wherein sending the QFI and the second media unit control information comprises: sending, by the SMF, the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device. -Paragraph [0069] ([0069] recites, “… in a downlink direction, when receiving a downlink data packet, the UPF network element performs QoS control based on the SDF information sent by the SMF network element, and adds, to a packet header of the downlink data packet, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) used to identify the QoS flow. When receiving the downlink data packet, the RAN device determines, by parsing the QFI in the packet header, a QoS flow that can be used, and transmits the downlink data packet over a corresponding DRB based on the stored binding relationship between the QoS flow and the DRB. In an uplink direction, when the terminal device needs to send an uplink data packet, the terminal device may determine a QoS flow according to a QoS rule, add a QFI to a packet header of the uplink data packet, and then transmits the uplink data packet over a corresponding DRB based on the binding relationship between the QoS flow and the DBR. When receiving the uplink data packet, the RAN device adds, based on the QFI in the packet header, the QFI to the packet header of the uplink data packet forwarded to the UPF network element. When receiving the uplink data packet sent by the RAN device, the UPF network element verifies whether the uplink data packet is transmitted using a correct QoS flow.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “sending, by the SMF, the QFI and the second media unit control parameter in the second media unit control information to an access network device” of Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable the core network device to perceive the latest notification control status of the QoS flow in a timely manner [0012].
Regarding Claim 27, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 6.
WEI further teaches,
WEI further teaches,
The SMF of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to control the transceiver to: receive a filter of the SDF from the PCF. -Page 11, Paragraph 12; Page 10, Paragraph 5 ( Page 11, Paragraph 12 recites, “The PCF sends the SMF the control policy for the SDF” Page 10, Paragraph 5 recites, “one or more Packet Data Unit (PDU) sessions can be established with the core network, and each access network AN can establish one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) for each session. The non-access stratum (NAS) and the UPF of the UE map the uplink and downlink packets onto one QoS flow based on a packet filter. The Access Stratum (AS) and RAN of the UE associate the QoS flow of uplink and downlink to a radio data bearer (DRB) for transmission.” As described above the packet filter information of SDF is part of the control policy from PCF.)
Regarding Claim 28, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 17.
WEI Further teaches,
The PCF of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to control the transceiver to: send a filter of the SDF to the SMF. -Page 11, Paragraph 12; Page 10, Paragraph 5 ( Page 11, Paragraph 12 recites, “The PCF sends the SMF the control policy for the SDF” Page 10, Paragraph 5 recites, “one or more Packet Data Unit (PDU) sessions can be established with the core network, and each access network AN can establish one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) for each session. The non-access stratum (NAS) and the UPF of the UE map the uplink and downlink packets onto one QoS flow based on a packet filter. The Access Stratum (AS) and RAN of the UE associate the QoS flow of uplink and downlink to a radio data bearer (DRB) for transmission.” As described above the packet filter information of SDF is part of the control policy from PCF.)
Claim 13 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 25 which is rejected. The applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 25 above which is rejected. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 25.
Claims 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI in view of Sun and further in view of FAN et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0214867 A1), hereinafter, FAN.
Regarding Claim 20, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Although implicit, WEI does not implicitly mention,
The PCF of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to: control the transceiver to receive a filter of the SDF and media unit control requirement information of the SDF from an application network element; and determine the first media unit control information of the SDF based on the media unit control requirement information.
However, in an analogous invention, FAN teaches,
The PCF of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to: control the transceiver to receive a filter of the SDF and media unit control requirement information of the SDF from an application network element; and determine the first media unit control information of the SDF based on the media unit control requirement information. -Fig. 4, Paragraph [0078-0079] ([0078-0079] recites, “Data transmission may be performed between a terminal device and a UPF by using a protocol data unit (PDU) session (media unit). A plurality of data flows with different QoS requirements, namely, QoS flows, may be transmitted in each PDU session…. As shown in FIG. 4a, in a downlink direction, after data packets arrive at a UPF network element, the UPF network element distinguishes the downlink data packets into different QoS flows based on packet filter sets in a packet detection rule (PDR) configured by an SMF network element. A data packet in the QoS flow is marked with a QoS flow identifier (QFI). Then, the UPF network element transfers the data packet to an access network device through an N3 interface (to be specific, an interface between the access network device and the UPF network element). After receiving the data packet, the access network device determines, based on the QFI corresponding to the data packet, a QoS flow to which the data packet belongs, and then transmits the downlink data packet over an air interface based on a QoS parameter of the QoS flow. In an uplink direction, after obtaining data packets, an application layer of the terminal device may distinguish the uplink data packets into different QoS flows based on packet filter sets in a QoS rule configured by the SMF network element, and then transmit the uplink data packets over an air interface. Each QoS flow is associated with a QoS profile, at least one QoS rule, and an optional QoS parameter.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “control the transceiver to receive a filter of the SDF and media unit control requirement information of the SDF from an application network element; and determine the first media unit control information of the SDF based on the media unit control requirement information. ” of FAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability of data transmission [0004].
Regarding Claim 22, WEI and Sun teach the limitations of Claim 21.
Although implicit, WEI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 21, further comprising: sending, by the SMF, the filter of the SDF to a terminal device.
However, in an analogous invention, FAN teaches,
The method of claim 21, further comprising: sending, by the SMF, the filter of the SDF to a terminal device. -Fig. 4a; Paragraph [0079] ([0079] recites, “As shown in FIG. 4a, in a downlink direction, after data packets arrive at a UPF network element, the UPF network element distinguishes the downlink data packets into different QoS flows based on packet filter sets in a packet detection rule (PDR) configured by an SMF network element….. In an uplink direction, after obtaining data packets, an application layer of the terminal device may distinguish the uplink data packets into different QoS flows based on packet filter sets in a QoS rule configured by the SMF network element, and then transmit the uplink data packets over an air interface. Each QoS flow is associated with a QoS profile, at least one QoS rule, and an optional QoS parameter.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “The method and apparatus for sending information” proposed by WEI to include the concept of “sending, by the SMF, the filter of the SDF to a terminal device.” of FAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability of data transmission [0004].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475