Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references in the IDS have been considered by the examiner EXCEPT for 2019171716 and 2006026001. It appears that applicant has provided incorrect or incomplete numbers for these two references.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because :
Fig. 3, the “Yes” and “No” lines after decision “315” overlap and create unclear path.
Auxiliary stream 130 (mentioned in PP 22) is not shown in Fig. 1.
In Figs, 1 – 3, the use of the terms “translator” and “interpreter” interchangeably is confusing. See objection to the specification. The drawings need to be consistent with the terminology in the specification.
The abstract and the disclosure (e.g., PP7 and PP13) state “transmitting the captured audio to the live audio interpreter while concurrently delivering the captured audio and the alternative form to at least one of the different parties [hard of hearing] of the conference” but Fig. 1 shows that only the “captioning” of the audio being transmitted to the hard of hearing.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
PP 22, “selectedbased” should be –selected based--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality:
On line 1 “according criteria” should be –according to criteria--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In engineering and product documentation the terms “translator” and “interpreter” have different and widely accepted meanings. A translator is normally associated with “written text” and an interpreter is normally associated with real-time (live) spoken or sign language. Using the terms interchangeably in the specification brings confusion, especially since the specification has live sign language interpretation and captioning/text. It is unclear if the “translator” and “interpreter” are the same or different conference participants and it is unclear if they have different tasks. For example, it is not clear if the claimed “live audio interpreter” is the same as the disclosed “live translator”.
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 11-12, it is not clear what is meant by “delivering ….. to at least one of the different parties of the conference”? Is this the “hard of hearing” conference participant or any arbitrary “party of the conference”? Note that “at least one” may imply delivering to a few or even all of the “different parties”. It is noted that the “hard of hearing” is only recited in the preamble and that none of the limitations is tied to the “hard of hearing”.
Also, it is clear whether the “displaying” (line 5) is provided to “the different parties of the conference” or just to the “hard of hearing” conference participant?
The use of the term “live audio interpreter” in association with the “hard of hearing” is confusing since a “live audio interpreter” is generally understood in the art to provide “audio” interpretation (e.g., from language to language). Based on the claimed limitations such as “hard of hearing” and “merging the view ….”, it appears that the claim should recite “live sign language interpreter”.
Independent claims 7 and 13 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above for claim 1. Dependent claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-18 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 13, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoker et al -hereinafter “Stoker” (US 20200321007 A1) in view of Ghulman (US 20120078628 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stoker discloses a method for the supplementation of an alternative form of audio (text transcription) in a communicative conference (video conferencing) for the benefit of the hard of hearing (hearing-impaired person), see abstract and see PP 0085 which teaches the use of Live American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter for “supplementing the transcription capabilities of the system”.
The method taught by Stoker comprises:
capturing audio in a communicative conference between different parties to the conference; see real-time audio transcription, abstract, PP 0016
transforming captured audio into an alternative form (text transcription) and displaying the alternative form in connection with the communicative conference; see PP0019, “transcribed audio messages 107, in Fig.6 and transcription bar 210 in Fig. 7,
transmitting the captured audio to the live audio interpreter, see PP 0085 which recites the use of live American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter for one or more users. Inherently, the audio is transmitted to the interpreter.
While Stoker teaches the use of “alternative form of audio” (text transcription), teaches the use of a device such as a personal computer with user interface 101 (Fig. 2) for viewing the conference participants 102, presentation 104 and transcribed audio messages 107, and teaches the use of an ASL interpreter for supplementation of the transcription, it does not explicitly teach “invoking a companion window to the communicative conference with a view to a live audio interpreter; and, merging the view to the live audio interpreter with the communicative conference and the alternative form”.
On one hand, since Stoker teaches the use of a sign language (ASL) interpreter, it is inherent that the hearing-impaired user needs to see the ASL interpreter on the user interface 101, Fig. 2. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would use one of the available displays such as 104 (if available) or even add a view for the sign language interpreter in order to supplement the transcription.
On the other hand, Ghulman discloses a head-mounted text display for the hearing impaired and teaches [PP 0024] the memory 46 of controller 14 includes a database of video data representative of individual words, such as graphical depictions of sign language and teaches the use of speech-to-text conversion. The textual data signal and the corresponding video data are transmitted simultaneously to the receiver 18, and the textual data and the corresponding video images may then be displayed simultaneously to the user. In FIGS. 2A and 2B, a sign language display 40 is shown adjacent to the textual displays 30, 32. The graphical display 40 allows for simultaneous display of sign language with the textual display (“merging the view”). The user may selectively display only text, only the graphical display, or both simultaneously.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the fling date of the current application to utilize the feature taught by Ghulman in the conferencing system disclosed by Stoker so that the hearing-impaired user of Stoker would be able to “invoke a companion window” on interface 101, Fig. 6 to view the live audio interpreter simultaneously while reviewing the alternative form (transcribed audio messages 107). This will give the user versatility (to see both the sign language and the transcription) and it also improves accuracy since some expressions or justers may be more accurate in one form versus the other. Further, this provides a back-up if one of them has an issue or a problem (e.g., rely on transcript if there was a temporary video problem with viewing the sign language interpreter).
As for “transmitting the captured audio to the live audio interpreter while concurrently delivering the captured audio and the alternative form to at least one of the different parties of the conference”, normally, by default audio is sent to all conference participants in Stoker and it would be up to the hearing-impaired person to turn the volume down or totally mute the audio.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Stoker discloses (PP 37 ), on-line collaboration system 10 (Fig. 1) which comprises one or more processor 12 having stored there a computer executable instructions 16 and teaches the use cloud service 26 (read as the claimed “supplementation module”).
Claims 2 – 5, 8 – 11 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoker in view of Ghulman as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view Sjoberg (US 10025776 B1).
The combination of Stoker and Ghulman does not specifically teach the claimed techniques for selecting the live audio [sign language] interpreter.
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, Sjoberg teaches that the user/customer selects a translator (interpreter) from a selection of available translators who are available “now” (col. 9, lines 4 - 35). The system looks up "one or more translators that are qualified and available to provide translation to the customer (PP Col. 2, lines 40-54, and col. 6, line 56 – col. 7, line 8).
Regarding claims 3-5, 9-11 and 15-17, Sjoberg teaches (PP 39) that a translator may be selected based on language (demographic), "most qualified", highest rating. After a customer selects the "parameters" such as language, etc., , the system (PP 62) may populate a list of translators associated with the customer’s preference (criteria specified by the one of the different parties). See for example, the customer may select "French", "Fastest Translation” and "Jacue with a 4.5-star average rating). The system looks up "one or more translators that are qualified and available (“polling”) to provide translation to the customer (PP 12 and 30)
Sjoberg teaches that once the language has been identified (as indicated by the customer's translation request), the LTM system 100 may select one or more translators qualified to provide the translation. Selection of one or more translators may be based on other factors including an estimated or predicted response time (e.g. fastest response time), availability of the one or more translators, and quality ratings.
For claims 2 – 5, 8 – 11 and 14 – 17, Sjoberg teaches the details related to the “selection” of a translator (interpreter) from among available and qualified translators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the art to use these selection techniques in the combination of Stoker in view of Ghulman so that the user may utilize these beneficial selection techniques while deciding which interpreter to select. These obvious selection techniques are actually needed since for example if the conference meeting is in Spanish, obviously, a Spanish speaking sign language interpret will be needed, or if the coreference is about “medical issues”, obviously an interpreter with medical expertise would be needed.
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoker in view of Ghulman as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view Legatski (US 20230353819).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Legatski teaches (PP 22 and 47) receiving a request from a Hard of Hearing participant (”the at least one of the different parties of the conference”) to be presented with a sign language interpreter (“SLI”) view within the user interface UI and presents, within the UI of a client device associated with the first participant, an SLI view. Legatski also teaches [PP 60] that other individuals who do not require interpretation may view a different generated recording where the Sign Language Interpreter (SLI) is not visible (“obscuring the view to the live audio interpreter with respect to the remaining ones of the different parties to the conference”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the current application to utilize the teachings of Legatski in the combination of Stoker in view of Ghulman as so that the view of the sign language interpreter is presented to the hearing-impaired participant and not presented to the other participants since the other participants do not need the sign language interpreter which could possibility distract them. Also, presenting the view of the sign language interpret to those who do not need it (e.g., all participant) may unnecessarily use up some of the available bandwidth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh et al, 20150046148, [0058] The controller 110 converts the first caption data into second caption data by adding the sign language animation to the first caption data. When video data is displayed on the screen 190, the controller 110 controls the screen 190 to display the second caption data including the sign language animation together. In other words, the controller 110 controls the screen 190 to simultaneously display the first caption data and the sign language data.
Ayanoglu, 20240163124 A1, [PP 0060] teaches that the mapping data structure of 401 can define a number of profiles 430. For instance, K can be automatically selected as an assistant for users having a prerequisite indicating need for a Spanish translator, a mediator or an administrator; L can be automatically selected as an assistant for users having a prerequisite indicating need for a French translator or a Spanish translator; and A can be automatically selected as an assistant for users having a prerequisite indicating need for a sign language interpreter.
Sanders et al (US 8,244,222) teaches a method in a data processing system for matching end users with providers of translation and interpretation services, based on a plurality of factors, predefined or preset by the end users, comprising the steps of: receiving an end user request for translation or interpretation services over an Internet-enabled global communications network or mobile and wireless network; defining a data set consisting of information from the group of: native language, dialect, culture, location, gender, age, education level, availability, rating range, experience, reviews, subject matter expertise, the desired need, including but not limited to medical, business, academic, legal, and personal reasons (see claim 1).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693