DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/09/2026, wherein claims 3 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-14 and 16-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment/ Argument
Applicant's amendment and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12-13, filed on 06/09/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive. The combination of Liu, Fang, Doolittle and Mani discloses the amended claims 1 and 12 -13. See the rejection below.
Regarding claims 1 and 12-13, Applicant argues that the references do not disclose the limitation the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object as cited in claims 1 and 12-13 since Liu discloses obtain the point cloud set based on calibration parameters and depth maps. However, Liu discloses depth cameras with different perspectives acquire depth videos. The videos is decomposed into frames of depth and color maps, i.e. target images, and motion capture is performed one by one, as in [0039]. Liu [0009], [0042] discloses that based on information of the depth map and color map, the 3D point in the point cloud set is determined and matched for human body model for motion capture. Hence, the information in the captured target images is used in posture recognition to detect posture.
Furthermore, Mani also discloses using the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model. Mani [0082] discloses user input which is hand gesture is captured by one or more cameras. Mani [0036]-[0038] discloses image processing module for processing user’s hand gesture data, and camera data and perform image segmentation, depth analysis, object position/movement analysis. Hand gesture analysis module for analyzing hand gesture data to recognize various hand gesture based on gesture data and depth data and contour data, hence using image data. Mani [0044] discloses different hand gesture recognition modules 232. Hand gesture data captured by the cameras and processed by the image processing module (including hand contour data, hand position data, hand size data, hand depth data associated with the various hand gestures) and hand gesture recognition modules. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module. Image processing module for analyzing the images from one or more cameras, and provide parameters deduced from the image analysis performed on the images, such as hand contour, hand size, shape, hand movement as in [0074]. The set of data associated with the determined hand gesture including hand position, contour, shape and depth, alone or in combination with other hand gesture data, is used for the machine learning modules to analyze and determine various hand gestures as in Mani [0090]. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module with depth data as taught by Mani.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 4-6, 10-13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 102800103 – see translation attached) hereinafter Liu, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, in view of Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, further in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani.
Regarding claims 1 and 12-13, Liu discloses a posture recognition system, a posture recognition method, and an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program executable by the processor, and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform followings:
N depth cameras, N processing modules and a control module, wherein one of the processing modules is configured to process a target image captured by one of the depth cameras, and N is an integer greater than 1; the N depth cameras capture target images from different locations, and transmit the target images captured respectively to corresponding processing modules, wherein the target images comprises depth information of a target object; the N processing modules respectively determine a depth map of the target object based on the depth information comprised in the target images received respectively, perform a posture recognition on the target object in the target images in view of the depth map of the target object, to obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, and send the N recognition results to the control module; and the control module combines the N recognition results, and determines a combination result as a recognition result of the target image (Liu [0009], [0011], [0018], [0039]-[0043]: multi-view depth camera with different perspective obtains calibration parameters and depth maps and three-dimensional spatial transformation to obtain a point cloud set based on the calibration parameters and depth maps. Multiple depth maps are transformed and fused to obtain a unified point cloud set, and match each 3D point P in the point cloud set with each surface mesh point V on the human body model to obtain the matching result; [0044]-[0047]: based on the matching result, motion capture is performed according to the human skeleton driven surface model to obtain the tracking results);
wherein the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object (Liu [0009], [0011], [0018], [0039]-[0043]: multi-view depth camera with different perspective obtains calibration parameters and depth maps and three-dimensional spatial transformation to obtain a point cloud set based on the calibration parameters and depth maps. Multiple depth maps are transformed and fused to obtain a unified point cloud set, and match each 3D point P in the point cloud set with each surface mesh point V on the human body model to obtain the matching result. Depth cameras with different perspectives acquire depth videos. The videos is decomposed into frames of depth and color maps, i.e. target images, and motion capture is performed one by one as in [0039]. Based on information of the depth map and color map, the 3D point in the point cloud set is determined and matched for human body model for motion capture as in [0009], [0042]; [0044]-[0047]: based on the matching result, motion capture is performed according to the human skeleton driven surface model to obtain the tracking results).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a processor, a memory configured to store a program executable by the processor, and N processing modules, the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively.
However, Fang discloses a processor, a memory configured to store a program executable by the processor (Fang [0029], [0092]: processor and memory; [0029], [0094], [0106]: machine-readable medium storing computer program), and N processing modules, the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively (Fang Figs. 1-2, [0034]: multi-camera environment includes camera array 101 having any number, N of camera 102 and 103. Each camera generates corresponding video include video 140 and 150; [0094]: image processor 1802 and central processor 1101 may include any number and type of image or graphics processors, processing units or modules that provide control; [0034]: player detection modules 106 and 107 to process video from camera 1 and video from camera N, respectively, as in Fig. 1; [0043]: human pose estimation and body points such as ankle points can be determined).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu, and further incorporate a processor, a memory configured to store a program executable by the processor, machine-readable medium storing computer program, and N processing modules, the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, as taught by Fang, to detect objects with high accuracy and stability (Fang [0005]).
Liu broad discloses perform a posture recognition on the target object in the target images in view of the depth map of the target object, to obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, and send the N recognition results to the control module; and the control module combines the N recognition results, and determines a combination result as a recognition result of the target image as discussed above.
Doolittle further discloses N depth cameras capture target images from different locations, and transmit the target images captured respectively to corresponding processing modules, wherein the target images comprises depth information of a target object; the N processing modules respectively determine a depth map of the target object based on the depth information comprised in the target images received respectively, perform a posture recognition on the target object in the target images in view of the depth map of the target object, to obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, and send the N recognition results to the control module; and the control module combines the N recognition results, and determines a combination result as a recognition result of the target image (Doolittle Figs. 1-7, [0017]-[0020], [0030]: different depth cameras 14A-14C disposed at different positions to detect depth map of target object; [0026]-[0030]: First depth camera detects first portion of depth data of the object and second depth camera detects second portion of depth data of the object; Fig. 7, [0036]-[0037]: detecting first portion of gesture of object based on first portion of depth data from first depth camera, detecting second portion of gesture of object based on second portion of depth data from second depth camera, and combine the first portion and second portion of detected gesture to yield the combined data in the form of a completed gesture).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Yang, and further incorporate performing a posture recognition on the target object in the target images in view of the depth map of the target object, to obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, and send the N recognition results to the control module; and the control module combines the N recognition results, and determines a combination result as a recognition result of the target image, as taught by Doolittle, to detect object’s gesture with more accuracy and sufficiency (Doolittle [0018], [0030]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters.
Mani discloses the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object; wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters (Mani [0082]: user input which is hand gesture is captured by one or more cameras; [0036]-[0038]: image processing module for processing user’s hand gesture data, and camera data and perform image segmentation, depth analysis, object position/movement analysis. Hand gesture analysis module for analyzing hand gesture data to recognize various hand gesture based on gesture data and depth data and contour data, hence using image data. Different hand gesture models can be used; [0044]: different hand gesture recognition modules 232. Hand gesture data captured by the cameras and processed by the image processing module (including hand contour data, hand position data, hand size data, hand depth data associated with the various hand gestures) and hand gesture recognition modules. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module; [0074]: image processing module for analyzing the images from one or more cameras, and provide parameters deduced from the image analysis performed on the images, such as hand contour, hand size, shape, hand movement; [0090]: the set of data associated with the determined hand gesture including hand position, contour, shape and depth, alone or in combination with other hand gesture data, is used for the machine learning modules to analyze and determine various hand gestures. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module with depth data and different machine learning models are used to analyze and determine user’s various hand gestures, which can comprise different model parameters such as combination of data as above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object; wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters, as taught by Mani, for improved detection accuracy and efficiency (Mani [0075]).
Regarding claim 4 and 16, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose all limitation of claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing modules and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: performing depth map computing and posture recognition computing respectively using different cores.
Fang discloses wherein the processing modules and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: performing depth map computing and posture recognition computing respectively using different cores (Fang [0094]: execution unit EU of image processor 1802 may include logic core or cores that may provide a wide array of programmable logic functions; [0106], [0116]: the processor including processor cores may undertake one or more of the blocks of the example processes in response to program code and instructions; [0111], [0114]: multi-core processor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having wherein the processing modules and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: performing depth map computing and posture recognition computing respectively using different cores, as taught by Fang, to detect objects with high accuracy and stability (Fang [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose all limitation of claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the control module comprises a first sub-module and a second sub-module; the first sub-module is configured to receive the N recognition results, and send the N recognition results to the second sub-module; and the second sub-module is configured to combine the N recognition results to obtain a combination result.
However, Liu discloses wherein the control module receives the N recognition results and combine the N recognition results to obtain a combination result as discussed in claim 1 above (Liu [0009], [0011], [0018], [0039]-[0043]: multi-view depth camera with different perspective obtains calibration parameters and depth maps and three-dimensional spatial transformation to obtain a point cloud set based on the calibration parameters and depth maps. Multiple depth maps are transformed and fused to obtain a unified point cloud set, and match each 3D point P in the point cloud set with each surface mesh point V on the human body model to obtain the matching result; [0044]-[0047]: based on the matching result, motion capture is performed according to the human skeleton driven surface model to obtain the tracking results).
Furthermore, Fang discloses the control module comprises a first sub-module and a second sub-module which can be used to perform any desired functions of the system (Fang [0094]: execution unit EU of image processor 1802 may include logic core or cores that may provide a wide array of programmable logic functions; [0106], [0116]: the processor including processor cores may undertake one or more of the blocks of the example processes in response to program code and instructions; [0111], [0114]: multi-core processor. Hence, first sub-module and second sub-module can be used to perform different functions including receiving and sending N recognition results and combining the recognition results to obtain a combination result using the first sub-module of the second submodule).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having the control module comprises a first sub-module and a second sub-module; the first sub-module is configured to receive the N recognition results, and send the N recognition results to the second sub-module; and the second sub-module is configured to combine the N recognition results to obtain a combination result, as taught by Fang, to detect objects with high accuracy and stability (Fang [0005]).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have first sub-module and the second sub-module perform any desired function including the first sub-module is configured to receive the N recognition results, and send the N recognition results to the second sub-module; and the second sub-module is configured to combine the N recognition results to obtain a combination result as cited in claim 5 since applicant has not disclosed that the claimed features is for any particular purpose.
Regarding claim 6, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose all limitation of claim 5.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sub-module is further configured to send any one or more of following information to the processing modules: a firmware code used to initialize the processing modules; a notification message used to notify the processing modules to initialize a corresponding depth camera; and a model parameter used by the processing modules to perform the posture recognition on a target image received.
Doolittle discloses the first sub-module is further configured to send any one or more of following information to the processing modules: a firmware code used to initialize the processing modules; a notification message used to notify the processing modules to initialize a corresponding depth camera; and a model parameter used by the processing modules to perform the posture recognition on a target image received (Doolittle [0030]: the system can be initialized by arranging a recognizable and sufficient asymmetric reference simultaneously in sight of all the depth cameras in use. The field of view orientations of the various depth cameras may then be adjusted, parametrically; [0033]-[0035]: a previously trained collection of body models may be used to label particular body part. Each joint of the body part can be assigned various parameters specifying a conformation of the corresponding body part, hence model parameter to perform posture recognition)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Yang, and further incorporate having the first sub-module is further configured to send any one or more of following information to the processing modules: a firmware code used to initialize the processing modules; a notification message used to notify the processing modules to initialize a corresponding depth camera; and a model parameter used by the processing modules to perform the posture recognition on a target image received, as taught by Doolittle, to achieve consistency in the topology of the reference as perceived by each of the depth cameras and detect object’s gesture with more accuracy and sufficiency (Doolittle [0018], [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose all limitation of claim 5.
Liu discloses wherein the second sub-module is further configured to perform any one or more of following: displaying N recognition results; displaying and storing the combination result; and receiving a file comprising model parameters input by a user, and sending the model parameters in the file to a corresponding processing module through the first sub-module.
However, Fang discloses the second sub-module is further configured to perform any one or more of following: displaying N recognition results; displaying and storing the combination result; and receiving a file comprising model parameters input by a user, and sending the model parameters in the file to a corresponding processing module through the first sub-module (Fang [0092]: memory to store video frames and any data; [0115], [0118], [0124]: display to display video or data of object and movement of navigation features of object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having the second sub-module is further configured to perform any one or more of following: displaying N recognition results; displaying and storing the combination result; and receiving a file comprising model parameters input by a user, and sending the model parameters in the file to a corresponding processing module through the first sub-module, as taught by Fang, to detect objects with high accuracy and stability (Fang [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose all limitation of claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the target object is a hand, the target image is a gesture image, and the recognition result is a gesture recognition result; the control module is further configured to: obtain the gesture recognition result, and perform a corresponding gesture interaction operation using the gesture recognition result.
However, Mani discloses wherein the target object is a hand, the target image is a gesture image, and the recognition result is a gesture recognition result; the control module is further configured to: obtain the gesture recognition result, and perform a corresponding gesture interaction operation using the gesture recognition result (Mani Figs. 6A-6E, [0103]-[0106]: capturing by cameras hand gestures 606 or 618 and recognize the hand gesture is unfastening screws of a physical object such as a fridge, and translating the first hand gesture into a first operation and displaying an image 604 having fridge 612, hand gesture 614 and information 616. Hence, perform a corresponding gesture interaction operation using the gesture recognition result; [0108], [0116], [0119]: The hand gesture can be a second hand gesture to interact with a particular electronic component, a third hand gesture of swiping left to flip a page or swipe up to zoom in a selected part).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having wherein the target object is a hand, the target image is a gesture image, and the recognition result is a gesture recognition result; the control module is further configured to: obtain the gesture recognition result, and perform a corresponding gesture interaction operation using the gesture recognition result, as taught by Mani, for improved detection accuracy and efficiency (Mani [0075]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu and Fang and Doolittle disclose a non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, the processor is caused to implement steps of the method according to claim 12 as discussed in claim 12 above.
2. Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 102800103 – see translation attached) hereinafter Liu, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, in view of Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani, further in view of Koppal et al. (US 2015/0062558) hereinafter Koppal.
Regarding claim 2 and 14, Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani disclose all limitation of claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing modules and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: determine the depth map of the target object based on depth information comprised in consecutive M frames of target images; wherein depth information comprised in any two frames of target images in the M frames of target images correspond to different phase information; the M is determined based on shooting parameters of the depth cameras, and the M is an integer greater than 0.
However, Koppal discloses wherein the processing modules and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: determine the depth map of the target object based on depth information comprised in consecutive M frames of target images; wherein depth information comprised in any two frames of target images in the M frames of target images correspond to different phase information; the M is determined based on shooting parameters of the depth cameras, and the M is an integer greater than 0 (Koppal [0007]-[0009], [0047]: capturing a plurality of high frequency phase-shifted structured light images of a scene, generating a time of flight TOF depth image of the scene using the TOF sensor and computing depth map from the plurality of high frequency phase-shifted structured light images; [0041]: the number of phase-shifted images that may be captured depends on the speed of the camera and the TOF sensor, hence M frames of images is based on shooting parameters of the depth camera).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani, and further incorporate having wherein the processing modules are configured to: determine the depth map of the target object based on depth information comprised in consecutive M frames of target images; wherein depth information comprised in any two frames of target images in the M frames of target images correspond to different phase information; the M is determined based on shooting parameters of the depth cameras, and the M is an integer greater than 0, as taught by Koppal, for more accurate depth maps of targets (Koppal [0006]).
4. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 102800103 – see translation attached) hereinafter Liu, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, in view of Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani, further in view of Aldridge et al. (US 9,819,903) hereinafter Aldridge.
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani disclose all limitation of claims 5 and 13, respectively.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: sending a pulse width modulation signal to a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using pulse width modulation signals of different depth cameras; or, adjusting a register value of a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using register values of different depth cameras.
Aldridge discloses wherein the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: sending a pulse width modulation signal to a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using pulse width modulation signals of different depth cameras; or, adjusting a register value of a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using register values of different depth cameras (Aldridge Col. 3, lines 5-13, Claim 4: controller generates pulse width modulated signals to modulate the camera exposure time and exposure shooting at intervals such as every 33.33 milliseconds).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani, and further incorporate having wherein the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: sending a pulse width modulation signal to a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using pulse width modulation signals of different depth cameras; or, adjusting a register value of a corresponding depth camera using the processing modules, and controlling different depth cameras to perform exposure shooting at intervals using register values of different depth cameras, as taught by Aldridge, for controllable camera exposure to have desired camera exposure and frame rates (Aldridge Col. 3, lines 5-13).
5. Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 102800103 – see translation attached) hereinafter Liu, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, in view of Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani, in view of Aldridge et al. (US 9,819,903) hereinafter Aldridge, further in view of Kurosawa et al. (US 6,654,060) hereinafter Kurosawa.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Aldridge and Mani disclose all limitation of claims 7 and 17, respectively.
Liu does not explicitly disclose the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: determine a shooting interval duration of each of N depth cameras, and send the shooting interval duration to a corresponding processing module, so that the corresponding processing module determines a register value of a corresponding depth camera based on the shooting interval duration received, and sends the register value to the corresponding depth camera.
Kurosawa discloses the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: determine a shooting interval duration of each of N depth cameras, and send the shooting interval duration to a corresponding processing module, so that the corresponding processing module determines a register value of a corresponding depth camera based on the shooting interval duration received, and sends the register value to the corresponding depth camera (Kurosawa Col. 5, lines 1-5 and 31-40: image-sensing time, image-sensing condition are registered into a reservation register. The register is stored in the format of a table into a memory device of a controller; Col. 8, lines 59-67, Col. 9, lines 1-40, Fig. 6, the registered information includes image end time and image interval time such as 15 minutes as in Table 6. Hence, determine a register value of a camera based on shooting interval duration; Col. 17, lines 44-46: performing camera control and storing result of image-sensing based on data registered in the register, hence sends the register value to the corresponding camera).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Aldridge and Mani, and further incorporate having the first sub-module and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and perform following: determine a shooting interval duration of each of N depth cameras, and send the shooting interval duration to a corresponding processing module, so that the corresponding processing module determines a register value of a corresponding depth camera based on the shooting interval duration received, and sends the register value to the corresponding depth camera, as taught by Kurosawa, to improve efficiency and control of the camera (Kurosawa Col. 27, lines 59-65, Col. 1, lines 30-55).
6. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 102800103 – see translation attached) hereinafter Liu, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, in view of Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani, further in view of Chandler et al. (US 2019/0251702) hereinafter Chandler.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani disclose all limitation of claims 5 and 13, respectively.
Liu discloses combine the N recognition results to obtain the combination result as discussed in claims 1 and 13 above.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the second sub-module is further configured to: receive N recognition results using a separate sub-thread, and combine the N recognition results to obtain the combination result.
However, Chandler discloses wherein the second sub-module is further configured to: receive N recognition results using a separate sub-thread, and perform further gesture recognition (Chandler Figs. 42 and 45, [0319]: receiving by a first thread of a processing unit, a set of data including gesture data obtained by the capture device. A second thread perform gesture recognition operation based on the set of the data, hence the second sub-thread receives data and perform gesture recognition; Fig. 55, [0400]-[0404]: the first thread can perform pose estimation using first set of images. The second thread can perform pose estimation using second set of images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle and Mani, and further incorporate having wherein the second sub-module is further configured to: receive N recognition results using a separate sub-thread, and perform further gesture recognition, which can be combining the N recognition results to obtain the combination result as in Liu, as taught by Chandler, to improve computation efficiency (Chandler [0060]).
7. Claims 1, 4-5, 12-13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doolittle et al. (US 2014/0094307) hereinafter Doolittle, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2023/0237801) hereinafter Fang, further in view of Mani et al. (US 2020/0117336) hereinafter Mani.
Regarding claims 1, 12-13 and 20, Doolittle discloses a posture recognition system, a posture recognition method, and an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program executable by the processor, and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory ([0043]: processor, [0044]-[0045], [0041]: memory and storage to store instruction) and perform followings:
N depth cameras, N processing modules and a control module, wherein one of the processing modules is configured to process a target image captured by one of the depth cameras, and N is an integer greater than 1; the N depth cameras capture target images from different locations, and transmit the target images captured respectively to corresponding processing modules, wherein the target images comprises depth information of a target object; the N processing modules respectively determine a depth map of the target object based on the depth information comprised in the target images received respectively, perform a posture recognition on the target object in the target images in view of the depth map of the target object, to obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, and send the N recognition results to the control module; and the control module combines the N recognition results, and determines a combination result as a recognition result of the target image; wherein the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object (Doolittle Figs. 1-7, [0017]-[0020], [0030]: different depth cameras 14A-14C disposed at different positions to detect depth map of target object; [0026]-[0030]: First depth camera detects first portion of depth data of the object and second depth camera detects second portion of depth data of the object; Fig. 7, [0036]-[0037]: detecting first portion of gesture of object based on first portion of depth data from first depth camera, detecting second portion of gesture of object based on second portion of depth data from second depth camera, and combine the first portion and second portion of detected gesture to yield the combined data in the form of a completed gesture).
Doolitle does not explicitly disclose the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively.
However, Fang discloses and N processing modules, the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively (Fang Figs. 1-2, [0034]: multi-camera environment includes camera array 101 having any number, N of camera 102 and 103. Each camera generates corresponding video include video 140 and 150; [0094]: image processor 1802 and central processor 1101 may include any number and type of image or graphics processors, processing units or modules that provide control; [0034]: player detection modules 106 and 107 to process video from camera 1 and video from camera N, respectively, as in Fig. 1; [0043]: human pose estimation and body points such as ankle points can be determined).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Doolittle, and further incorporate having N processing modules, the N processing modules respectively obtain N recognition results corresponding to the N depth cameras respectively, as taught by Fang, to detect objects with high accuracy and stability (Fang [0005]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters.
Mani discloses the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object; wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters (Mani [0082]: user input which is hand gesture is captured by one or more cameras; [0036]-[0038]: image processing module for processing user’s hand gesture data, and camera data and perform image segmentation, depth analysis, object position/movement analysis. Hand gesture analysis module for analyzing hand gesture data to recognize various hand gesture based on gesture data and depth data and contour data, hence using image data. Different hand gesture models can be used; [0044]: different hand gesture recognition modules 232. Hand gesture data captured by the cameras and processed by the image processing module (including hand contour data, hand position data, hand size data, hand depth data associated with the various hand gestures) and hand gesture recognition modules. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module; [0074]: image processing module for analyzing the images from one or more cameras, and provide parameters deduced from the image analysis performed on the images, such as hand contour, hand size, shape, hand movement; [0090]: the set of data associated with the determined hand gesture including hand position, contour, shape and depth, alone or in combination with other hand gesture data, is used for the machine learning modules to analyze and determine various hand gestures. Hence, target images are also used in posture recognition module with depth data and different machine learning models are used to analyze and determine user’s various hand gestures, which can comprise different model parameters such as combination of data as above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Liu and Fang and Doolittle, and further incorporate having the processing modules are configured to: input the depth map of the target object and the target images into a posture recognition model, and output a recognition result of the target object; wherein posture recognition models for posture recognition of different processing modules comprise different model parameters, as taught by Mani, for improved detection accuracy and efficiency (Mani [0075]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486