DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of independent claims 1 and 10, Applicant first argues that “Tashiro does not disclose the claimed limitation "the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer." (Remarks, p. 7). Applicant's argument has been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1 and 10 is hereby withdrawn. However, Applicant is directed to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-20, supra, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 4 and 13, supra, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 4 and 13, supra, and the new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-10, supra.
Second, Applicant argues that “Tashiro does not disclose the claimed limitations, "a charge accumulation region electrically connected to the first electrode," and "wherein the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer.” ” (Remarks, p. 7). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figures 1A of Tashiro clearly teaches that the charge accumulation region (e.g., Node B) is electrically connected to the first electrode (e.g., element 209). See figure 1A:
Further to this, Tashiro also clearly teaches that the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer, in that at least figures 6B and 6C illustrate charge being accumulated. Also see paragraphs [0088-94] teaching the holes of the electron-hole pairs accumulated in the photoelectric conversion layer, with the number of holes accumulated as signal charges appearing at Node B. In light of at least the above, the Office stands behind the teachings of prior art as applied to the claims as currently presented and to Applicant’s second argument.
* * * * * * * * * * *
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-20, independent claims 1 and 10, from which claims 2-4 and 6-20 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom, newly recite “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer”. Applicant states “[a]ll amendments made to the claims are fully supported by the specification as originally filed” (Remarks, p. 6) and that “[s]upport for the amendments to the claims can be found in, for example, Figs. 2 and 4, and relevant description thereof in the specification” (Remarks, p. 7). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The written description has not been found to support this negative limitation. In other words, the written description has not been found to disclose, discuss or describe avoiding, preventing or intentionally/purposefully not including an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer. In fact, the written description is devoid of any discussion on this subject. Not describing an element in the written description does not expressly mean that the element is not intended to be included or that the element cannot be included. A negative limitation must have basis in the original disclosure, with the specification being a written description of the invention and of the manner and process of making and using the same. In this case, no support for the amended language has been found in Applicant’s written description. The Office notes that although Applicant attempts to attach support through the drawings, the determination of the subject matter in the inventor(s) possession is though being described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention. The fact that the drawings lack to illustrate an element, does not provide convincing support that the element was not intended or could not be included. In this instance, the intentional exclusion of an element, i.e., “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer”, has not been found to be described in the specification, as required by the written description requirement. In view of at least the above, the claims, as currently presented, are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, independent claim 1, from which claim 4 depends and inherits all limitations therefrom, recites “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer.” However, dependent claim 4 then goes on to recite “wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode, the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge generated by photoelectric conversion.” It is unclear how an insulating layer can be expressly excluded and expressly included (the Examiner notes that the carrier blocking layer of original claim 4, only described in original claim 4, and functioning as an insulation layer). Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of this, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, independent claim 10, from which claim 13 depends and inherits all limitations therefrom, recites “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer.” However, dependent claim 13 then goes on to recite “wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode, the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge generated by photoelectric conversion.” It is unclear how an insulating layer can be expressly excluded and expressly included (the Examiner notes that the carrier blocking layer of original claim 13, only described in original claim 13, and functioning as an insulation layer). Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of this, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0014364 to Tashiro et al. (hereinafter “Tashiro”).
Regarding claim 4, Tashiro teaches an imaging device (e.g., fig. 2; fig. 14) comprising pixels (e.g., fig. 2, element 100; fig. 14; [0211]) each including a photoelectric converter (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) including a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 209; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 201; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), and a photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A, element 205; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A; [0211]), and a charge accumulation region (e.g., fig. 1A and 13, Node B; [0088]) electrically connected to the first electrode (e.g., fig. 1, connected to element 209; [0088]), wherein the first electrode is configured to collect a signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 6B and 6C; [0088-91]), wherein the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., figs. 6B and 6C; [0090-91]), and wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A), and voltage supply circuitry (e.g., fig. 1A, element 110; [0043-44]; fig. 14; [0211]) configured to supply a first voltage to respective second electrodes in an exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0044], Vs1; [0048], [0082]) and a second voltage different from the first voltage to the respective second electrodes in a non-exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0044], Vs2; [0048], [0087-88]) for the imaging device to perform a global shutter operation (e.g., [0216]; the Examiner notes that “for the imaging device to perform a global shutter operation” is currently interpreted as intended use due to a lack of recited structure associated necessary to the performance of global shuttering).
Tashiro also teaches wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode (e.g., figs. 1A and 5B, element 207), the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge generated by photoelectric conversion (e.g., [0077], [0088-97]), thus replacing conflicting structure (recited in independent claim 1) which provides “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer”, as an “insulating layer” and “carrier blocking layer” function the same. Also see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 4, supra.
Regarding claim 13, Tashiro teaches an imaging device (e.g. fig. 2; fig. 14) comprising pixels (e.g., fig. 2, element 100; fig. 14; [0211]) each including a photoelectric converter (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) including a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 209; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 201; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A, element 205; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A; [0211]), and a charge accumulation region (e.g., fig. 1A and 13, Node B; [0088]) electrically connected to the first electrode (e.g., fig. 1, connected to element 209; [0088]), wherein the first electrode is configured to collect a signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 6B and 6C; [0088-91]), wherein the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., figs. 6B and 6C; [0090-91]), and wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A), and voltage supply circuitry (e.g., fig. 1A, element 110; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) configured to supply a first voltage to respective second electrodes in an exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0048], [0082]) and a second voltage different from the first voltage to the respective second electrodes in a non-exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0048], [0087-88]), wherein each of the pixels includes a transistor having a gate that is electrically connected to a respective first electrode without interposing another transistor (e.g., fig. 1A, element 104; fig. 1A, element 102, form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim; fig. 14, element 501; [0211], form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim).
Tashiro also teaches wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode (e.g., figs. 1A and 5B, element 207), the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge generated by photoelectric conversion (e.g., [0077], [0088-97]), thus replacing conflicting structure (recited in independent claim 1) which provides “wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer”, as an “insulating layer” and “carrier blocking layer” function the same. Also see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 4, supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0014364 to Tashiro et al. (hereinafter “Tashiro”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,754,980 to Yamazaki et al. (hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Tashiro teaches an imaging device (e.g., fig. 2; fig. 14) comprising pixels (e.g., fig. 2, element 100; fig. 14; [0211]) each including a photoelectric converter (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) including a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 209; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 201; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), and a photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A, element 205; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A; [0211]), and a charge accumulation region (e.g., fig. 1A and 13, Node B; [0088]) electrically connected to the first electrode (e.g., fig. 1, connected to element 209; [0088]), wherein the first electrode is configured to collect a signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 6B and 6C; [0088-91]), wherein the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., figs. 6B and 6C; [0090-91]), and wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A), and voltage supply circuitry (e.g., fig. 1A, element 110; [0043-44]; fig. 14; [0211]) configured to supply a first voltage to respective second electrodes in an exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0044], Vs1; [0048], [0082]) and a second voltage different from the first voltage to the respective second electrodes in a non-exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0044], Vs2; [0048], [0087-88]) for the imaging device to perform a global shutter operation (e.g., [0216]; the Examiner notes that “for the imaging device to perform a global shutter operation” is currently interpreted as intended use due to a lack of recited structure associated necessary to the performance of global shuttering).
Tashiro, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer.
Nevertheless, Yamazaki teaches a well-known photoelectric conversion element that includes a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; col. 6, lines 15-23), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 104; col. 6, lines 15-23), a photoelectric conversion layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 102; col. 6, lines 15-23), wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have substituted the elements as taught by Yamazaki, in place of the elements included in the teachings of Tashiro, in order to achieve the predictable results of further simplifying manufacturing and/or reducing material costs through eliminating of the inclusion of the insulating layer of the photoelectric conversion element.
Regarding claim 2, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the exposure period is a period for accumulating a respective signal charge in the charge accumulation region (e.g., ‘364 – [0046], [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein each of the pixels includes a detection circuit that detects a respective signal charge (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 1A and 14, element 104).
Regarding claim 4, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 1A and 5B, element 207), the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge generated by photoelectric conversion (e.g., ‘364 – [0077], [0088-97]). Also see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4, supra.
Regarding claim 6, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the imaging device is configured to allow light to be incident to respective photoelectric converters of the pixels even in the non-exposure period (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 2 and 14, no blocking structure associated with the recited imaging device).
Regarding claim 7, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein a first potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode in the exposure period is greater than a second potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode in the non-exposure period (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 6A-6F).
Regarding claim 8, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein respective second electrodes of the pixels are electrically connected to one another (e.g., ‘364 – fig. 5A and 5B; and fig. 1A, at least all connected to ground).
Regarding claim 9, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 9 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein each of the pixels includes a transistor having a gate that is electrically connected to a respective first electrode without interposing another transistor (e.g., ‘364 – fig. 1A, element 104; fig. 1A, element 102, form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim; fig. 14, element 501; [0211], form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim).
Regarding claim 10, Tashiro teaches an imaging device (e.g. fig. 2; fig. 14) comprising pixels (e.g., fig. 2, element 100; fig. 14; [0211]) each including a photoelectric converter (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) including a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 209; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 201; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]), a photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A, element 205; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A; [0211]), and a charge accumulation region (e.g., fig. 1A and 13, Node B; [0088]) electrically connected to the first electrode (e.g., fig. 1, connected to element 209; [0088]), wherein the first electrode is configured to collect a signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 6B and 6C; [0088-91]), wherein the charge accumulation region is configured to accumulate the signal charge generated in the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., figs. 6B and 6C; [0090-91]), and wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A), and voltage supply circuitry (e.g., fig. 1A, element 110; [0043]; fig. 14; [0211]) configured to supply a first voltage to respective second electrodes in an exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0048], [0082]) and a second voltage different from the first voltage to the respective second electrodes in a non-exposure period (e.g., fig. 1A; [0048], [0087-88]), wherein each of the pixels includes a transistor having a gate that is electrically connected to a respective first electrode without interposing another transistor (e.g., fig. 1A, element 104; fig. 1A, element 102, form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim; fig. 14, element 501; [0211], form/limits of electrical connectivity is not defined by the claim).
Tashiro, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer.
Nevertheless, Yamazaki teaches a well-known photoelectric conversion element that includes a first electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 101; col. 6, lines 15-23), a second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 104; col. 6, lines 15-23), a photoelectric conversion layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., fig. 1A, element 102; col. 6, lines 15-23), wherein the first electrode faces the photoelectric conversion layer without an insulating layer between the first electrode and the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have substituted the elements as taught by Yamazaki, in place of the elements included in the teachings of Tashiro, in order to achieve the predictable results of further simplifying manufacturing and/or reducing material costs through eliminating of the inclusion of the insulating layer of the photoelectric conversion element.
Regarding claim 11, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 11 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein the exposure period is a period for accumulating a respective signal charge in the charge accumulation region (e.g., ‘364 – [0046], [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 12 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein the transistor is configured to output a signal corresponding to a potential of the gate (e.g., ‘364 – fig. 1A, element 104).
Regarding claim 13, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein each of the pixels includes a carrier blocking layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the first electrode (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 1A and 5B, element 207), the carrier blocking layer being configured to block a carrier, a polarity of the carrier being different from that of the signal charge (e.g., [0077], [0088-97]). Also see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 13, supra.
Regarding claim 14, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 14 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein the imaging device is configured to allow light to be incident to respective photoelectric converters of the pixels even in the non-exposure period (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 2 and 14, no blocking structure associated with the recited imaging device).
Regarding claim 15, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein a first potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode in the exposure period is greater than a second potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode in the non-exposure period (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 6A-6F).
Regarding claim 16, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 16 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein respective second electrodes of the pixels are electrically connected to one another (e.g., ‘364 – fig. 5A and 5B; and fig. 1A, at least all connected to ground).
Regarding claim 17, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 17 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein respective second electrodes of the pixels constitute a single electrode (e.g., ‘364 – [0064], common electrodes).
Regarding claim 18, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 18 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein respective second electrodes of the pixels constitute a single electrode (e.g., ‘364 – [0064], common electrodes).
Regarding claim 19, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 19 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 1A and 6; [0088-91]).
Regarding claim 20, Tashiro and Yamazaki teach all the limitations of claim 20 (see the 35 U.S.C.103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the photoelectric conversion layer (e.g., ‘364 – figs. 1A and 6; [0088-91]).
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638