DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11, line 3, please change “at least on fluid” to - -at least one fluid- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “closure mechanism” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francis (US 2,694,401).
Francis discloses a solution dispensing haircare system comprising: a comb body (27); a comb tool (28) having a comb tool width, the comb tool coupled to and extending from the comb body; a fluid reservoir (44) configured to contain and dispense fluid or haircare solution, the fluid reservoir coupled to the comb body; at least one fluid distribution channel (46) fluidly coupled to the fluid reservoir; and a compressible protrusion (36) coupled to the fluid reservoir, the compressible protrusion configured to compress the fluid reservoir discharging the fluid or haircare solution from the fluid reservoir through the at least one fluid distribution channel (see Figures 6-9; col. 2, lines 41-55). Claim 2, the comb tool comprises at least one of a plurality of comb teeth, a brush, a clip, or a haircare styling tool (see Figure 6). Claim 3, the comb tool (28) is removably coupled to the comb body (see Figure 9). Claim 6, the fluid reservoir (44) is removably coupled to the comb body (see Figures 6 and 9; col. 1, lines 70-75). Claim 7, the fluid reservoir (44) is disposed within the comb body or is formed as part of the comb body (see Figures 6-9). Claim 8, at least one fluid distribution channel (24) is disposed on a first lateral side of the comb body (see Figure 4; channel 24 dispensing outside lateral side). Claim 9, the at least one fluid distribution channel (24) extends laterally outside the comb tool width (see Figure 4). Claim 15, the fluid reservoir or comb body further comprises a lid (11) to open or seal the fluid reservoir (col. 2, lines 40-42). Claim 17, a side wall of the fluid reservoir is configured as the compressible protrusion (col. 2, lines 1-5). Claim 18, Francis further discloses a method for treating hair using the solution dispensing haircare system comprising the steps of: filling the fluid reservoir with a fluid or a haircare solution; opening the closure mechanism unsealing the at least one distribution channel; optionally applying the comb tool to the hair; compressing the compressible protrusion and dispensing the fluid or haircare solution through the distribution channel to the hair; applying the haircare solution to the hair with the comb tool; and closing the closure mechanism to seal the at least one distribution channel (col. 2, lines 1-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (US 2,694,401) in view of Lattuca (US 2,585,561).
Francis discloses the claimed invention except for the comb tool having a handle, the handle is removably coupled to the body. Lattuca teaches a comb with a removable handle (see Figure 10; col. 1, lines 25-30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the comb of Francis be made with a removable handle as taught by Lattuca to allow for additional grip support.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (US 2,694,401) in view of McKay (US 5,337,764)
Francis discloses a removable cartridge but does not disclose a closure mechanism such as a removably cover coupled to the fluid reservoir configured to seal the at least one distribution channel. McKay teaches a cartridge wherein a closure mechanism such as a removable cover (seal 28) coupled to the fluid reservoir configured to seal the at least one distribution channel prior to use (see Figure 1; col. 4, lines 20-28). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the cartridge of Francis be made with a closure mechanism as taught by McKay to seal the fluid contained within the reservoir prior to use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
11/4/2025