DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 10-25 in the reply filed on August 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
blade disposed downstream of the outlet, the blade angled relative to a flow axis of the nozzle (claim 23)
air vent hole is defined in the plenum portion (claim 25),
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: #1023 (air vent port).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weber (US 5,176,925).
In regards to claim 10, Weber teaches die comprising:
a nozzle provided as a main body portion (1), the nozzle/main body portion provides a flow channel (80, void volume) that has a rectangular cross section and a plurality of inner walls (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, lines 25-55);
a projection (310) which has a diamond shape, where the diamond shape provides a proximal terminal end having a first width, a distal terminal end having a second width, and a central section having a third width, the third width larger than the first width or the second width (fig. 1, 4; col. 3, lines 30-45).
Weber teaches the projection (pin) contacts to inner wall by extending from base-105 of the flow channel and contacts the cover member when the cover member is secured to upper surface (40) of main body portion (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, line 65- col. 3, line 15).
In regards to claim 11, Weber teaches a plurality of projections (310) spaced apart along a base-105 of the flow channel (80, void volume), where the plurality of projections (310) provide the first rib and a second rib in the void volume and contacting at least two inner walls of the plurality of inner walls (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, line 65- col. 3, line 15).
In regards to claims 12 and 14, Weber teaches the plurality of projections (310) spaced apart along a base (85) of the flow channel (80, void volume) that provides the first and second ribs. With the arrangement of projections in a line as shown in figure 4, the projections meet the claimed the second rib has a distal end, the distal end of the second rib located proximal to the distal end of the first rib and the distal end of the second rib is located in line with the distal end of the first rib.
In regards to claim 16, Weber teaches the plurality of projections each have a pointed ends at a proximal section and a distal section (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US 5,176,925).
In regards to claim 17, Weber teaches die comprising:
a nozzle provided as a main body portion (1), the nozzle/main body portion provides a flow channel (80, void volume) that has a rectangular cross section and a plurality of inner walls (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, lines 25-55);
an annular shaft portion (8, plenum portion) that receives a flow of material (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, lines 25-35);
a base-105 provides a splitting portion that is downstream of the annular shaft, the base-105 has a plurality of projections (310) spaced apart along the base-105 of the flow channel (80, void volume), where the plurality of projections (310) provide the first rib and a second rib in the void volume and contacting at least two inner walls of the plurality of inner walls, where the flow from the annular shaft portion is split into a plurality of flow when moving around the projections (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, line 65- col. 3, line 15);
a land-140 provides a combining portion, where the land-140 is capable of combining flows as this portion does not have projections, the land-140 is downstream of the base-105 (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, lines 55-65);
an outlet provides a distal orifice downstream of land-140 (fig. 1, 4; col. 2, lines 55-65).
Weber does not explicitly teach the splitting portion is configured to inhibit deflection of the nozzle during flow of the semi-solid electrode material through the void volume.
However, as Weber teaches the structural limitations of the plurality of projections (ribs) in the base-105 (splitting portion), the plurality of projections would be capable of the claimed inhibit deflection of the nozzle during flow of the semi-solid electrode material through the void volume.
The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP2114).
Also, with regards to semi-solid electrode material, the courts have held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim (MPEP2115).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Aidun (US 5,820,674).
In regards to claim 23, Weber as discussed, but does not explicitly teach a blade disposed downstream of the outlet, the blade angled relative to a flow axis of the nozzle.
However, Aidun taches a coating device (50) comprising a continuous channel-52 which outputs a material and a doctor element (60) is positioned downstream of the continuous channel-52 and is angled relative to a flow axis of the outlet of the coating device (fig. 1b; col. 6, lines 15-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the blade positioned downstream of the outlet of Aidun onto the apparatus of Weber because Aidun teaches it will remove excess coating from the substrate (col. 3, lines 5-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 15, 18-22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717