DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention II (claims 6-11) in the reply filed on 07/10/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/26.
The Examiner respectfully notes that while Applicant’s response states that amendments to claim 12 incorporate this claim and its dependent claims into the elected invention, this is incorrect, and claims 12-20 remain withdrawn as being drawn towards a non-elected method of use, since the device of claim 6 can be used with another and materially different method, such as a method of making.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification ([0030]) states that the device (20) is seen in figures 1-3, and includes both the exoskeleton (30) and a robotic hand (100), the figures do not actually show the exoskeleton and “robotic hand” as being part of one device, or even touching one another. This is further unclear since an exoskeleton is understood to be an external element to help or augment part of a user, as opposed to replacing part of the body of the user (as would be understood to occur for a “robotic hand”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the exoskeleton, the (singular) device comprising the glove and exoskeleton, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because:
-item 30 is supposed to be drawn towards an “exoskeleton” but figure 1, item 30 does not show an exoskeleton. The item appears to be pointing towards a shoulder of a user
-Figure 3 item 94 is drawn towards an “active system” but it is unclear what an “active system” is
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 7 positively claims “a user”.
Claims 8-11 are rejected for depending on claim 7.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retaining device” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indefinite for claiming the device further comprises an exoskeleton. As the Examiner best understands from the specification and figures, there are two devices: one includes the glove/tubing system/sensors/actuator as is described in claim 6, and the other comprises the exoskeleton. The specification states that these are part of the same device, but the specification does not describe how the two work in conjunction with one another, are connected, and if/how they are related to one another. They appear (from figures) and are described (from the specification) as being two distinct devices with different locations, purposes, functions, effects, parts, etc. and they are not described as being connected or related in any way. Further, while the specification ([0030]) states that the device (20) is seen in figures 1-3, and includes both the exoskeleton (30) and a robotic hand (100), the figures do not actually show the exoskeleton and “robotic hand” as being part of one device, or even touching one another. The Examiner is accordingly unclear on what is actually part of the device, and what the elements of the device are, and how they are interconnected or how they function with regards to one another. It appears from the description, specification, and figures that these are actually two distinct devices, making it unclear how the claimed device with a glove, tubing system, sensors, and actuators also includes an exoskeleton with drums, springs, and a cable.
Remaining claims are indefinite for depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim limitation “retaining device” in claim 6 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification mentions that there is a “retaining device” wrapped around the tube, and uses that phrase four times. However, there is no location within the specification that describes or elaborates on what this “retaining device” might be or what it might include. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wijesundara et al. (US 20180303698 A1) hereinafter known as Wijesundara.
Regarding claim 6 Wijesundara discloses a device comprising:
a glove (Figures 10a-b and figure 34 item 86) comprising digits (Figures 10a-b and figure 34 show five digits),
a tubing system (Figures 1a, 4, 10a-b, 11 and 34 show a tubing system which connects the fluid supply 26 to the passage 30; see also [0128] fluid passageways connect fluid communication between fluid source 26 and cells of actuators) in fluid communication with a fluid supply (26),
a plurality of sensors coupled to the digits (Figure 34 item 72b; [0127]), and
a plurality of soft actuators (items 10a-f) coupled to the tubing system and sensors ([0080], [0127], Figures 1a, 34), wherein the actuators comprise a thickened base (Figure 1b item 54), a fluid cavity above the base and being defined by a tube (Figures 1a-d item 30), and a retaining device wrapped around the tube (Figure 4 item 80).
Regarding claim 7 Wijesundara discloses the device of claim 6 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Wijesundara further discloses an exoskeleton comprising a preloaded elastic spring, a plurality of drums coupled to the spring, and a cable intended to be coupled to a user, the drums, and the spring (this claim appears to be claiming a separate device – e.g. an exoskeleton and its parts) as opposed to further limiting the claimed “device” of claim 6).
Regarding claim 8 Wijesundara discloses the device of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Wijesundara further discloses the drums comprise a first drum and a second drum (this again appears to be further limiting part of the exoskeleton, which does not appear to be a positively claimed part of the “device”, but rather a separate device intended to be used in conjunction with the claimed device).
Regarding claim 9 Wijesundara discloses the device of claim 8 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Wijesundara further discloses the first drum comprises a storage drum and a the second drum comprises an output drum (this again appears to be further limiting part of the exoskeleton, which does not appear to be a positively claimed part of the “device”, but rather a separate device intended to be used in conjunction with the claimed device).
Regarding claim 10 Wijesundara discloses the device of claim 8 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Wijesundara further discloses the first drum has the spring wrapped thereon and the second drum comprises a cam-wheel (this again appears to be further limiting part of the exoskeleton, which does not appear to be a positively claimed part of the “device”, but rather a separate device intended to be used in conjunction with the claimed device).
Regarding claim 11 Wijesundara discloses the device of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Wijesundara further discloses the fluid supply comprises water ([0080]).
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 07/20/26