DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 – 15 and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vovan (2009/0206082; applicant cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, the Vovan reference discloses a container (101; Figs. 11 and 12) suitable for manually mixing contents therein (capable), the container
when formed having a first longitudinally horizontal axis A1 (i.e., longside), a second laterally horizontal axis A2 (i.e., shortside), and a vertical axis A₃ that is perpendicular to the horizontal axes A₁ and A₂ (i.e., container height), the container comprising:
a base (104) including a bottom, a base rim (164), and a base sidewall extending between the bottom and the base rim in a direction of the vertical axis A₃
and defining a base chamber (see Fig. 12), wherein the base rim defines an elliptic-shaped base opening (see paragraph 39, last line), wherein the base chamber has two conjugate diameters D₁ and D₂ proximate the base opening and two conjugate diameters D₃ and D₄ proximate the bottom, wherein the diameters D₁ and D₃ extend in a direction of the longitudinally horizontal axis A₁ and the diameters D₂ and D₄ extend in a direction of the laterally horizontal axis A₂, and wherein a ratio of D₁ to
D₂ is greater than 1 and a ratio of D₃ to D₄ is greater than 1 (inherent);
a lid (102) including a top, a lid rim (162), and a lid sidewall extending between the lid
rim and the top in the direction of the vertical axis A₃ and defining a lid chamber (see Fig. 12), wherein the lid rim engages the base rim when the container is formed and de-
fines an elliptic-shaped lid opening (see Fig. 11), wherein the lid chamber has the two conjugate diameters D₁ and D₂ proximate the lid opening and two conjugate diameters D₅ and D₆ proximate the top, wherein the diameter D₅ extends in the direction of the longitudinally horizontal axis A₁ and the diameter D₆ extends in the direction of the laterally horizontal axis A₂, and wherein a ratio of D₅ to D₆ is greater than 1 (inherent); and grips (120) extending outwardly from the container when formed, each grip
sized, shaped, and positioned to be grasped by a hand of a user for manually
mixing the contents within the base and lid chambers by rotating the container
about the laterally horizontal axis A2 (capable).
Regarding claim 2, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the ratio of D₁ to D₂, the ratio of D₃ to D₄, and the ratio of D₅ to D₆ facilitate centering the contents within the base and lid chambers relative to a plane defined by the longitudinally horizontal axis A₁ and the vertical axis A3 during rotation of the container about the laterally horizontal axis A2. The Vovan container is capable of functioning as defined.
Regarding claim 4, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the lid and base sidewalls are curved relative to the vertical axis A₃ to enable the contents to pool downward in the direction of the vertical axis A₃ after mixing. The defined functional language would be inherent to the Vovan container.
Regarding claim 7, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the base sidewall extends a height H₁ between the bottom and the base rim and the lid sidewall extends a height H₂ between the lid rim and the top, wherein the heights H₁ and H₂ are sized to enable reciprocating movement of the contents between the base and lid chambers in the direction of the vertical axis A3. The Vovan container is capable of functioning as defined.
Regarding claim 10, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein each grip (120) is located at one of two laterally horizontal sides of the container to enable the user to rotate the container about the laterally horizontal axis A2. See Figure 11.
Regarding claim 11, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein one of the grips (120; Figure 13) includes tabs each sized and shaped for a lateral grasp by a hand of the user (capable), one of the tabs extending outwardly from the base rim and the other tab extending outwardly from the lid rim, wherein the tabs enable the user to open the container by separating the lid from the base. See para. [0076].
Regarding claim 12, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the other grip is a hinge connecting the base rim and the lid rim. See para. [0071], last line.
Regarding claim 13, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the lid rim (162) and the base rim (164) engage to create a continuous peripheral seal when the container is formed. See para. [0071]; Figures 11 and 12.
Regarding claim 14, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the base sidewall and the lid sidewall each include structural ribs (unlabeled; clearly shown in Figs. 11 and 12) extending in the direction of the vertical axis A3, wherein the structural ribs and the elliptic shape of the base and lid rims cooperate to enable a single motion closure of the lid and the base when forming the container via a downward force applied to the lid in the direction of the vertical axis A3 (inherent).
Regarding claim 15, the Vovan reference further discloses wherein the base rim (164) defines a bead that is received by a trough (129) defined by the lid rim (162), wherein the bead and trough have complementing S-shaped walls that engage by friction and a middle segment of the bead engages a middle segment of the trough to create the continuous peripheral seal when the container is formed. See Figure 14A.
Regarding claims 18 – 20, the method would be inherent during normal use and operation of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vovan.
Regarding claim 3, the Vovan reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of D₁ to D₂, the ratio of D₃ to D₄,
and the ratio of D₅ to D₆ are each independently between 1.2 to 1.6. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the Vovan container to have ratios between 1.2 and 1.6, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105
Further, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 8, the Vovan reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein H₁ is approximately equal to H₂, the ratio of D₁ to D₂ is smaller than each of the ratio of D₃ to D₄ and the ratio of D₅ to D₆, and the
ratio of D₃ to D₄ is approximately equal to the ratio of D₅ to D₆. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the Vovan container to have heights and ratios as defined above, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105
Further, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 9, the Vovan reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of H₁ to D₂ and a ratio of H₂ to D₂ are each independently between 0.35 to 0.75. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the Vovan container to have heights and ratios as defined above, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105
Further, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vovan in view of Tyberghein (8967408).
Regarding claim 17, the Vovan reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), including ribs (see claim 14 rejection), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the base sidewall and the lid sidewall include structural ribs extending in the direction of the vertical axis A₃ and outwardly from the respective sidewall, wherein the structural ribs are V-shaped and taper to a reduced surface area at a terminal outer point of the ribs. However, the Tyberghein reference discloses another container (Figure 1) having upper ribs (21) and lower ribs (22), which are V-shaped and taper to a reduced surface area at a terminal outer point for strength and appearance (see col. 5, lines 15 – 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Vovan ribs to be shaped as defined above as, for example, taught by the Tyberghein reference, since V-shaped and tapered ribs are well known in the art to provide strength and would be obvious to try without unexpected results.
Further, substituting the Tyberghein ribs for the Vovan ribs would be a mere substitution of one rib for another and any of these rib designs would work equally well on the Vovan device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Cimmerer reference (20090179039) discloses another container having a lid, base, rim and ribs (see Figures), which can have an elliptical shape (para. [0060]).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753