DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments, filed 6 August 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
The instant claims require silicate nanoparticles. As best understood by the examiner, clay minerals are hydrous aluminum phyllosilicates, and thereby read on the required silicates.
Instant claim 1 recites a viscosity of about 2,000 to 15,000 mPa.s. The examiner notes that the instant application is drawn to a shear-thinning composition. This means that viscosity differs at different shear values. For the purposes of examination under prior art, a composition with a viscosity of 2,000 to 15,000 mPa.s at any value of shear is understood to meet the claim requirements. This means that a composition with a viscosity exceeding 15,000 mPa.s at zero shear but equal to 15,000 mPa.s at higher levels of shear is understood to meet the claimed requirement.
Claim 1 recites an ethanol derivative, as of the second line of the claim. This phrase does not appear to have been defined by the claims. Nevertheless, the examiner notes that the term “ethanol derivative” appears to have been used in the patent literature. See Seki et al. (US Patent 3,525,760), claim 5 and Dodson et al. (US Patent 6,150,126), claim 13. As such, the examiner understands that the phrase “ethanol derivative” is definite.
Claim 1 recites an effective amount of ethanol or a derivative thereof. This phrase is also recited in claims 25 and 35. MPEP 2173.05(c)(III) states that the common phrase "an effective amount" may or may not be indefinite. The proper test is whether or not one skilled in the art could determine specific values for the amount based on the disclosure. In this case, the instant specification appears to provide a definition for the phrase “effective amount” on page 5, paragraph 0046 of the specification. As such, the examiner understands the phrase “effective amount” to be definite.
Regarding claim 27, the abbreviations in this claim are well-known. PNIPAM refers to poly(N-isopropyl acrylamide), PLGA to poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (sometimes referred to as poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid), PLA to polylactide (or polylactic acid), PEG to polyethylene glycol, and PVA to polyvinyl alcohol.
Applicant does not appear to have addressed these positions in applicant’s response on 6 August 2026.
Note Regarding Active Agents and Vasoconstricting Agents
In the claims on 6 August 2026, the claims were amended to recite a vasoconstricting agent. In view of this, the examiner conducted a search in order to determine whether various chemical compounds cited by the prior art of record would have been vasoconstricting agents, even if this property was not recognized by the cited prior art. The determination made by the examiner in view of such a search has been set forth below.
A search conducted by the examiner revealed that epidermal growth factor would have been known to have been a vasoconstricting agent prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. See e.g. Kim et al. (Journal of Pharmacological Sciences, Vol. 101, 2006, pages 135-143), which teaches the following on page 135, title, which is reproduced below.
As such, prior art references that teach epidermal growth factor will be understood to read on the required vasoconstricting agent even if the prior art does not specifically teach that epidermal growth factor is a vasoconstricting agent. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition (in this case, the “composition” being referred to here is epidermal growth factor by itself, not the entire claimed composition), or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). See also MPEP 2112.01(I & II).
A search conducted by the examiner revealed that 5-fluorouracil would have been known to have been a vasoconstricting agent prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. See e.g. Polk et al. (BMC Pharmacology and Toxicology, Vol. 15:47, 2014, pages 1-11), which teaches the following on page 4, left column, bottom of page, relevant text reproduced below.
As such, prior art references that teach 5-fluorouracil will be understood to read on the required vasoconstricting agent even if the prior art does not specifically teach that epidermal growth factor is a vasoconstricting agent. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition (in this case, the “composition” being referred to here is 5-fluorouracil by itself, not the entire claimed composition), or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). See also MPEP 2112.01(I & II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-19, 25-29, 35-38, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura et al. (Langmuir, Vol. 33, 2017, pages 4758-4768 and supplemental pages 1-5) in view of Oreffo et al. (US 2017/0043058 A1).
Kimura et al. (hereafter referred to as Kimura) is drawn to combinations of water, alcohol (i.e. ethanol), and clay, as of Kimura, page 4758, title. The clay of Kimura appears to be in the form of a nanoparticle, as of Kimura, page 4759, figure 1, reproduced in part below.
The examiner notes that the above-reproduced figure, as of the top left, provides size measurements which would indicate that the clay is in the form of a nanoparticle. Kimura teaches applications in health care, as of the bottom two lines on the left column of page 4758.
Kimura does not teach a vasoconstricting agent.
Oreffo et al. (hereafter referred to as Oreffo) is drawn to a polymer-clay composite, as of Oreffo, title and abstract. Oreffo teaches use of this composite for drug delivery, as of Oreffo, paragraph 0005 as well as other locations in the reference. One of the drugs taught by Oreffo is epidermal growth factor, as of paragraph 0038. The skilled artisan would have understood the epidermal growth factor of Oreffo to have been a vasoconstricting agent; see the section above entitled “Note Regarding Active Agents and Vasoconstricting Agents.”
Oreffo does not appear to teach ethanol.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the ethanol, clay, and water combination of Kimura for drug delivery, as taught by Oreffo. Kimura teaches that an ethanol, clay, and water combination is useful for various applications including health care applications. Oreffo teaches that clay is useful in drug delivery applications. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the composition of Kimura with pharmaceutical drugs of Oreffo to be delivered for predictable delivery of said drugs with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 25, the claim recites that the composition is for use in neurolysis. Neither Kimura nor Oreffo teach this. Nevertheless, as the composition of Kimura as modified by Oreffo has all of the ingredients required by the instant claims, the skilled artisan would have expected that the composition of Kimura in view of Oreffo would have been usable in neurolysis even if Kimura does not explicitly teach this intended use. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114(II), wherein the examiner understands the rationale in MPEP 2114(II) to apply to chemical composition claims in the same manner that it applies to apparatus claims. Additionally, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV).
As to claim 25, the claims require an effective amount of ethanol. Kimura teaches multiple examples where the ethanol content would appear to be about 35-40% by weight, the silicate (i.e. clay) content would be 5% by weight, and the water would be the remaining 55-60%, as of Kimura, page 4761, right column, figure 4. This appears to differ only slightly from the amount recited by claim 7, and therefore would have been understood to have been an effective amount.
As to claim 25, the claim requires a vasoconstricting agent. One of the drugs taught by Oreffo is epidermal growth factor, as of paragraph 0038. The skilled artisan would have understood the epidermal growth factor of Oreffo to have been a vasoconstricting agent; see the section above entitled “Note Regarding Active Agents and Vasoconstricting Agents.”
As to claim 26, the skilled artisan would have expected the composition of Kimura to have been able to provide an implant for at least a day upon injection even though Kimura did not explicitly teach this. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). The PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same. See MPEP 2112(V). In this case, Kimura teaches a composition having water, ethanol, and clay, which is a silicate and is in the form of a nanoparticle. This appears to have the same elements as the claimed composition other than the vasoconstriction agent. Additionally, the composition of Kimura appeared to show thixotropic (i.e. a type of shear thinning) behavior, as of Kimura, page 4578, abstract, which while not required by the claim, is discussed in the instant application. This teaching of thixotropic behavior is understood to be sufficient to shift the burden to applicant in accordance with MPEP 2112(V) in regard to the subject matter required by claim 26. The examiner further notes here that MPEP 2112(V) states that whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same.
As to claim 27, Oreffo teaches the inclusion of various polymers to help deliver drugs such as PLGA, as of Oreffo, paragraph 0034. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have included the PLGA of Oreffo in the composition of Kimura in view of Oreffo to have predictably advanced the healthcare application of drug delivery with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 28, this claim is rejected for essentially the same reason that claim 26 is rejected.
As to claim 29, Oreffo teaches a diagnostically active substance, as of paragraph 0036. Oreffo teaches colourants, dyes, and radioisotopes as of paragraph 0037. These are understood to read on the required contrast agent.
As to claim 35, Kimura teaches ethanol, clay particles which read on the required silicate nanoparticles, and water. The claim recites that the composition is for use in for ablation of residual tumor cells post-surgical resection. Kimura does not teach this. Nevertheless, as the composition of Kimura has all of the ingredients required by the instant claims, the skilled artisan would have expected that the composition of Kimura would have been usable in ablation even if Kimura does not explicitly teach this intended use. Something which is old (e.g. the composition of Kimura, which comprises water, alcohol and clay) does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (that a composition having water, alcohol, and silicates such as clay is usable in ablation), and this feature need not have been recognized at the time of filing. See MPEP 2112(I & II). Additionally, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). See also MPEP 2114(II).
As to claim 36, the composition of Kimura is in liquid form due to the predominance of water and ethanol. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected that this composition, whether by itself or modified by Oreffo, would have been capable of having been delivered by spraying.
As to claim 37, Oreffo teaches a diagnostically active substance, as of paragraph 0036. Oreffo teaches colourants, dyes, and radioisotopes as of paragraph 0037. These are understood to read on the required contrast agent.
As to claim 38, Oreffo teaches the inclusion of various polymers to help deliver drugs such as PLGA, as of Oreffo, paragraph 0034. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have included the PLGA of Oreffo in the composition of Kimura in view of Oreffo to have predictably advanced the healthcare application of drug delivery with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 46, Oreffo teaches cis-platin in paragraph 0038, which is a chemotherapeutic agent.
As to claim 1, Kimura teaches the following, as of page 4761, figure 4(d), reproduced below with caption.
This figure discloses multiple compositions with water, ethanol, and clay (a silicate), which have viscosities between 2000 and about 9000 MPa.s in certain examples.
As to claims 2-3, the rationale provided by the examiner regarding MPEP 2112 in regard to claims 26-28 also applies to claims 2-3.
As to claim 4, Kimura teaches an example comprising 5% clay (i.e. silica derivatives) to e.g. 20-30% ethanol in figure 4(d), reproduced above. This is an ethanol:clay ratio of 1:0.16, which would appear to be within the claim scope.
As to claim 5, Kimura teaches 5% clay (i.e. silica) particles; this appears to be within the claim scope.
As to claim 6, Kimura teaches 5% clay rather than 10% clay in the above example. Nevertheless, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have optimized the amount of clay to have been in the claimed range. Optimization of a result-effective variable is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, clay concentration is clearly a result-effective variable because the purpose of the Kimura reference is to test different clay concentrations and report on their properties. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a mixture of water, ethanol, and clay has been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of silica particle concentration via routine experimentation.
As to claim 7, Kimura teaches multiple examples where the ethanol content would appear to be about 35-40% by weight, the silicate (i.e. clay) content would be 5% by weight, and the water would be the remaining 55-60%, as of Kimura, page 4761, right column, figure 4. This differs slightly than the required 50:50 ratio. Nevertheless, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a mixture of water, ethanol, and clay has been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of water to ethanol via routine experimentation.
As to claims 8-9, it does not appear as if the examples of Kimura anticipate these ranges. Nevertheless, the teachings of Kimura appear to be drawn to modifying and testing different ratios of water, ethanol, and clay. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have optimized the ratio of clay (i.e. silicate nanoparticles) to ethanol. Optimization of a result-effective variable is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the teachings of Kimura are drawn to testing different ratios of ingredients; as such, the skilled artisan would have understood the clay to ethanol ratio to have been a result-effective variable and would have been motivated to have optimized this ratio.
As to claim 10, the examiner understands the clays of Kimura to be silicate nanoplatelets. See Kimura, page 4759, figure 1(a), reproduced above.
As to claim 11, the nanoplatelets of Kimura appear to have a negatively charged surface and a positively charged edge as of Kimura, page 4759, figure 1(a)(iii), reproduced above.
As to claim 12, the nanoplatelets of Kimura appear to be negatively charged, as of Kimura, page 4759, figure 1(a)(ii).
As to claims 13-14, Kimura appears to teach a 30 nm diameter and 1 nm thickness as of page 4759, figure (1)(a)(i), reproduced in the above anticipation rejection.
As to claim 15, Kimura appears to be silent regarding yield stress. Nevertheless, something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property, and this feature need not have been recognized at the time of filing. See MPEP 2112(I & II). Additionally, PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same. See MPEP 2112(V). In this case, Kimura teaches a composition having water, ethanol, and clay, which is a silicate and is in the form of a nanoparticle. This appears to be substantially identical to the instantly claimed invention with the exception of the vasoconstriction agent. This composition of Kimura appeared to show thixotropic (i.e. a type of shear thinning) behavior, as of Kimura, page 4578, abstract, which while not required by the claim, is discussed in the instant application. This teaching of thixotropic behavior is understood to be sufficient to shift the burden to applicant in accordance with MPEP 2112(V) in regard to the subject matter required by claim 15.
As to claim 16, Kimura teaches that the composition is thixotropic, as of Kimura, page 4758, abstract.
As to claim 17, Oreffo teaches a diagnostically active substance, as of paragraph 0036. Oreffo teaches colourants, dyes, and radioisotopes as of paragraph 0037. These are understood to read on the required contrast agent.
As to claim 18, Oreffo teaches cis-platin in paragraph 0038, which is a chemotherapeutic agent.
As to claim 19, Kimura teaches ethanol, as of the reference title.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10-19, 25-27, 29, 35-38, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khademosseini et al. (US 2018/0360920 A1) in view of Cho et al. (Korean Journal of Radiology, Vol. 9(3), June 2008, pages 258-267).
Khademosseini et al. (hereafter referred to as Khademosseini) is drawn to a shear-thinning composition for treating vascular disorders as an embolic agent, as of Khademosseini, title and abstract. Khademosseini teaches silicate nanoparticles, as of paragraph 0020, and water, as of paragraph 0036. Khademosseini teaches viscosity as of figures 8A, 8B, and 13.
Khademosseini does not teach ethanol.
Cho et al. (hereafter referred to as Cho) is drawn to ethanol for embolization, as of Cho, page 258, title and abstract.
Cho does not appear to teach silicate nanoparticles.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the ethanol of Cho with the composition of Khademosseini. Khademosseini is drawn to an embolic agent, as of the title and abstract, and is therefore drawn to achieving embolization. Cho is drawn to ethanol for embolization, as of Cho, page 258, title and abstract. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the ethanol of Cho with the composition of Khademosseini in order to have predictably achieved embolization with a reasonable expectation of success. Combining prior art elements (e.g. the composition of Khademosseini and the ethanol of Cho) according to known methods in order to have achieved predictable results (embolization) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
As to claim 1, the examiner has set forth the following chart on the next page to explain how the claimed subject matter lacks an inventive step in view of Khademosseini and Cho, as set forth on the next page.
Claim Limitation
Where Taught in Prior Art
A composition for use in ablation or sclerotherapy
Khademosseini teaches use in ablation in paragraphs [0113] and [0184]
Ethanol
Cho teaches ethanol, as of the title. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined Cho with Khademosseini because both references relate to embolization.
Silicate Nanoparticles
See at least paragraph [0020] of Khademosseini
Water
See at least paragraph [0036] of Khademosseini
Vasoconstricting Agent
Khademosseini, paragraph [0180] teaches 5-fluorouracil, which would have read on the required vasoconstricting agent. See section above entitled “Note Regarding Active Agents and Vasoconstricting Agents.”
Required Viscosity
See figures 8A, 8B, and 13 of Khademosseini – the examiner notes that a shear thinning composition whose viscosity exceeds the claimed range at zero shear but is within the claimed range at non-zero shear meets this claim limitation.
Regarding viscosity, the examiner clarifies that the instant claims do not recite the shear force at which the recited viscosity occurs; this is relevant because both the prior art and instant invention (as per the title) are drawn to shear-thinning compositions. For example, figure 13 of Khademosseini has been reproduced below.
The above-reproduced figure appears to show a composition with zero viscosity at any shear value (represented by the circle), then a composition showing about 60-70 Pa*sec viscosity at zero shear (represented by the square). The value of 70 Pa*Sec is 70,000 mPa*sec, which would appear to exceed the maximum viscosity of 15,000 mPa*Sec. With that being said, the composition represented by the square having 70,000 mPa*sec viscosity at zero shear would appear to have a lower viscosity at higher shear that would have been within the required range of 2000-15,000 mPa*Sec. This would also appear to be applicable to all of the other compositions taught by figure 13 of Khademosseini with the exception of the composition having zero viscosity at all shear levels. As such, the viscosity of the compositions of Khademosseini would appear to be within the claim scope.
As to claim 1, the examiner notes that Khademosseini and Cho relate to embolization, whereas the intended use of the instantly claimed composition is for ablation or sclerotherapy. Nevertheless, this difference is not sufficient to overcome the applied rejection. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem (e.g. embolization in the case of the prior art, in contrast to ablation or sclerotherapy in the case of the claimed invention). It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV).
As to claim 1, the claims require an effective amount of ethanol. Cho teaches ethanol in amounts of 99.9%, 80%, as well as more dilute concentrations, as of Cho, page 250, beginning of second to last paragraph. These would appear to be effective amounts.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a vasoconstricting agent. Khademosseini, paragraph [0180] teaches 5-fluorouracil, which would have read on the required vasoconstricting agent. See section above entitled “Note Regarding Active Agents and Vasoconstricting Agents.”
As to claim 6, Khademosseini teaches about 0.5% to about 10% of the silicate nanoparticles by weight, as of paragraph 0020 of Khademosseini.
As to claim 10, Khademosseini teaches silica nanoplatelets in paragraph 0023.
As to claim 11, Khademosseini teaches a positively charged edge and a negatively charged surface in paragraph 0023.
As to claim 12, Khademosseini teaches that the overall charge is negative, as of paragraph 0023.
As to claim 13, Khademosseini teaches an average diameter of about 5 nm to about 60 nm as of paragraph 0024.
As to claim 14, Khademosseini teaches an average thickness of about 1 nm in paragraph 0024.
As to claim 15, Khademosseini teaches a yield stress of about 1 Pa to about 200 Pa in paragraph 0049.
As to claim 16, Khademosseini teaches a shear-thinning composition in paragraph 0049.
As to claim 17, Khademosseini teaches a contrast agent in paragraph 0176. Khademosseini also teaches the term “radiopaque” in paragraph 0090; the skilled artisan would have understood that an agent for x-rays is a radiopaque agent.
As to claim 18, Khademosseini teaches chemotherapeutic agents as of at least paragraphs 0111 and 0162.
As to claim 19, Cho teaches ethanol as of the reference title.
As to claim 25, this claim is rejected for essentially the same reason that claim 1 is rejected. Cho teaches ethanol, and Khademosseini teaches silicate nanoparticles and water. While neither reference teaches that the composition is for neurolysis, the skilled artisan would have expected the combination of Khademosseini in view of Cho to have been usable for neurolysis because it comprises all of the required elements. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). Additionally, MPEP 2114(II) notes that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does; the examiner understands this rationale to apply to chemical composition claims in the same manner that it applies to apparatus claims.
As to claim 26, Khademosseini appears to teach that the composition stays in place for 24 days, as of Khademosseini, paragraphs 0104, 0106, and 0256-0257.
As to claim 27, Khademosseini teaches gelatin, as of paragraph 0019.
As to claim 29, Khademosseini teaches a contrast agent in paragraph 0176. Khademosseini also teaches the term “radiopaque” in paragraph 0090; the skilled artisan would have understood that an agent for x-rays is a radiopaque agent.
As to claim 35, this claim is rejected for essentially the same reason that claim 1 is rejected. Cho teaches ethanol, and Khademosseini teaches silicate nanoparticles and water. While neither reference teaches that the composition is for ablation, the skilled artisan would have expected the combination of Khademosseini in view of Cho to have been usable for ablation because it comprises all of the required elements. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. See MPEP 2112(I). Additionally, MPEP 2114(II) notes that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does; the examiner understands this rationale to apply to chemical composition claims in the same manner that it applies to apparatus claims.
As to claim 36, the skilled artisan would have expected that the composition of Khademosseini, whether by itself or modified by Cho, would have been capable of being delivered by spraying because it appears to be the same viscosity as the instantly claimed composition.
As to claim 37, Khademosseini teaches a contrast agent in paragraph 0176. Khademosseini also teaches the term “radiopaque” in paragraph 0090; the skilled artisan would have understood that an agent for x-rays is a radiopaque agent.
As to claim 38, Khademosseini teaches gelatin, as of paragraph 0019.
As to claim 46, Khademosseini teaches a chemotherapeutic agent, as of at least paragraph 0014.
Withdrawn Rejections
The previously applied indefiniteness rejections have been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. As such, applicant’s arguments related to the indefiniteness rejections appear to be moot in view of the withdrawal of these rejections and will not be addressed substantively.
In the prior office action, the examiner rejected various claims as anticipated by Kimura et al. (Langmuir, Vol. 33, 2017, pages 4758-4768 and supplemental pages 1-5), and/or as obvious over Kimura et al. (Langmuir, Vol. 33, 2017, pages 4758-4768 and supplemental pages 1-5) by itself. These rejections have been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. Specifically, all of the claims have been amended to require a vasoconstricting agent. This is not taught by Kimura et al. (Langmuir, Vol. 33, 2017, pages 4758-4768 and supplemental pages 1-5). As such, the anticipation rejection over Kimura and the obviousness rejection over Kimura by itself have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The previously applied obviousness rejection over Kimura et al. (Langmuir, Vol. 33, 2017, pages 4758-4768 and supplemental pages 1-5) in view of Oreffo et al. (US 2017/0043058 A1) has been maintained by the examiner. In applicant’s response on 6 August 2026 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s response), applicant argues that neither Kimura nor Oreffo teach the required vasoconstricting agent, as of page 11 of applicant’s response. This is not persuasive. Oreffo teaches epidermal growth factor, as of paragraph 0038, which reads on the required vasoconstricting agent.
The previously applied rejection over Khademosseini et al. (US 2018/0360920 A1) in view of Cho et al. (Korean Journal of Radiology, Vol. 9(3), June 2008, pages 258-267) has been maintained by the examiner. In applicant’s response on 6 August 2026 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s response), applicant argues that neither Khademosseini nor Cho teach the required vasoconstricting agent, as of page 11 of applicant’s response. This is not persuasive. Khademosseini teaches 5-fluorouracil in paragraph 0180, which reads on the required vasoconstricting agent.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612