DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 2/5/2026.
Claim(s) 1-36 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 37-56 has/have been added.
Claims(s) 37-56 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 7/29/2024, 8/6/2024, 8/22/2025 and 2/25/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/29/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification includes the citation “http://www.3gpp.org/news-events/3pp-news/2005-ran_r16_schedule”, at line 13-14, of page 11 of the specification of the original disclosure, where hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code are to be objected if included in the text of the patent application, see MPEP 6.32.01 Section VII. Appropriate correction is required.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. In particular, see p.29 of the specification of the original disclosure, “Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Specification”.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 15 notes, “apect” which is considered a misspelling. The Examiner suggests changing to “aspect”, or something similar. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
The limitations, “the at least one computer program configured to…”, as noted in claim 46, “the at least one computer program is further configured to…”, as noted in claim 49, “the plurality of instructions configured to…”, as noted in claim 54 and, “the plurality of instructions are further configured to…”, as noted in claim 56, are considered as including well-know structural elements, therefore, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is NOT invoked.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 37, 38 and 40 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 14, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11974080. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 37:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11974080
A computerized method of operating a network having at least a portion
comprising radio frequency (RF)-capable wireline infrastructure to deliver respective Internet-of-Things (IoT) data to respective ones of recipient devices disposed at different premises, the computerized method comprising:
allocating a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a prescribed portion of a
frequency spectrum carried by the RF-capable wireline infrastructure;
generating orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms, the OFDM
waveforms comprising an IoT channel occupying the allocated plurality of PRBs; and
transmitting the generated OFDM waveforms over at least the RF-capable wireline infrastructure, the transmitting of the generated OFDM waveforms comprising delivering the loT
data, via the IoT channel, to the respective ones of the recipient devices.
A computerized method of operating a network having at least a portion comprising radio frequency (RF)-capable wireline infrastructure to deliver respective IoT (Internet of Things) data to respective ones of IoT devices disposed at different premises, the computerized method comprising:
allocating a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a prescribed portion of a frequency spectrum carried by the RF-capable wireline infrastructure;
generating OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing) waveforms, the OFDM waveforms comprising the respective IoT data disposed within one or more of the allocated plurality of PRBs, wherein the disposition of the respective IoT data within one or more of the allocated plurality of PRBs is representative of a separate logical IoT channel within a long-term evolution (LTE)-complaint channel; upconverting the generated OFDM waveforms to a user frequency band; and
transmitting the generated OFDM waveforms over at least the RF-capable wireline infrastructure. (claim 14)
As to claim 38:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11974080
The computerized method of claim 37, wherein the transmitting comprises
transmitting at least portions of the generated first OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a
plurality of computerized premises devices disposed at respective ones of the different premises,
each of the plurality of computerized premises devices in signal communication with one or
more loT devices.
The computerized method of claim 14, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of computerized premises devices disposed at respective ones of the different premises, each of the plurality of computerized premises devices in signal communication with a respective one of the IoT devices. (claim 15)
As to claim 40:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11974080
The computerized method of claim 37, wherein the generating of the OFDM
waveforms comprising the IoT channel occupying the allocated plurality of PRBs comprises forming
a logical IoT channel embedded within a prescribed portion of a long-term evolution (LTE)-
complaint channel.
A computerized method of operating a network having at least a portion comprising radio frequency (RF)-capable wireline infrastructure to deliver respective IoT (Internet of Things) data to respective ones of IoT devices disposed at different premises, the computerized method comprising:
allocating a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a prescribed portion of a frequency spectrum carried by the RF-capable wireline infrastructure;
generating OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing) waveforms, the OFDM waveforms comprising the respective IoT data disposed within one or more of the allocated plurality of PRBs, wherein the disposition of the respective IoT data within one or more of the allocated plurality of PRBs is representative of a separate logical IoT channel within a long-term evolution (LTE)-complaint channel; upconverting the generated OFDM waveforms to a user frequency band; and
transmitting the generated OFDM waveforms over at least the RF-capable wireline infrastructure. (claim 14)
Claim (s) 39 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 14, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11974080 in view of Hoole et al. US 11102560.
U.S. Patent No. 11974080 discloses:
wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated first OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of IoT devices capable of receiving and demodulating the OFDM waveforms in a prescribed transmission band.
The computerized method of claim 14, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of computerized premises devices disposed at respective ones of the different premises, each of the plurality of computerized premises devices in signal communication with a respective one of the IoT devices. (claim 15)
U.S. Patent No. 11974080 as described above does not explicitly teach:
demodulating
However, Hoole et al. further teaches a demodulation capability which includes:
demodulating
(“A computerized method of operating a radio frequency (RF) network having an RF operating spectrum so that extant hybrid fiber coax (HFC) infrastructure is used to deliver wireless IoT (Internet of Things) data, the computerized method comprising: receiving the OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing) waveforms via at least one computerized premises device, wherein the receiving of the OFDM waveforms comprises receiving the OFDM waveforms over at least a portion of the HFC infrastructure using at least (i) a first frequency band, and (ii) a portion of a 3GPP (Third Generation Partnership Project) anchor channel configured to transport control data to the at least one computerized premises device for termination thereat; upconverting the received OFDM waveforms to a user frequency band; and distributing the upconverted received OFDM waveforms to at least one computerized user device capable of demodulating the upconverted received OFDM waveforms to recover the IoT data.; claim 1)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the demodulation capability of Hoole et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11974080. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11974080 to include the demodulation capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hoole et al.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 46:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11102560
Computerized premises apparatus for use within a network having an RF
operating spectrum, the computerized premises apparatus comprising:
digital processor apparatus;
radio frequency transmission apparatus in data communication with the digital processor
apparatus; and
storage apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus and
comprising at least one computer program, the at least one computer program configured to,
when executed by the digital processor apparatus:
receive one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)
waveforms;
process the one or more OFDM waveforms to obtain control data; and
apply the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises
apparatus.
Computerized network apparatus for use within an HFC (hybrid fiber coaxial) radio frequency (RF) network having an RF operating spectrum, the computerized network apparatus comprising:
digital processor apparatus;
radio frequency transmission apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus; and
storage apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus and comprising at least one computer program, the at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the digital processor apparatus: generate first OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing) waveforms, the first OFDM waveforms comprising 5G NR (3GPP Fifth Generation New Radio) compliant waveforms and carrying user data;
transmit the generated first OFDM waveforms over at least a portion of the HFC RF network using at least a first frequency band to at least one receiving radio frequency device disposed at a user premises; generate second OFDM waveforms, the second OFDM waveforms comprising LTE (3GPP Fourth Generation Long Term Evolution) compliant waveforms; and transmit the generated second OFDM waveforms over at least a portion of the HFC RF network using at least a second frequency band to the at least one receiving radio frequency device, the second frequency band comprising an LTE anchor channel,
the LTE anchor channel comprising a first portion configured to transport control data and a second portion configured to transport at least one of: (i) supplemental bandwidth, or (ii) IoT (Internet of Things) data. (claim 9)
The computerized network apparatus of claim 9, wherein the computerized network apparatus is configured to control, via the control data, at least one aspect of the at least one receiving radio frequency device. (claim 10)
Claim (s) 47 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 in view of Ruder et al. WO 2018063518.
U.S. Patent No. 11102560 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the application
of the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus comprises
reconfiguring the computerized premises apparatus via the control data to change one or more
RF front end parameters of the computerized premises apparatus.
However, Ruder et al. further teaches a front-end capability which includes:
wherein the application
of the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus comprises
reconfiguring the computerized premises apparatus via the control data to change one or more
RF front end parameters of the computerized premises apparatus.
(“The term "base station" used in reference to an access point of a mobile communication network may be understood as a macro base station, micro base station, Node B, evolved NodeBs (eNB), Home eNodeB…; Ruder et al.; 0015)
(“There is great utility in improving power consumption of UE. Power savings in a battery powered device is of tremendous importance for user satisfaction. To save power in an LTE downlink receiver, the RF Frontend, which requires the highest power consumption, should be switched on only when required. Very often, the LTE downlink receiver has good signal reception conditions, is connected to the base station…”; Ruder et al.; 0026)
(“Fig. 8 shows a transmission of OFDM symbol data to UE. In this case, UE 801 comprises a memory or database 802, a computational circuit 803, and a radiofrequency frontend 804, and the UE is configured to receive transmissions from a network 805. The transmissions comprise OFDM symbols which are organized in groups of fourteen to create a subframe 806. In each subframe for a bandwidth greater than 1.4 MHz, the first OFDM symbol comprises CFI 807. The CFI 807 corresponds to the number of OFDM symbols that will be used to transmit PDCCH data 808. In this case, the CFI is three, which corresponds to the three OFDM symbols that comprise the PDCCH 808. The computational circuit 802 assesses prior CFIs stored in the database 801 and uses a formula to create a predicted CFI 809. The radiofrequency frontend receives transmissions of the number of OFDM symbols that correspond to the predicted CFI 809. These OFDM symbols are decoded and their PDCCH is assessed for a transmission grant 810 in the subframe's remaining OFDM symbols. In the depicted example, the PDCCH includes a scheduled transmission 810 later in the subframe. Where the PDCCH 808 in the OFDM symbols contains no transmission grant for the user equipment 801, the radiofrequency frontend 804 switches off for the reminder of the subframe.”; Ruder et al.; 0024)
(“A "circuit" as user herein is understood as any kind of logic-implementing entity, which may include special-purpose hardware or a processor executing software. A circuit may thus be an analog circuit, digital circuit, mixed-signal circuit, logic circuit, processor, microprocessor, Central Processing Unit (CPU), Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), Digital Signal Processor (DSP)…”; Ruder et al.; 0013)
(“…The actual CFI may still be decoded and stored in a database for use in predicting CFI once the prediction resumes.”; Ruder et al.; 0050)
(“…a computational circuit, configured to predict a second CFI from at least one entry in the memory and switch off the RF Frontend after the RF Frontend receives a number of OFDM symbols, wherein the number of OFDM symbols received equals the predicted CFI.”; Ruder et al.; 00126)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the demodulation capability of Ruder et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11102560. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 to include the demodulation capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ruder et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054).
Claim (s) 50 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 in view of Fang et al. US 20130322882 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #108, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-29).
U.S. Patent No. 11102560 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms according to a frequency mapping plan which enables a logical channel carrying the control data to be dynamically varied.
However, Fang et al. further teaches a MAP capability which includes:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms according to a frequency mapping plan which enables a logical channel carrying the control data to be dynamically varied.
(“FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of a coaxial MAP structure 700 with resource blocks expressed in terms of symbols in time in the x-axis and sub-carriers in frequency in the y-axis. The coax MAP structure 700 illustrates two schemes, an OFDM MAP structure 710 where each individual allocation 711, 712, 713, 714 indicate the allocated time-frequency slots for a specific LLID or CNU, and an OFDMA MAP structure 720 where each individual allocation 721, 722, 723, 724 indicates the allocated time-frequency slots for a specific LLID or CNU. In the disclosed system, the coax PHY may employ OFDMA scheme for both upstream and downstream transmissions.”; Fang et al.; 0052)
(“In downstream, packets are broadcasted by the OLT and selectively forwarded by the CMC. The CMC buffers Ethernet frames received from the OLT into LLID-queues corresponding to their LLIDs, allocates resource in terms of time-frequency slots or PRBs specified in a DL-MAP, fragments the Ethernet frames to fit into fixed-length coax symbols or PRBs, and then transmits the fragments to the CNUs through coax Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexed (OFDM) symbols. A DL-MAP may store allocation for multiple LLIDs or CNUs where each LLID or CNU has a different allocation. It should be noted that a CNU may comprise one or more unique LLIDs.”; Fang et al.; 0055)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MAP capability of Fang et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11102560. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 to include the MAP capability as taught by the processing/communications of Fang et al., the benefits of improved end to end fiber/coaxial system (Fang et al.; 0006).
Claim (s) 52 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 in view of Xiong et al. US 20160037514.
U.S. Patent No. 11102560 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
However, Xiong et al. further teaches a MTC/edge capability which includes:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
(“FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate generally diagrams (e.g., 300A and 300B) of frequency-division and time-division locations for a machine-type communication (MTC) region (e.g., 304A and 304B) in a downlink in accordance with some embodiments. Diagrams 300A and 300B include a control region 302 for a LTE or LTE-advanced network. In an example, diagram 300A includes a MTC region 304A that is time-division multiplexed with the control region 302. As shown in diagram 300A, the control region 302 occurs before the MTC region 304A along the subframe axis. In an example, diagram 300A includes a frequency-division for the MTC region. In an example, the MTC region 304A may be located in a contiguous set of PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs) within the system bandwidth. For example, the MTC region may be located in a set of centered PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs), at the edge of the system bandwidth, etc. In another example, the MTC region may include a set of frequency locations and be described using subcarrier indexes in the system bandwidth in a downlink or an uplink. The uplink frequency locations for the MTC region may exclude a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) region or a physical random access channel (PRACH) region. For example, the PUCCH or PRACH regions may be used for LTE or LTE-advanced communication and may not be necessary for MTC or may interfere with MTC and may not be used for MTC.”; Xiong et al.; 0038)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MTC/edge capability of Xiong et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11102560. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 to include the MTC/edge capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xiong et al., the benefits of improved decoding (Xiong et al.; 0071).
Claim (s) 53 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 in view of Shaw et al. US 10085199.
U.S. Patent No. 11102560 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data comprises a Fifth Generation (5G) slice that is difference from a 5G slice associated with user traffic.
However, Shaw et al. further teaches a separated control/user/slice capability which includes:
wherein the control data comprises a Fifth Generation (5G) slice that is difference from a 5G slice associated with user traffic.
(“In one or more embodiments, the 5G Network 110 can include a Session Anchoring Function (SAF) that can allow an initial connection of the communication device 116 to anchor control plane communication traffic in the default Network Slice 161. In one embodiment, the SAF can ensure session continuity over the communication session in light of subsequent changes in user plane communication routing by hair pinning of the control plane connectivity. In one embodiment, the SAF can enable slice chaining of the connectivity. In a slice chaining event, the default Network Slice 161 can process the user plane communication traffic associated with the communication device 116 prior to routing this user plane communication traffic between the communication device 116 and a second Network Slice 162A-B.”; Shaw et al.; col. 8, lines 28-41)
(“In one or more embodiments, the SDN Network 150 can interact with one or more MGW 130 to identify services that are requested by communication devices 116. In addition, the SDN Network 150 can use the MGW 130 to determine whether a given communication device 116 is targeted to 4G or 5G functions, such as separated or combined control/user planes. The SDN Controller 140 can determined whether a 4G or 5G core should be used for the core network slice.”; Shaw et al.; col. 27, lines 35-43)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the separated control/user/slice capability of Shaw et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11102560. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11102560 to include the separated control/user/slice capability as taught by the processing/communications of Shaw et al., the benefits of improved coverage (Shaw et al.; Abstract).
Claim(s) 54 and 55 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11102560. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 54:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11102560
Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium,
the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality
of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing
apparatus of a computerized client device, cause the computerized client device to:
utilize a first portion of an RF operating spectrum of the hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio
frequency network to receive communications compliant with a first wireless technology; and
utilize a second portion of the RF operating spectrum to receive Internet-of-Things (IoT)
data via communications compliant with a second wireless technology,
the utilization of the
second portion comprising utilization of a portion of an LTE anchor channel as a channel for the
IoT data.
A computerized method of utilizing a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency (RF) network for distribution of radio frequency signals encoding IoT (Internet of Things) data, the computerized method comprising:
utilizing a first portion of an RF operating spectrum of the hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency network to provide communications compliant with a first wireless technology; and
utilizing a second portion of the RF operating spectrum to provide the IoT data via communications compliant with a second wireless technology, the
utilizing of the second portion comprising using a portion of an LTE anchor channel as a channel for the IoT data; wherein the using of the portion of the LTE anchor channel comprises: selectively filtering all but the portion of the LTE anchor channel; and distributing the unfiltered portion of the LTE anchor channel to at least one IoT end device. (claim 5)
As to claim 55:
U.S. Application 18649755
U.S. Patent No. 11102560
The computer readable apparatus of claim 54, wherein the utilization of
the portion of the LTE anchor channel comprises:
selectively filtering all but the portion of the LTE anchor channel; and
distribution of the unfiltered portion of the LTE anchor channel to at least one IoT end
device.
A computerized method of utilizing a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency (RF) network for distribution of radio frequency signals encoding IoT (Internet of Things) data, the computerized method comprising:
utilizing a first portion of an RF operating spectrum of the hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency network to provide communications compliant with a first wireless technology; and
utilizing a second portion of the RF operating spectrum to provide the IoT data via communications compliant with a second wireless technology, the
utilizing of the second portion comprising using a portion of an LTE anchor channel as a channel for the IoT data; wherein the using of the portion of the LTE anchor channel comprises:
selectively filtering all but the portion of the LTE anchor channel; and distributing the unfiltered portion of the LTE anchor channel to at least one IoT end device. (claim 5)
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 38, line 2, notes “generated first OFDM waveforms”, which has not previously been noted. The Examiner suggests changing to “generated OFDM waveforms”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 39, line 2, notes “generated first OFDM waveforms”, which has not previously been noted. The Examiner suggests changing to “generated OFDM waveforms”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 41 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 41, line 2, notes “the logical embedded IoT channel”, which has not previously been noted. The Examiner suggests changing to “a logical embedded IoT channel”, or changing claim 41 line 1 to “The computerized method of claim of claim 40”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 46 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 46, line 1, notes “Computerized premises apparatus”, which is considered as improper grammar. The Examiner suggests changing to “A computerized premises apparatus”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 48, line 2, notes, “TDD”, which is considered an anachronym without a definition. The Examiner suggests changing to “time division duplex (TDD)”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 53 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 53, line 2, notes, “that is difference from”, which is considered improper grammar. The Examiner suggests changing to “that is different from”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 54 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 54, line 1, notes, “Computer readable apparatus”, which is considered as improper grammar. The Examiner suggests changing to “A computer readable apparatus”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 54 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 54, line 5, notes, “the hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency network”, which has not previously been noted. The Examiner suggests changing to “a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) radio frequency network”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 56 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 56, last line, notes, “the IoT dat”, which is considered a misspelling. The Examiner suggests changing to “the IoT data”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. US 20130322882 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #108, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-29) in view of Sarda et al. US 20190058757.
As to claim 37:
Fang et al. discloses:
A computerized method of operating a network having at least a portion
comprising radio frequency (RF)-capable wireline infrastructure to deliver respective …data to respective ones of recipient devices disposed at different premises, the computerized method comprising:
(“…The CNUs 130 may be typically located at distributed locations, such as the customer premises, but may be located at other locations as well.”; Fang et al.; 0042)
(where
FIG. 1 illustrates “infrastructure”
“The CNUs 130 may be typically located at distributed locations, such as the customer premises” maps to “respective ones of recipient devices disposed at different premises”
allocating a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a prescribed portion of a frequency spectrum carried by the RF-capable wireline infrastructure;
(“FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment of a coax downstream frame structure 1400. A frame comprises 75 symbols with symbol number varying from 0 to 74. Each symbol comprises multiple PRBs with PRB number varying from 0 to N. The value N is 15 for a 24 megahertz (MHz) channel with 16 PRBs and the value N is 79 for a 120 MHz channel with 80 PRBs. Thus, there are 75*(N+1) PRBs in one downstream frame. All the PRBs are used to transmit data. Each PRB may be allocated to a different CNU. For example, in the downstream frame 1400, each PRB in symbol 0 is allocated to a different LLID as shown in 1410, while in symbols 1, 2, and 3, contiguous PRBs are allocated to one LLID as shown in 1420. The first two PRBs in all payload symbols are used for control channels such as UL-MAP, DL-MAP and other control signaling as shown in 1430. They are modulated and coded in a predefined modulation order and coding parameters.”; Fang et al.; 0068)
(“…bandwidth…while in the coaxial domain, it is a two-dimensional allocation based on time and frequency which is expressed in terms of OFDM symbols and sub-carriers or PRBs…; Fang et al.; 0047)
(where
“PRBs”/”PRB may be allocated” maps to “allocating a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs)”,
“24..MHz channel”/”120 MHz channel” maps to “within a prescribed portion of a frequency spectrum”
“coax”/”bandwidth…coaxial domain…frequency” maps to “carried by the RF-capable wireline infrastructure”
generating orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms, the OFDM waveforms comprising an …channel occupying the allocated plurality of PRBs; and
(“FIG. 15 illustrates an embodiment of an exemplary coax PHY downstream frame format 1500 for a 24 MHz OFDM channel. Each downstream frame includes a Downstream Training Sequence (DTS) 1510 and 75 payload symbols 1520. There are two sequences in DTS 1510, a first sequence DTS1 1530 and a second sequence DTS2 1540. DTS1 1530 is a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence and may be 1 or 32 OFDM symbols in length. DTS2 1540 is a ZC sequence of 1 OFDM symbol plus CP in length. Each payload symbol comprises 1024 sub-carriers with 16 continuous PRBs where each PRB comprises 64 continuous sub-carriers. In a downstream frame, there are pilots located in the PRB which are specified in a DL-MAP. There may be 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 24 MHz OFDM channel and 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 120 MHz OFDM channel where channel bonding may be present. Symbol alignment may be performed during DTS1, frequency offset estimation and compensation may be performed during DTS2, sampling clock synchronization may be performed during DTS2 or pilot sub-carriers, channel estimation and tracking may be performed during DTS2 and payload symbols.”; Fang et al.; 0069)
(“FIG. 8 illustrates a scenario 800 where a stream of Ethernet frames from EPON PHY is fragmented to fill into the allocated PRBs for coax PHY. The stream of Ethernet frames is received from the EPON PHY with a bit-stream based transmission channel and they are to be converted and forwarded to the coaxial cable with a symbol-based transmission channel. In the coax segment, a symbol denotes an OFDM symbol with a typical duration of 8 microseconds. Each symbol may be divided into multiple PRBs where each PRB is formed by a group of sub-carriers. Each symbol in a downstream frame may carry data for multiple CNUs. That is, each group of sub-carriers in a symbol may carry data for a different CNU. This allocation of PRBs to CNUs is specified in a DL-MAP. The number of bits that can be loaded in an allocation for a CNU may be determined by the modulation profile of each sub-carrier in a symbol, the number of sub-carriers in each sub-carrier group, the number of sub-carrier groups assigned which in turns depends on the maximum number of CNUs that has data for the symbol simultaneously.”; Fang et al.; 0056)
(where
“In a downstream frame, there are pilots located in the PRB which are specified in a DL-MAP. There may be 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 24 MHz OFDM channel and 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 120 MHz OFDM channel”/” The stream of Ethernet frames is received from the EPON PHY with a bit-stream based transmission channel and they are to be converted and forwarded to the coaxial cable with a symbol-based transmission channel. In the coax segment, a symbol denotes an OFDM symbol” maps to “generating orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms”,
“24 MHz OFDM channel”/” There may be 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 24 MHz OFDM channel and 1 to 2 pilot sub-carriers in a 120 MHz OFDM channel” maps to “the OFDM waveforms comprising an …channel”,
“a 24 MHz OFDM channel. Each downstream frame includes a Downstream Training Sequence (DTS) 1510 and 75 payload symbols 1520. There are two sequences in DTS 1510, a first sequence DTS1 1530 and a second sequence DTS2 1540. DTS1 1530 is a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence and may be 1 or 32 OFDM symbols in length. DTS2 1540 is a ZC sequence of 1 OFDM symbol plus CP in length. Each payload symbol comprises 1024 sub-carriers with 16 continuous PRBs where each PRB comprises 64 continuous sub-carriers. In a downstream frame, there are pilots located in the PRB which are specified in a DL-MAP”/FIG. 15 maps to “…channel occupying the allocated plurality of PRBs”
transmitting the generated OFDM waveforms over at least the RF-capable wireline infrastructure, the transmitting of the generated OFDM waveforms comprising delivering the … data, via the … channel, to the respective ones of the recipient devices.
(where
“forwarded to the coaxial cable with a symbol-based transmission channel. In the coax segment, a symbol denotes an OFDM symbol” maps to “transmitting the generated OFDM waveforms over at least the RF-capable wireline infrastructure”,
“Each symbol in a downstream frame may carry data for multiple CNUs. That is, each group of sub-carriers in a symbol may carry data for a different CNU.”/”channel” Maps to “the transmitting of the generated OFDM waveforms comprising delivering the … data, via the … channel, to the respective ones of the recipient devices”, where “data” maps to “…data”, “channel” maps to “via the…channel”, “data for a different CNU” maps to “respective ones of the recipient devices”
Fang et al. teaches converting a EPON PHY bit stream to OFDM symbols for transmission over a channel associated with PRBs, where data is delivered to different CNUs.
Fang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
Internet-of-Things (IoT)
loT [data]
IoT [channel]
However, Sarda et al. further teaches an IoT capability which includes:
Internet-of-Things (IoT)
loT [data]
IoT [channel]
(“For example, a CPE device 110 may include a set-top box (STB), multimedia gateway device, IP (Internet protocol) client device, modem, router, wireless extender, tablet, computer, mobile device, Internet of things (IoT) device, and/or any other device configured to receive and/or deliver a service to a subscriber.”; Sarda et al.; 0013)
(where
“IoT” maps to “IoT”
Sarda et al. teaches a CPE is analogous to a IoT device
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the IoT capability of Sarda et al. into Fang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Fang et al. to include the IoT capability as taught by the processing/communications of Sarda et al., the benefits of improved end to end fiber/coaxial system (Fang et al.; 0006) with improved system (Sarda et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 38:
Fang et al. discloses:
wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated first OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of computerized premises devices disposed at respective ones of the different premises, each of the plurality of computerized premises devices in signal communication with one or more … devices.
(“FIG. 8 illustrates a scenario 800 where a stream of Ethernet frames from EPON PHY is fragmented to fill into the allocated PRBs for coax PHY. The stream of Ethernet frames is received from the EPON PHY with a bit-stream based transmission channel and they are to be converted and forwarded to the coaxial cable with a symbol-based transmission channel. In the coax segment, a symbol denotes an OFDM symbol with a typical duration of 8 microseconds. Each symbol may be divided into multiple PRBs where each PRB is formed by a group of sub-carriers. Each symbol in a downstream frame may carry data for multiple CNUs. That is, each group of sub-carriers in a symbol may carry data for a different CNU. This allocation of PRBs to CNUs is specified in a DL-MAP. The number of bits that can be loaded in an allocation for a CNU may be determined by the modulation profile of each sub-carrier in a symbol, the number of sub-carriers in each sub-carrier group, the number of sub-carrier groups assigned which in turns depends on the maximum number of CNUs that has data for the symbol simultaneously.”; Fang et al.; 0056)
Fang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
loT [devices]
However, Sarda et al. further teaches an IoT capability which includes:
loT [devices]
(“For example, a CPE device 110 may include a set-top box (STB), multimedia gateway device, IP (Internet protocol) client device, modem, router, wireless extender, tablet, computer, mobile device, Internet of things (IoT) device, and/or any other device configured to receive and/or deliver a service to a subscriber.”; Sarda et al.; 0013)
(where
“IoT” maps to “IoT”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the IoT capability of Sarda et al. into Fang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Fang et al. to include the IoT capability as taught by the processing/communications of Sarda et al., the benefits of improved end to end fiber/coaxial system (Fang et al.; 0006) with improved system (Sarda et al.; 0005) are achieved.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. US 20130322882 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #108, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-29) in view of Sarda et al. US 20190058757 and in further view of Campos et al. US 20160013855 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #123, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-20).
As to claim 39:
Fang et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated first OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of IoT devices capable of receiving and demodulating the OFDM waveforms in a prescribed transmission band.
However, Sarda et al. further teaches an IoT capability which includes:
loT [devices]
(“For example, a CPE device 110 may include a set-top box (STB), multimedia gateway device, IP (Internet protocol) client device, modem, router, wireless extender, tablet, computer, mobile device, Internet of things (IoT) device, and/or any other device configured to receive and/or deliver a service to a subscriber.”; Sarda et al.; 0013)
(where
“IoT” maps to “IoT”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the IoT capability of Sarda et al. into Fang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Fang et al. to include the IoT capability as taught by the processing/communications of Sarda et al., the benefits of improved end to end fiber/coaxial system (Fang et al.; 0006) with improved system (Sarda et al.; 0005) are achieved.
However, Campos et al. further teaches an Freq F1’/Modulation De-Mapping capability which includes:
wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting at least portions of the generated first OFDM waveforms to respective ones of a plurality of … devices capable of receiving and demodulating the OFDM waveforms in a prescribed transmission band.
(see FIG. 4B)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the IoT capability of Sarda et al. into Fang et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Fang et al. to include the IoT capability as taught by the processing/communications of Sarda et al., the benefits of improved design (Campos et al.; 0055) with improved system (Sarda et al.; 0005) are achieved.
Claim(s) 46 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991.
As to claim 46:
Ruder et al. discloses:
Computerized premises apparatus for use within a network having an RF
operating spectrum, the computerized premises apparatus comprising:
(“The term "base station" used in reference to an access point of a mobile communication network may be understood as a macro base station, micro base station, Node B, evolved NodeBs (eNB), Home eNodeB…; Ruder et al.; 0015)
(“There is great utility in improving power consumption of UE. Power savings in a battery powered device is of tremendous importance for user satisfaction. To save power in an LTE downlink receiver, the RF Frontend, which requires the highest power consumption, should be switched on only when required. Very often, the LTE downlink receiver has good signal reception conditions, is connected to the base station…”; Ruder et al.; 0026)
(“Fig. 8 shows a transmission of OFDM symbol data to UE. In this case, UE 801 comprises a memory or database 802, a computational circuit 803, and a radiofrequency frontend 804, and the UE is configured to receive transmissions from a network 805. The transmissions comprise OFDM symbols which are organized in groups of fourteen to create a subframe 806. In each subframe for a bandwidth greater than 1.4 MHz, the first OFDM symbol comprises CFI 807. The CFI 807 corresponds to the number of OFDM symbols that will be used to transmit PDCCH data 808. In this case, the CFI is three, which corresponds to the three OFDM symbols that comprise the PDCCH 808. The computational circuit 802 assesses prior CFIs stored in the database 801 and uses a formula to create a predicted CFI 809. The radiofrequency frontend receives transmissions of the number of OFDM symbols that correspond to the predicted CFI 809. These OFDM symbols are decoded and their PDCCH is assessed for a transmission grant 810 in the subframe's remaining OFDM symbols. In the depicted example, the PDCCH includes a scheduled transmission 810 later in the subframe. Where the PDCCH 808 in the OFDM symbols contains no transmission grant for the user equipment 801, the radiofrequency frontend 804 switches off for the reminder of the subframe.”; Ruder et al.; 0024)
(where
“Home eNodeB”/”UE…user…base station” maps to “Computerized premises apparatus”
“bandwidth greater than 1.4 MHz” maps to “having an RF
operating spectrum”
digital processor apparatus;
(“A "circuit" as user herein is understood as any kind of logic-implementing entity, which may include special-purpose hardware or a processor executing software. A circuit may thus be an analog circuit, digital circuit, mixed-signal circuit, logic circuit, processor, microprocessor, Central Processing Unit (CPU), Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), Digital Signal Processor (DSP)…”; Ruder et al.; 0013)
“”circuit”…processor…microprocessor…Digital Signal Processor”/”Computational Circuit 803”/FIG. 8 maps to “digital processor apparatus”
radio frequency … apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus; and
(where
“RF Frontend 804”/FIG. 8 maps to “radio frequency…apparatus”,
“CFI 807” maps to “data”,
“prior CFIs stored” maps to “data communication with digital processor apparatus”, where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the “Computational Circuit 803” in FIG. 8 to receive the “CFIs” from the “RF Frontend 804” and perform “prior CFIs stored”
storage apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus and comprising at least one computer program, the at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the digital processor apparatus:
(where
Memory/Database 802”/FIG. 8/“processor executing software”/”Computational Circuit 803” maps to “storage apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus and comprising at least one computer program, the at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the digital processor apparatus:”
receive one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms;
(where
“receive transmissions…the first OFDM symbol comprises CFI 807. The CFI 807 corresponds to the number of OFDM symbols that will be used to transmit PDCCH data 808… The computational circuit 802 assesses prior CFIs stored in the database 801” maps to “receive one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms”, where “receive transmissions” maps to “receive”, “OFDM symbols” maps to “one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms”
process the one or more OFDM waveforms to obtain control data; and
(“…The actual CFI may still be decoded and stored in a database for use in predicting CFI once the prediction resumes.”; Ruder et al.; 0050)
(“…a computational circuit, configured to predict a second CFI from at least one entry in the memory and switch off the RF Frontend after the RF Frontend receives a number of OFDM symbols, wherein the number of OFDM symbols received equals the predicted CFI.”; Ruder et al.; 00126)
(where
“The CFI 807 corresponds to the number of OFDM symbols that will be used to transmit PDCCH data 808. In this case, the CFI is three, which corresponds to the three OFDM symbols that comprise the PDCCH 808. The computational circuit 802 assesses prior CFIs stored in the database 801 and uses a formula to create a predicted CFI 809” maps to “process the one or more OFDM waveforms to obtain control data”, where “CFI 807”/”assesses prior CFIs”/”actual CFI may still be decoded and stored”/”predicted CFI” maps to “process the one or more OFDM waveforms to obtain control data”, “assesses” maps to “process”, “prior CFIs”/”OFDM symbols” maps to “one or more OFDM waveforms”, “CFI 807”/”prior CFIs”/”actual CFI”/”predicted CFI” maps to “control data”
apply the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus.
(where
“a computational circuit, configured to predict a second CFI from at least one entry in the memory and switch off the RF Frontend after the RF Frontend receives a number of OFDM symbols, wherein the number of OFDM symbols received equals the predicted CFI.” Maps to “apply the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus”, where “switch off” maps to “apply”, “predicted CFI” maps to “control data”, “RF Frontend”/”assesses prior CFIs stored in the database 801” maps to “one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus”
Ruder et al. teaches receiving CFIs and storing the CFIs in memory and performing a calculation on the received/stored CFIs to determine a predicted CFI and based on the predicted CFI determine to switch off a RF frontend.
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
[radio frequency] transmission [apparatus]
However, Ang et al. further teaches a transceiver capability which includes:
[radio frequency] transmission [apparatus]
(“FIG. 10 is a block diagram of a transceiver 900 that implements aspects of this disclosure. The transceiver 900 comprises antennas 210, baseband processor 245, memory 250, and controller/processor 255 as described previously. The transceiver further includes RF receive (Rx) front ends 910. Each RF Rx front end 910 may include an amplifier, an analog filter, and an ADC as described with respect to FIG. 2. Other RF Rx front end architectures are compatible with this disclosure. For example, some RF Rx front end architectures perform most processing in the analog domain, and some RF Rx front end architectures perform most processing in the digital domain. Furthermore, some RF Rx front end architectures perform most processing at an intermediate frequency (IF), rather than baseband. These RF Rx front ends can be made adjustable to accommodate differences in control signal and data signal bandwidths.”; Ang et al.; 0082)
(where
“transceiver 900”/”RF Tx front-end 920a” maps to “[radio frequency] transmission [apparatus]”
Ang et al. teaches a transceiver for transmitting RF
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transceiver capability of Ang et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the transceiver capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ang et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved dynamic operation (Ang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 47:
Ruder et al. discloses:
wherein the application of the control data to one or more functions of the computerized premises apparatus comprises reconfiguring the computerized premises apparatus via the control data to change one or more RF front end parameters of the computerized premises apparatus.
(“…The actual CFI may still be decoded and stored in a database for use in predicting CFI once the prediction resumes.”; Ruder et al.; 0050)
(“This may result in a benefit over prior methods that rely on decoding the received OFDM symbols before switching off the RF Frontend. A certain delay is created by decoding received OFDM symbols for a transmission grant. Where the RF Frontend is switched off only after ensuring the absence of a transmission grant, the resulting computational delay generally requires that multiple OFDM symbols are downloaded before the RF Frontend can be switched off. As such, the ability to switch off the RF Frontend based on a predicted CFI may permit earlier discontinuation of the RF Frontend and consequently increased stand-by time and substantial additional power savings.”; Ruder et al.; 0009)
(“…a computational circuit, configured to predict a second CFI from at least one entry in the memory and switch off the RF Frontend after the RF Frontend receives a number of OFDM symbols, wherein the number of OFDM symbols received equals the predicted CFI.”; Ruder et al.; 00126)
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991 and in further view of Sarda et al. US 20190058757 and Campos et al. US 20160013855 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #123, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-20).
As to claim 49:
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms at an intermediate frequency, the one or more OFDM waveforms comprising a logical Internet-of-Things (IoT) channel; and
the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed by the digital processor apparatus:
perform at least one of (i) up-conversion or (ii) down-conversion of the logical IoT channel to a desired RF carrier frequency that at least one IoT device is capable of receiving; and
transmit the logical IoT channel at the desired RF carrier frequency to the at least one IoT device.
However, Sarda et al. further teaches an IoT capability which includes:
Internet-of-Things (IoT)
IoT
(“For example, a CPE device 110 may include a set-top box (STB), multimedia gateway device, IP (Internet protocol) client device, modem, router, wireless extender, tablet, computer, mobile device, Internet of things (IoT) device, and/or any other device configured to receive and/or deliver a service to a subscriber.”; Sarda et al.; 0013)
(where
“IoT” maps to “IoT”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the IoT capability of Sarda et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the IoT capability as taught by the processing/communications of Sarda et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved system (Sarda et al.; 0005) are achieved.
However, Campos et al. further teaches a conversion capability which includes:
the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms at an intermediate frequency, the one or more OFDM waveforms comprising a logical … channel; and
the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed by the digital processor apparatus:
perform at least one of (i) up-conversion or (ii) … of the logical … channel to a desired RF carrier frequency that at least one … device is capable of receiving; and
transmit the logical … channel at the desired RF carrier frequency to the at least one … device.
(see FIG.3 and FIG. 4A)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the conversion capability of Sarda et al. into Campos et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the conversion capability as taught by the processing/communications of Campos et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved design (Campos et al.; 0055) are achieved.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991 and in further view of Fang et al. US 20130322882 (U.S. Patent Documents citation #108, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-29).
As to claim 50:
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms according to a frequency mapping plan which enables a logical channel carrying the control data to be dynamically varied.
However, Fang et al. further teaches a MAP capability which includes:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms according to a frequency mapping plan which enables a logical channel carrying the control data to be dynamically varied.
(“FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of a coaxial MAP structure 700 with resource blocks expressed in terms of symbols in time in the x-axis and sub-carriers in frequency in the y-axis. The coax MAP structure 700 illustrates two schemes, an OFDM MAP structure 710 where each individual allocation 711, 712, 713, 714 indicate the allocated time-frequency slots for a specific LLID or CNU, and an OFDMA MAP structure 720 where each individual allocation 721, 722, 723, 724 indicates the allocated time-frequency slots for a specific LLID or CNU. In the disclosed system, the coax PHY may employ OFDMA scheme for both upstream and downstream transmissions.”; Fang et al.; 0052)
(“In downstream, packets are broadcasted by the OLT and selectively forwarded by the CMC. The CMC buffers Ethernet frames received from the OLT into LLID-queues corresponding to their LLIDs, allocates resource in terms of time-frequency slots or PRBs specified in a DL-MAP, fragments the Ethernet frames to fit into fixed-length coax symbols or PRBs, and then transmits the fragments to the CNUs through coax Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexed (OFDM) symbols. A DL-MAP may store allocation for multiple LLIDs or CNUs where each LLID or CNU has a different allocation. It should be noted that a CNU may comprise one or more unique LLIDs.”; Fang et al.; 0055)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transceiver capability of Fang et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the transceiver capability as taught by the processing/communications of Fang et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved end to end fiber/coaxial system (Fang et al.; 0006) are achieved.
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991 and in further view of Xiong et al. US 20160037514 and Zhou et al. US 20190306801.
As to claim 51:
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
However, Xiong et al. further teaches a MTC/center capability which includes:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
(“FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate generally diagrams (e.g., 300A and 300B) of frequency-division and time-division locations for a machine-type communication (MTC) region (e.g., 304A and 304B) in a downlink in accordance with some embodiments. Diagrams 300A and 300B include a control region 302 for a LTE or LTE-advanced network. In an example, diagram 300A includes a MTC region 304A that is time-division multiplexed with the control region 302. As shown in diagram 300A, the control region 302 occurs before the MTC region 304A along the subframe axis. In an example, diagram 300A includes a frequency-division for the MTC region. In an example, the MTC region 304A may be located in a contiguous set of PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs) within the system bandwidth. For example, the MTC region may be located in a set of centered PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs), at the edge of the system bandwidth, etc. In another example, the MTC region may include a set of frequency locations and be described using subcarrier indexes in the system bandwidth in a downlink or an uplink. The uplink frequency locations for the MTC region may exclude a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) region or a physical random access channel (PRACH) region. For example, the PUCCH or PRACH regions may be used for LTE or LTE-advanced communication and may not be necessary for MTC or may interfere with MTC and may not be used for MTC.”; Xiong et al.; 0038)
Where Zhou et al. teaches a downlink bandwidth located above an uplink bandwidth (see FIG. 20)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MTC/center capability of Xiong et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the MTC/center capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xiong et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved decoding (Xiong et al.; 0071) are achieved.
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991 and in further view of Xiong et al. US 20160037514.
As to claim 52:
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
However, Xiong et al. further teaches a MTC/edge capability which includes:
wherein the receipt of the one or more OFDM waveforms comprises receipt of Internet-of-Things (IoT) data having IoT channel bandwidth disposed between upstream (US) and downstream (DS) spectrum.
(“FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate generally diagrams (e.g., 300A and 300B) of frequency-division and time-division locations for a machine-type communication (MTC) region (e.g., 304A and 304B) in a downlink in accordance with some embodiments. Diagrams 300A and 300B include a control region 302 for a LTE or LTE-advanced network. In an example, diagram 300A includes a MTC region 304A that is time-division multiplexed with the control region 302. As shown in diagram 300A, the control region 302 occurs before the MTC region 304A along the subframe axis. In an example, diagram 300A includes a frequency-division for the MTC region. In an example, the MTC region 304A may be located in a contiguous set of PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs) within the system bandwidth. For example, the MTC region may be located in a set of centered PRBs (e.g., six or seven PRBs), at the edge of the system bandwidth, etc. In another example, the MTC region may include a set of frequency locations and be described using subcarrier indexes in the system bandwidth in a downlink or an uplink. The uplink frequency locations for the MTC region may exclude a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) region or a physical random access channel (PRACH) region. For example, the PUCCH or PRACH regions may be used for LTE or LTE-advanced communication and may not be necessary for MTC or may interfere with MTC and may not be used for MTC.”; Xiong et al.; 0038)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MTC/edge capability of Xiong et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the MTC/edge capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xiong et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved decoding (Xiong et al.; 0071) are achieved.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruder et al. WO 2018063518 in view of Ang et al. US 20160127991 and in further view of Shaw et al. US 10085199.
As to claim 53:
Ruder et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data comprises a Fifth Generation (5G) slice that is difference from a 5G slice associated with user traffic.
However, Shaw et al. further teaches a separated control/user/slice capability which includes:
wherein the control data comprises a Fifth Generation (5G) slice that is difference from a 5G slice associated with user traffic.
(“In one or more embodiments, the 5G Network 110 can include a Session Anchoring Function (SAF) that can allow an initial connection of the communication device 116 to anchor control plane communication traffic in the default Network Slice 161. In one embodiment, the SAF can ensure session continuity over the communication session in light of subsequent changes in user plane communication routing by hair pinning of the control plane connectivity. In one embodiment, the SAF can enable slice chaining of the connectivity. In a slice chaining event, the default Network Slice 161 can process the user plane communication traffic associated with the communication device 116 prior to routing this user plane communication traffic between the communication device 116 and a second Network Slice 162A-B.”; Shaw et al.; col. 8, lines 28-41)
(“In one or more embodiments, the SDN Network 150 can interact with one or more MGW 130 to identify services that are requested by communication devices 116. In addition, the SDN Network 150 can use the MGW 130 to determine whether a given communication device 116 is targeted to 4G or 5G functions, such as separated or combined control/user planes. The SDN Controller 140 can determined whether a 4G or 5G core should be used for the core network slice.”; Shaw et al.; col. 27, lines 35-43)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the separated control/user/slice capability of Shaw et al. into Ruder et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Ruder et al. to include the separated control/user/slice capability as taught by the processing/communications of Shaw et al., the benefits of improved performance (Ruder et al.; 0054) with improved coverage (Shaw et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Examiner Notes
Claims 40-45, 48 and 54-56 are objected, but do not have a prior art rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20140099113 – teaches EPoC with channel bandwidth and PRBs (see para. 0060)
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464