DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on April 29th, 2024 and September 4th, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blair et al. (US 20110121922 A1), herein referred to as Blair.
Regarding claim 1, Blair discloses a flexible, radio-frequency transition (100) configured to electrically interconnect a first electronic component (104) and a second electronic component (108) to facilitate radio-frequency electrical communication therebetween, the transition comprising: a flexible dielectric membrane (122/128); and a microstrip transmission line formed on the flexible dielectric membrane, wherein the microstrip transmission line includes an electrically conductive signal trace (120) and an electrically conductive ground plane (124) for the electrically conductive signal trace; wherein the transition is configured to electrically interconnect the first electronic component and the second electronic component (para. 0040), and to permit radio-frequency electrical communication therebetween, throughout a range of transition angles (by nature of it being flexible).
Regarding claim 2, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the flexible dielectric membrane includes at least one of a flexible polymeric membrane (para. 0042, polyester is a synthetic polymer) and a flexible polyimide membrane (para. 0042).
Regarding claim 3, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein an electrically insulating region of the flexible dielectric membrane (122) extends between, and electrically isolates (para. 0042), the electrically conductive signal trace (120) and the electrically conductive ground plane (124).
Regarding claim 4, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 3.
Blair also discloses wherein the electrically insulating region of the flexible dielectric membrane includes an insulating membrane layer (122), wherein the electrically conductive signal trace (120) is formed on a trace side (bottom) of the insulating membrane layer, and further wherein the electrically conductive ground plane (124) is formed on a plane side (top) of the insulating membrane layer.
Regarding claim 6, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair does not specifically disclose wherein the flexible dielectric membrane includes a plurality of membrane layers, wherein the electrically conductive signal trace is defined between two adjacent trace-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers, and further wherein the electrically conductive ground plane is defined between two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers.
Regarding claim 9, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the range of transition angles extends between angles of at least 0 degrees and at most 180 degrees (this describes the range of any flexible interconnect, as 0 is straight, and beyond 180 would require the interconnect to fold into itself).
Regarding claim 10, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition includes a first transition angle and a second transition angle, and further wherein the first transition angle and the second transition angle both are selected from within the range of transition angles (the nature of the flexible interconnect allows it to be positioned at any set angle within the range that it is capable of flexing).
Regarding claim 11, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition further includes an electrically conductive trace interface tip (210), which extends from the electrically conductive signal trace (120) and is configured to form an electrical connection with one of the first electronic component and the second electronic component (para. 0071).
Regarding claim 12, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition further includes: (i) a first electrically conductive trace interface tip, which extends from a first trace end region of the electrically conductive signal trace and is configured to form an electrical connection with the first electronic component; and (ii) a second electrically conductive trace interface tip, which extends from an opposed second trace end region of the electrically conductive signal trace and is configured to form an electrical connection with the second electronic component (similar to claim 11, the connection pad, 210, is configured on both ends, as per para. 0071, to provide connection with the components the interconnect is connected to).
Regarding claim 13, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition further includes an electrically conductive plane interface tip (162), which extends from the electrically conductive ground plane (124) and is configured to form an electrical connection with one of the first electronic component and the second electronic component (para. 0079).
Regarding claim 14, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition further includes: (i) a first electrically conductive plane interface tip (162), which extends from a first plane end region of the electrically conductive ground plane (124) and is configured to form an electrical connection with the first electronic component (para. 0079); and (ii) a second electrically conductive plane interface tip, which extends from an opposed second plane end region of the electrically conductive ground plane and is configured to form an electrical connection with the second electronic component (para. 0081).
Regarding claim 15, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the microstrip transmission line includes a plurality of stacked electrically conductive signal traces (154, fig. 8A) that includes at least a first stacked electrically conductive signal trace (see fig. 8A) and a second stacked electrically conductive signal trace (See fig. 8A), wherein a corresponding region of the flexible dielectric membrane (152) extends between, and electrically isolates, the first stacked electrically conductive signal trace and the second stacked electrically conductive signal trace (See fig. 8A), and further wherein the microstrip transmission line includes a conductor via (para. 0066) that electrically interconnects the first stacked electrically conductive signal trace and the second stacked electrically conductive signal trace (para. 0066).
Regarding claim 16, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition includes a plurality of microstrip transmission lines (see fig. 6A) that includes a plurality of electrically conductive signal traces (132) and a plurality of electrically conductive ground planes (130), wherein each microstrip transmission line of the plurality of microstrip transmission lines includes a corresponding electrically conductive signal trace of the plurality of electrically conductive signal traces and a corresponding electrically conductive ground plane of the plurality of electrically conductive ground planes (see fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 18, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Blair also discloses wherein the transition further includes a plurality of ground connections that electrically interconnect a central region of adjacent electrically conductive ground planes of the plurality of electrically conductive ground planes (ground vias 138, para. 0050).
Regarding claim 19, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Blair also discloses wherein each electrically conductive ground plane (124) of the plurality of electrically conductive ground planes includes a corresponding first plane end region and a corresponding second plane end region (end portions, such as 162, on either end), wherein the corresponding first plane end region of adjacent electrically conductive ground planes of the plurality of electrically conductive ground planes are in electrical communication with one another (by way of ground vias 138 connecting each to 130), and further wherein the corresponding second plane end regions of the adjacent electrically conductive ground planes are in electrical communication with one another (by way of ground vias 138 connecting each to 130).
Regarding claim 20, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair also discloses an electronic system (fig. 1) the system comprising: a first electronic component (104); a second electronic component (108); and the transition of claim 1 (100), wherein the electrically conductive signal trace electrically interconnects (see fig. 1) the first electronic component (104) and the second electronic component (108) and is configured to convey a radio-frequency signal between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (para. 0038, 0049).
Regarding claim 21, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 20.
Blair also discloses wherein the system further includes a connector (102, 106) configured to retain the transition in electrical communication with at least one of the first electronic component (104) and the second electronic component (108).
Regarding claim 22, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 21.
Blair also discloses wherein the connector includes a pressure connector (156) configured to apply a retention force to the transition to retain the transition (para. 0053) in electrical communication with the at least one of the first electronic component (104) and the second electronic component (108).
Regarding claim 23, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 22.
Blair also discloses wherein the pressure connector (156) includes at least a resilient material (para. 0053), which is configured to generate the retention force (para. 0053).
Regarding claim 24, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 20.
Blair also discloses wherein at least one of: (i) the electrically conductive signal trace electrically interconnects the first electronic component and the second electrical component without utilizing a soldered connection; (ii) an electrical connection between the electrically conductive signal trace and the first electronic component is free of solder; and (iii) an electrical connection between the electrically conductive signal trace and the second electronic component is free of solder (see para. 0085 and 0090. While Blair does use soldering, it is fairly explicitly described as simply one way, and discloses other means not requiring soldering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair.
Regarding claim 5, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 3.
Blair does not specifically disclose wherein the electrically insulating region of the flexible dielectric membrane includes an insulating membrane region that is defined on a surface of at least one of the flexible dielectric membrane and a membrane layer of the flexible dielectric membrane, wherein the electrically conductive signal trace and the electrically conductive ground trace both are formed on the surface.
However, Blair does disclose in para. 0042, that the flexible dielectric layer may be comprised of multiple dielectric layers, and further that the overall thickness of the dielectric layer can be chosen depending on desired characteristics, and the material may be chosen for dielectric properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the transition of Blair wherein the electrically insulating region of the flexible dielectric membrane includes an insulating membrane region that is defined on a surface of at least one of the flexible dielectric membrane and a membrane layer of the flexible dielectric membrane, wherein the electrically conductive signal trace and the electrically conductive ground trace both are formed on the surface, in order to fine tune physical and dielectric properties of the insulating membrane region.
Regarding claim 6, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Blair does not specifically disclose wherein the flexible dielectric membrane includes a plurality of membrane layers, wherein the electrically conductive signal trace is defined between two adjacent trace-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers, and further wherein the electrically conductive ground plane is defined between two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers.
However, Blair does disclose in para. 0042, that the flexible dielectric layer may be comprised of multiple dielectric layers, and further that the overall thickness of the dielectric layer can be chosen depending on desired characteristics, and the material may be chosen for dielectric properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the transition of Blair wherein the flexible dielectric membrane includes a plurality of membrane layers, wherein the electrically conductive signal trace is defined between two adjacent trace-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers, and further wherein the electrically conductive ground plane is defined between two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers of the plurality of membrane layers, in order to fine tune physical and dielectric properties of the insulating membrane region.
Regarding claim 7, Blair renders obvious all limitations of base claim 6.
Blair does not specifically disclose wherein the two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers are the two adjacent trace-supporting membrane layers.
However, as discussed in claim 6, Blair does disclose in para. 0042, that the flexible dielectric layer may be comprised of multiple dielectric layers, and further that the overall thickness of the dielectric layer can be chosen depending on desired characteristics, and the material may be chosen for dielectric properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the modified transition of Blair wherein the two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers are the two adjacent trace-supporting membrane layers, in order to fine tune physical and dielectric properties of the insulating membrane region.
Regarding claim 8, Blair renders obvious all limitations of base claim 6.
Blair does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers differs from at least one of the two trace-supporting membrane layers.
However, as discussed in claim 6, Blair does disclose in para. 0042, that the flexible dielectric layer may be comprised of multiple dielectric layers, and further that the overall thickness of the dielectric layer can be chosen depending on desired characteristics, and the material may be chosen for dielectric properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the modified transition of Blair wherein at least one of the two adjacent plane-supporting membrane layers differs from at least one of the two trace-supporting membrane layers, in order to fine tune physical and dielectric properties of the insulating membrane region.
Regarding claim 17, Blair anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Blair also discloses wherein the plurality of electrically conductive signal traces extends along a signal conduction axis (see fig. 6A).
Blair does not specifically disclose further wherein a minimum distance between adjacent electrically conductive signal traces, as measured in a direction that is perpendicular to the signal conduction axis, is at most 1000 micrometers.
However, Blair does teach that the distance between adjacent electrically conductive signal traces, as measured in a direction that is perpendicular to the signal conduction axis, is a results effective variable to determine the impedance of the traces (para. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the transition of Blair further wherein a minimum distance between adjacent electrically conductive signal traces, as measured in a direction that is perpendicular to the signal conduction axis, is at most 1000 micrometers, in order to fine tune impedance.
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845