DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a reply to the amendment filed on 6/4/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 14-20 have been withdrawn. No claims have been cancelled. No new claims have been added.
Priority
The instant application is a CIP filed 4/29/2024. The elements and features recited in independent claims 1 and 7, as well as dependent claims 2-6 and 8-13 are drawn to the embodiment of Figs. 27-28 and the corresponding description of such figures in the specification. Such elements and features first appear in the instant application and as such were treated as having a priority date of 4/29/2024.
Drawings
Note that applicant’s remarks include a statement of replacement drawing sheets being filed (remarks filed 6/4/2026, page 1). However, replacement drawings have not been received in applicant’s response filed on 6/4/2026.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figs. 27-28, the poor line quality and shading renders part or all of the drawing illegible when reproduced. 37 CFR 1.84(l) (m) and (p)(1). 37 CFR 1.84(l) recites, “[a]ll drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.” Applicant is requested to submit replacement drawing sheets with darker drawing lines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leitch (US 20150089895).
Claim 1, Leitch provides a shingle patch for repairing a damaged portion of a damaged shingle (note that a damaged portion of a damage shingle is not positively recited and thus not required, and that the claim is drawn solely to the shingle patch), the shingle patch comprising:
a body (400; Fig. 3B) having top and bottom surfaces (405 and 407, respectively);
a first adhesive 416 applied to at least a portion of the bottom surface of the body (Fig. 3B); and
a second adhesive 413 applied to at least a portion of the bottom surface of the body (Fig. 3B),
wherein the first adhesive and the second adhesive are different (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, elements 413 and 416 are separate, discrete objects, and that element 416 comprises tape and element 416 comprises conditional adhesive [0061]).
Claim 2, Leitch further provides wherein the first adhesive and second adhesive are selected to provide a bond between the shingle patch and the damaged shingle (note that the claim is a product claim and that “are selected” was treated broadly not to mean a process of selecting, but instead as intended use or functional language; it is understood that the first and second adhesives are suitable for use between the shingle patch and the damaged shingle, as exceedingly broadly claimed; [0061]).
Claim 3, Leitch further provides wherein the first adhesive provides a bond with faster curing than the second adhesive, or with no curing time (the first adhesive is a tape and the second adhesive can comprise several different materials including but not limited to a conditional adhesive that is understood to have a slower bonding time relative to the first adhesive defined by tape, as exceedingly broadly claimed; alternatively, the first adhesive provides a bond with no curing time, as the tape would be expected to have an instant bond; [0034]).
Claim 4, Leitch further provides wherein the second adhesive provides a stronger and more durable bond than the first adhesive (under the basic properties of materials, the bond formed by the second adhesive including a bituminous based adhesive is understood to have a stronger and more durable bond than the first adhesive defined by tape, as exceedingly broadly claimed; [0034]).
Claim 5, Leitch further provides wherein the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the first adhesive is applied and the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the second adhesive is applied do not overlap (Fig. 3B).
Claim 6, Leitch further provides wherein a release material is applied to cover the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the first adhesive is applied or the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the second adhesive is applied (a release tape is applied to cover the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the second adhesive is applied; [0041]; [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Leitch (US 20150089895) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Leitch (US 20150089895) in view of Foster et al. (US 20020043044) (‘Foster’).
Claim 7, Leitch provides a shingle patch for repairing a damaged portion of a damaged shingle (note that a damaged portion of a damage shingle is not positively recited and thus not required, and that the claim is drawn solely to the shingle patch), the shingle patch comprising:
a body (400; Fig. 3B) having top and bottom surfaces (405, 407, respectively; Fig. 3B), the bottom surface having a first area and a second area (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, as exceedingly broadly claimed, the bottom surface has first and second areas of 407; Fig. 3B);
a first adhesive 416 applied to the first area of the bottom surface (416 is applied to the first area of 407; Fig. 3B);
the second adhesive adapted to receive a second adhesive during installation of the shingle patch (note that the claim is a product claim and the method of applying the adhesive is not relevant to the patentability of the product, but that the second area is nonetheless suitable to receive a second adhesive during installation of the shingle patch; further note that although Leitch teaches a preference of factory-applied adhesives, the second area is nonetheless adapted to receive a second adhesive during installation),
wherein the first adhesive and the second adhesive are different (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, elements 413 and 416 are separate, discrete objects, and that element 416 comprises tape and element 416 comprises conditional adhesive [0061]).
In the event that applicant that applicant disagrees that Leitch teaches the second area being adapted to receive a second adhesive during installation of the shingle patch, it is well known in the art to apply an adhesive to an area of a shingle patch during installation. Foster teaches a shingle patch for repairing a damaged portion of a damaged shingle (Fig. 1), the shingle patch comprising an area adapted to receive an adhesive during installation of the shingle patch [0039]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the shingle patch such that the second area is adapted to receive a second adhesive during installation of the shingle patch, with the reasonable expectation of success of obtaining a more effective, thorough bond specific to the actual roof conditions, leading to enhanced weather resistance, compared to a factory-applied adhesive.
Claim 8, Leitch further teaches wherein both the first adhesive and the second adhesive are selected to provide a bond between the shingle patch and the damaged shingle (note that the claim is a product claim and that “are selected” was treated broadly not to mean a process of selecting, but instead as intended use or functional language; it is understood that the first and second adhesives are suitable for use between the shingle patch and the damaged shingle, as exceedingly broadly claimed; [0061]).
Claim 9, Leitch further teaches wherein the first adhesive provides a bond with faster curing than the second adhesive, or provides a bond with no curing time (the first adhesive is a tape and the second adhesive can comprise several different materials including but not limited to a conditional adhesive that is understood to have a slower bonding time relative to the first adhesive defined by tape, as exceedingly broadly claimed; alternatively, the first adhesive provides a bond with no curing time, as the tape would be expected to have an instant bond; [0034]).
Claim 10, Leitch further teaches wherein the second adhesive provides a stronger and more durable bond than the first adhesive (under the basic properties of materials, the bond formed by the second adhesive including a bituminous based adhesive is understood to have a stronger and more durable bond than the first adhesive defined by tape, as exceedingly broadly claimed; [0034]).
Claim 11, Leitch further teaches wherein the first adhesive is applied to the entirety of the first area of the bottom surface and the second adhesive is applied to the entirety of the second area of the bottom surface (note that the first and second areas are arbitrary areas in size, and as such, the first adhesive and second adhesive were treated as being applied to an entirety of the first and second areas, respectively, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 3B).
Claim 12, Leitch further teaches wherein the first area of the bottom surface and the second area of the bottom surface do not overlap (Fig. 3B).
Claim 13, Leitch further teaches wherein a release material is applied to cover the portion of the first area of the bottom surface to which the first adhesive is applied or the portion of the second area of the bottom surface to which the second adhesive is applied (a release tape is applied to cover the portion of the bottom surface of the body to which the second adhesive is applied; [0041]; [0045]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Rejection of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leitch (US 20150089895).
Re claim 1, applicant argues that Leitch allegedly does not teach first and second adhesives that are different. This argument is not persuasive. Leitch’s first and second adhesives may be selected from a variety of materials, including “laminate adhesive, bituminous based adhesive, asphalt adhesive, a modified asphalt adhesive, or combinations thereof” [0034]. Each of these materials constitutes an adhesive. Leitch’s first adhesive 416 is in one instance referred to as “tape” (Specification page 3, Table 1). Leitch’s adhesives may be covered with a release tape prior to use [0036]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the scope of Leitch’s disclosure, it is understood that such tape includes adhesive. Leitch teaches the first and second adhesives being the same or “different” [0029]. Leitch teaches that the adhesives may be factory-applied to a shingle “so it may bind the shingle to which it is applied” [0061]. The fact that Leitch’s first and second adhesive may be conditional adhesives – “contact-activated adhesive materials” [0033] does not preclude the conditional adhesives from being adhesives. Since there are multiple possible interpretations of Leitch’s first and second adhesive/sealant materials being considered adhesives, as exceedingly broadly claimed, Leitch meets the claim.
Rejection of claim(s) 7-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Leitch (US 20150089895) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Leitch (US 20150089895) in view of Foster et al. (US 20020043044) (‘Foster’).
Claims 7-13 stand or fall with claim 1 as above.
Conclusion
Previously cited Mathieson (US 20170167143) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mathieson teaches applying adhesive to a lower surface of a shingle patch during installation (claims 1-3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635