DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endoh et al. (US 2013/0119452).
Re claim 1, Endoh teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, [0166, 0178-0179], a cell structure, comprising:
-a first material forming a bit line (BL);
-a second material forming a storage region (floating gate 5) that is coupled to (via adjacent elements/layers) a first portion of the bit line (BL);
-a third material forming a channel (pillar 2) that is connected (via adjacent elements/layers) to the storage region (5) and to second and third portions of the bit line (BL);
-a fourth material forming a source line (SL) that is connected to the channel (2);
-a fifth material forming a front gate (USG 12) coupled (via adjacent elements/layers) to a first portion of the channel (2) and a first portion of the source line (SL); and
-a sixth material forming a back gate (LSG 11) coupled to a second portion of the channel (2) and a second portion of the source line (SL).
Note: connect/couple # directly/physically connect/couple.
Re claim 2, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1-2, [0166], a first dielectric layer (7, 8) connected between (horizontal & vertical directions) the front gate (12) and the first portion of the channel (2) and the first portion of the source line (SL).
Re claim 3, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1-2, a second dielectric layer (7, 8) connected between the back gate (11) and the second portion of the channel (2) and the second portion of the source line (SL).
Re claim 6, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1-2, insulator material (7, 8 around 5) connected between (in vertical direction) the storage region (5) and a first portion of the bit line (BL).
Re claim 7, Endoh teaches, [0166], Figs. 1-2, a dielectric layer (6) connected between the storage region (5) and the channel (2).
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsumata et al. (US 2010/0118610).
Re claim 1, Katsumata teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, [0032, 0040-0042], a cell structure, comprising:
-a first material forming a bit line (BL);
-a second material forming a storage region (of charge storage layer 26) that is coupled to (via adjacent elements/layers) a first portion of the bit line (BL);
-a third material forming a channel (31, 34) that is connected (via adjacent elements/layers) to the storage region (26) and to second and third portions of the bit line (BL);
-a fourth material forming a source line (SL) that is connected to the channel (31, 34);
-a fifth material forming a front gate (SG) coupled to a first portion of the channel (31, 34) and a first portion of the source line (SL); and
-a sixth material forming a back gate (BG 12) coupled (via adjacent elements/layers) to a second portion of the channel (31, 34) and a second portion of the source line (SL).
Note: connect/couple # directly/physically connect/couple.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endoh in view of Chang et al. (US 2015/0103603).
The teachings of Endoh have been discussed above.
Re claims 4 & 5, Endoh teaches wherein the third material (2) has an N+ doping type [0168].
Endoh does not explicitly teach the second material has opposing doping type and has a P-doping type.
Chang teaches “floating gate is N-type or P-type doped polysilicon” [0006].
As taught by Chang, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second material has opposing doping type and has a P-doping type as claimed, because it aids in increasing threshold voltage of control gate transistor & improving the reliability of the product.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chang in combination with Endoh due to above reason.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kito et al. (US 2007/0252201, Figs. 1-4) discloses a semiconductor memory device including a plurality of memory strings, pillar shaped semiconductor between SL and BL.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/17/26