Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao (US 20230163911).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/8/15, Hao teaches A user equipment (UE) ([Fig.9], UE) comprising:
a transceiver ([Fig.9], transceiver 908) configured to receive information ([0053], “The BS may provide the CSI reporting configuration to the UE.” And [0055], “CSI report configuration may be associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement.”) about a channel state information (CSI) report ([0055], “The CSI-RS resources provide the UE with the configuration of CSI-RS ports, or CSI-RS port groups.”), the information including a list of N IDs ([0097 and Fig.5], “the CSI-RS ports can be portioned into groups (e.g., M groups).” And [0124], “the BS determines the grouping of CSI-RS ports by grouping the CSI-RS ports in the first portion into a first plurality of groups.” In other words, the BS may separate 16 CSI-RS ports into 4 groups, each group may be identified using a “group index.”), each ID being associated with a group of ports ([0124], “The BS may configure the UE with a number of CSI-RS port groups for the UE,” each group may be identified using a “group index.” Group 0 includes ports 0-3, group 1 includes ports 4-7, group 2 includes ports 8-11 and group 3 includes ports 12-15.), where N > 1 ([0097 and Fig.5], “the CSI-RS ports can be portioned into groups (e.g., M groups).”); and
a processor ([Fig.9], processor 904) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor, based on the information, configured to:
identify n groups of ports ([0118], “the UE ... indicating one or more CSI-RS port group index.” And [0124], “The CSI report may include one or more CSI-RS port group index.”), where 1 < n < N and each of the n groups of ports is associated with an ID from the list of N IDs ([0098 and Fig.5], “groups 0, 1, and 3” may be selected for reporting. So, three out of four groups of ports are selected.), and
determine CSI for each of the n groups of ports ([0060], “the UE may measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources.”),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI report including the CSI for each of the n group of ports ([0124], “The CSI report may include one or more CSI-RS port group index.” And [0098 and Fig.5], “groups 0, 1, and 3” may be selected for reporting.).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/9/16, Hao teaches wherein a group of ports comprises CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports ([0124], “the BS determines the grouping of CSI-RS ports by grouping the CSI-RS ports in the first portion into a first plurality of groups.”).
Regarding claim(s) 3/10/17, Hao teaches wherein a group of ports is associated with a non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resource ([0055], “The CSI-RS resources can be zero power (ZP) or non-zero power (NZP) resources.”).
Regarding claim(s) 4/11/18, Hao teaches wherein a group of ports is associated with a non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resource set comprising one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources ([0055], “wherein a group of ports is associated with a non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resource set comprising one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources.”).
Regarding claim(s) 5/12/19, Hao teaches the transceiver is further configured to receive a trigger via downlink control information (DCI) ([0056], “the BS may signal the UE a CSI report trigger indicating for the UE to send a CSI report for one or more CSI-RS resources ... The CSI report trigger ... may be provided via downlink control information (DCI).”), and
the processor is further configured to identity the n groups of ports ([0055], “The CSI-RS resources provide the UE with the configuration of CSI-RS ports, or CSI-RS port groups.”) based on the trigger ([0056], “The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger.”).
Regarding claim(s) 6/13, Hao teaches wherein a number of ports in each of the n groups of ports is the same ([Fig.5], 4 ports are in each group.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Davydov (US 20210144038).
Regarding claim(s) 7/14/20, Davydov teaches wherein a number of ports ([0049], “a first group of DM-RS antenna ports may comprise DM-RS antenna ports 10-71, while a second group of DM-RS antenna ports may comprise DM-RS antenna ports {4-12}.”) in one of the n groups of ports ([0049], ports 10-71) is different from a number of ports in another of the n groups of ports ([0049], ports 4-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Hao to specify different number of ports as taught by Davyov. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to “reduce a number of bits used to indicate the various DM-RS antenna port indices to the UE.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues (Remark page 10, 1st paragraph)
“Hao merely states that its CSI report configuration "configure the CSI-RS resources for measurement." Hao does not disclose that the received CSI report information includes a list of N IDs, each ID being associated with a group of ports as recited in Claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Teaching from [0113 and 0124, Hao], which discloses “the UE receives a configuration from the BS of a number of CSI-RS port groups for the UE to report linear combination coefficients.” The received configuration is for CSI reporting, and the received configuration from the BS indicates a number of N CSI-RS port groups. And [0124, Hao], “the BS may configure the UE with a number of CSI-RS ports, within each CSI-RS port group,” so each port group includes a number of n CSI-RS ports. In order to distinguish each port group, each port group may be identified using a “group index.” For example, [Fig.5, Hao], there are 4 port groups, and each port group has 4 CSI-RS ports. In other words, Hao teaches claimed “receive information about a channel state information (CSI) report, the information including a list of N IDs, each ID being associated with a group of ports, where N > 1.”
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues (Remark page 10, last paragraph)
“There is no disclosure that the UE determines CSI for each of the n groups of ports and that the determined CSI for each of the n groups of ports is included in the transmitted CSI report as recited in Claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Teaching in [0122, Hao], which discloses “the BS receives a CSI report from the UE,” and [0124, Hao] which discloses “the CSI report may include one or more CSI-RS port group index, one or more CSI-RS port index, or both.” In other words, the UE determines CSI for multiple port groups, and the CSI is reported to the BS. For example, [0098 and Fig.5, Hao], CSI for port groups 0, 1 and 3 are determined, and the CSI for these 3 groups are reported from the UE to the BS.
So, Hao teaches claimed “determine CSI for each of the n groups of ports, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI report including the CSI for each of the n group of ports.”
Based on the foregoing reasoning, the rejections are sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411