DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 6/19/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but they are mooted in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 to delete the term “dual active” overcome the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0374773; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information for a handover (see abstract, para. 0004, the UE configures a target protocol stack for a target gNB upon receiving a reconfiguration message from a source in a wireless network…where the reconfiguration message indicates to establish a new data radio bearer (DRB) for the target gNB); performing a random access procedure to a second base station based on the configuration information for the handover through a dual active protocol stack of the terminal for the second base station (see para. 0004, performs random access (RA) procedure and establishes RRC connection with the target gNB through the target protocol stack…para. 0026, 0028, the UE 103 contains a protocol stack for the target gNB); transmitting, to the second base station, uplink data after the random access procedure to the second base station is completed (see Fig. 7A, para. 0034, at step 733, syncs to the target gNB 703 and performs random access towards the target gNB 703,… at step 741, handover is complete and packet data is transmitted between the UE 701, source gNB 702 and target gNB 703); and receiving, from the first base station, downlink data until a connection to the first base station is released (see Fig. 7A, para. 0034, at step 752, packet data is transmitted between the UE 701 and source gNB 702 until the UE auto release with source at step 761).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the dual active protocol stack of the terminal for the second base station comprises at least one of a physical layer entity, a medium access control (MAC) entity, or a radio link control (RLC) entity (see Fig. 1, para. 0004, 0026, 0028, the target protocol stack includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, and a RLC layer).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a terminal for a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller (see Fig. 1, UE 103 includes a transceiver 153 and a processor 152) configured to: receive, from a first base station via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information for a handover (see abstract, para. 0004, the UE configures a target protocol stack for a target gNB upon receiving a reconfiguration message from a source in a wireless network…where the reconfiguration message indicates to establish a new data radio bearer (DRB) for the target gNB), perform a random access procedure to a second base station based on the configuration information for the handover through a dual active protocol stack of the terminal for the second base station (see para. 0004, performs random access (RA) procedure and establishes RRC connection with the target gNB through the target protocol stack…para. 0026, 0028, the UE 103 contains a protocol stack for the target gNB), transmit, to the second base station via the transceiver, uplink data after the random access procedure to the second base station is completed (see Fig. 7A, para. 0034, at step 733, syncs to the target gNB 703 and performs random access towards the target gNB 703,… at step 741, handover is complete and packet data is transmitted between the UE 701, source gNB 702 and target gNB 703), and receive, from the first base station via the transceiver, downlink data until a connection to the first base station is released (see Fig. 7A, para. 0034, at step 752, packet data is transmitted between the UE 701 and source gNB 702 until the UE auto release with source at step 761).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the dual active protocol stack of the terminal for the second base station comprises at least one of a physical layer entity, a medium access control (MAC) entity, or a radio link control (RLC) entity (see Fig. 1, para. 0004, 0026, 0028, the target protocol stack includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, and a RLC layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0374773; hereinafter Zhang) in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 2014/0295868; hereinafter Lee).
Zhang does not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 4 and 14.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein a medium access control (MAC) entity for the first base station is reset, in case that the terminal is configured to release the connection to the first base station, and wherein the receiving of the downlink data from the first base station is stopped, in case that the MAC entity for the first base station is reset (see para. 0075, 0128, …to release the RRC connection, which includes the release of the established radio bearers as well as all radio resources. E-UTRAN (e.g., eNB) initiates the RRC connection release procedure to a UE in RRC_CONNECTED, and transmits a RRC connection release message to the UE in RRC_CONNECTED. Upon leaving RRC_CONNECTED, the UE enters RRC_IDLE, resets a MAC, releases all radio resources…this also include releasing the connection to the base station).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses wherein a medium access control (MAC) entity for the first base station is reset, in case that the terminal is configured to release the connection to the first base station, and wherein the receiving of the downlink data from the first base station is stopped, in case that the MAC entity for the first base station is reset (see para. 0075, 0128, …to release the RRC connection, which includes the release of the established radio bearers as well as all radio resources. E-UTRAN (e.g., eNB) initiates the RRC connection release procedure to a UE in RRC_CONNECTED, and transmits a RRC connection release message to the UE in RRC_CONNECTED. Upon leaving RRC_CONNECTED, the UE enters RRC_IDLE, resets a MAC, releases all radio resources…this also include releasing the connection to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang, and have the features, as taught by Lee, in order to efficiently manage a communication connection, as discussed by Lee (para. 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
The cited prior arts do not disclose the claimed features of “stopping reception of uplink data from the terminal upon completion of a random access procedure between the terminal and a second base station, wherein the random access procedure is performed based on the configuration information for the handover through a protocol stack of the terminal for the second base station” as recited in claims 6 and 16 when considering each claim individually as a whole.
Claims 6 – 10 and 16 – 20 are allowed.
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473