DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the inductor device” in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “the induction device”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the inductor device” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “the induction device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2024/0304848) in view of Gao (CN 208368655).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches a method for manufacturing an electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly including a stack (20) of unit cells (10) comprising alternately arranged electrodes (13) and separators (14,15), the method comprising: providing an apparatus comprising a pressing part (150) with an upper pressing part (151) and a lower pressing part (152), and an induction heater (130); heating the stack in the induction heater (130); arranging the heated stack between the upper pressing part and the lower pressing part; pressing the heated stack between upper pressing part and the lower pressing part such that they are bonded to one another to form the electrode assembly (See Figures; Abstract; [0026]-[0051]; [0060]-[0061]; [0074]-[0086]). The upper pressing part (151) and lower pressing part (152) read on the instantly claimed first plate and second plate, respectively.
Seo does not expressly disclose moving the upper and lower pressing plates apart and removing the electrode assembly, however such steps are inherent in the reference. The upper and lower pressing plates must be moved apart and the electrode assembly removed in order for the assembly to be used in its intended application and for the apparatus to continue to be used for manufacturing subsequent electrode assemblies.
In the method of Seo, the induction heating and pressing of Seo are separate steps performed by separate components. Seo does not expressly disclose incorporating the induction device into each of the first and second pressing plates as claimed.
Gao teaches a hot-pressing assembly comprising an upper pressing plate (404), a lower bottom plate (402), and an induction heating coil (4021) provided on the lower bottom plate (See Figures; Detailed Description). The hot-pressing assembly, upper pressing plate, lower bottom plate, and induction heating coil read on the instantly claimed apparatus, first plate, second plate, and inductor, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the pressing part (150) and induction heater (130) of Seo such that the upper pressing part (151) and lower pressing part (152) each include an induction heating coil in the manner taught by Gao. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Gao that to do so would predictably allow for preheating and pressing to occur simultaneously (See [0028]). While Gao only discloses an induction coil in a lower plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include an induction coil in the upper plate of Seo as well. Seo teaches that the induction heater (130) includes an upper coil part (131) and a lower coil part (132) (See Figures; [0049]-[0056]). Therefore when incorporating the coil-containing plate of Gao in the method of Seo one of ordinary skill would include the same upper and lower heating positions already established by Seo. In the proposed combination, each of the first and second plates comprise at least one inductor such that the first and second plates form the induction device as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches that the electrodes (13) may include positive electrodes (11) and negative electrodes (12) with separators therebetween (See Figures; [0033]-[0035]). The positive and negative electrodes read on the instantly claimed first and second types of electrodes.
Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches that the stack (20) may include 30 or more unit cells (10) (See [0039]-[0041]), which meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches that the electrodes comprise a collector in the form of a metal foil with an active material applied on its surface (See [0034]-[0035]). The collector reads on the instantly claimed carrier material, and the claimed arrangement meets the instantly claimed limitation “wherein the coating is arranged in the stack between the carrier material and the at least one separator layer.” Seo also teaches that the induction heating creates magnetic lines of force in the stack to heat metal components such as the metal foil collector, which heats the entire stack including the separators (See [0042]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Seo teaches that the upper coil part and lower coil part may comprise a plurality of coils (See Figures; [0054]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Seo and Gao teaches an apparatus for performing the method above. The upper pressing part (151) and lower pressing part (152) read on the instantly claimed first plate and second plate, respectively. In the proposed combination, each of these plates comprises an inductor such that the first and second plates form the induction device, as detailed above.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2024/0304848) in view of Gao (CN 208368655), as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2005/0048361).
Seo and Gao combine to teach a method for manufacturing an electrode assembly, as detailed above. In the method taught by the combination of Seo and Gao, the separators are discrete planar units. Seo and Gao do not expressly disclose a one piece interconnected separator layer which is extends around the stack and is arranged between the stack and the first and second plates.
Wang teaches a stacked lithium ion secondary batter which comprises positive electrodes (1), negative electrodes (2), and a belt-shaped separator (3) formed as one interconnected piece which is extends around the stack and is present on both the top and the bottom of the stack (See Figures; [0029]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the belt-shaped separator of Wang in place of the discrete planar separator layers in the method of Seo and Gao. Since both single discrete separators (as taught by Seo) and belt-shaped separators (as taught by Wang) were both recognized in the prior art as being suitable for forming an electrode stack assembly, the substitution of one known separator type for another separator type recognized in the art as being suitable for the same purpose would have been obvious.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2024/0304848) in view of Gao (CN 208368655), as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2005/0048361).
Seo and Gao combine to teach a method and apparatus for manufacturing an electrode assembly, as detailed above.
Seo and Gao do not expressly disclose plate surfaces with micro- or nano-structure surfaces and/or holes as claimed.
Sasaoka teaches a method and apparatus for pressing an electrode stack (130) by applying pressure with a pair of pressing plates (311,312), wherein the pressing plates include air vent holes (See Figures; [0059]; [0062]). The air vent holes read on the instantly claimed holes in claims 11 and 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the holes of Sasaoka in the upper and lower pressing parts in the method and apparatus taught by the combination of Seo and Gao. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Sasaoka that to do so would predictably allow air to discharge through the holes as needed (See [0062]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims have been amended to remedy issues of indefiniteness presented in the previous Office action. These rejections have been withdrawn. Examiner notes that new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have resulted from the claim amendments, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 7, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims have been amended such that Seo no longer teaches every limitation of the instantly claimed invention. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim has been amended such that Gao no longer teaches every limitation of the instantly claimed invention. This rejection has been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments presented by the Applicant, claims are no longer rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Seo and Gao under 35 U.S.C. 103, as detailed above. Applicant argues that the combination of Seo and Gao does not disclose an inductor in the upper plate. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Gao only discloses an induction coil in a lower plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include an induction coil in the upper plate of Seo as well. Seo teaches that the induction heater (130) includes an upper coil part (131) and a lower coil part (132) (See Figures; [0049]-[0056]). Therefore when incorporating the coil-containing plate of Gao in the method of Seo one of ordinary skill would include the same upper and lower heating positions already established by Seo. In the proposed combination, each of the first and second plates comprise at least one inductor such that the first and second plates form the induction device as claimed.
Applicant argues that the Gao reference only teaches an induction coil in a stationary plate and not a movable plate, and that the combination of Seo and Gao therefore fails to teach every limitation of the instant claims. Firstly, this argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims, which make no mention of a movable plate which includes an inductor. Even assuming that such a feature is implicit in the claims because one of the plates must move to apply pressure to the stack, the inclusion of a heating element in a movable upper plate is well-established in the art. Kim (KR 20200125024) teaches a method and apparatus for bonding an electrode stack (10), the method and apparatus including pressing with a movable upper press plate comprising a pressing stamp (150), a heating plate (240), and a flexible member (160) (See Figs. 11-16; [0092]-[0098]). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that heating elements could be incorporated into both upper and lower plates—whether moving or stationary—when combining the teachings of Seo and Gao.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746