DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 2-7, 7, 7-8 of U.S. Patent No.12, 028, 828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are part of the claim limitations recited in the U.S. Patent No.12, 028, 828.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (hereinafter Zhao)(US 2022/0329996) in view of Seed et al. (hereinafter Seed)(US 2026/0095820).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a method for managing a location of a mission critical (MC) gateway user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the method (P[0039], mission critical; Fig. 4) comprising: receiving, from a MC client(item 501 A in Fig. 4), a management server location reporting configuration request containing a triggering criteria associated with change of 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access network related location information, identifying whether a location reporting event has occurred based on the Server location reporting configuration request; and transmitting, to the MC client, a Server location information report in case that the location reporting event has occurred(Fig. items S510(location reporting trigger) , S520 and S530)(location information report to the client; P[0085], decision to report location information can be triggered at the client by various conditions or events tracking area change, cell change, PMN change, MBMS SAI change(change of 3GPP related location information)).
Zhao did not teach specifically receiving information from a MC client by a MC gateway (GW). However, Ge teaches in an analogous art receiving information from a MC client by a MC gateway (GW)(Ge: items S402 and S403 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of receiving, from a MC client by a MC gateway (GW) ([0009] In a first possible implementation of the first aspect, the sending, by the MC client, a first message to an LMS includes: [0010] sending, by the MC client, the first information to the LMS through an MC server) in order to have improved efficiency.
Zhao did not teach specifically receiving information from a MC client by a MC gateway and monitoring whether a location reporting event has occurred based on the MC GW location reporting configuration request; and transmitting, to the MC client, a MC GW location information report including location information requested by the MC client in case that the location reporting event has occurred wherein the MC client resides on a non-3GPP device. However, Ge teaches in an analogous art receiving information from a MC client by a MC gateway and monitoring whether a location reporting event has occurred based on the MC GW location reporting configuration request; and transmitting, to the MC client, a MC GW location information report including location information requested by the MC client in case that the location reporting event has occurred wherein the MC client resides on a non-3GPP device (step 7-step 9 in Fig. 20B also P[0172-0176]; P[0172], [0172], to monitor and track the location of UE along a route; P[0173], EAHC may request that the 3GPPP network track the UE’s movement; EAHS determines that an EAH required may trigger and assist other entities in the system with performing EAH operation (step 9)). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of receiving information from a MC client by a MC gateway and monitoring whether a location reporting event has occurred based on the MC GW location reporting configuration request; and transmitting, to the MC client, a MC GW location information report including location information requested by the MC client in case that the location reporting event has occurred wherein the MC client resides on a non-3GPP device in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao in view of Seed teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the MC client, a location information report, and transmitting, to a location management server (LMS), the received location information report(Zhao: items S710, S720 in Fig. 7; Ge: items S402 and S403 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: storing the MC GW location reporting configuration request(P[0087], stores location reporting event triggers configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the MC GW location reporting configuration request includes at least one of a GW MC service identifier (ID), requested location information, triggering criteria, and minimum time between location information reports(P[0085], location reporting configuration ).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of Seed teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the MC GW location information report includes at least one of a GW MC service ID, a triggering event, and requested location information(Zhao: P[0085], triggered by events; emergency or other type events; Service area ID change(SAI change).
Claims 7-11 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-5 respectively.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (hereinafter Zhao)(US 2022/0329996) in view of Seed et al. (hereinafter Seed)(US 2026/0095820) and Jeong et al. (hereinafter Jeong)(EP 3249977 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Seed teaches all the particulars of the claim except receiving, from the MC client, the MC GW location reporting configuration request without any information element, in case that the MC GW location information report is no longer required. However, Jeong teaches in an analogous art receiving, from the MC client, the MC GW location reporting configuration request without any information element, in case that the MC GW location information report is no longer required(Jeong: claim 1; information elements of current configuration, information changed from network system; without including information elements). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of receiving, from the MC client, the MC GW location reporting configuration request without any information element, in case that the MC GW location information report is no longer required in order to have improved uncertainty.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647