DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 07/09/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 11/04/2021. Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 17, 19, and 20 are amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and claims has overcome each and every objection rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/14/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Venugopal et al. (US 20210195624).
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claims 1, 19, and 20. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claims 1, 19, and 20 are equally applicable to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0289379), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2022/0225249, previously presented), Venugopal hereinafter, and Venugopal et al. (US 20210195624), Venugopal2 hereinafter. Zhang was provided in the IDS submitted on 04/30/2024.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a reporting method, comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]):
performing, by a terminal, layer 1 measurement (Fig. 3, step 320; Para. [0047-0062] - [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
The examiner interprets a “physical layer measurement” as a layer 1 measurement.
and when a layer 1 measurement result meets a first condition, reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062] - [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
wherein the first condition corresponds to an event configured by a network-side device (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062] - [0054] In some aspects, the threshold may be configured by the BS 110. For example, the BS 110 may provide configuration information indicating the threshold, such as in the measurement configuration described above. In some aspects, the threshold may be signaled to one or more UEs in a UE-specific fashion. In some aspects, the threshold may be defined in a rule of a wireless communication standard. [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]).
wherein: the at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is determined based on a network-side configuration (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following: a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold, wherein: ……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal teaches wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following:
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064] - [0061] In some implementations, the UE 115 may monitor for SSB transmissions during the set of SSB resources and/or the subset of SSB resources. The UE may measure one or more parameters (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) of the one or more received SSB transmissions, where the SSB transmissions may be transmitted by a serving base station 105 or neighboring base station 105. The UE 115 may measure the one or more received SSB transmissions to determine the beam (e.g., a preferred beam) over which the UE 115 receives a highest (or high) power and/or quality signal…[0062] In some implementations, the UE 115 may be configured to report SSB measurements based on an event (e.g., an A1, A2, A3 trigger), rather than the SSB being configured for lower layer-based measurement and reporting. For example, a trigger may include the UE 115 measuring an SSB transmission with a higher signal strength or quality than any SSB transmission from the serving base station 105 of the UE 115. In some cases, a trigger may include an SSB measurement above a threshold. Upon such determination, the UE 115 may be triggered to transmit a report associated with the SSB transmission from the neighboring base station 105 or serving base station 105. As such, the UE 115 may (autonomously) measure and report on SSB transmissions of a high quality or signal strength via an event-triggered report when any SSB transmission has a measurement above a threshold or that which is higher than the SSB measurements of the serving base station 105, even if the SSB transmissions were not configured for L1 reporting for the UE 115…[0063] For example, base station 105-a may be configured to transmit SSB transmissions over beams 205-a, 205-b, and 205-c, in a first set of SSB resources and base station 105-b may be configured to transmit SSB transmissions over beams 205-d, 205-e, and 205-f, in a second set of SSB resources…. [0064] In some cases, the SSB measurements included in the one or more reports may be based on a trigger. For example, UE 115-a may include SSB measurements in the one or more reports based on the SSB measurements being above a threshold, or based on the SSB measurements, such as SSB measurements associated with neighboring base station 105-b, being higher than the SSB measurements from serving base station 105-a…; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234]);
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is less than a third threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold,
Venugopal teaches the claimed first condition, as the UE performs L1 measurements (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/SINR) on reference signals (SSBs) from different sets of resources (serving vs. neighboring base stations) and triggers reporting based on a comparison of those measurements, including when a measurement associated with one set is higher than that of another set and/or satisfies threshold-based conditions (Venugopal Para. [0061-0064]), thereby corresponding to the claimed comparison and threshold conditions between first and second measurement resource sets; notably, because the claim recites that the first condition comprises any one of the following, Venugopal need only teach a single such condition to satisfy the limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Yet, neither Zhang nor Venugopal expressly teach wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal2 teaches
wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device (Fig. 4, step 408, Para. [0061-0064] - [0063] In addition, the UE 402 receives, from the base station 404, DCI 408 in a PDCCH scheduling an UL transmission. The DCI 408 may schedule an UL transmission with one or more TCI states of the activated TCI states. The DCI 408 schedules a transmission of at least one of SRS, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or a PRACH. For example, the DCI 408 may schedule a transmission of an SRS based on the one or more TCI states of the activated TCI states. The DCI 408 may include one or more codepoint values indicating the one or more TCI states of the activated TCI states. The codepoint values may represent a bitmap to indicate one or more activated TCI states. For example, the DCI 408 may be resource constrained in terms of the number of bits that can be included in the DCI 408. Therefore, instead of including a bit sequence to specify the one or more TCI states, the DCI 408 may include a coded sequence (e.g., a codepoint value to specify the one or more TCI states as described below with reference to FIG. 5). The codepoint value may be within the set of one or more codepoint values indicating the one or more TCI states. In one configuration, the codepoint value may be specified using three bits (for example to indicate one of codepoint 0, codepoint 1, . . . codepoint 7 as described below with reference to FIG. 5). In one configuration, the UE 402 may have a mapping between the one or more activated TCI states and a set of codepoint values. In another configuration, the UE 402 may separately receive the mapping between the one or more activated TCI states and a set of codepoint values from the base station 404; See Also: Para. [0058-0060]; Fig. 4, Para. [0061-0064]Fig. 5, Para. [0065-0076]; Fig. 6, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 7, Para. [0082-0085]; Fig. 8, Para. [0086-0091]; Fig. 9, Para. [0092-0095]; Para. [0096-0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device as taught by Venugopal2, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal, so that it would provide “a configuration for signaling for uplink beam activation” (Venugopal2 Para. [0002]) such that a “UL-TCI may be used to indicate or enable which UL states to use for a UL transmission and the UL-TCI may be used to specify QCL relations for uplink transmissions” (Venugopal2 Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches a terminal, comprising (Fig. 2, system 120, Para. [0040-0046]; See also: Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 7, Para. [0117-0125]):
a processor (Fig. 2, elements 258 and 264, Para. [0040-0046]; See also: Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 7, Para. [0117-0125]);
and a memory (Fig. 2, element 282, Para. [0040-0046]; See also: Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 7, Para. [0117-0125]) having instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (Fig. 2, system 120, Para. [0040-0046]; See also: Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 7, Para. [0117-0125]):
performing, by a terminal, layer 1 measurement (Fig. 3, step 320; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
and when a layer 1 measurement result meets a first condition, reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
wherein the first condition corresponds to an event configured by a network-side device (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116])
wherein: the at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is determined based on a network-side configuration (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following: a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold, wherein: ……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal teaches wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following:
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064]; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234]);
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is less than a third threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Yet, neither Zhang nor Venugopal expressly teach wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal2 teaches
wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device (Fig. 4, step 408, Para. [0061-0064]; See Also: Para. [0058-0060]; Fig. 4, Para. [0061-0064]Fig. 5, Para. [0065-0076]; Fig. 6, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 7, Para. [0082-0085]; Fig. 8, Para. [0086-0091]; Fig. 9, Para. [0092-0095]; Para. [0096-0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device as taught by Venugopal2, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal, so that it would provide “a configuration for signaling for uplink beam activation” (Venugopal2 Para. [0002]) such that a “UL-TCI may be used to indicate or enable which UL states to use for a UL transmission and the UL-TCI may be used to specify QCL relations for uplink transmissions” (Venugopal2 Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (Para. [0160]; See also: Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 7, Para. [0117-0125]; Para. [0161] ):
performing, by a terminal, layer 1 measurement (Fig. 3, step 320; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
and when a layer 1 measurement result meets a first condition, reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
wherein the first condition corresponds to an event configured by a network-side device (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
wherein: the at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is determined based on a network-side configuration (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]),
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following: a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold, wherein: ……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal teaches wherein the first condition comprises any one of the following:
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one Reference Signal (RS) in a first measurement resource set is greater than a layer 1 measurement result of an RS in a second measurement resource set (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064]; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234]);
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is greater than a first threshold, and a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a second threshold; a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is less than a third threshold; or a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is less than a fourth threshold,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Yet, neither Zhang nor Venugopal expressly teach wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Venugopal2 teaches
wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device (Fig. 4, step 408, Para. [0061-0064]; See Also: Para. [0058-0060]; Fig. 4, Para. [0061-0064]Fig. 5, Para. [0065-0076]; Fig. 6, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 7, Para. [0082-0085]; Fig. 8, Para. [0086-0091]; Fig. 9, Para. [0092-0095]; Para. [0096-0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein:……. and the at least one RS in the second measurement resource set is determined based on at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device as taught by Venugopal2, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal, so that it would provide “a configuration for signaling for uplink beam activation” (Venugopal2 Para. [0002]) such that a “UL-TCI may be used to indicate or enable which UL states to use for a UL transmission and the UL-TCI may be used to specify QCL relations for uplink transmissions” (Venugopal2 Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 1.
Zhang further teaches
a layer 1 measurement result of at least one RS in the first measurement resource set is less than a third threshold (Fig. 3, step 325, Para. [0047-0062] - [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; Para. [0163] - Some aspects are described herein in connection with thresholds. As used herein, satisfying a threshold may refer, depending on the context, to a value being greater than the threshold, greater than or equal to the threshold, less than the threshold, less than or equal to the threshold, equal to the threshold, or not equal to the threshold, among other examples, or combinations thereof; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 2.
Zhang further teaches
wherein the first configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: cell list information; a TCI state of a control resource set 0; a TCI state of a non-terminal-dedicated control resource set; or frequency configuration information of a measurement resource (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]).
The Examiner interprets the measurement gap, SSB, and CSI-RS that can be included in the measurement configuration described in Zhang Para. [0049] as frequency configuration information of a measurement resource; note that only one claim feature is mapped due to the presence of “at least one of the following” within Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the layer 1 measurement result comprises at least one of a layer 1 measurement result of an RS of a current serving cell and a layer 1 measurement result of an RS of a neighboring cell.
However, Venugopal teaches
wherein the layer 1 measurement result comprises at least one of a layer 1 measurement result of an RS of a current serving cell and a layer 1 measurement result of an RS of a neighboring cell (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064] - [0061] In some implementations, the UE 115 may monitor for SSB transmissions during the set of SSB resources and/or the subset of SSB resources. The UE may measure one or more parameters (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) of the one or more received SSB transmissions, where the SSB transmissions may be transmitted by a serving base station 105 or neighboring base station 105. The UE 115 may measure the one or more received SSB transmissions to determine the beam (e.g., a preferred beam) over which the UE 115 receives a highest (or high) power and/or quality signal. In some cases, the UE 115 may transmit a measurement report for one or more of the received SSB transmissions, such as one or more SSB transmissions with the highest measurements (e.g., highest quality, highest power), and/or the UE 115 may transmit a measurement report for each of the received SSB transmissions. The UE 115 may be configured to measure and transmit a measurement report for SSB transmissions in SSB resources that are configured for lower layer (e.g., L1) reporting, and SSB transmissions in SSB resources that are not configured for lower layer (e.g., L1) reporting. For example, if the SSB resource is included in the set or subset, even if the UE 115 has not received an indication that a certain SSB resource or SSB transmission is configured for L1 reporting, the UE 115 may perform L1-based measurements and report the L1-based measurements (e.g., autonomously); See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 4.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) associated with the RS of the neighboring cell is different from a PCI of the current serving cell.
However, Venugopal teaches
wherein a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) associated with the RS of the neighboring cell is different from a PCI of the current serving cell (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064] - [0056] To mitigate interference at a UE 115 and to improve procedures associated with lower layer mobility, such as lower layer handover procedures, a UE 115 may receive, from a serving base station 105, an indication of a set of SSB resources, where the set of resources may include SSB resources used by the serving base station 105 and SSB resources used by one or more neighboring base stations 105 of the UE 115. In some cases, the UE 115 may receive the indication from one or more non-serving base stations 105. The set of SSB resources may include the SSB resources associated with each base station 105 that is configured as a candidate handover base station 105 to the UE 115, or each base station 105 within a threshold proximity to the UE 115, or a combination thereof. For example, UE 115-a may receive an indication of each neighboring base station 105 that may perform lower layer mobility with UE 115, where the indication may include an identifier, such as a physical cell identifier (PCI), of each of the neighboring base stations 105 and/or the serving base station 105. The indication may also include the SSB resources associated with each base station 105 (e.g., with each PCI). In some cases, UE 115-a may receive the indication of the set of base stations 105 (e.g., PCIs) and the set of SSB resource associated with each base station 105 via a radio resource control (RRC) message. The base stations 105 included in the set and/or the resources included the set may be updated via an RRC message; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 1.
Zhang further teaches wherein performing, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, signaling configured by the network-side device, wherein the signaling comprises configuration information of a measurement resource (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
and performing, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement based on the configuration information of the measurement resource (Fig. 3, step 320; Para. [0047-0062] - [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 6.
Zhang further teaches wherein the configuration information of the measurement resource comprises at least one of the following:
cell list information; configuration information of a Reference Signal (RS); or configuration information of a Synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0047] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of signaling associated with physical-layer measurement of a neighbor cell, in accordance with the present disclosure. As shown, FIG. 3 includes a UE 120, a BS 110, and a neighbor cell 305. The neighbor cell 305 may be provided by the BS 110 or by another BS other than the BS 110. In some aspects, the BS 110 may provide a serving cell of the UE 120. In some aspects, the operations described with regard to FIG. 3 may be performed with regard to any non-serving cell of a UE 120. In other words, the neighbor cell 305 may not necessarily be a neighbor cell of a cell provided by the BS 110. In some aspects, the neighbor cell 305 may be identified based at least in part on a physical cell identifier (PCI). For example, communication on the neighbor cell 305 may occur via a beam that is associated with the PCI. A cell may be configured with multiple SSB/CSI-RS beams, such as 64 beams, 128 beams, or the like. [0048] A neighbor cell is a cell identified by a neighbor cell list of the UE 120. For example, the neighbor cell list may identify a list of cells that are considered for cell reselection, handover, Layer 1/Layer 2 inter-cell mobility operations, or the like. In some aspects, the neighbor cell may identify cells for which the UE 120 is to transmit measurement reporting. [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116])
Zhang teaches the claimed limitation, as the measurement configuration transmitted to the UE specifies the reference signal(s) (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS) on which physical layer measurements are to be performed, thereby corresponding to configuration information of a reference signal; further, Para. [0047-0048] implies that the base station shares a neighbor cell to the UE.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 6.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the signaling further comprises configuration information of a beam report.
However, Venugopal teaches
wherein the signaling further comprises configuration information of a beam report (Fig. 2, Para. [0050-0064] - [0053] In some cases, UE 115-a may be configured to transmit a measurement report to base station 105-a that indicates a preferred beam 205 of UE 115-a. For example, the report may include each measurement of each received SSB transmission, or a number of highest measurements, where the measurements are associated with an SSB transmission and thus a beam 205. Therefore, the report may implicitly indicate a preferred beam 205. In another example, the report may explicitly indicate a beam identifier of one or more beams with the highest SSB measurements (e.g., highest quality and/or highest power measurements). Base station 105-a may use the information included in the SSB measurement report to determine whether to communicate with UE 115-a via beam 205-a, beam 205-b, or 205-c; See also: Para. [0019]; Fig. 3, Para. [0065-0075]; Fig. 12, Para. [0159-0163]; Fig. 13, Para. [0164-0169]; Fig. 14, Para. [0170-0176]; Fig. 15, Para. [0177-0181]; Para. [0183-0234])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for Layer 1 measurement reporting” (Zhang Para. [0002]) with Venugopal’s invention of “techniques for channel measurement and reporting for lower layer mobility” (Venugopal Para. [0002] because Venugopal’s invention provides techniques for “enhanced methods for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for transmissions from one or more base stations to perform channel measurements and to determine whether to perform a handover procedure” (Venugopal Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 8.
Zhang further teaches
wherein at least one of the following operations is performed on at least one of the configuration information of the beam report or the configuration information of the measurement resource by using a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) modification, deletion, addition, or update (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]).
The Examiner interprets the measurement configuration containing a SSB or CSI-RS transmitted via a MAC CE as the claimed “the configuration information of the measurement resource by using a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE)” and performing the operations of modification, addition, or update.
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 1.
Zhang further teaches wherein when the layer 1 measurement result meets the first condition corresponding to the event, the reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result comprises any one of the following:
when the layer 1 measurement result meets the first condition corresponding to the event, triggering, by the terminal through a physical layer, reporting of the layer 1 measurement result (Fig. 3, steps 325 and 330; Para. [0047-0062] - [0055] In a second operation 315, the neighbor cell 305 may transmit a reference signal (RS). In a third operation 320, the UE 120 may perform the physical layer measurement on the RS based at least in part on the measurement configuration. For example, the UE 120 may use a measurement gap or a configured duration specified by the measurement configuration to perform the physical layer measurement, and may perform the physical layer measurement to determine a measurement value specified by the measurement configuration on the RS specified by the measurement configuration. For example, the measurement value may be in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. In a fourth operation 325, the UE 120 may determine that the physical layer measurement (or the measurement value determined by the physical layer measurement) satisfies the threshold. In a fifth operation, the UE 120 may transmit information 330 identifying the measurement value of the physical layer measurement. For example, the information 330 may be a measurement report that identifies the measurement value. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the information 330 based at least in part on determining that the physical layer measurement satisfies the threshold. If the physical layer measurement failed to satisfy the threshold, then the UE 120 may not transmit the information 330, thereby conserving computing and communication resources relative to indiscriminately transmitting the information 330; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
when the physical layer of the terminal determines that the layer 1 measurement result meets the first condition within an event-triggered reporting interval, reporting, by the terminal, a trigger indication of the event to a MAC layer through the physical layer, so that the MAC layer counts the trigger indication of the event by using an event trigger counter, and when a count value of the event trigger counter is greater than a preset value, triggering, by the terminal through the MAC layer, reporting of the layer 1 measurement result;
reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result to the MAC layer of the terminal, and when the MAC layer determines that the layer 1 measurement result meets the first condition within a preset time period, triggering, by the terminal through the MAC layer, reporting of the layer 1 measurement result; or
reporting, by the terminal, the layer 1 measurement result to the MAC layer of the terminal, and when the MAC layer determines that the layer 1 measurement result fails to meet the first condition within a preset time period, triggering, by the terminal through the MAC layer, reporting of the layer 1 measurement result.
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2, and further in view of Levitsky et al. (US 2021/0376898, previously presented), Levitsky hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Venugopal and Venugopal2 teaches Claim 8.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, nor Venugopal2 expressly teach wherein the configuration information of the beam report comprises at least one of the following: configuration information of a measurement resource associated with the beam report; event trigger configuration information; a quantity of reported beam information pairs; a maximum quantity of cells allowed to be reported; or configuration information of a reporting resource.
However, Levitsky teaches wherein the configuration information of the beam report comprises at least one of the following:
configuration information of a measurement resource associated with the beam report (Fig. 6, step 625; Para. [0186-0202] - [0189] At arrow 625, the base station 605 and the UE 615 may exchange control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). The UE 615 may signal a capability for selecting DL DMRS configurations. For example, the UE 615 may signal a capability of selecting a DL DMRS configuration for each TB or each CDM group (e.g., each group of layers) associated with a data transmission from the base station 605. Additionally or alternatively, the base station 605 may transmit a message that directs the UE 615 to use a CSF reporting format that supports indicating a DMRS configuration for each TB or each CDM group (e.g., by using a CSF reporting format with an additional field including an indication of multiple DMRS configurations); See also Para. [0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0118]; Fig. 3, Para. [0119-0142]; Fig. 15, Para. [0296-0300]; Fig. 16, Para. [0301-0306]; Fig. 17, Para. [0307-0311]; Fig. 18, Para. [0312-0317]]; Para. [0318-0382]);
event trigger configuration information;
a quantity of reported beam information pairs; a maximum quantity of cells allowed to be reported;
or configuration information of a reporting resource (Fig. 6, step 625; Para. [0186-0202] - [0189] At arrow 625, the base station 605 and the UE 615 may exchange control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). The UE 615 may signal a capability for selecting DL DMRS configurations. For example, the UE 615 may signal a capability of selecting a DL DMRS configuration for each TB or each CDM group (e.g., each group of layers) associated with a data transmission from the base station 605. Additionally or alternatively, the base station 605 may transmit a message that directs the UE 615 to use a CSF reporting format that supports indicating a DMRS configuration for each TB or each CDM group (e.g., by using a CSF reporting format with an additional field including an indication of multiple DMRS configurations); See also Para. [0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0118]; Fig. 3, Para. [0119-0142]; Fig. 15, Para. [0296-0300]; Fig. 16, Para. [0301-0306]; Fig. 17, Para. [0307-0311]; Fig. 18, Para. [0312-0317]]; Para. [0318-0382]).
Levitsky teaches the claimed limitation, as the disclosed channel state feedback (CSF) report – conveying beam-related information such as preferred transmission parameters (e.g., PMI/RI/CQI) based on reference signal measurements (Levitsky Para. [0081]) – corresponds to the claimed beam report, and is generated based on configured reference signal/DMRS resources, thereby including configuration information of measurement/reporting resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the configuration information of the beam report comprises at least one of the following: configuration information of a measurement resource associated with the beam report; event trigger configuration information; a quantity of reported beam information pairs; a maximum quantity of cells allowed to be reported; or configuration information of a reporting resource as taught by Levitsky, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2, so that it would provide “improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration selection and reporting” (Levitsky Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Zhang further teaches wherein the event trigger configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
an event trigger threshold (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal. [0050] As further shown, the measurement configuration may be associated with a threshold. In some aspects, as shown, the BS 110 may provide information identifying the threshold to the UE 120 using RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the threshold may be defined by a wireless communication standard (such as a 3GPP Technical Specification or another standard). In some aspects, the information identifying the threshold may indicate that the UE should compare a measurement value to the threshold to determine whether or not the measurement value should be reported to the BS 110. In other aspects, the information identifying the threshold may not explicitly indicate that the UE should compare the measurement value to the threshold, and the UE may determine to compare the measurement value to the threshold based at least in part on a pre-configuration of the UE, a rule in a wireless communication standard, or the like; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
duration of an event trigger timer (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
a hysteresis value corresponding to the event;
a measurement offset value;
a maximum value of an event trigger counter;
an event-triggered reporting interval; or
an indication of reporting triggered due to inability to meet the first condition corresponding to the event.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Zhang further teaches
wherein one event corresponds to one piece of event trigger configuration information, or a plurality of events correspond to one piece of event trigger configuration information (Fig. 3, step 310; Para. [0047-0062] - [0049] In a first operation 310, the BS 110 may transmit a measurement configuration to the UE 120. The measurement configuration may identify a configuration for a physical layer measurement on the neighbor cell 305. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a measurement gap for the physical layer measurement. A measurement gap may provide time for the UE 120 to tune from a starting frequency (such as a frequency associated with the BS 110 and the serving cell) to a target frequency (such as a frequency associated with the neighbor cell 305). In some aspects, the measurement configuration may identify a configured duration for the physical layer measurement. For example, the measurement configuration may indicate a time window in which to perform the physical layer measurement or a length of time for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may be provided to the UE using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling (such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE)), DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the measurement configuration may indicate a signal for which the physical layer measurement is to be performed. For example, the signal may be a reference signal, such as a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or another form of reference signal. [0050] As further shown, the measurement configuration may be associated with a threshold. In some aspects, as shown, the BS 110 may provide information identifying the threshold to the UE 120 using RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, or another form of signaling. In some aspects, the threshold may be defined by a wireless communication standard (such as a 3GPP Technical Specification or another standard). In some aspects, the information identifying the threshold may indicate that the UE should compare a measurement value to the threshold to determine whether or not the measurement value should be reported to the BS 110. In other aspects, the information identifying the threshold may not explicitly indicate that the UE should compare the measurement value to the threshold, and the UE may determine to compare the measurement value to the threshold based at least in part on a pre-configuration of the UE, a rule in a wireless communication standard, or the like; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0030-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0047-0062]; Fig. 4, Para. [0064-0087]; Fig. 5, Para. [0088-0105]; Fig. 6, Para. [0106-0116]);
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky, and further in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0322072, previously presented), Bai hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, Venugopal2, nor Levitsky expressly teach wherein the measurement resource associated with the beam report comprises a Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) source Reference Signal (RS) corresponding to at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device.
However, Bai teaches
wherein the measurement resource associated with the beam report comprises a Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) source Reference Signal (RS) corresponding to at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device (Fig. 5, step 530; Para. [0103-0110] - [0109] At 530, BS 304 (e.g., transmitter 354 or 364, etc.) transmits, to the UE, a designation of the TCI state with the QCL source RS associated with one or more scheduled communications. In some designs, the transmission of 530 may be implemented via RRC signaling. In other designs, the transmission of 530 may be implemented via DCI; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0103-0105]; Para. [0111-0248]);
Bai teaches the claimed limitation as the base station transmits to the UE a designation of a TCI state associated with a QCL source reference signal for scheduled communication, thereby corresponding to a measurement resource associated with the beam report comprising a QCL source RS corresponding to a TCI state; further, the TCI state is currently activated by the network-side device, as the base station dynamically schedules communications over configured resources (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH/PUSCH) using such TCI state (Bai Para. [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the measurement resource associated with the beam report comprises a Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) source Reference Signal (RS) corresponding to at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state currently activated by the network-side device as taught by Bai, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2/Levitsky, so that it would provide methods for “transmission of an indication of capability of a UE to support one or more RS types as a QCL source RS for one or more TCI states” to “provide various technical advantages, such as ensuring that a TCI state allocated to the UE is supported by the UE, which may help to improve resource allocation and may particularly improve communicative performance of UEs that are limited in terms of QCL source RS, such as RedCap UEs or NR-Superlight UEs” (Bai Para. [0102]).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0216904, previously presented), Zhu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, Venugopal2, nor Levitsky expressly teach wherein the beam information pair comprises at least one of the following: a layer 1 measurement result; a measurement resource identifier; a cell identity; or frequency-related information.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the beam information pair comprises at least one of the following:
a layer 1 measurement result (Para. [0139] - In the present disclosure, a reported resource indicator (RI) such as SSBRI/CRI and its corresponding/associated beam metric (BM) such as L1-RSRP/L1-SINR form a BM-RI pair {beam metric, resource indicator}, or a reported resource indicator such as SSBRI/CRI and its corresponding/associated beam metric such as L1-RSRP/L1-SINR form a beam quality; See also Para. [0148, 0150, 0233, 0327-0331, 0332-0348, 0358-0359, 0380-0386, 0392-0400]; Fig. 10, Para. [0153]; Fig. 11, Para. [0155]; Fig. 12, Para. [0161]; Fig. 14, Para. [0165-0175]; Fig. 18, Para. [0188-0195]; Fig. 19, Para. [0196-0200]; Fig. 20, Para. [0201-0207]; Fig. 21, Para. [0208-0210]; Fig. 24, Para. [0214-0220]);
a measurement resource identifier (Para. [0139] - In the present disclosure, a reported resource indicator (RI) such as SSBRI/CRI and its corresponding/associated beam metric (BM) such as L1-RSRP/L1-SINR form a BM-RI pair {beam metric, resource indicator}, or a reported resource indicator such as SSBRI/CRI and its corresponding/associated beam metric such as L1-RSRP/L1-SINR form a beam quality; See also Para. [0148, 0150, 0233, 0327-0331, 0332-0348, 0358-0359, 0380-0386, 0392-0400]; Fig. 10, Para. [0153]; Fig. 11, Para. [0155]; Fig. 12, Para. [0161]; Fig. 14, Para. [0165-0175]; Fig. 18, Para. [0188-0195]; Fig. 19, Para. [0196-0200]; Fig. 20, Para. [0201-0207]; Fig. 21, Para. [0208-0210]; Fig. 24, Para. [0214-0220]);
a cell identity;
or frequency-related information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the beam information pair comprises at least one of the following: a layer 1 measurement result; a measurement resource identifier; a cell identity; or frequency-related information as taught by Zhu, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2/Levitsky, so that it would provide methods for “design aspects for beam reporting enhancements for inter-cell mobility and multi-TRP operation (i.e., the inter-cell or inter-TRP operation)” (Zhu Para. [0147]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, Venugopal2, nor Levitsky expressly teach wherein the quantity of beam information pairs is related to a capability of the terminal.
However, Zhu teaches
wherein the quantity of beam information pairs is related to a capability of the terminal (Para. [0359] - The UE could also report to the network, e.g., along with/in part of the same CSI report(s)/beam report(s), the number/quantity L_nsc (1≤L_nsc≤K_nsc) of resource indicators/beam metrics reported in the same CSI reporting instance/CSI-Report for the selected M_nsc non-serving cells and/or a set of M_nsc values/quantities with each entry in the set corresponding to the number/quantity of BM-RI pairs/beam qualities (including the resource indicators and their corresponding/associated beam metrics) reported in the same CSI reporting instance/CSI-Report for a different non-serving cell PCI; See also Para. [0139, 0148, 0150, 0233, 0327-0331, 0332-0348, 0358-0359, 0380-0386, 0392-0400]; Fig. 10, Para. [0153]; Fig. 11, Para. [0155]; Fig. 12, Para. [0161]; Fig. 14, Para. [0165-0175]; Fig. 18, Para. [0188-0195]; Fig. 19, Para. [0196-0200]; Fig. 20, Para. [0201-0207]; Fig. 21, Para. [0208-0210]; Fig. 24, Para. [0214-0220]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the quantity of beam information pairs is related to a capability of the terminal as taught by Zhu, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2/Levitsky, so that it would provide methods for “design aspects for beam reporting enhancements for inter-cell mobility and multi-TRP operation (i.e., the inter-cell or inter-TRP operation)” (Zhu Para. [0147]).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view Venugopal and Levitsky, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0340711, previously presented), Zhang2 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, and Levitsky teaches Claim 9.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, Venugopal2, nor Levitsky expressly teach wherein the reporting resource comprises at least one of the following: a configured grant; or a Random Access Channel (RACH) resource.
However, Zhang2 teaches wherein the reporting resource comprises at least one of the following:
a configured grant; or a Random Access Channel (RACH) resource (Fig. 4B, step 470; Para. [0057] - At 470, Source gNB 110 receives one or more corresponding event-based reports in the reserved resources specified by Source gNB 110 at 460, in a PUCCH or PUSCH signal (e.g., L1 signaling.) The one or more corresponding event-based reports includes data collected in accordance with configurations at 455. The one or more corresponding event-based reports is triggered by one or more events named by Source gNB 110 at 460; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0028-0031]; Figs. 4A-B, Para. [0034-0059]; Fig. 5, Para. [0060-0065]; Fig. 6, Para. [0066-0069]; Fig. 7, Para. [0070]; Fig. 8, Para. [0071-0078]; Fig. 9, Para. [0079-0087]; Fig. 11, Para. [0026-0027]).
The Examiner interprets a PUSCH signal as a RACH resource.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the reporting resource comprises at least one of the following: a configured grant; or a Random Access Channel (RACH) resource as taught by Zhang2, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2/Levitsky, so that it would provide “an apparatus, method, and computer program product for low layer inter-cell mobility management that reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface” (Zhang2 Para. [0005]) by mitigating “significant delays, especially on the interface between a user equipment (UE) and a serving 5G Node B (gNB)” (Zhang2 Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang in view of Venugopal, Venugopal2, Levitsky, and Zhang2 teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Zhang, Venugopal, Venugopal2, nor Levitsky expressly teach wherein the RACH resource is associated with the measurement resource associated with the beam report.
However, Zhang2 teaches
wherein the RACH resource is associated with the measurement resource associated with the beam report (Fig. 4B, steps 405 and 415; Para. [0035-0037] - [0035] At 405, Source gNB 110 transmits RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. The RRC signaling can include configuration report request 300 (e.g., a reportConfig) of FIG. 3, for low layer inter-cell mobility management. The configuration can request L3 measurements in a report, including but not limited to: L3-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a L3-Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), or a L3-Signal to Noise & Interference Ratio (SINR). The report can be configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and the report can be configured to be transmitted to Source gNB 110 by an Uplink Control Information (UCI) signal…[0037] At 415, Source gNB 110 receives the L3 results report via UCI signaling at L1 (e.g., via a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) signal or a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) signal.) The L3 results report can include for example, measurements from neighboring cells and corresponding TCI states collected by UE 105 based on configuration report request 300 and other configurations at 405.; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0028-0031]; Fig. 3, Para. [0033]; Figs. 4A-B, Para. [0034-0059]; Fig. 5, Para. [0060-0065]; Fig. 6, Para. [0066-0069]; Fig. 7, Para. [0070]; Fig. 8, Para. [0071-0078]; Fig. 9, Para. [0079-0087]; Fig. 11, Para. [0026-0027]).
Zhang2 teaches the limitation as measurement resources and reporting resources are configured via RRC (reportConfig/CMR (Channel Measurement Resource), Zhang2 Para. [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the reporting resource comprises at least one of the following: a configured grant; or a Random Access Channel (RACH) resource as taught by Zhang2, in the combined system of Zhang/Venugopal/Venugopal2/Levitsky, so that it would provide “an apparatus, method, and computer program product for low layer inter-cell mobility management that reduces the handover delay on the UE to serving gNB interface” (Zhang2 Para. [0005]) by mitigating “significant delays, especially on the interface between a user equipment (UE) and a serving 5G Node B (gNB)” (Zhang2 Para. [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tsai et al. (US 20190274169) teaches in Para. [0423] a UE monitoring a PDCCH on a specific reference signal that is associated with “a latest TCI state activated before uplink is not synchronized.”
Levitsky et al. (US 20200145983) teaches in Fig. 8, Para. [0085] and Para. [0106, 0117] a UE receiving an indication of an activated TCI state and “identifying one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources configured in the at least one of active TCI states.”
Hakola et al. (US 20200389884) teaches in Para. [0076, 0078] a downlink reference signal which corresponds to an activated TCI state.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468