Detailed Office Action
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 in the reply filed on 13 May 2026 s acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi, T. (Precise Optical Modulation and Its Application to Optoelectronic Device Measurement. Photonics 2021, 8, 160. https://doi.org/10.3390/photonics8050160; “Kawanishi”) in view of
Bodette et al. (20007-275588; “Bodette”) and further in view of Le et al. (2012/0236528; “Le”)
Regarding claim 1, Kawanishi discloses in figure 1, and related figures and text, a modulator configuration embodiments for which the voltages applied to two electrodes determine any differences between incoming and outgoing optical signals.
Kawanishi – Figure 1 and Selected Text
An MZM consists of two optical phase modulators (PMs) connected in parallel through two Y-junctions, as shown in Figure 1. The two optical paths along the phase modulators form two arms of a Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI). Optical phase difference between optical signals on the two optical paths can be controlled through voltages were applied to the two optical PMs (PM and PM2). In an ideal MZM where the amplitudes of the two optical signals are balanced, the optical output intensity goes to zero when the optical phase difference is equal to p (180-degree).
[0005] As shown in FIG. 1, MZ type optical modulator 1 is composed of light guide 2 which is for guiding light waves, on the substrate that has an electro-optical effect, and the electrodes (not shown) which is for applying high-speed modulation signal of micro wave band to said light waves, and so on. The principle of MZ type optical modulator's operation is that the input light from one end of the light guide 2 is divided on the way and because the lights pass inside the substrate of which the refractive index has changed dependent on the amount of electronic signal voltage which applied from signal source, speed difference occurs between mutual divided lights, and as the two divided lights converge, phase difference occurs, and the combined output light shows an intensity change which respond to said electronic signal.
Further regarding claim 1, Bodette discloses in figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text, embodiments of electrical probes for which isolation is provided, in part, by fiber optic inputs and outputs. Bodette, abstract (“An isolated signal probe comprises an input module, an output module, and a fiber optic line connecting the input module to the output module. The input module includes external positive and negative terminals, an input translation circuit electrically connected to the external positive and negative terminals, a first power supply for driving the input translation circuit, and an electrical-to-optical converter that receives a first signal from the input translation circuit. The output module includes an optical-to-electrical converter, an output translation circuit for receiving a second signal from the optical-to-electrical converter; a second power source for driving the output translation circuit, and an output connector electrically connected to the output translation circuit. The fiber optic line connects the electrical-to-optical converter to the optical-to-electrical converter.”).
Bodette – Figures 1 and 2, and Selected Text
[0007] Embodiments of the invention address deficiencies of the art in respect to measurement devices and provide a novel and non-obvious isolated signal probe. The isolated signal probe comprises an input module, an output module, and a fiber optic line connecting the input module to the output module. The input module includes external positive and negative terminals, an input translation circuit electrically connected to the external positive and negative terminals, a first power supply for driving the input translation circuit, and an electrical-to-optical converter that receives a first signal from the input translation circuit. The output module includes an optical-to-electrical converter, an output translation circuit for receiving a second signal from the optical-to-electrical converter; a second power source for driving the output translation circuit, and an output connector electrically connected to the output translation circuit.
[0008] The fiber optic line connects the electrical-to-optical converter to the optical-to-electrical converter. The input translation circuit converts a differential voltage of an input from the positive and negative terminals into a current for driving the electrical-to-optical converter. The output translation circuit converts a current from the optical-to-electrical converter into a voltage to be outputted by the output connector. By isolating the input module from the output module via a fiber optic line, distortion of the electrical characteristics, by the signal probe, of a circuit being tested is reduced.
[0013] FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate an isolated signal probe 100 for measuring electrical properties of a circuit 10 under test. The signal probe 100 includes an input module 120, an output module 140, and a fiber optic line 160 connecting the input module 120 to the output module 140. Although not limited in this manner, the signal probe 100 may be used to test the circuit 10 while the circuit 10 is experiencing a strong EMF event 20. The input module 120 includes external negative and positive probes 122, 124 that are electrically connected to the circuit 10 either directly or indirectly using, for example, probe leads 12, 14.
[0014] The input module 120 may include an input translation circuit 126, a first power supply 128, and an electrical-to-optical (E/O) converter 130. The input translation circuit 126 is electrically connected to the external negative and positive terminals 122, 124 and is used to measure an electrical characteristic of the circuit 10. For example, the input translation circuit 126 may be a voltmeter, an ammeter, or an ohmmeter. No matter the particular electrical characteristic of the circuit 10 being measured, other electrical characteristics of the circuit 10 can be inferred using, for example, Ohm's law. In certain aspects of the signal probe 100, however, the input translation circuit 126 measures a differential voltage V.sub.I and converts the differential voltage V.sub.I into a first electrical signal having a current I.sub.IM.
Consequently, in light of Bodette’s disclosure of probe configurations that benefit from the isolation provided by optical fibers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawanishi’s embodiments to disclose an optical voltage probe comprising: an optical modulator having at least two modulation electrodes, the optical modulator being configured to modulate an intensity of an incident light depending on a voltage between the two modulation electrodes and output the modulated incident light; an input optical fiber that is connected with the optical modulator; an output optical fiber that is connected with the optical modulator; two first contact terminals or two contact terminal attachment portions to which two second contact terminals can be detachably attached and contacted, the two first contact terminals being connected with the two modulation electrodes and configured to be in contact with points to be measured, the two second contact terminals being connected with the two modulation electrodes and configured to be in contact with the points to be measured;, Kawanishi, figure 1, and related figures and text; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical signal probes that benefit from optical isolation. Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text.
Further regarding claim 1, Le discloses in figures 1-3, and related text, embodiments of multilayer electromagnetic shields comprising metallic layers of different magnetic permeability and polymer layers. Le, figures 1-3, and related text.
Le – Selected Text
Abstract. A flexible multilayer electromagnetic shield is provided that includes a flexible substrate, a thin film layer of a first ferromagnetic material with high magnetic permeability disposed upon the substrate and a multilayer stack disposed upon the first ferromagnetic material. The multilayer stack includes pairs of layers, each pair comprising a polymeric spacing layer and a thin film layer of at least a second ferromagnetic material disposed on the spacing layer. At least one or more of the spacing layers includes an acrylic polymer. Also methods of making the flexible multilayer electromagnetic shield are provided.
[0002] Miniaturization of electronic devices and high frequency electronic circuits have created a demand for compact and flexible electromagnetic interference/electromagnetic compatible (EMI/EMC) material that also can suppress the degrading effect of electromagnetic interference originating in the devices and circuits or originating in the environment. Additionally EMI/EMC materials can be needed to comply with the electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) specifications for EMI control. EMI control can include EMI shielding, absorption, and/or suppression. Electrically conducting materials can be utilized to primarily provide shielding of electromagnetic radiation.
[0005] In one aspect, a flexible multilayer electromagnetic interference shield is provided that includes a flexible substrate, a thin film layer of a first ferromagnetic material with a high magnetic permeability disposed upon the flexible substrate, and a multilayer stack disposed upon the first ferromagnetic material, the multilayer stack comprises pairs of layers, each pair comprising a spacing layer and a thin film layer of a second ferromagnetic material disposed on the spacing layer. One or more of the spacing layers comprises an acrylic polymer. The spacing layer is preferably a dielectric layer or a non-electrically conductive material to suppress the Eddy current effect. The spacing layer can be made of a ferromagnetic material with relatively lower magnetic permeability.
[0012] "electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding" refers to the reflection or absorption of at least one of the components of electromagnetic waves;
[0013] The provided flexible multilayer electromagnetic shields can shield or/and suppress radiofrequency energy over a wide range of frequencies. By using thin layers of ferromagnetic material interlayered with spacing materials and by adjusting the numbers of layers, thicknesses of layers, and materials, electromagnetic interference control at high frequencies can be achieved, for example, in the 1-6 gigahertz range. Furthermore, by using vapor-condensed acrylic spacing layers the provided shields can be manufactured in a continuous, roll-to-roll manner.
[0022] Shielding against EMI is commonly accomplished by reflecting and/or absorbing the incident electromagnetic waves. A large impedance mismatch between the incident medium and the shielding material can lead to relatively high reflectance. As a wave passes through shielding material, its amplitude is attenuated exponentially as a function of skin depth. Due to cost constraints most EMI shielding materials operate simply by reflection. However, many applications can benefit by absorption of the EMI since reflected EMI can also cause additional interference. Non-magnetic metals such as silver, gold, copper, and aluminum, can have high electrical conductivities and can be useful for EMI shielding. However, the metals which are ferromagnetic can be less electrically conductive but can have much higher magnetic permeabilities than other metals. As such, they can be useful for shielding against EMI and particularly for shielding against the magnetic component of EMI. Shielding materials with high magnetic permeability and high electrical conductivity can develop low surface impedance with thinner skin depth that can help to attenuate and to reflect incident waves. In order to absorb EMI it is important to reduce or eliminate eddy currents to allow the incident EMI waves to penetrate the shielding material. Permalloy, which is an alloy of approximately 19 mole % Fe and 81 mole % Ni, and has zero magnetostriction, is a very useful, versatile, and relatively inexpensive material with high magnetic permeability. Permalloy alloy can have from about 18 mole % to about 20 mole % Fe and from about 80 mole% to about 82 mole % Ni. By zero magnetostriction it is meant that the permeability does not change with stress.
[0024] Thin ferromagnetic films are known to exhibit the highest possible RF permeability of known magnetic materials. However, with the increase of film thickness, the RF permeability can degenerate because of both effects of eddy currents and out-of-plane magnetization. For these effects to be reduced, films that include multiple layers of thin ferromagnetic layers can be useful. Multilayer constructions of alternating layers of materials with high magnetic permeability and non-magnetic spacing layers have been previously disclosed, for example, in U. S. Pat. No. 5,083,112 (Piotrowski et al.) and U.S. Pat. No. 5,925,455 (Bruzzone et al.) as well as in an article authored by C. A. Grimes, "EMI shielding characteristics of permalloy multilayer thin films", IEEE Aerospace Applications Conf Proc., IEEE, Computer Society Press Los Alamitos, IEEE, California, USA (1994), pp. 211-221. For example, multilayer, thin film, electronic article surveillance systems which are used for protecting store merchandise and library books can have multiple layers of a magnetic thin film, such as Permalloy, interspaced with a film, such as an inorganic oxide of silicon or aluminum.
[0038] Flexible, multilayer electromagnetic shielding constructions can be designed and fabricated that include a plurality of thin films of high permeability magnetic layers, separated by thin films of dielectric layers. These multilayer constructions can have excellent RF permeability as well as high frequency response. By using a layered design, ferromagnetic resonance frequencies can be tuned to absorb from the megahertz to the gigahertz range. Overall magnetic properties including real and imaginary part of permeability, ferromagnetic resonance, and impedance are a function of parameters such as layer design (thickness of magnetic and polymeric spacing layer), number of layers, process conditions (aligned magnetic field, process temperature, etc.), and the nature of the substrate. Such dynamic relationships between the thickness of the ferromagnetic layers, spacing layers, and number of layers have not been previously established.
[0042] FIG. 3 is a schematic illustration of yet another embodiment. Electromagnetic shield 300 includes substrate 302 upon which is disposed buffer layer 303. In this embodiment, first electromagnetic layer 304 is disposed upon buffer layer 303 upon which is disposed multilayer stack 308. Multilayer stack 308 includes three spacer layers 305 and three layers of second ferromagnetic material 307.
[0043] The provided EMI shields can be used to isolate electronic devices that are sensitive to electromagnetic interference--particularly in application where the magnetic component of the electromagnetic interference needs to be suppressed. For example, EMI shields can be effective for improving reading range RFID systems attached to conductive objects and can help to miniaturize the RFID tag. For shielding of RFID tags on conductive objects such as metals, the signal frequency should be considerably lower than the onset of ferromagnetic resonance. The magnetic shield, which is relatively electrically non-conductive at the tag operating frequency, helps to confine the magnetic field energy and reduce the amount of energy coupled to the conductive substrate which results in higher signal returned to the RFID reader. Use of materials with high magnetic permeability for RFID tags is disclosed, for example, in U. S. Pat. No. 7,315,248 (Egbert).
Consequently, in light of Le’s disclosure of multilayer shielding embodiments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawanishi in view of Bodette’s embodiments to disclose a package that houses the optical modulator, a part of the input optical fiber and a part of the output optical fiber, wherein a voltage signal induced between the two modulation electrodes via the two first contact terminals or the two second contact terminals is converted into an optical intensity modulation signal by the optical modulator and the optical intensity modulation signal is outputted through the output optical fiber, the package is configured to cover an inside of the package with a metal body for shielding an electric field and a magnetic shielding material for shielding a magnetic field, the magnetic shielding material being arranged inside or outside the metal body, and the magnetic shielding material is formed of a layered material or a sheet material having a relative magnetic permeability of 1000 or more; Le, figures 1-3, and related text.; Kawanishi, figure 1, and related figures and text; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical signal probes that benefit from optical isolation; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; and enhanced shielding. Le, figures 1-3, and related text.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawanishi in view of Bodette and further in view of Le’s embodiments such that an electric wave absorber is provided on a surface of the package for reducing a reflection of an electromagnetic wave arrived from an outside of the package and reflected by the package; Le, figures 1-3, and related text.; Kawanishi, figure 1, and related figures and text; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical signal probes that benefit from optical isolation; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; and enhanced shielding. Le, figures 1-3, and related text.
Claim 5
Claim 5, as dependent upon claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi, T. (Precise Optical Modulation and Its Application to Optoelectronic Device Measurement. Photonics 2021, 8, 160; “Kawanishi”) in view of Bodette et al. (20007-275588; “Bodette”) and further in view of Le et al. (2012/0236528; “Le”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, and further in view of M. J. Heino (Fiber optic high voltage probe, Digest of Technical Papers. 12th IEEE International Pulsed Power Conference. (Cat. No.99CH36358), Monterey, CA, USA, 1999, pp. 250-252 vol.1; “Heino”).
Regarding claim 5, Heino discloses in figures 1-3, and related text, “[A] fiber coupled sensor to measure High Voltage (-45kV) directly using only light as the probe. We use the Pockels effect in lithium niobate crystal which will induce a phase shift in a laser beam that varies according to applied voltage. This can then be transformed into a modulation of beam intensity by polarizers, interferometery, or waveguide coupling. No voltage dividers are necessary, nor is any physical connection. This is accomplished by taking advantage of the structure of the power system itself, using voltage planes and dielectric insulation already present as the capacitive voltage divider. We hypothesize a bandwidth from GHz to DC. Such a system could be used in any application that calls for isolated and unobtrusive voltage sensing.” Heino, abstract.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawanishi in view of Bodette and further in view of Le’s embodiments such that the optical modulator is a branch interference type optical modulator using an optical waveguide formed on a lithium niobate crystal substrate; Heino, figures 1-3, and related text; Le, figures 1-3, and related text.; Kawanishi, figure 1, and related figures and text; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical signal probes that benefit from optical isolation; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; enhanced shielding. Le, figures 1-3, and related text; and enhanced modulation capabilities. Heino, figures 1-3, and related text.
Claim 7
Claim 7, as dependent upon claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi, T. (Precise Optical Modulation and Its Application to Optoelectronic Device Measurement. Photonics 2021, 8, 160; “Kawanishi”) in view of Bodette et al. (20007-275588; “Bodette”) and further in view of Le et al. (2012/0236528; “Le”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, and further in view of M. J. Heino (Fiber optic high voltage probe, Digest of Technical Papers. 12th IEEE International Pulsed Power Conference. (Cat. No.99CH36358), Monterey, CA, USA, 1999, pp. 250-252 vol.1; “Heino”), as applied in the rejection of claim 3, and further in view of Lukens et al. (Equalization of Intensity-Modulated Fiber-Optic Voltage Sensors for Power Distribution Systems, in IEEE Photonics Technology Letters, vol. 33, no. 16, pp. 880-883, 15 Aug.15, 2021; “Lukens”).
Regarding claim 7, Lukens discloses in figures 1-5, and related text, “[Embodiments of] fiber-optic voltage sensors based on optical reflection from a piezoelectric transducer. Our specific devices possess a 2 kHz fundamental resonance, and we verify a readily usable frequency band from approximately 10 Hz to 3 kHz, with a dynamic range of 60 dB for a detection system integrating over this entire band. Additionally, we demonstrate a digital signal processing approach to equalize the measured frequency response, enabling accurate retrieval of short-pulse inputs. Our results suggest the value and applicability of intensity-modulated fiber-optic voltage sensors for measuring both steady-state waveforms and broadband transients which, coupled with the straightforward and compact design of the sensors, should make them effective tools in electric grid monitoring.” Lukens, abstract.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawanishi in view of Bodette , further in view of Le, and further in view of Heino’s embodiments such that the optical modulator is a branch interference type optical modulator using an optical waveguide formed on a lithium niobate crystal substrate, the optical modulator is a reflection type optical modulator where the incident light is reflected inside the optical modulator to change a direction of the incident light, and the input optical fiber and the output optical fiber are formed by one input/output optical fiber; Lukens, figures 1-5, and related text; Heino, figures 1-3, and related text; Le, figures 1-3, and related text.; Kawanishi, figure 1, and related figures and text; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical signal probes that benefit from optical isolation; Bodette, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text; enhanced shielding. Le, figures 1-3, and related text; and enhanced modulation capabilities; Heino, figures 1-3, and related text; including reflective modulation. Lukens, abstract.
Conclusion
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874