Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6,8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind.
Regarding claim 1, with the exception of the limitations ‘at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the IHS to’, the claim is directed to mental processes.
The limitations ‘identify a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of the computing resource; classify the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts, wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task does not need to be performed immediately yet should be performed at a future point in time; generate, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context’ are mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Step 2A: Prong two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements ‘at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the IHS to’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements ‘ display the health context score for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation ‘display each of the plurality of health context scores for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 3, the limitation ‘display an overall health score of each of a plurality of computing resources’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)); and ‘display the health context scores when a mouse pointer is hovered over a field of a display representing the computing resource, wherein each of the health context scores comprises a slider icon that displays an overall health value for its respective health context’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 4, the limitation ‘display a historical graph of the plurality of health context scores for view by the user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 5, the limitation ‘display each of the plurality of health context scores in a color-coded format’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation ‘wherein the health context comprises an immediate health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed immediately’ is a mental process – concept performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation ‘wherein the health context comprises an efficiencies health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed to improve the performance of the computing resource’ is a mental process - concept performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation ‘wherein the instructions are performed by a systems manager that monitors and manages the operation of the computing resource’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is directed to mental processes.
The limitations ‘identifying a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of the computing resource; classifying the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts, wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task does not need to be performed immediately yet should be performed at a future point in time; generating, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context’ are mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Step 2A: Prong two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements ‘displaying the health context score for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements ‘displaying the health context score for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation ‘further comprising displaying each of the plurality of health context scores or view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation ‘further comprising: displaying an overall health score of each of a plurality of computing resources’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)); and ‘displaying the health context scores when a mouse pointer is hovered over a field of a display representing the computing resource, wherein each of the health context scores comprises a slider icon that displays an overall health value for its respective health context’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 13, the limitation ‘further comprising displaying a historical graph of the plurality of health context scores for view by the user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 14, the limitation ‘further comprising displaying each of the plurality of health context scores in a color-coded format’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation ‘wherein the health context comprises at least one of an immediate health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed immediately or an efficiencies health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed to improve the performance of the computing resource’ are mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Regarding claim 16, with the exception of the limitations ‘A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform a method comprising’, the claim is directed to mental processes.
The limitations ‘identifying a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of the computing resource; classifying the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts, wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task does not need to be performed immediately yet should be performed at a future point in time; generating, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context’ are mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Step 2A: Prong two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements ‘A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform a method comprising’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements ‘displaying the health context score for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 17, the limitation ‘display each of the plurality of health context scores for view by a user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 18, the limitation ‘display an overall health score of each of a plurality of computing resources’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)); and ‘display the health context scores when a mouse pointer is hovered over a field of a display representing the computing resource, wherein each of the health context scores comprises a slider icon that displays an overall health value for its respective health context’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 19, the limitation ‘display a historical graph of the plurality of health context scores for view by the user’ are directed to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 20, the limitation ‘display each of the plurality of health context scores in a color-coded format’ are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelaev Aleksei et al. (WO2022055496A1) in view of Renner et al. (USPN 20220166630A1).
As per claim 1, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising: at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (paragraph 0013 – The memory 104 may be dedicated hardware circuitry to host instructions for the processor 102 to execute.), the at least one memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the at least one processor (paragraph 0013 - The memory 104 may be dedicated hardware circuitry to host instructions for the processor 102 to execute.), cause the IHS to:
identify a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of the computing resource (paragraph 0026 - Note that certain operational data may be weighted more strongly in the health score as they may be more indicative of GPU failure. Based on the resulting health score, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a color-coded health category. A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention. A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present. A health score of zero (0) maps to the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.; the computing resource are the GPUs disclosed in paragraph 0016 - The GPU operational data may be collected at device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N. Each device, illustrated separately, may be computing devices with different computing capabilities. For example, device A 202A may be a smartphone, device B 202B may be a notebook computer, and device N 202N may be a workstation computer. Each device may incorporate a GPU, illustrated as GPU A 204A, GPUB 204B, and GPU N 204N.);
classify the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts (paragraph 0026 - a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention… a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present… the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.), wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed at a future point in time (paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices. – the remediation steps are inclusive of indicating the maintenance task being performed at a future point in time);
generate, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context (paragraph 0022 - The model 210 executes logic to create the GPU health score. The model 210 may be communicatively couple to the database 208 to receive GPU operational data. In one implementation, the model 210 may count or sum the occurrences of operational data in a given period.; paragraph 0027 - Additionally, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be assigned a criticality score for each week. The criticality score may be calculated based on the value of the health score and total number of devices within a set that given week. For calculating criticality score, the devices may be sorted by the value of the health score in descending order. The device with the highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to one (1). The device with the second highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to two (2), and so on. The criticality score of the device with the lowest health score may be equal to the total number of devices.); and
display the health context score for view by a user (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).).
Shelaev Aleksei et al. fails to explicitly state does not need to be performed immediately yet.
Shelaev Aleksei et al. does disclose in paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices.
Renner et al. discloses does not need to be performed immediately yet in paragraph 0058 - The corrective script may enable to fix or diagnose the detected error. The customer downloads the package to his workstation in step 503. The customer transfers in step 505 the package from his workstation to the user system 202 where the script should be executed. The customer schedules in step 507 the execution of the script by, for example, selecting it in the service interface from a list of available scripts on the user system and by clicking an execute button. This step 507 may include means to specify an execution schedule, e.g., instantly or in the future within a maintenance period.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include scheduling the corrective script to fix an error in the future within a maintenance period of Renner in the category having a particular remediation step of Shelaev Aleksei. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the error is able to be corrected at any time, as disclosed in paragraph 0058.
As per claims 2,11,17, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the instructions further cause the IHS to display each of the plurality of health context scores for view by a user (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).).
As per claims 4,13,19, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the instructions further cause the IHS to display a historical graph of the plurality of health context scores for view by the user (paragraph 0044 - In one implementation, the processor 102 may render a difference between the health score and the second health score. The rendering may include a visualization of a trend in the health score. The visualization may include an arrow indicating the direction of the trend, corresponding to the affected device.).
As per claims 5,14,20, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the instructions further cause the IHS to display each of the plurality of health context scores in a color-coded format (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).; paragraph 0030 - The alert system 212 may take the form of a dashboard interface for a fleet manager responsible for monitoring the devices (device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N). The alert system 212 may indicate to the fleet manager the categories of each of the devices within the fleet (e.g. red, yellow, and green). The alert system 212 may present a user activated remediation step to the fleet manager (e.g. replace graphics card). In another implementation, the alert system 212 may be communicatively coupled to the telemetry agent on the device. The alert system 212 may propagate an alert to the user of the device that a remediation step may be due. For example, a graphics card failure based on ‘ECC_growth’ may be determined. The alert system 212 may present the fleet manager with a category “red” representation of device A 202A.; paragraph 0026 - A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention. A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present. A health score of zero (0) maps to the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.).
As per claim 6, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the health context comprises an immediate health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed immediately (paragraph 0026 - A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention.).
As per claim 8, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the health context comprises an efficiencies health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed to improve the performance of the computing resource (paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices.).
As per claim 9, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the instructions are performed by a systems manager that monitors and manages the operation of the computing resource (paragraph 0014 - The system 100 may also include instructions 106. The instructions 106 may be implemented in a platform specific language that the processor 102 may decode and execute. The instructions 106 may be stored in the memory 104 during execution. The instructions 106 may be encoded to perform operations such as receiving a set of GPU operational data 108, identify a subset of the set of GPU operational data corresponding to a likelihood of failure 110, create a health score for a GPU corresponding to the set of GPU operational data 112, map the health score to a remediation action 114 and execute the remediation action 116. [0015] FIG. 2 is a block diagram corresponding to a GPU health score system 200, according to an example.).
As per claim 10, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses a context based health visualization method comprising: identifying a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of a computing resource (paragraph 0026 - Note that certain operational data may be weighted more strongly in the health score as they may be more indicative of GPU failure. Based on the resulting health score, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a color-coded health category. A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention. A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present. A health score of zero (0) maps to the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.; the computing resource are the GPUs disclosed in paragraph 0016 - The GPU operational data may be collected at device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N. Each device, illustrated separately, may be computing devices with different computing capabilities. For example, device A 202A may be a smartphone, device B 202B may be a notebook computer, and device N 202N may be a workstation computer. Each device may incorporate a GPU, illustrated as GPU A 204A, GPUB 204B, and GPU N 204N.);
classifying the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts (paragraph 0026 - a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention… a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present… the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.), wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed at a future point in time (paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices. – the remediation steps are inclusive of indicating the maintenance task being performed at a future point in time);
generating, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context (paragraph 0022 - The model 210 executes logic to create the GPU health score. The model 210 may be communicatively couple to the database 208 to receive GPU operational data. In one implementation, the model 210 may count or sum the occurrences of operational data in a given period.; paragraph 0027 - Additionally, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be assigned a criticality score for each week. The criticality score may be calculated based on the value of the health score and total number of devices within a set that given week. For calculating criticality score, the devices may be sorted by the value of the health score in descending order. The device with the highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to one (1). The device with the second highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to two (2), and so on. The criticality score of the device with the lowest health score may be equal to the total number of devices.); and
displaying the health context score for view by a user (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).).
Shelaev Aleksei et al. fails to explicitly state does not need to be performed immediately yet.
Shelaev Aleksei et al. does disclose in paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices.
Renner et al. discloses does not need to be performed immediately yet in paragraph 0058 - The corrective script may enable to fix or diagnose the detected error. The customer downloads the package to his workstation in step 503. The customer transfers in step 505 the package from his workstation to the user system 202 where the script should be executed. The customer schedules in step 507 the execution of the script by, for example, selecting it in the service interface from a list of available scripts on the user system and by clicking an execute button. This step 507 may include means to specify an execution schedule, e.g., instantly or in the future within a maintenance period.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include scheduling the corrective script to fix an error in the future within a maintenance period of Renner in the category having a particular remediation step of Shelaev Aleksei. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the error is able to be corrected at any time, as disclosed in paragraph 0058.
As per claim 15, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the health context comprises at least one of an immediate health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed immediately, or an efficiencies health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed to improve the performance of the computing resource (paragraph 0026 - A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention. A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices.).
As per claim 16, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor (paragraph 0047 - Storage medium 404 represents generally any number of memory components capable of storing instructions that can be executed by processor 102. Storage medium 404 is non-transitory in the sense that it does not encompass a transitory signal but instead is made up of at least one memory component configured to store the relevant instructions. As a result, the storage medium 404 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.) to cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
identify a maintenance task that needs to be performed on a computing resource, wherein the maintenance task impacts an overall health score of the computing resource (paragraph 0026 - Note that certain operational data may be weighted more strongly in the health score as they may be more indicative of GPU failure. Based on the resulting health score, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a color-coded health category. A health score of ten (10) or more maps to a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention. A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present. A health score of zero (0) maps to the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.; the computing resource are the GPUs disclosed in paragraph 0016 - The GPU operational data may be collected at device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N. Each device, illustrated separately, may be computing devices with different computing capabilities. For example, device A 202A may be a smartphone, device B 202B may be a notebook computer, and device N 202N may be a workstation computer. Each device may incorporate a GPU, illustrated as GPU A 204A, GPUB 204B, and GPU N 204N.);
classify the maintenance task according to one of a plurality of health contexts (paragraph 0026 - a red category, which categorizes the devices requiring immediate attention… a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present… the green category, which indicates no health or performance issues observed.), wherein the one health context comprises an upcoming health context indicating that the maintenance task should be performed at a future point in time (paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices. – the remediation steps are inclusive of indicating the maintenance task being performed at a future point in time);
generate, using information associated with the maintenance task, a health context score for the one health context (paragraph 0022 - The model 210 executes logic to create the GPU health score. The model 210 may be communicatively couple to the database 208 to receive GPU operational data. In one implementation, the model 210 may count or sum the occurrences of operational data in a given period.; paragraph 0027 - Additionally, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be assigned a criticality score for each week. The criticality score may be calculated based on the value of the health score and total number of devices within a set that given week. For calculating criticality score, the devices may be sorted by the value of the health score in descending order. The device with the highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to one (1). The device with the second highest health score may be scored with a criticality equal to two (2), and so on. The criticality score of the device with the lowest health score may be equal to the total number of devices.);
display the health context score for view by a user (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).).
Shelaev Aleksei et al. fails to explicitly state does not need to be performed immediately yet.
Shelaev Aleksei et al. does disclose in paragraph 0026 - A health score of more than zero (0) and less than ten (10) may be categorized to a yellow category. The yellow category may include devices with some health/performance issue present.; paragraph 0028 - Continuing the implementation described above, each device (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N) may be mapped to a detailed description of the observed performance or health problems and the list of suggested remediation steps. The descriptions of the problems and suggested remediation steps may be created based on the domain knowledge and publicly available troubleshooting steps for the devices.
Renner et al. discloses does not need to be performed immediately yet in paragraph 0058 - The corrective script may enable to fix or diagnose the detected error. The customer downloads the package to his workstation in step 503. The customer transfers in step 505 the package from his workstation to the user system 202 where the script should be executed. The customer schedules in step 507 the execution of the script by, for example, selecting it in the service interface from a list of available scripts on the user system and by clicking an execute button. This step 507 may include means to specify an execution schedule, e.g., instantly or in the future within a maintenance period.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include scheduling the corrective script to fix an error in the future within a maintenance period of Renner in the category having a particular remediation step of Shelaev Aleksei. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the error is able to be corrected at any time, as disclosed in paragraph 0058.
Claim(s) 3,12,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelaev Aleksei et al. (WO2022055496A1) in view of Renner et al. in further view of Tankersley et al. (USPN 20180024901A1).
As per claims 3,12,18, Shelaev Aleksei et al. discloses wherein the instructions further cause the IHS to: display an overall health score of each of a plurality of computing resources (paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).).
Shelaev Aleksei et al. fails to explicitly state display the health context scores when a mouse pointer is hovered over a field of a display representing the computing resource, wherein each of the health context scores comprises a slider icon that displays an overall health value for its respective health context..
Shelaev Aleksei et al. does disclose in paragraph 0044 - At 312, the processor 102 renders a visualization of the health score. The processor 102 may render a dashboard to illustrate to a fleet manager the health of all devices (from device A 202A, device B 202B and device N 202N).
Tankersley et al. discloses display the health context scores when a mouse pointer is hovered over a field of a display representing the computing resource, wherein each of the health context scores comprises a slider icon that displays an overall health value for its respective health context (paragraph 1523 - In one implementation, when one of lanes 5302, 5304, 5306 is selected (e.g., by hovering the cursor over the lane) a maximum and a minimum values reflected by the graphical visualization for a corresponding KPI during the current time range are displayed adjacent to visual indicator 5514.; paragraph 1172 - At block 34804, the processing device may cause for display a GUI that displays a plurality of key performance indicators (KPIs) and graphical control elements (e.g., slider-type control elements) for the KPIs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the hovering the cursor to display values of the KPIs and slider-type elements for the KPIs of Tankersley in the visualization of health scores in a dashboard of Shelaev Aleksei. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because information is able to be viewed in order to determine performance of entities, as disclosed in paragraph 1172.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 03/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Concerning arguments of the 101 rejection, the ‘classifying’ limitation is just indicating for a particular health context that a maintenance task does not need to be performed immediately. There is no indication of how this ‘classifying’ is done; therefore, the way the limitation is written at present this is a mental process. The ‘generating’ limitation is a mental process for generating a health context score. There is no indication of how the score is generated; therefore, it is a mental process. The ‘displaying the health context score for view by a user’ is insignificant extra-solution activity of displaying information. There is no improvement to the technical field determined by the ‘classifying’ and ‘displaying’ limitations. The improvement has not been claimed properly.
The newly added limitations have been rejected using prior art found. Please see the above rejection.
/Yolanda L Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113