DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 19, The term “a bioconvex lens” (line 7) should be “a biconvex lens “.
Regarding claim 37 has same undefined issues as that of claim 19 in line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19-24, 26-27, 29, 31 and 35-37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200278518, cited by applicant) in view of Kubota (US20140139931).
Regarding claim 19, Yamada teaches an optical system (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0001],”an imaging optical device”) comprising a first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a first lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr1) disposed closest to an object (see Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr1 disposed closest to the object), a first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a first focus lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr2) having a positive refractive power (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0066], a second lens group Gr2 of positive refractive power) disposed on an image side of the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1), and a second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a second focus lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr3) having a negative refractive power (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, a third lens group Gr3 of negative refractive power) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr2), the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) being fixed for focusing (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, the first lens groupGr1 is fixed in position), and the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr2) and the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr3) being movable during focusing so that a distance between the first focus lens unit and the second focus lens unit changes (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, the second lens group Gr2 and the third lens group Gr3 are moved so that the distance between the first lens group and the second lens group is reduced, and the distance between the second lens group and the third lens group is increased),
wherein the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) includes a single negative lens (Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11) disposed closest to the object (see Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11 disposed closest to the object),
wherein the single negative lens is a meniscus lens (Yamada, fig.1, lens L11, paragraph [0128], a negative meniscus lens L11) with a convex surface facing an object side (see Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11 is a negative meniscus lens with its convex surface facing the object side),
wherein the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) has a positive meniscus lens with a convex surface facing the object side (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0128], a positive meniscus lens L12 convex on the object side),
wherein three cemented lenses are disposed in the optical system (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, have three cemented lenses, L12+L13, L14+L15, L16+L17), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
−5.0<fp2/fn1<−0.1 (-0.63; Yamada, fig.1, fp2/fn1 = 2.55/-4.043)
where fp2 is a focal length of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2, paragraph [0145], Data of Table 1, fp2= f2 = 2.55), and fn1 is a focal length of the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr3, paragraph [0145], Data of Table 2, fn1= f3 = -4.043)
Yamada does not explicitly teach wherein the first lens unit includes a diaphragm and a biconvex lens disposed adjacent to the image side of the diaphragm,
However, Kubota teaches the analogous lens groups (Kubota, fig.4, paragraph [0154], “the first lens group Gr1 having a positive refractive power”; “the second lens group Gr2 having a positive refractive power”; “third lens group Gr3 having a negative refractive power”), and further teaches
wherein the first lens unit (Kubota, fig.4, first lens group Gr1 has been referred to as the first lens unit) includes a diaphragm (fig.4, aperture stop AD; paragraph [0156], “an aperture stop AD is provided between the second lens L2 and the third lens L3 in the first lens group Gr1”) and a biconvex lens (paragraph [0155] “the third lens L3 of the biconvex positive lens”) disposed adjacent to the image side of the diaphragm (fig.4, aperture stop AD).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the diaphragm of Yamada to have the specific position as taught by Kubota for the purpose of high-performance imaging device having a miniaturized body and the speed-up of shooting (Kubota, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
1<|f/Mn2|<15000 (7.6; |f/Mn2| = |1.57/0.206|; paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57, Mn2 = POS1 to POS2 of Gr3 = 0.206)
where Mn2 is a moving amount of the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr3) relative to the image plane during focusing from infinity (Yamada, paragraph [0141], the first focusing position POS1, at a point at infinity) to a shortest distance (Yamada, paragraph [0141], the second focusing position POS2, at a close-up point; the amount of movement d_3Gr of the third lens group Gr3 during focusing from the first focusing position POS1 to the second focusing position POS2 are also shown, and Table 1; paragraph [0145], data of table 1, POS1 to POS2 of Gr3 = 0.206), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 21, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further satisfies the conditional:
−15.00< fnr/f <−0.20 (-2.57; fnr/f = -4.043/1.572)
where fnr is a combined focal length from the surface closest to the object of the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr3) to the image plane (Yamada, fig.1, the image plane IM) when focused on the object at infinity (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, fnr = f3 = -4.043) and f is a focal length of the optical system infinity (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 22, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein comprising a diaphragm (Yamada, fig.1, stop ST),
wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.05<f/X1<3.00 (0.652; f/X1 = 1.57/2.4105)
where X1 is a distance from the diaphragm (fig.1, stop ST) to the image plane (fig.1, IM) when focused on the object at infinity (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, distance from i12 to i23 = 2.4105), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 23, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: −10.00<SFn1<−0.05 (-1.54; SFn1 = (-1.5449+(-7.2572))/ (-1.5449)-(-7.2572))
where SFn1 is a shape factor of a negative lens having a strongest negative refractive power among negative lenses (Yamada, fig.1, lens L31, paragraph [0128], a negative meniscus lens L31) included in the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens L31 in the lens group Gr3, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, i19, i20, SFn1= (-1.5449+(-7.2572))/ (-1.5449) -(-7.2572)).
Regarding claim 24, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.05 <Dp/f <2.00 (0.46; Dp/f = 0.722/1.57)
where Dp is a distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the image plane of the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr1) to a surface closest to the object of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2) when focused on the object at infinity (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, at infinity ∞, Dp= d11+d12 = 0.722), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 26, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.2 < f/y < 10 (1.57; Yamada, fig.1, f/y = 1.57/1)
where y is a radius of an image circle (y has been referred as the IMG HT, fig.5, IMG HT = 1mm; paragraph [0143], The vertical axis represents the image height (IMG HT, mm); Note that the maximum value of the image height IMG HT is equal to the maximum image height on the image plane IM, see fig.17, the image plane IM; paragraph [0144], Note that an image height ratio is a relative image height obtained by normalizing the image height IMG HT with the maximum image height), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f= 1.57).
Regarding claim 27, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.01 <Dfp/f<0.50 (0.098; Dfp/f = 0.154/1.57)
where Dfp is a distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the image plane of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2) to the surface closest to the object of the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr3) when focused on the object at infinity (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, Dfp= d18 = 0.154), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 29, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.20<di/f<10.00 (1.61; di/f = 2.5285/1.57)
where di is a distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the image plane of the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr1) to the image plane (Yamada, fig.1, IM) when focused on the object at infinity (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table , at ∞, distance from i12 to i23 = 2.5282), and f is a focal length of the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, f = 1.57).
Regarding claim 31, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the optical system (Yamada, fig.1, optical system) includes, in order from an object side to the image side (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, in order from an object side to the image side), the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr1), the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2) serving as a second lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a second lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr2), and the second focus lens unit serving as a third lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a third lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr3).
Regarding claim 35, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and Yamada further teaches wherein the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2) includes a negative lens (Yamada, fig.1, lens L21) disposed closest to the object in the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, lens group Gr2) and having a concave lens surface on an object side (see Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0128], the second lens group Gr2 consists of, in order from the object side, a negative meniscus lens L21 concave on the object side).
Regarding claim 36, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19 and further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
−5.0<fp2/fn1<−0.34 (-0.63; fp2/fn1 = 2.55/-4.043; see Yamada, the limitations as described in the claim 19).
Regarding claim 37, Yamada teaches an image pickup apparatus (Yamada, fig.17, abstract, paragraph [0064], a digital device) comprising:
an optical system (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0001] an imaging optical device) comprising a first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a first lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr1) having a positive refractive power disposed closest to an object (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, a first lens group Gr1 of positive refractive power), a first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a first focus lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr2) having a positive refractive power (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, a second lens group Gr2 of positive refractive power) disposed on an image side of the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1), and a second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, a second focus lens unit has been referred as the lens group Gr3) having a negative refractive power (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, a third lens group Gr3 of negative refractive power) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr2), the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) being fixed for focusing (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, the first lens groupGr1 is fixed in position), and the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr2) and the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr3) being movable during focusing so that a distance between the first focus lens unit and the second focus lens unit changes (Yamada, fig.1, abstract, the second lens group Gr2 and the third lens group Gr3 are moved so that the distance between the first lens group and the second lens group is reduced, and the distance between the second lens group and the third lens group is increased), and
an image sensor (see Yamada, fig.1 and fig.17, paragraph [0114], an imaging element, image sensor; paragraph [0116], in imaging lens LN, AX: optical axis, that forms an optical image, image plane, IM of the object; and an imaging element SR for converting the optical image IM formed on the light receiving surface IM) configured to receive light of an image formed by the optical system (Yamada, paragraph [0114], image sensor that converts the optical image formed by the imaging lens into an electric signal, in this order from the object, i.e., the subject side. When the imaging lens having the above-described characteristic configuration is positioned so that an optical image of the subject is formed on the light receiving surface, that is, the imaging surface of the imaging element),
wherein the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) includes a single negative lens (Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11) disposed closest to the object (see Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11 disposed closest to the object),
wherein the single negative lens is a meniscus lens (Yamada, fig.1, lens L11, paragraph [0128], a negative meniscus lens L11) with a convex surface facing an object side (see Yamada, fig.1, the lens L11 is a negative meniscus lens with its convex surface facing the object side),
wherein the first lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, the lens group Gr1) has a positive meniscus lens with a convex surface facing the object side (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0128], a positive meniscus lens L12 convex on the object side),
wherein three cemented lenses are disposed in the optical system (Yamada, fig.1, paragraph [0145], data of table 1, have three cemented lenses, L12+L13, L14+L15, L16+L17), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
−5.0<fp2/fn1<−0.1 (-0.63; fp2/fn1 = 2.55/-4.043)
where fp2 is a focal length of the first focus lens unit (Yamada, paragraph [0148], Data of Table 2, Ex1, fp2= f2 = 2.55), fn1 is a focal length of the second focus lens unit (Yamada, paragraph [0148], Data of Table 2, fn1= f3 = -4.043).
Yamada does not explicitly teach wherein the first lens unit includes a diaphragm and a biconvex lens disposed adjacent to the image side of the diaphragm,
However, Kubota teaches the analogous lens groups (Kubota, fig.4, paragraph [0154], “the first lens group Gr1 having a positive refractive power”; “the second lens group Gr2 having a positive refractive power”; “third lens group Gr3 having a negative refractive power”), and further teaches wherein
wherein the first lens unit (Kubota, fig.4, first lens group Gr1 has been referred to as the first lens unit) includes a diaphragm (fig.4, aperture stop AD; paragraph [0156], “an aperture stop AD is provided between the second lens L2 and the third lens L3 in the first lens group Gr1”) and a biconvex lens (paragraph [0155] “the third lens L3 of the biconvex positive lens”) disposed adjacent to the image side of the diaphragm (fig.4, aperture stop AD).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the diaphragm of Yamada to have the specific position as taught by Kubota for the purpose of high-performance imaging device having a miniaturized body and the speed-up of shooting (Kubota, paragraph [0004]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200278518) in view of Kubota (US20140139931), and further in view of Nagami et al. (US20200166730, hereafter called Nagami ‘730).
Regarding claim 25, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19, but Yamada is silent on wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.20<βfn1<6.00
where βfn1 is a lateral magnification of the second focus lens unit when focused on the object at infinity.
However, in the analogous optical system, Nagami’730 teaches an optical system (Nagami’730, figs.1-5, abstract, the imaging lens includes, as lens groups, only a positive first lens group, a positive second lens group, and a negative third lens group in order from the object side), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
0.20<βfn1<6.00 (1<β3<2.2, Nagami’730, paragraph [0075], Conditional Expression 11: βfn1= β3)
where βfn1 is a lateral magnification of the second focus lens unit (Nagami’730, fig.1, the second focus lens unit has been referred as the lens group G3) when focused on the object at infinity (Nagami’730, paragraph [0075], the lateral magnification of the third lens group G3 in the state where the object at infinity is in focus is β3; Conditional Expression 11, 1< β3<2.2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lateral magnification of the second focus lens unit of Yamada to have the specific range 0.20<βfn1<6.00 as taught by Nagami’730 for increasing the speed of focusing and shortening the overall length of the lens system (Nagami’730, paragraph [0075]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US20200278518) in view of Kubota (US20140139931), and further in view of Chen et al. (WO2018135000, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 32, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19, Yamada further teaches wherein the optical system includes, in order from an object side (Yamada, fig.1, object side of lens L11) to the image side (Yamada, fig.1, image side of IM), the first lens unit (Yamada fig.1, Gr1), the first focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, Gr2) serving as a second lens unit (Yamada fig.1, Gr2), the second focus lens unit (Yamada, fig.1, Gr3) serving as a third lens unit (Yamada fig.1, Gr3).
But Yamada is silent on wherein a fourth lens unit having a positive or negative refractive power, the fourth lens unit being fixed during focusing.
However, in the analogous optical system, Chen teaches an optical system (Chen, abstract, fig.9, EX4, lens system, from the objective side: a first lens group 901, that has positive or negative refractive power; a first focus lens group 902, that has positive refractive power; and a second focus lens group 903, that has negative refractive power), and Chen further teaches
wherein the optical system includes, in order from an object side to the image side (see annotated image, Chen, Fig.9, in order from an object side to the image side), the first lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 901), the first focus lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 902) serving as a second lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 902), the second focus lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 903) serving as a third lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 903), and a fourth lens unit (Chen, fig.9, 904) having a positive or negative refractive power, the fourth lens unit (Chen, fig.9, lens group 904) being fixed during focusing (Chen, paragraph [0005-0006]. a lens group provided on the image side from the second focus lens group 903 may be further provided, In focusing from infinity to a short distance, the position of the lens group 904 provided on the image side from the second focus lens group may be fixed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical system of Yamada with the specific group as taught by Chen to reduce the image blur occurs during focusing by moving the focus lens (Chen, paragraph [0052]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200278518, cited by applicant) in view of Kubota (US20140139931), and further in view of Masugi (WO-2019220615, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 34, combination Yamada-Kubota discloses the invention as described in Claim 19, but Yamada is silent on wherein the second focus lens unit includes a positive lens disposed closest to the object in the second focus lens unit, and a negative lens adjacently disposed on the image side of the positive lens.
However, in the analogous optical system, Masugi teaches an optical system (abstract, an optical system (LS) comprises a first lens group (G1) having positive refractive power, a second lens group (G2) having positive refractive power, and a third lens group (G3) having negative refractive power, which are arranged in order from the object), and further Masugi teaches wherein
the second focus lens unit (Masugi, fig.1, abstract, second focus lens unit has been referred as the third lens group G3) includes a positive lens (Masugi, fig.1, lens L31, page 22, paragraph [0082], positive lens L31) disposed closest to the object (Masugi, fig.1, lens L31 disposed closest to the object) in the second focus lens unit (Masugi, fig.1, the third lens group G3), and
a negative lens (Masugi, fig.1, lens L32, page 22, paragraph [0082] negative lens L32) adjacently disposed on the image side of the positive lens (Masugi, fig.1, the lens L32, disposed on the image side of the positive lens).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second focus lens unit without function changing of Yamada to have the specific lenses as taught by Masugi to correct various aberrations when the aperture is increased (Masugi, page 2, paragraph [0002]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872