Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latorre-Costa (US 2017/0295145)
Regarding Claim 1,
Latorre-Costa (US 2017/0295145) teaches a method for authenticating a data transmission received at a vehicle from a transmitting device associated with a source, the method comprising:
receiving, at the vehicle, the data transmission from the transmitting device;
determining a location of the transmitting device (Paragraph [0025, 0061] teaches the onboard system in the aircraft is configured for reading a data transmission coming from ground unit 10);
accessing a transmitting device database identifying a plurality of transmitting device locations(Paragraphs [0029-0030] teaches GPS coordinates of the ground unit are stored in a database); ascertaining whether the location of the transmitting device corresponds to at least one of the plurality of transmitting device locations identified by the transmitting device database (Paragraph [0032-0033] determining whether the location of the transmitting ground station corresponds to the database of coordinates by decrypting using the public key of the ground unit);
and generating a control action based at least in part on whether the location of the transmitting device corresponds to at least one of the plurality of transmitting device locations (Paragraph [0034] teaches if authenticity is confirmed, transmitting the flight instruction to the flight management system)(Paragraph [0044] if authenticity is not confirmed, instruction is not transmitted)
Regarding Claim 2,
Latorre-Costa teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data transmission comprises control data indicative of the source of the data transmission, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by a computing system comprising one or more processors positioned in the vehicle, a source identifier associated with the source based at least in part on the control data (Paragraph [0025, 0061] teaches the onboard system in the aircraft is configured for reading a data transmission coming from ground unit 10);
and determining, by the computing system, whether the transmitting device is associated with the source based at least in part on the source identifier and the location of the transmitting device (Paragraph [0030] teaches a database of the identifier unique to each ground unit) (Paragraph [0032-0033] determining whether the location of the transmitting ground station corresponds to the database of coordinates by decrypting using the public key of the ground unit);
Regarding Claim 3,
Latorre-Costa teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining, by the computing system, whether the transmitting device is associated with the source based at least in part on the source identifier and the location of the transmitting device comprises: accessing, by the computing system, a database associating one or more authorized transmitting devices with the source (Paragraphs [0029-0030] teaches GPS coordinates of the ground unit are stored in a database);
and determining, by the computing system and based on the location of the transmitting device, whether the transmitting device matches at least one of the one or more authorized transmitting devices associated with the source (Paragraph [0032-0033] determining whether the location of the transmitting ground station corresponds to the database of coordinates by decrypting using the public key of the ground unit);;
wherein the control action is generated based at least in part on whether the transmitting device matches the at least one of the one or more authorized transmitting devices associated with the source (Paragraph [0034] teaches if authenticity is confirmed, transmitting the flight instruction to the flight management system)(Paragraph [0044] if authenticity is not confirmed, instruction is not transmitted).
Regarding Claim 6,
Latorre-Costa teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the computing system comprises a public key associated with a private key of the source, and wherein the computing system is configured to use the public key to decrypt at least a portion of the data transmission encrypted by the source with the private key (Paragraph [0033] teaches decrypting using the public key associated with the private key of the ground unit)
Regarding Claims 11-13, 16,
Claims 11-13, 16 are similar in scope to Claims 1-3, 6 and are rejected for a similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latorre-Costa in view of Tanioka (US 2013/0156194)
Regarding Claim 4,
Latorre-Costa teaches the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control data comprises a cryptographic identification of the source identifier, and wherein determining the source identifier associated with the source based at least in part on the control data comprises:
decrypting the cryptographic identification to determine the source identifier, and wherein the data transmission is a voice communication and wherein the cryptographic identification is one of a human inaudible component and a voice distortion component of the voice communication.
Tanioka (US 2013/0156194) teaches a cryptographic identification of the source identifier, and wherein determining the source identifier associated with the source based at least in part on the control data comprises:
decrypting the cryptographic identification to determine the source identifier (Paragraph [0112] teaches decrypting a data signal to obtain device information of the source), and wherein the data transmission is a voice communication and wherein the cryptographic identification is one of a human inaudible component and a voice distortion component of the voice communication (Paragraph [0112] teaches wherein the data signal is an ultrasonic signal (i.e. a frequency that is inaudible to humans))(Paragraph [0098] teaches voice communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Latorre-Costa to include decrypting a human inaudible component to determine a source identifier as taught by Tanioka and the results would be predictable (i.e. the transmission in Latorre-Costa would be a human inaudible component which would be decrypted to obtain the source identifier)
Regarding Claim 5,
Latorre-Costa and Tanioka teaches the method of claim 4. Tanoioka teaches wherein the human inaudible component is greater than about twenty kilohertz (20 kHz) (Paragraph [0112] teaches wherein the data signal is an ultrasonic signal (i.e. a frequency that is inaudible to humans which is by definition greater than 20 kHz)
Regarding Claims 14-15
Claims 14-15 are similar in scope to Claims 4-5 and are rejected for a similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latorre-Costa in view of Perdew (US 10,178,509)
Regarding Claim 7,
Latorre-Costa teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein determining the location of the transmitting device that transmitted the data transmission to the vehicle comprises: determining, by a computing system positioned onboard the vehicle, a received time of the data transmission indicative of a time the data transmission was received by the vehicle; receiving, by the computing system, a timestamp indicative of a time the data transmission was transmitted by the transmitting device; determining, by the computing system, a time of flight of the data transmission from the transmitting device to the vehicle based at least in part on the timestamp and the received time of the data transmission; and ascertaining, by the computing system, a distance between the vehicle and the transmitting device based at least in part on the time of flight of the data transmission.
Perdew (US 10,178,509) teaches determining the location of the transmitting device that transmitted the data transmission to the vehicle comprises (Fig. 1a, teaches determining the location of the transmitting device to a vehicle): determining, by a computing system positioned onboard the vehicle, a received time of the data transmission indicative of a time the data transmission was received by the vehicle; receiving, by the computing system, a timestamp indicative of a time the data transmission was transmitted by the transmitting device; determining, by the computing system, a time of flight of the data transmission from the transmitting device to the vehicle based at least in part on the timestamp and the received time of the data transmission; and ascertaining, by the computing system, a distance between the vehicle and the transmitting device based at least in part on the time of flight of the data transmission (Col. 9, lines 55-67, Col 10, lines 1-5, teaches determining the distance and relative position using “time of flight…by using timestamps…to determine the relative location”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Latorre-Costa to include determining location by a computing system onboard a vehicle, received time stamps and determining a time of flight, and ascertaining a distance based on the time of flight and the results would be predictable (i.e. location would be determined based on time of flight)
Regarding Claims 17
Claims 17 are similar in scope to Claims 7 and are rejected for a similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARRIS C WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439