DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “namely” in claim 10 renders the claim indefinite, as it is not clear whether the given example, i.e. an HTTPS request, is the preferred and required implementation of a secure HTTP request, or whether it is merely an example and not necessarily required to be HTTPS. The Examiner will assume that HTTPS is required for the invention until further clarification and correction can be provided by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 11,736,292) in view of “Verify the Google ID token on your server side,” hereinafter referred to as Google (with reliance on Verify the Google ID token on your server side | Sign In With Google) and “Streamer-Friendly Mode,” hereinafter referred to as TV (with reliance on Streamer-Friendly Mode - TV Tropes).
Re claim 1, Wang discloses a method comprising: receiving a request via a network communication, the request part of a call to a service, the call associated with a virtual device (fig. 3, 301 and 302, the virtual device being the user and their device); extracting a security token from the request (304); and performing: an identity operation with an identity of the virtual device (fig. 5, 504); an analytics operation with the virtual device (505, wherein verification of information is considered an analytics operation as information is analyzed to determine its validity); and a refusal operation after the attempting fails to discern the game streaming provider identity or ascertains that the game streaming provider identity identifies an unauthorized entity (col. 24:1-11). However, Wang is silent on attempting to discern a verified game streaming provider identity based on at least the security token, and a game configuration operation with the game. Google teaches a system similar to Wang utilizing security tokens to verify account information between server and client. Additionally, Google verifies the ID token is valid by also ensuring that the ID token is properly signed by Google (see “2. Verify the ID token”), wherein Google in this example is the provider identity. TV teaches the concept of Streamer-Friendly Mode which provides options in games specifically tailored for streaming (“To this end, game developers began including options specifically tailored for streamers. These can include removing or replacing copyrighted music, hiding personal information, or other adjustments to make streamers' lives easier”).
It would have been obvious to implement the server verification of Google and the options of TV in order to increase the security of communication between server and client by ensuring both the identities of the server and client, and providing additional options for users of the system tailored specifically for streaming, increasing convenience and usability of the method.
Re claim 2, Wang discloses the identity operation comprises bypassing registration of the virtual device in a device directory (9:15-29, by using open authorization, the user is not required to perform registration and memorize an account and password when logging in to the resource request application).
Re claim 4, see the rejection to claim 1 regarding TV and a game setting tailored for use when a game is running in a game streaming environment (streamer mode is considered such a setting).
Re claim 7, Wang discloses sending a response to the request via the computing network comprising the result of the attempting (fig. 3 illustrating the back and forth communication between the server and user).
Re claim 8, Wang discloses changing an in-game configuration (fig. 3, 305 and 306, wherein access to resources for an application is considered a change in configuration).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Google and TV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tran (US 2007/0015583).
Re claim 3, Wang does not explicitly disclose altering a quality-of-service threshold to correspond with a streaming latency instead of a home play latency. Tran teaches a remote gaming system wherein a quality of service (QoS) is negotiated in order to minimize latency and bandwidth consumption between a game server and client (par. [0197]). It would have been obvious to implement adjustable QoS as taught by Tran in the system of Wang in order to allow the system to dynamically adjust settings of the connection based on current networking conditions, enhancing and optimizing the quality of the network connection, thereby improving the networking and streaming performance for users.
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Google and TV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chan et al (US 2015/0350186).
Re claim 5, Wang is silent on selecting the call for bearer token insertion based on a call or service identity. Chan teaches an authorization token system wherein a request for protected resources includes an access token which inserts access token information into a cookie associated with the request, a header, and/or a message body, including bearer token information ([0060]). Cookie, header, and message body information is considered to be an identity of a call and/or a service as it identifies the contents of the tokens to the system.
It would have been obvious to implement the bearer tokens of Chan with the system of Wang in order to provide a convenient and standardized access system for protected resources.
Re claim 6, Chan teaches performing the selecting within a proxy ([0079]).
Re claim 9, see the rejection to claim 1. Wang does not explicitly disclose the use of HTTP requests. Chan teaches such ([0036]). It would have been obvious to implement HTTP requests for network communication in order to utilize a widely implemented standard, increasing the ease, speed, and efficiency of use and deployment.
Re claim 10, Chan teaches HTTPS ([0036]).
Re claim 11, Wang discloses the identity operation comprises bypassing registration of the virtual device in a device directory (9:15-29, by using open authorization, the user is not required to perform registration and memorize an account and password when logging in to the resource request application).
Re claim 12, see the rejection to claim 1 regarding TV and a game setting tailored for use when a game is running in a game streaming environment (streamer mode is considered such a setting).
Re claim 13, see the rejection to claim 5.
Re claim 14, Wang discloses sending a response via the network after the attempting succeeds in discerning the verified game streaming provider identity (fig. 3). Google has been discussed above regarding verifying provider identity.
Re claim 16, see the rejection to claim 9.
Re claim 17, Chan teaches injecting the bearer token into the header of the HTTP request prior to receiving, distinct from a user authentication token of the HTTP request ([0060], wherein the header information is not associated with a user authentication token).
Re claim 18, see the rejection to claim 17. Since Chan discloses inserting access token information into a cookie, header, and/or a message body, Chan is able to insert any desired and relevant information into the HTTP request as it would have been obvious to try leading to the predictable result of providing descriptive material in a message.
Re claim 19, see the rejection to claim 5.
Re claim 20, Wang discloses a transfer token after a user login permitting the game to be launched and streamed without an additional login (9:15-29, by using open authorization, the user is not required to perform registration and memorize an account and password when logging in to the resource request application).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Google, TV, and Chan as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cha et al (US 2012/0072979).
Re claim 15, Wang is silent on the token, extracting, and attempting are transparent to the game. Cha teaches an open authentication system with transparent network authentication ([0099]). It would have been obvious to render the authentication, token, and other networking implementations to remain transparent to the user as taught by Cha in order to obfuscate the security protocols to end users, reducing the appearance of the complexity of the system and hiding unnecessary procedures from users who do not need access or knowledge of such information.
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715