Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whiting et al. (US20220398684A1, hereinafter referred to as “Whiting”).
Regarding claim 1, Whiting teaches a gas analysis system comprising: at least one gas detection sensor and a controller component, wherein the controller component is configured to: obtain image data of a target area, wherein the image data comprises a series of image frames, wherein a first portion of the series of image frames are indicative of a gas plume (met by IR camera (105); further met by visible-light camera; further met by IR or visible-light camera configured to observe a plume of gas; further met by transmit image data as streaming data, such as streaming video data collected and transmitted in real-time or near real-time). This is read in (Paragraph [0029]).
Whiting further teaches to generate, by applying the image data to a gas plume impact model, gas plume impact data (met by frame sequence prediction model generating plume analysis data based on processing multiple sequential image frames). This is read in (Paragraph [0033]).
Whiting further teaches to generate refined gas quantity data based at least in part on the gas plume impact data (met by based on predicting the plume analysis data, determining the presence of a leak as well as estimating the size of the leak; further met by segmenting out gas leak plumes with different leak sizing). This is read in (Paragraph [0073]).
Whiting further teaches to initiate performance of one or more responsive actions based at least in part on the refined gas quantity data (met by plume analysis can be used to generate alerts or notifications). This is read in (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Whiting further teaches wherein the target area is associated with an asset (met by the image data can be associated with a plume of gas that may be emitted from an industrial asset in an oil and gas production environment, or any other gas processing and distribution environment). This is read in (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Whiting as read in the analysis of claim 2, incorporated herein, also meets wherein the asset is a processing plant by teaching the asset being an industrial asset in an oil and gas production environment.
Regarding claim 4, Whiting as read in the analysis of claim 1, incorporated herein, at (Paragraph [0033]) meets wherein the controller component is further configured to: perform a moving average operation on the refined gas quantity data by teaching generating plume analysis data based on processing multiple sequential image frames. See also (Paragraph [0059]) in the same analysis of claim 1 which recites delineating the observed and predicted spatial characteristics of the plume for a sequence of image frames as a function of time.
Regarding claim 5, Whiting further teaches wherein a second portion of the series of image frames are not indicative of the gas plume (met by image data which may or may not be observing an actual plume of gas is received; further met by plume analysis data is generated if a plume indeed exists in the data). This is read in (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Whiting as previously read in the analysis of claim 1, incorporated herein, enables one to identify a first image frame in the second portion of the series of image frames, wherein the first image frame is immediately preceded in the series of image frames by a second image frame in the first portion of the series of image frames by virtue of the prior art’s ability to analyze an image frame sequence (also referred to as streaming video data). Further, to generate zero hit count data based at least in part on the first image frame being immediately preceded by the second image frame in the series of image frames is enabled by the analysis of claim 5, incorporated herein, since the prior art is shown to be capable of generating data in response to the occurrence of a gas plume if a plume indeed exists and therefore would not generate data in the absence of a gas plume.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is substantially identical to claim 6, the analysis of which is incorporated herein, except that a first image frame of the sequence is now followed by a second image frame as opposed to being preceded by a second image frame. The order of the two image frames in the sequence does not affect the prior art’s ability to still function appropriately based on the presence or lack of a plume of gas, regardless of whether the second frame precedes or follows the first frame.
Regarding claim 8, Whiting as read in the analysis of claim 1, incorporated herein, in (Paragraph [0033]) meets wherein generating the refined gas quantity data comprises: generating, by applying the gas plume impact data to raw gas quantity data, a first portion of the refined gas quantity data (met by the frame sequence prediction data (125) can include plume prediction masks generated for a sequence of image frames).
Regarding claim 9, Whiting as read in the analysis of claim 1, incorporated herein, in (Paragraph [0033]) meets wherein the raw gas quantity data is generated by applying the image data to a gas quantity determination machine learning model (met by the frame sequence prediction model (120) can include a network or algorithm that has been generated as a result of the model training).
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of the claim is enabled by the prior art’s ability to delineate the observed and predicted spatial characteristics of the plume for a sequence of image frames as a function of time, as read in the analysis of claim 4, incorporated herein (Paragraph [0059]). This enables the prior art to generate data as a function of time, or in other words, interpolate the data pertaining to the plume for a sequence of images over the course of multiple frames (which may span a first portion and a second portion of the refined gas quantity data).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is substantially identical to claims 2 and 3, the analyses of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is substantially identical to claim 4, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is substantially identical to claim 5, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is substantially identical to claim 6, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is substantially identical to claim 7, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is substantially identical to claim 8, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is substantially identical to claim 9, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is substantially identical to claim 10, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Contact
/MATTHEW JAMES BODNARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668