DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 4/30/2024 for application number 18/650,341. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, claims, and certified copy of foreign priority application.
Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
Examiner contends that the drawings filed 4/30/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinelli et al. (hereinafter as Marinelli) PGPUB 2017/0201425, and further in view of Parks et al. (hereinafter as Parks) PGPUB 2022/0011840.
As per claim 1, Marinelli teaches a method, comprising:
utilizing, by a device, a data modeling language [0059 and 0103: (DCIM tools such as infrastructure asset configurator is executed by a processor (device) and utilizes a data modeling format such as YANG)] to generate a request to identify components of a network device and operational dependencies of the components [0059: (infrastructure asset configurator of DCIM provides asset hierarchy navigation), 0246-0261, 0309, and claim 11: (DCIM may provide request for equipment list and the related assets or hierarchical dependencies)];
providing, by the device, the request to the network device [0316: (in response to the receiving the request, the computing device may send the request to the data center gateway (network device) to identify assets that are relevant)];
receiving, by the device and based on the request, data identifying the components and the operational dependencies of the components [0316 and 0319: (data center gateway determines the data center assets based on hierarchical relationships (operational dependencies) and outputs the data to the requesting computing device which provides a graphical depiction)];
receiving, by the device, power consumptions by the components and power off capabilities of the components [0247-0248, 0318-0319, 0321: (provide reports or real-time power data detailing power draw (power consumptions by components)) and 0047 and 0321-0322: (notifies which specific assets are offline or not connected (power off capabilities)];
generating, by the device, a model of power consumptions by the components based on the power consumptions by the components and the power off capabilities of the components [0247, 0328, 0331, and FIG. 19-26: (graphical depictions are made based on the data, including which devices/assets are available or not available, and the power draw of such assets)];
Marinelli does not explicitly teach identifying, by the device and from the components, a component capable of powering off based on the model; and instructing, by the device, the network device to place the component in a power save state.
Parks teaches data modeling that collects electrical data over time for powered devices to gather and analyze usage metrics [0019-0020 and 0046]. Parks is thus similar to Marinelli because they teach using data models to obtain power usage of devices on the network. Parks further teach identifying, by the device and from the components, a component capable of powering off based on the model [0017: (network-enabled plugs are selectively configurable); 0041 and 0056: (web application include data monitoring functionality, usage metric analytics, and etc. which are functions of the data model); and 0030: (web application selectively controls the network-enabled electric plugs based on the monitored electrical data from the data model; thus a particular network-enabled plug may be identified and selectively controlled based on the monitored electrical data)]; and instructing, by the device, the network device to place the component in a power save state [0030: (selectively control the operation of a network-enabled plug by limiting times at which the network-enabled electric plug can deliver electricity or limiting loads of electricity that may be delivered by the plugs to the powered device (power save state)]. Parks describe a web application that utilizes the data model to monitor power consumption of network devices, and based on the monitored data, controlling a device to limit by selectively controlling its network-enabled plug.
The combination of Marinelli with Parks allows Marinelli to take additional measure or corrective actions after the Yang data model monitors the data consumption of devices in the equipment list.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Parks teachings of providing power saving actions based on the data model in Marinelli. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide power saving actions in Marinelli because it would lead to better power management and control and allow for more efficient power usage in the network.
As per claim 2, Marinelli and Parks teach the method of claim 1, wherein the power save state causes the network device to power off the component [0030: (limiting times at which a network-enabled plug can deliver electricity to a powered device; thus there are times where no power is provided to a powered device)].
As per claim 3, Marinelli and Parks teach he method of claim 1, wherein the power save state causes the network device to maintain the component on standby [0030: (limiting loads of electricity which may be delivered by the network-enabled electric plugs to the powered devices; thus preventing devices from entering full powered state, which is therefore a standby state)].
As per claim 6, Marinelli and Parks teach the method of claim 1, wherein the data modeling language is a yet another next generation data modeling language [Marinelli 0059].
As per claim 7, Marinelli and Parks teach the method of claim 1, wherein the operational dependencies of the components include information indicating components that require other components and components that are used by other components [Marinelli 0237-0238: (relationships determine how an event specific to one object will affect other objects) and 0302: (relationships may be expressed in terms of upstream or downstream relative to each other; downstream devices require the devices upstream of it)].
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-14, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinelli et al. (hereinafter as Marinelli) PGPUB 2017/0201425 in view of Parks et al. (hereinafter as Parks) PGPUB 2022/0011840, and further in view of Mondal et al. (hereinafter as Mondal) PGPUB 2024/0381259.
As per claim 4, Marinelli and Parks teach the method of claim 1.
Marinelli and Parks do not teach further comprising: receiving a traffic load associated with the network device; and instructing the network device to remove the power save state for the component based on the traffic load. Marinelli and Parks do not appear to describe monitoring traffic.
Mondal uses a YANG data model for power management of a network device [0057 and 0061-0062]. Mondal is thus similar to Marinelli and Parks. Mondal further teaches receiving a traffic load associated with the network device [0020, 0109: (receive predicted or monitored downlink traffic information)]; and instructing the network device to remove the power save state for the component based on the traffic load [0020, 0109, and 0114: (switch from the low power state to the normal power state based on the monitored downlink traffic; returning to the normal power state is a removal of a power saving state)]. Mondal teaches observing or predicting traffic in a part of the network and switching a device from a low power state to the normal power state based on the traffic.
The combination of Marinelli and Parks with Mondal leads to monitoring or predicting traffic in a different part of the network, and selectively controlling a network-enabled plug to be powered up to return to the normal mode based on the traffic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mondal’s teachings of monitoring traffic and controlling a power state of the device to return to the normal mode based on the traffic in Marinelli and Parks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to observe the traffic and return a device to the normal power mode based on the traffic in Marinelli and Parks because it anticipates the upcoming usage of the device and proactively returns to the normal state to handle possible traffic or workloads, thus preventing impact to performance when there is traffic while still providing power savings when there is no traffic.
As per claim 5, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the method of claim 4, wherein instructing the network device to remove the power save state for the component causes the network device to remove the power save state for the component [Mondal 0020, 0109-0110, and 0113-0114: (send indication to switch from the low power state to the normal state, and then the switch to the normal state is performed)].
Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1 and 4 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 9, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein the power consumptions by the components are periodically reported by the components [Marinelli 0140: (data points may be measured at a given frequency such as every second) or Parks 0019, 0058, and 0061: (processes time series of average electrical data periodically)].
As per claim 10, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein each of the power consumptions by each of the components do not include power consumptions by components dependent on each of the components [Marinelli 0121, 0302-0303, and 0309].
As per claim 11, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein the power off capabilities of the components indicate that the components are capable of being powered off or are incapable of being powered off [Parks 0018-0020: (inferences are used to determine the different states such as off, on but not in-use or on and in-use states; on but not in-use state is a state capable of being powered off)].
As per claim 12, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further to: identify, from the components, a plurality of components capable of powering off based on the model [Parks 0027, 0029-0030: (each of the electric plugs are controlled based on monitored data)]; and instruct the network device to place the plurality of components in the power save state [Parks 0027, 0029-0030, 0070: (power is selectively controlled to each of the electric plugs according to rules and the monitored data)].
As per claim 13, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein each of the components of the network device include one or more of a hardware component of the network device, a software component of the network device, or a combined hardware and software component of the network device [Parks 0023 and 0026: (hardware devices that receive electricity and may run software)].
As per claim 14, Marinelli, Parks, and Mondal teach the device of claim 8, wherein the component is associated with one or more components in the power save state [0018-0021, 0030, 0060-0064: (devices that are powered but not in-use may have its electricity limited; it is apparent that a device that is associated or dependent on a component that is in a power saving state is a device that is not in-use)].
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 4 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 10 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 12 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
Brar et al. (PGPUB 2024/0256014) teaches using a YANG model for controlling temperature in an electronic device.
Wang et al. (PGPUB 2022/0239547) teaches using a YANG module to determine dependency relationship.
Shukla et al. (PGPUB 2021/0044444) teaches using YANG and managing power consumption policy for a powered device.
Rangasamy et al. (USPAT 10,819,556) utilizes YANG and teaches monitoring data in a data center, and use of power distribution units for delivering power.
DiMaggio et al. (PGPUB 2019/0258807) teaches using a model such as Unified Modeling Language (UML) to identify association and dependencies between devices [0091].
Chen (PGPUB 2011/0161709) teaches power saving management function for UML [0026].
/DANNY CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175