DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant Remarks U.S.C. § 103 filed on 11/25/2025 regarding
U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1,7, 8,11,17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,8,11,12,13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian).
Regarding claim 1, Bennemann teaches a system for seat motion control(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators, at least one sensor system for detecting the object on the vehicle seat and at least one control unit for operating the actuator ), comprising: a seat including a seat controller(Bennemann’s control unit controls the actuators of the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile, so that the profile of the vehicle seat is adapted to the profile of the object.),
a first sensor of a first type configured to monitor an environment in which the seat operates(According to the specification one of the sensors is a radar sensor, and Bennemann uses radar to monitor vehicle’s interior space. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar );
a second sensor of a second type, different from the first type, configured to monitor the environment in which the seat operates(According to the specification one of the sensors is a camera. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera Two sensor systems are preferably used herein.); and
a motion controller communicatively coupled to each of the seat controller, the first sensor, and the second sensor(Bennemann discloses operating actuators based on detected object with a preference of two sensors, indicating a connection between the control unit, first sensor and second sensor. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators, at least one sensor system for detecting the object on the vehicle seat and at least one control unit for operating the actuator. the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile. Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein), the motion controller including a processor configured (Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator)to:
access, from the seat controller, present positions of the actuators corresponding to a present sitting position of the seat(Bennemann discloses vehicle occupant monitoring system that detects the current vehicle seat position. Bennemann, paragraph 22, the vehicle seat position and posture are detected by the data of the video camera 10 or other sensor system not shown. Bennemann, paragraph 8, In the lying position, the vehicle seat is visually similar to a plane, so the position of the actuator can be described as X/Y coordinate);
receive outputs from the first sensor(The specification discloses the sensor output obstacles present in the travel path of the seat. Bennemann discloses the detection of objects in interior space near the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat );
receive outputs from the second sensor(Bennemann discloses the detection of objects near the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat…the internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein);
reconcile the outputs received from the first and second sensors(Its noted that as per the specification, reconciling can be done from two sensors separatory. Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein );
[[and]] instruct seat motion, from the reconciled outputs(Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein) and via the seat controller actuators, to transition the seat from the present sitting position to adapted position, and(Bennemann discloses the adaption of posture of the seat from its present position to a target position, which is an adapted position based on an object detected by the sensor. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile, so that the profile of the vehicle seat is adapted to the profile of the object.)
While Bennemann teaches about transition of a seat from its current position to an adapted position based on detected object near a seat, it fails to disclose a system with first actuator for moving a first seat element of the seat, and a second actuator for moving a second seat element of the seat;
access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat;
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting
position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion.
However, De La Garza, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an aircraft passenger seat adaptable to passengers’ preference discloses a first actuator for moving a first seat element of the seat, and a second actuator for moving a second seat element of the seat(De La Garza discloses actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat pan base and seat back. De La Garza, paragraph 7, respective actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage.);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann with De La Garza to move each elements of a seat such as seat pan base and seat back independently. While Bennemann discloses plurality of actuators to adjust a seat from head to foot, it specifically fails to disclose actuators for each elements such as seat pan, seat pan base and seat back, which De La Garza addresses. By having multiple actuators for different elements, it is possible to adjust each element of a seat without affecting the other. In addition, users can make incremental adjustment to each elements based on their preference.
While the combination Bennemann and De La Garza teaches about different actuators for each seat element as well as the transition of a seat from one position to another, it fails to disclose a system that, it fails to disclose a system that access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat;
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting
position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion.
However, Tian, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control method and device for electric seat, discloses a motion controller including a processor configured to:
access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat(Tian, paragraph 126, obtaining and analyzing the seat control instruction, determining the current position to be moved of the target seat and the target of the target seat setting information, and obtaining the target seat, wherein the target setting information in the target position and the target posture comprises the target seat; Tian, paragraph 163, software module the steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiment disclosed in the present invention can be directly executed with hardware, a processor, or a combination of the two is performed. software module can be placed in a random access memory (RAM), a memory, a read only memory (ROM), );
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting
position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion.(Tian discloses two method of adjusting seat when detecting an interference/object. First method of pausing the seat adjustment for an interference to exit its vicinity, and second method of adjusting the seat’s motor speed to open distance between the interference and the seat. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state, pause adjusting target seat in pre-set time, stopping adjustment of the target seat, letting relative seat adjusting an end time alone to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat so as to avoid interference. Of course, after the preset time reaches the control target seat and associated seat adjustment. Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann and De La Garza with Tian to adjust the movement of the seat when an object/interference is detected by adjusting the speed of the motor of the vehicle, and by pausing the movement of the seat. While De La Garza does not disclose sensors to detect the interference, Bennemann teaches sensors to identify the objects, and Tian has the capability to adjust its seat position based on detection/estimation of an interference/objects. By adjusting speed or pausing the transition of a seat when an interference is detected, it is possible to prevent mechanical damage to seat components such as actuators. Additionally, it is possible reduce risk of crushing caused by uncontrolled seat folding.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the motion controller is an element of the seat controller(According to the specification, motion controller includes a processor configured to access actuators’ present and future positions. Tian paragraph 613, the steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiment disclosed in the present invention can be directly executed with hardware, a processor. Tian paragraph 126, obtaining and analyzing the seat control instruction, determining the current position to be moved of the target seat and the target of the target seat setting information, and obtaining the target seat, wherein the target setting information in the target position and the target posture comprises the target seat; ).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the present sitting position is different from the future sitting position(The comparison of target and current position relative to the origin indicates the difference in seat position. Tian paragraph 66, based on this, example coordinate system shown in FIG. 1, if the target position and the current position, more close to the coordinate origin direction, judging expected movement direction of the target seat is head direction; the opposite, if target position and current position it is more far away from the origin of coordinates, then the expected movement direction of the target seat is rear direction ), and the future sitting position is selected by a seat occupant via an interface device of the seat(Tian paragraph 61, the electric seat is provided with a corresponding control key, the control key the user can by pressing the corresponding seat control instructions sent to the controller, of course, also part of the vehicle the control function of the seat integrated control screen).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches The system according to claim(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the operating parameter includes at least one of activation, deactivation, and speed modifying the seat motion includes adjusting a speed of at least one of the first and second actuators( As discussed above Tian discloses adjusting speed of the seat when it estimates an interference. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state….Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat).
Regarding claim 11, Bennemann teaches a motion controller for use with a seat including a seat controller(Bennemann’s control unit controls the actuators of the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile, so that the profile of the vehicle seat is adapted to the profile of the object.), wherein the seat is positioned in an environment including a first sensor of a first type configured to monitor the environment(According to the specification one of the sensors is a radar sensor, and Bennemann uses radar to monitor vehicle’s interior space. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar ), and a second sensor of a second type, different from the first type, configured to monitor the environment(According to the specification one of the sensors is a camera. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera Two sensor systems are preferably used herein.), the motion controller configured to be communicatively coupled to each of the seat controller, the first sensor, and the second sensor(Bennemann discloses operating actuators based on detected object with a preference of two sensors, indicating a connection between the control unit, first sensor and second sensor. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators, at least one sensor system for detecting the object on the vehicle seat and at least one control unit for operating the actuator. the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile. Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein), and the motion controller including a processor configured(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator)to:
access, from the seat controller, present positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a present sitting position of the seat(Bennemann discloses vehicle occupant monitoring system that detects the current vehicle seat position. Bennemann, paragraph 22, the vehicle seat position and posture are detected by the data of the video camera 10 or other sensor system not shown. Bennemann, paragraph 8, In the lying position, the vehicle seat is visually similar to a plane, so the position of the actuator can be described as X/Y coordinate);
receive outputs from the first sensor(The specification discloses the sensor output obstacles present in the travel path of the seat. Bennemann discloses the detection of objects in interior space near the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat);
receive outputs from the second sensor(Bennemann discloses the detection of objects near the seat. Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat…the internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein);
reconcile the outputs received from the first and second sensors(Its noted that as per the specification, reconciling can be done from two sensors separatory. Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein); [[and]] instruct seat motion, from the reconciled outputs(Bennemann, paragraph 9, The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera two sensor systems are preferably used herein) and via the seat controller and first and second actuators, to transition the seat from the present sitting position to the adapted sitting position(Bennemann discloses the adaption of posture of the seat from its present position to a target position, which is an adapted position based on an object detected by the sensor. Bennemann, paragraph 6, the control unit is designed to operate the actuator according to the detected object profile, so that the profile of the vehicle seat is adapted to the profile of the object.)
While Bennemann teaches about transition of a seat from its current position to an adapted position based on detected object near a seat, it fails to disclose a system with a first actuator for moving a first seat element of the seat, and a second actuator for moving a second seat element of the seat,
access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat; and
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion.
However, De La Garza, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an aircraft passenger seat adaptable to passengers’ preference discloses a first actuator for moving a first seat element of the seat, and a second actuator for moving a second seat element of the seat(De La Garza discloses actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat pan base and seat back. De La Garza, paragraph 7, respective actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann with De La Garza to move each elements of a seat such as seat pan base and seat back independently. While Bennemann discloses plurality of actuators to adjust a seat from head to foot, it specifically fails to disclose actuators for each elements such as seat pan, seat pan base and seat back, which De La Garza addresses. By having multiple actuators for different elements, it is possible to adjust each element of a seat without affecting the other. In addition, users can make incremental adjustment to each elements based on their preference.
While the combination Bennemann and De La Garza teaches about different actuators for each seat element as well as the transition of a seat from one position to another, it fails to disclose a system that access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat; and
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion.
However, Tian, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control method and device for electric seat, discloses a motion controller including a processor configured to: access, from memory, future positions of the first and second actuators corresponding to a future sitting position of the seat(Tian, paragraph 126, obtaining and analyzing the seat control instruction, determining the current position to be moved of the target seat and the target of the target seat setting information, and obtaining the target seat, wherein the target setting information in the target position and the target posture comprises the target seat; Tian, paragraph 163, software module the steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiment disclosed in the present invention can be directly executed with hardware, a processor, or a combination of the two is performed. software module can be placed in a random access memory (RAM), a memory, a read only memory (ROM),);and
modify the seat motion to complete the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position responsive to detecting an interference in the environment affecting the seat motion(Tian discloses two method of adjusting seat when detecting an interference/object. First method of pausing the seat adjustment for an interference to exit its vicinity, and second method of adjusting the seat’s motor speed to open distance between the interference and the seat. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state, pause adjusting target seat in pre-set time, stopping adjustment of the target seat, letting relative seat adjusting an end time alone to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat so as to avoid interference. Of course, after the preset time reaches the control target seat and associated seat adjustment. Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann and De La Garza with Tian to adjust the movement of the seat when an object/interference is detected by adjusting the speed of the motor of the vehicle, and by pausing the movement of the seat. While De La Garza does not disclose sensors to detect the interference, Bennemann teaches sensors to identify the objects and Tian has the capability to adjust its seat position based on detection/estimation of an interference/objects. By adjusting speed or pausing the transition of a seat when an interference is detected, it is possible to prevent mechanical damage to seat components such as actuators. Additionally, it is possible reduce risk of crushing caused by un controlled seat folding.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the motion controller is an element of the seat controller(According to the specification, motion controller includes a processor configured to access actuators’ present and future positions. Tian paragraph 613, the steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiment disclosed in the present invention can be directly executed with hardware, a processor. Tian paragraph 126, obtaining and analyzing the seat control instruction, determining the current position to be moved of the target seat and the target of the target seat setting information, and obtaining the target seat, wherein the target setting information in the target position and the target posture comprises the target seat).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the present sitting position is different from the future sitting position(The comparison of target and current position relative to the origin indicates the difference in seat position. Tian paragraph 66, based on this, example coordinate system shown in FIG. 1, if the target position and the current position, more close to the coordinate origin direction, judging expected movement direction of the target seat is head direction; the opposite, if target position and current position it is more far away from the origin of coordinates, then the expected movement direction of the target seat is rear direction ), and the future sitting position is selected by a seat occupant via an interface device of the seat(Tian paragraph 61, the electric seat is provided with a corresponding control key, the control key the user can by pressing the corresponding seat control instructions sent to the controller, of course, also part of the vehicle the control function of the seat integrated control screen).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the operating parameter includes at least one of activation, deactivation, and speed modifying the seat motion includes adjusting a speed of at least one of the first and second actuators(( As discussed above Tian discloses adjusting speed of the seat when it estimates an interference. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state….Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian) in further view of Tarui (WO 2018021077 A1) (hereinafter Tarui).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state),
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements as well as the determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a device comprising a plurality of predefined sitting positions stored in memory, wherein each of the plurality of predefined sitting positions includes definite actuator positions corresponding to that respective defined sitting position.
However, Tarui which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about vehicle seat control device discloses a device comprising a plurality of predefined sitting positions stored in memory, wherein each of the plurality of predefined sitting positions includes definite actuator positions corresponding to that respective defined sitting position(Tarui, paragraph 26, a plurality of predetermined front seat positions of the front seat 1f are stored (held) in the memory 31f as a storage unit of the front ECU 15f. The front ECU 15f controls the actuators 11f and 12f when a predetermined front auto operation start condition predetermined for each predetermined front seat position is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Tarui’s predefined seat positions that gives the user an option to select different sitting position instantly instead of them having to manually adjust each element. The combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches about the controlling of different actuators of an element, but it does not possess predefined sitting positions. Tarui discloses plurality of seat position that can be controlled by the actuator. By having multiple sitting positions, the user can instantly select or switch to their preferred configuration from an interface rather than manually adjusting each actuator separately.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), comprising a plurality of predefined sitting positions stored in memory, wherein each of the plurality of predefined sitting positions includes definite actuator positions corresponding to that respective defined sitting position.
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements as well as the determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a device comprising a plurality of predefined sitting positions stored in memory, wherein each of the plurality of predefined sitting positions includes definite actuator positions corresponding to that respective defined sitting position.
However, Tarui which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about vehicle seat control device discloses a device comprising a plurality of predefined sitting positions stored in memory, wherein each of the plurality of predefined sitting positions includes definite actuator positions corresponding to that respective defined sitting position(Tarui, paragraph 26, a plurality of predetermined front seat positions of the front seat 1f are stored (held) in the memory 31f as a storage unit of the front ECU 15f. The front ECU 15f controls the actuators 11f and 12f when a predetermined front auto operation start condition predetermined for each predetermined front seat position is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Tarui’s predefined seat positions that gives the user an option to select different sitting position instantly instead of them having to manually adjust each element. The combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches about the controlling of different actuators of an element, but it does not possess predefined sitting positions. Tarui discloses plurality of seat position that can be controlled by the actuator. By having multiple sitting positions, the user can instantly select or switch to their preferred configuration from an interface rather than manually adjusting each actuator separately.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian) in further view of Roberts (US 20220388525 A1) (hereinafter Roberts).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the second sensor is a camera configured to output to the motion controller images of the environment in which the seat operates(Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera Two sensor systems are preferably used herein.).
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian discloses a radar to determine the presence of an object around a seat area, it specifically fails to disclose a sensors wherein the first sensor is a millimeter wave (mmWave) radar configured to output to the motion controller a map of an environment in which the seat operates.
However, Roberts, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a radar detection of unsafe seating condition discloses the first sensor is a millimeter wave (mmWave) radar configured to output to the motion controller a map of an environment in which the seat operates(Roberts, paragraph 27, The sensor system can acquire data of the vehicle occupant compartment, such as the number and positions of occupants, whether or not an occupant is out of position, detection of living objects, and other data described herein. Roberts, paragraph 33, a system for controlling an operation of the vehicle 100 described herein may incorporate one or more millimeter-wave (MMW or mm-wave) radar sensor(s) 109 to scan the interior of the vehicle and acquire data usable for the purposes described herein)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Roberts’ object detection system that uses a millimeter wave radar which helps detect an object near a seat of with high precision and is idea for smaller compact areas. Bennemann discloses a radar that can detect objects, but it specifically fails to disclose millimeter wave radar. However, Roberts teaches using millimeter wave radar to detect different object around a seat such as seat occupants or other living objects. Millimeter wave radar sensors are advantageous for their high precision object detection which help detect an accurate size and shape of an objects around a seat. Furthermore, they are ideal for detecting objects in compact areas such as vehicles and aircrafts.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the second sensor is a camera configured to output to the motion controller images of the environment in which the seat operates(Bennemann, paragraph 9, the sensor system for detecting object is designed as sensor and/or vehicle interior space monitoring sensor system distributed on space in the vehicle seat… The internal space monitoring sensor system is designed for example as at least one imaging sensor system, such as laser radar and/or video camera Two sensor systems are preferably used herein).
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches discloses a radar to determine the presence of an object around a seat area, it specifically fails to disclose a sensors wherein the first sensor is a millimeter wave (mmWave) radar configured to output to the motion controller a map of an environment in which the seat operates.
However, Roberts, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a radar detection of unsafe seating condition discloses the first sensor is a millimeter wave (mmWave) radar configured to output to the motion controller a map of an environment in which the seat operates(Roberts, paragraph 27, The sensor system can acquire data of the vehicle occupant compartment, such as the number and positions of occupants, whether or not an occupant is out of position, detection of living objects, and other data described herein. Roberts, paragraph 33, a system for controlling an operation of the vehicle 100 described herein may incorporate one or more millimeter-wave (MMW or mm-wave) radar sensor(s) 109 to scan the interior of the vehicle and acquire data usable for the purposes described herein)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Roberts’ object detection system that uses a millimeter wave radar which helps detect an object near a seat of with high precision and is idea for smaller compact areas. Bennemann discloses a radar that can detect objects, but it specifically fails to disclose millimeter wave radar. However, Roberts teaches using millimeter wave radar to detect different object around a seat such as seat occupants or other living objects. Millimeter wave radar sensors are advantageous for their high precision object detection which help detect an accurate size and shape of an objects around a seat. Furthermore, they are ideal for detecting objects in compact areas such as vehicles and aircrafts.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian) in further view of Ui (US 20200139854 A1) (hereinafter Ui).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position occurs, and the motion controller is configured to instruct the seat controller to complete the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position(Tian discloses two method of adjusting seat when detecting an interference/object. First method of pausing the seat adjustment for an interference to exit its vicinity, and second method of adjusting the seat’s motor speed to open distance between the interference and the seat. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state, pause adjusting target seat in pre-set time, stopping adjustment of the target seat, letting relative seat adjusting an end time alone to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat so as to avoid interference. Of course, after the preset time reaches the control target seat and associated seat adjustment. Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat)
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a seat position adjustment preprogrammed to occur in a predefined time interval, seat position adjustment within the predefined time interval.
However, Ui, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control device for a vehicle teaches a seat position adjustment preprogrammed to occur in a predefined time interval(The predetermined seat adjustment of Ui is stored in the storage unit and executed by the CPU for a predetermined time interval. Ui, paragraph,39 A control program 40 is stored in the storage unit 33. The CPU 31 reads the control program 40 from the storage unit 33, loads the control program 40 into the memory 32, and executes the loaded control program 40. Ui, paragraph 49, operation of the control device 18 according to the present exemplary embodiment is described with reference to FIG. 6. FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a flow of seat position adjustment processing that is executed by the CPU 31 of the control device 18 according to the present exemplary embodiment. The seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed by the CPU 31 executing the control program 40 stored in advance in the storage unit 33. For example, the seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed periodically at a predetermined time interval), seat position adjustment within the predefined time interval(Periodic execution of Ui indicates the adjustment of seat in a predetermined time interval. Ui, paragraph 49, The seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed by the CPU 31 executing the control program 40 stored in advance in the storage unit 33. For example, the seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed periodically at a predetermined time interval).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Ui’s adjusting of seat position within predefined time interval to provide a gradual seat movement to prevent seat damage caused by rapid seat movement and avoid a user discomfort. Ui does not specifically disclose the transition from present position to future sitting position. However, as discussed above, Tian teaches the movement of a seat from current position to a target position without disclosing a predefined time interval. Ui addresses this deficiency by adjusting the position adjustment within predefined time interval. Position change of a seat within certain time interval is advantages because controlled timing reduces a mechanical stress on actuators, joints and different components of a seat by avoiding sudden acceleration of declaration. Additionally, it can prevent sudden jolting feeling that could shock the user by gradually controlling the movement of the seat.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state), wherein the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position occurs, and the motion controller is configured to actuate the first and second actuators, via the seat controller, to complete the transition from the present sitting position to the future sitting position(Tian discloses two method of adjusting seat when detecting an interference/object. First method of pausing the seat adjustment for an interference to exit its vicinity, and second method of adjusting the seat’s motor speed to open distance between the interference and the seat. Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state, pause adjusting target seat in pre-set time, stopping adjustment of the target seat, letting relative seat adjusting an end time alone to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat so as to avoid interference. Of course, after the preset time reaches the control target seat and associated seat adjustment. Of course, in other embodiments, when in the associated seat of first estimated intermediate state with the second target seat of the estimated intermediate state generating interference, it also can adjust the running speed of the motor to open the distance between the target seat and associated seat).
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a seat position adjustment preprogrammed to occur in a predefined time interval, seat position adjustment within the predefined time interval.
However, Ui, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control device for a vehicle teaches a seat position adjustment preprogrammed to occur in a predefined time interval(The predetermined seat adjustment of Ui is stored in the storage unit and executed by the CPU for a predetermined time interval. Ui, paragraph,39 A control program 40 is stored in the storage unit 33. The CPU 31 reads the control program 40 from the storage unit 33, loads the control program 40 into the memory 32, and executes the loaded control program 40. Ui, paragraph 49, operation of the control device 18 according to the present exemplary embodiment is described with reference to FIG. 6. FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a flow of seat position adjustment processing that is executed by the CPU 31 of the control device 18 according to the present exemplary embodiment. The seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed by the CPU 31 executing the control program 40 stored in advance in the storage unit 33. For example, the seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed periodically at a predetermined time interval), seat position adjustment within the predefined time interval(Periodic execution of Ui indicates the adjustment of seat in a predetermined time interval. Ui, paragraph 49, The seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed by the CPU 31 executing the control program 40 stored in advance in the storage unit 33. For example, the seat position adjustment processing illustrated in FIG. 6 is executed periodically at a predetermined time interval).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Ui’s adjusting of seat position within predefined time interval to provide a gradual seat movement to prevent seat damage caused by rapid seat movement and avoid a user discomfort. Ui does not specifically disclose the transition from present position to future sitting position. However, as discussed above, Tian teaches the movement of a seat from current position to a target position without disclosing a predefined time interval. Ui addresses this deficiency by adjusting the position adjustment within predefined time interval. Position change of a seat within certain time interval is advantages because controlled timing reduces a mechanical stress on actuators, joints and different components of a seat by avoiding sudden acceleration of declaration. Additionally, it can prevent sudden jolting feeling that could shock the user by gradually controlling the movement of the seat.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian) in further view of Qi (US 20190106020 A1) (hereinafter Qi).
Regarding claim 9, the combination Bennemann and De La Garza teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state),
While the combination Bennemann and De La Garza discloses the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a device further comprising at least one additional actuator for moving at least one additional seat element of the seat, wherein the motion controller is configured to coordinate the first actuator, the second actuator, and the at least one additional actuator to transition the seat from the present sitting position to the future sitting position.
However, Qi, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an apparatus for controlling a vehicle seat discloses a device further comprising at least one additional actuator for moving at least one additional seat element of the seat, wherein the motion controller is configured to coordinate the first actuator, the second actuator, and the at least one additional actuator to transition the seat from the present sitting position to the future sitting position(Qi, paragraph 12, the seat position actuator being a combination of a first actuator disposed to adjust a longitudinal position of the driver's seat, a second actuator disposed to adjust an elevation position of the driver's seat, a third actuator disposed to adjust a rotational position of a seat back relative to a lower seat member of the driver's seat, a fourth actuator disposed to adjust a rotational position of the driver's seat relative to a floor pan of the vehicle and a fifth actuator disposed to adjust a lumbar support position of the driver's seat.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Qi’s mechanism that combines different actuators to coordinate and achieve user’s preferred sitting position. Even though Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teach about different actuators controlling different elements, they fail to disclose combining these actuators with additional actuators to adjust the seat position. Qi addresses this by incorporating multiple actuators that can implement different seat position adjustments. By combining multiple actuators, it is possible to coordinate plurality of seat movements to execute complex movement patterns that a single or two actuators cannot perform.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state),
While the combination Bennemann and De La Garza discloses the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a device further comprising at least one additional actuator for moving at least one additional seat element of the seat, wherein the motion controller is configured to coordinate motions of the first actuator, the second actuator, and the at least one additional actuator to transition the seat from the present sitting position to the future sitting position.
However, Qi, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an apparatus for controlling a vehicle seat discloses a device with a method further comprising at least one additional actuator for moving at least one additional seat element of the seat, wherein the motion controller is configured to coordinate the first actuator, the second actuator, and the at least one additional actuator to transition the seat from the present sitting position to the future sitting position(Qi, paragraph 12, the seat position actuator being a combination of a first actuator disposed to adjust a longitudinal position of the driver's seat, a second actuator disposed to adjust an elevation position of the driver's seat, a third actuator disposed to adjust a rotational position of a seat back relative to a lower seat member of the driver's seat, a fourth actuator disposed to adjust a rotational position of the driver's seat relative to a floor pan of the vehicle and a fifth actuator disposed to adjust a lumbar support position of the driver's seat.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Qi’s mechanism that combines different actuators to coordinate and achieve user’s preferred sitting position. Even though Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teach about different actuators controlling different elements, they fail to disclose combining these actuators with additional actuators to adjust the seat position. Qi addresses this by incorporating multiple actuators that can implement different seat position adjustments. By combining multiple actuators, it is possible to coordinate plurality of seat movements to execute complex movement patterns that a single or two actuators cannot perform.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennemann (CN 115107591 A) (hereinafter Bennemann) in view of De La Garza (US 20190152606 A1) (hereinafter De La Garza) in view of Tian (CN 111409517 A) (Tian) in further view of Dowty (US 20210245886 A1) (hereinafter Dowty).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the system according to claim 1(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state)
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a seat apparatus wherein the first seat element is a seat pan and the first actuator is an independent actuator , and the second seat element is a backrest and the second actuator is a dependent actuator.
However, Dowty, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control of aircraft seat for an aircraft passenger compartment suite discloses an apparatus wherein the first seat element is a seat pan and the first actuator is an independent actuator(The seat base of Dowty is similar to the seat pan. The actuation of the of component of Dowty are performed by a control unit (motor) similar to an actuator. Dowty’s primary section is the configuration to actuate between an upright position and lie-flat position. Dowty, paragraph 04, an actuation of the auxiliary seat base portion of the auxiliary section may be independent of an actuation of the primary section. Dowty, paragraph 96, the actuation of components of the aircraft passenger compartment suite 100 via the control unit 424 (e.g., where the components are driven via a motor)), and the second seat element is a backrest and the second actuator is a dependent actuator(The seatback of Dowty is similar to the backrest. Dowty, paragraph 12, an actuation of the auxiliary seatback portion of the auxiliary section may be dependent on an actuation of the primary section).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Dowty’s dependent actuators that can be implemented to adjust their movement based on the movement of other actuators. Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teach actuators that can operate each element of a seat, but do not teach actuators that operate dependently to other actuators. Having dependent actuators are advantages in synchronizing the seat elements based on the movement of other elements. This allows the one seat element to adapt its movement based on another element.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teaches the motion controller according to claim 11(Bennemann, paragraph 6, the vehicle seat comprises a plurality of independently operated matrix-shaped arrangement of actuators; De La Garza, paragraph 7, actuators mounted on the seat for independently moving the seat pan, seat back, leg rest and carriage; Tian, paragraph 122, if judging to interfere with the estimated intermediate state at the second target seat in the related seat of the first estimated intermediate state),
While the combination of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian disclose the controlling of different actuators of seat elements, and determining of current and future sitting positions, it fails to teach a seat apparatus wherein the first seat element is a seat pan and the first actuator is an independent actuator(The seat base of Dowty is similar to the seat pan. The actuation of the of component of Dowty are performed by a control unit (motor) similar to an actuator. Dowty’s primary section is the configuration to actuate between an upright position and lie-flat position. Dowty, paragraph 04, an actuation of the auxiliary seat base portion of the auxiliary section may be independent of an actuation of the primary section. Dowty, paragraph 96, the actuation of components of the aircraft passenger compartment suite 100 via the control unit 424 (e.g., where the components are driven via a motor)), and the second seat element is a backrest and the second actuator is a dependent actuator(The seatback of Dowty is similar to the backrest. Dowty, paragraph 12, an actuation of the auxiliary seatback portion of the auxiliary section may be dependent on an actuation of the primary section).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian with Dowty’s dependent actuators that can be implemented to adjust their movement based on the movement of other actuators. Bennemann, De La Garza, and Tian teach actuators that can operate each element of a seat, but do not teach actuators that operate dependently to other actuators. Having dependent actuators are advantages in synchronizing the seat elements based on the movement of other elements. This allows the one seat element to adapt its movement based on another element.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Thomaschewski (US 20180155034 A1) teaches an aircraft seat and to a method for adjusting an aircraft seat. The aircraft seat having a first seat element and a second seat element, the second seat element being mounted so as to be adjustable relative to the first seat element.
Browne (CN 101786426 B) discloses the slowing down of seat adjustment speed when an object is detected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665