DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 25-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 13, 2025.
Applicant’s arguments in the response to the distinction between species A-C are persuasive, and as such the interpretation of species A is amended to encompass Figs. 4a-6c, while the non-elected species of Figs 7a-c remains directed to a separate species D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 8 and 22, the phrasing “one or both of the first eyelet fully encloses the first protrusion during use in the patient's mouth and the second eyelet fully encloses the second protrusion during use in the patient's mouth” is unclear as to what is required to fully enclose for the second eyelet. Additionally, the limitation “fully encloses” is unclear as it appears from the Figures that the limitation intended is “fully encircles” and the specification is silent as to the meaning of “fully encloses.” Does the applicant intend for the protrusion to be enclosed on all sides, i.e. fully enclosed? If so, clarification is required. For the purpose of examination the limitation will be interpreted as “fully encircling.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jones (US 4,462,800).
Regarding Claim 1, Jones discloses an orthodontic appliance (abstract), the orthodontic appliance comprising a main body portion (Figure 1, 10), the main body portion including a first end (16) and a second end (18), where the first end is opposite the second end (as seen in Figure 1), and where the first end includes a first eyelet and the second end includes a second eyelet (eyelets 38 as seen in Figure 4). Jones further discloses a first orthodontic device (wire 22 and trunnion 20 taken together), where the first orthodontic device is configured to be bonded to a first tooth in a patient's mouth (via bracket on upper teeth as seen but not labeled in Figure 1), where the first orthodontic device includes a first protrusion (trunnion 20), and where the first protrusion is located within the first eyelet during use in the patient's mouth (as described in Column 3, lines 40-45), and a second orthodontic device (wire 24 and other trunnion 20 taken together), where the second orthodontic device is configured to be bonded to a second tooth in the patient's mouth (via bracket on lower teeth as seen but not labeled in Figure 1), where the second orthodontic device includes a second protrusion (trunnion 20), and where the second protrusion is located within the second eyelet during use in the patient's mouth (as described in Column 3, lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 2, Jones discloses the invention of Claim 1 and further discloses that one or both of the first protrusion and the second protrusion include a limit (flange 36 serves as a limit), wherein the limit limits motion of the main body portion with respect to one or both of the first orthodontic appliance and the second orthodontic appliance (as described in Column 5, lines 40-45, the flange 35 prevents outward movement of the ring member mounted on the trunnion).
Regarding Claim 3, Jones discloses the orthodontic appliance of claim 2, and further discloses that the limit (36) is a portion of the protrusion (20) with a dimension greater than that of one or both of the first eyelet and the second eyelet (as seen in Figure 5).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Jones discloses the orthodontic appliance of claim 1, and further discloses that the protrusions have a protrusion base (trunnion at slot end 32) and a protrusion end (30), where a width of the protrusions at a point between the protrusion base and the protrusion end is less than a width of the protrusions at the protrusion end (as seen in Figure 5, protrusion end 30 is wider than base at opposite slot end).
Regarding Claim 8, Jones discloses the orthodontic appliance of claim 1, and further discloses that one or both of the first eyelet fully encloses the first protrusion during use in the patient's mouth and the second eyelet fully encloses the second protrusion during use in the patient's mouth (as seen in Figure 2, the eyelets fully encircle the protrusions).
Regarding Claim 13, Jones discloses the orthodontic appliance of Claim 1, and further discloses that one or both of the first protrusion and the second protrusion have a rotation-limiting feature, where the rotation-limiting feature limits rotation in at least one direction(as described in Column 3, lines 30-40, bore 26 of the protrusion is threaded at 27 to receive screw member 28 in order to retain the wire in slot 32, thus limiting rotation).
Regarding Claim 14, Jones discloses the orthodontic appliance of Claim 13, and further discloses that the rotation-limiting feature limits rotation in a first direction to a first degree and rotation in a second direction to a second degree (rotation would be limited to zero in a first direction and zero in a second direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Shannon et al. (US 2021/0015593 A1, hereinafter “Shannon”).
Regarding Claim 17, Jones discloses an orthodontic appliance (abstract), the orthodontic appliance comprising a main body portion (Figure 1, 10), the main body portion including a first end (16) and a second end (18), where the first end is opposite the second end (as seen in Figure 1), and where the first end includes a first eyelet and the second end includes a second eyelet (eyelets 38 as seen in Figure 4). Jones further discloses a first orthodontic device (wire 22 and trunnion 20 taken together), where the first orthodontic device is configured to be bonded to a first tooth in a patient's mouth (via bracket on upper teeth as seen but not labeled in Figure 1), where the first orthodontic device includes a first protrusion (trunnion 20), and where the first protrusion is located within the first eyelet during use in the patient's mouth (as described in Column 3, lines 40-45), and a second orthodontic device (wire 24 and other trunnion 20 taken together), where the second orthodontic device is configured to be bonded to a second tooth in the patient's mouth (via bracket on lower teeth as seen but not labeled in Figure 1), where the second orthodontic device includes a second protrusion (trunnion 20), and where the second protrusion is located within the second eyelet during use in the patient's mouth (as described in Column 3, lines 40-45).
Jones discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose that the orthodontic appliance is packaged with packaging that comprises a plurality of support structures that support the orthodontic appliance and a base, where the plurality of support structures secures the orthodontic appliance to the base.
In the same art of orthodontic devices, Shannon teaches packaging for an orthodontic device ([0003]) with a plurality of support structures (Figure 4, 406) that support the orthodontic appliance (404, as seen in Figure 4) and a base (400), where the plurality of support structures secures the orthodontic appliance to the base. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a packaging method with support structures and a base as taught by Shannon with the device of Jones in order to provide a secure method for transporting the device without damage.
Regarding Claim 18, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 17 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that one or both of the first protrusion and the second protrusion include a limit (flange 36 serves as a limit), wherein the limit limits motion of the main body portion with respect to one or both of the first orthodontic appliance and the second orthodontic appliance (as described in Column 5, lines 40-45, the flange 35 prevents outward movement of the ring member mounted on the trunnion).
Regarding Claim 19, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 18 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that the limit (36) is a portion of the protrusion (20) with a dimension greater than that of one or both of the first eyelet and the second eyelet (as seen in Figure 5).
Regarding Claims 20 and 21, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 17 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that the protrusions have a protrusion base (trunnion at slot end 32) and a protrusion end (30), where a width of the protrusions at a point between the protrusion base and the protrusion end is less than a width of the protrusions at the protrusion end (as seen in Figure 5, protrusion end 30 is wider than base at opposite slot end).
Regarding Claim 22, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 17 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that one or both of the first eyelet fully encloses the first protrusion during use in the patient's mouth and the second eyelet fully encloses the second protrusion during use in the patient's mouth (as seen in Figure 2, the eyelets fully encircle the protrusions).
Regarding Claim 23, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 17 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that one or both of the first protrusion and the second protrusion have a rotation-limiting feature, where the rotation-limiting feature limits rotation in at least one direction(as described in Column 3, lines 30-40, bore 26 of the protrusion is threaded at 27 to receive screw member 28 in order to retain the wire in slot 32, thus limiting rotation).
Regarding Claim 24, Jones in view of Shannon discloses the invention of Claim 23 substantially as described above, and Jones further discloses that the rotation-limiting feature limits rotation in a first direction to a first degree and rotation in a second direction to a second degree (rotation would be limited to zero in a first direction and zero in a second direction).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772