DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 have been amended. The status of claim 1-5 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “A. The Examiner's Mapping of the 'first period' and 'monitoring period parameters' to Wallentin Is Erroneous The Examiner acknowledges that Latheef fails to explicitly disclose: "receiving physical layer control information of a first format during a first period based on the first identifier, wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameters." The Examiner then turns to Wallentin and maps these claim elements to Wallentin's "measurement configuration includes measurement gaps that specify periods, section 0146." Applicant respectfully submits that this mapping is technically incorrect and legally insufficient. 1. 'Measurement gaps' in Wallentin are fundamentally different from 'monitoring period parameters' in the claims. In the claims, "one or more sets of monitoring period parameters" are parameters within the cell group configuration parameters of the RRC reconfiguration message. As disclosed in the specification, these parameters correspond to PDCCH_MONITORING_TIME IEs, which configure periodicity and offset of PDCCH monitoring occasions - the time slots during which the UE monitors the physical downlink control channel to receive physical layer control information (DCI). The "first period" derived from these parameters is thus a PDCCH monitoring period: the period during which the UE listens for and receives PHY layer control information.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments stated above because the Examiner’s mapping is not erroneous. The claims have been in light of the specification which means one can not bring the specification into claims.
Moreover, the claim “first period” and “monitoring period parameters” as defined by the Applicant’s specification are not recited in claims. In addition, if they are so critical, why not incorporate them into each respective independent claim.
Secondly, monitoring parameters are broadly interpreted to mean the measurement or estimation or calculation are the performed based on pointers or indications.
The Applicant further argued that “2. The 'first identifier' in the claims is not mapped to Wallentin's 'Meas ID.' The Examiner maps the "first identifier" to Wallentin's "Meas ID in relation to execution condition in relation RRC reconfiguration message, section 0147, 0167." This mapping is also technically incorrect. In the claims, the "first identifier" is a parameter within the cell group configuration parameters of the RRC reconfiguration message, and the UE receives PHY layer control information based on the first identifier. Claim 8 further clarifies the nature of this identifier: the PHY layer control information of the first format "is attached with Cyclic Redundancy Check scrambled by the first identifier." This is an unambiguous description of an RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier) - a PHY-layer identifier used to scramble the CRC of DCI, enabling the UE to identify that the DCI is addressed to it. As set forth in the specification, this identifier corresponds to local_non_scheduling_identifier_layer3, which is the identifier used for scrambling CRC of PCS format-c and for identifying which PDCCH monitoring time to use.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim does recite the first identifier “ as local non-scheduling identifiers layer which is used for scrambling CRC of PCS format-c.” As mentioned above, one cannot bring the specification into the claim, What the issues that Applicant is arguing about are not recited into claims with the exception of claim 8, 9.
Latheef ‘403 discloses layer 1 to layer 3-based measurement in relation to measurement period (section 0224-0227) contrary to the Applicant’s arguments. Moreover, the measurements are based on the physical control information.
The Applicant also argues that “3. Wallentin does not teach or suggest the structural relationship between the first identifier, the monitoring period parameters, and the first period asserting that “ the Examiner has not identified - nor can it be found - any disclosure in Wallentin where a UE receives PHY layer control information of a specific format during a period that is both (i) based on an RNTI-type identifier and (ii) determined by a set of PDCCH monitoring period parameters.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees none of the claims recite nor require PHY layer control information of a specific format during a period that is both (i) based on an RNTI-type identifier and (ii) determined by a set of PDCCH monitoring period parameters.”
The Applicant is arguing about limitations that are not embodied in the recited claims.
The Applicant similarly argues that “the Examiner has not provided adequate motivation to combine by stating “First, this is precisely the purpose that Latheef itself already serves. Latheef is directed to conditional reconfiguration procedures including conditional handover (CHO), conditional PSCell addition (CPA), and conditional PSCell change (CPC). The Examiner's motivation is thus circular - it amounts to saying that Latheef should be modified to achieve what Latheef already achieves.
Second, the Examiner has not articulated how the combination of Wallentin's measurement gap configuration with Latheef's conditional reconfiguration framework would result in the claimed structure. Even assuming a POSITA would combine the references, the Examiner has not explained the mechanism by which measurement gap periods (from Wallentin) would become PDCCH monitoring periods for PHY layer control information reception in Latheef's system, or how Wallentin's Meas IDs would become RNTI-type identifiers for CRC scrambling. Such a combination would require fundamental restructuring of both systems, which is not routine modification but a significant technical redesign.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s state arguments because the question is whether the combined teaching of the aforementioned references would have enable one skilled in the art to arrive at the claim invention because both references broadly disclose conditions-based on measurements. To that end, the Examiner respectfully submit that references are clearly combinable.
In response to applicant's argument that “the Examiner has not provided adequate motivation to combine”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response, to the Applicant’s arguments concerning claim 11-14, the Examiner respectfully disagrees based on the reasons and explanations as outlined above.
In view of the above reasons, the rejection is respectfully maintained as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al; (US 2024/0114403A1, Provisional application No. 63/411,580 , filed on September 29, 2022) in view of Wallentin et al (US 2023/0217329 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Latheef et al; (US 2024/0114403A1, Provisional application No. 63/411,580 , filed on September 29, 2022) discloses a method by a terminal (see, the wireless device which receives a RRC reconfiguration message including a list of RRC reconfiguration message and associated executing conditions, then wireless device may apply the received RRC reconfiguration message, section 0267-0268), the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see, the wireless device receives RRC reconfiguration message and applies the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0267-0268), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message (see, RRC reconfiguration messages from the master cell group/master node (i.e., the master node is part of the master cell group which comprises a SpCell and one or more SCells, section 0245), section 0260-0261) comprises a set of cell group configuration parameters (see, the RRC reconfiguration includes an updated MCG configuration (.e.., to configure the requires conditional measurements), SCG configuration, execution conditions. section 0260-0261, 0267-0268), wherein the set of cell group configuration parameters comprises: a parameter for a first identifier (see, RRC configuration that may include a conditional PsCell Change (CPC), if conditions are met , the wireless device evaluates the conditions based on receiver CPC configuration, section 0261-0264, noted: measurement identity associated with serving cell and neighbor cell/non-serving cells, section 0228); a parameter for a second identifier (see, candidate cells, cell 2, cell 11 and cell 12 in the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0295-0295, 0311, 0325, 0402-physical cell identifier related to the candidate cells); and one or more sets of monitoring period parameters (see, measurement object, section 0295, 0312, noted: measurements made on serving cells and/or a one or more non-serving cells based on the measurement configuration, section 0245, 0294-0295, noted: measurements in term of RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR, section 0264); receiving by the terminal physical layer (see, the wireless device receives RRC message comprising configuration parameters that indicate search space related to PDCCH candidates, section 0196-0197, fig. 2B, PHY layer, AC layer and of the wireless device 210) control information (see,, the wireless device receives RRC message comprising configuration parameters that indicate search space related to PDCCH candidates, section 0196-0197) of a first format (see, PDCCH monitoring periodicity and one or more DCI formats to be monitored by the wireless device, section 0196) [[during a first period]] based on the first identifier (noted: measurements in relation PSCell IDs, section 0266, see, the wireless device receives via L1/L2 signaling via downlink transmission occasions, the L1/L2 signaling which may comprise a DCI with format, section 0278); and performing by the terminal an evaluation for conditional reconfiguration (see, conditional RRC reconfiguration, the wireless device evaluates executions conditions based on CPA configuration, section 0254, 0267-0268, 0294-0295), wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameter[[s]] (see, the wireless device performs and reports measurement based on periodic configuration, section 0148, 0150, noted: measurements made on serving cells and/or a one or more non-serving cells based on the measurement configuration or measurement ID, section 0226,-0228).
Latheef ‘403 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: receiving physical layer control information of a first format during a first period based on the first identifier, wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameters.
Wallentin et al (US 2023/0217329 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: receive physical layer control information (see, cell group configuration includes the configuration of L1 physical layer/master node sends MN RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, section 0114, 0126, 0046-downlink control information) of a first format (noted: reporting format that identifies in relation quantities that is to be included in measurement report, 0143-0146) during a first period (see, measurement configuration includes measurement gaps that specify periods, section 0146) based on the first identifier (see, Meas ID in relation to execution condition in relation RRC reconfiguration message, section 0147, 0167, noted: reporting format that identifies in relation, 0143-0146), wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameters (see, measurement configuration includes measurement gaps that specify periods, section 0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each set of the one or more sets of monitoring period parameters (see, one or more RRC messages parameters which may include a PDCCH monitoring periodicity, PDCCH monitoring patterns, section 0196-0197, Wallentin, see, measurement gaps that specify periods including which a UE may perform measurements, section 0145-0146) comprises: a parameter related to an offset (see, configuration message relating to power offsets, section 0172) and periodicity (section 0196-0197, PDCCH periodicity); and a parameter related to a format (see, DCI formats to be monitored by the wireless, section 0196).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific set of monitoring period parameters (see, one or more RRC messages parameters which may include a PDCCH monitoring periodicity, PDCCH monitoring patterns, section 0196-0197, Wallentin, see, measurement gaps that specify periods including which a UE may perform measurements, section 0145-0146) comprises a parameter related to a format indicating the first format (see, DCI formats to be monitored by the wireless, section 0196).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses method of claim 1, the method further comprising: receiving by the terminal physical layer control information of a second format (noted: reporting format that identifies in relation to quantities to include in the report, 0143-0146) during a second period based on the second identifier (Wallentin, see, measurement gaps that specify periods including which a UE may perform measurements, section 0145-0146); and performing by the terminal a transmission power update (Latheef, the wireless device ramp up the uplink transmit power, section 0175, Wallentin: reduction of power allocated, section 0182), wherein the second period is determined based on a second specific set of monitoring period parameters (section 0145-0146-periods specify to perform measurements).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the second specific set of monitoring period parameters (Wallentin, see, measurement gaps that specify periods including which a UE may perform measurements, section 0145-0146) comprises a parameter related to a format indicating the second format (Wallentin, noted: reporting format that identifies in relation to quantities to include in the report, 0143-0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 6, Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of cell group configuration parameters (section 0245), further comprises a parameter for a third identifier (see, configuration of candidate PSCells, execution conditions, MCG configuration that may be applied, condition events, trigger quantities (e.g., RSRS and SINR), section 0255, noted: PSCells include PSCell IDs, section 0266-0267, Wallentin, see, multiple measurement identities in relation to reporting format, section 0145-0146).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: receiving by the terminal physical layer control information of a third format during a third period (see, measurement gaps that specify periods including which a UE may perform measurements, section 0145-0146based on a third identifier (Wallentin, see, multiple measurement identities in relation to reporting format, section 0145-0146; and performing by the terminal downlink data reception on a shared channel based on scheduling information in the physical layer control information of the third format (Wallentin, see, multiple measurement identities in relation to reporting format, section 0145-0146, 0160).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 as modified by Wallentin ‘329 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the physical layer control information of the third format (Wallentin, see, multiple measurement identities in relation to reporting format, section 0145-0146, 0160): is associated with shared channel (see, monitoring on PDCCH and/or PDSCH including L1/L2 comprises a DCI with a particular format, section 0278); causes the terminal to perform data transfer via associated shared channel (section 0100-uplnk data based on PDSCH); and is attached with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by the third identifier (Latheef ‘403, DCI having CRC bits scrambled having an identifier, section 0190-0191).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 11, Latheef ‘403 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message (see, RRC reconfiguration message that includes each candidate cell includes ID, section 0364, 0386-0387-conditional reconfiguration) further comprises one or more sets of conditional reconfiguration parameters (see, the RRC reconfiguration message includes configuration of CHO candidate cells and/or CHO execution conditions and conditions for evaluations conditions for candidate cells, section 0249, 0252).
Regarding claim 12, Latheef ‘403 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein each of the one or more sets of conditional reconfiguration parameters is associated with an applicable cell (see, the wireless device evaluates or applies the RRC reconfigurations in relation candidate cells, list of cells with respect to measurements, section 0252, 0260-0261, 0266).
Regarding claim 13, Latheef ‘403 discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the terminal executes conditional reconfiguration towards the applicable cell associated with a set of conditional reconfiguration parameters (see, the wireless device evaluates CHO execution conditions for candidate cells , synchronizes to the candidate cell based on the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0252, 0260-0262, 0266) after the physical layer control information of the first format is received (see, the wireless device applies the selected candidate PSCell based on the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0261-0262).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the terminal applies (see, the wireless device applies the selected candidate PSCell based on the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0261-0262) specific parameters in the set of conditional reconfiguration parameters associated with the applicable cell for the conditional reconfiguration execution (see, the RRC reconfiguration message and associated execution condition include conditional measures, MCG configuration, conditional SN addition procedure, section 0260-0261, 0267-0268).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Latheef ‘403 discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1, fig. 15B, see, one or more antenna panels, section 0202-0207, see, the wireless device includes in the wireless system comprises a processor coupled to a memory, section 0436) configured to transmit (see, the in response to RRC reconfiguration, sends an RRC reconfiguration complete message, section 0260-0261) and receive signals (see, the wireless device receives RRC reconfiguration message that includes conditions for candidate cells, section 0252, 0259-0261), and a controller configured to control the transceiver (fig. A, fig. 15B, controllers and/or processors, section 0202-0210) to: receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see, RRC reconfiguration message that is sent or received by the wireless device, the RRC reconfiguration message comprises list of RRC reconfiguration message and/or associated execution conditions, section 0260-0261), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message (see, RRC reconfiguration messages from the master cell group/master node (i.e., the master node is part of the master cell group which comprises a SpCell and one or more Scells, section 0245), section 0260-0261) comprises a set of cell group configuration parameters (see, the RRC reconfiguration includes an updated MCG configuration (.e.., to configure the requires conditional measurements), section 0260-0261, 0267-0268), wherein the set of cell group configuration parameters comprises: a parameter for a first identifier (see, RRC configuration that may include a conditional PsCell Change (CPC), if conditions are met , the wireless device evaluates the conditions based on receiver CPC configuration, section 0261-0264); a parameter for a second identifier (see, candidate cells, cell 2, cell 11 and cell 12 in the RRC reconfiguration message, section 0295-0295, 0311, 0325, 0402-physical cell identifier related to the candidate cells); and one or more sets of monitoring period parameters (see, measurement object, section 0295, 0312, noted: measurements made on serving cells and/or a one or more non-serving cells based on the measurement configuration); receive physical layer control information (see, the PDCCH/Physical layer/physical channel to carry downlink control information, section 0100-0101) of a first format (see, PDCH monitoring periodicity and one or more DCI formation to be monitored by the wireless device, section 0196) [[during a first period]] (see, measurements based on receiving one or more message, reporting periodicity, section 0278-0279, 0287) based on the first identifier (noted: measurements in relation PSCell IDs, section 0266, see, the wireless device receives via L1/L2 signaling via downlink transmission occasions, the L1/L2 signaling which may comprise a DCI with format, section 0278); and perform evaluation for conditional reconfiguration (see, conditional RRC reconfiguration, the wireless device evaluates executions conditions based on CPA configuration, section 0254, 0267-0268), wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameter[[s]] (see, the wireless device performs and reports measurement based on periodic configuration, section 0148, 0150, noted: measurements made on serving cells and/or a one or more non-serving cells based on the measurement configuration or measurement ID, section 0226,-0228).
Latheef ‘403 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: receive physical layer control information of a first format during a first period based on the first identifier; wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameters.
Wallentin et al (US 2023/0217329 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: receive physical layer control information (see, cell group configuration includes the configuration of L1 physical layer/master node sends MN RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, section 0114, 0126, 0046-downlink control information) of a first format (noted: reporting format that identifies in relation to quantities to be included in the report, 0143-0146) during a first period (see, measurement configuration includes measurement gaps that specify periods, section 0146) based on the first identifier (see, Meas ID in relation to execution condition in relation RRC reconfiguration message, section 0147, 0167, noted: reporting format that identifies in relation to quantities to include in the report, 0143-0146); wherein the first period is determined based on a specific set of monitoring period parameters (see, measurement configuration includes measurement gaps that specify periods, section 0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the condition reconfiguration method and device, including monitoring the execution conditions (e.g., measurements to be reported based on measurement Ids) as taught by Wallentin ‘329 into the wireless communication method and apparatus of Latheef ‘403. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on executing conditions included in the conditional reconfigurations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473