DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the figures are too dark or of too poor quality to discern the claimed details there. Claims 2A-5B are deficient. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2343035 (Lauritsen).
Regarding Claim 1, Lauritsen teaches a mobility aid, comprising: a left-side frame (A, see below); a right-side frame (B) coupled to the left-side frame; a plurality of wheels (C) supporting the left-side and right-side frames; a first shaft (12) defining a plurality of axially-spaced locking apertures (5), the first shaft being configured to slide relative to the left-side frame to adjust a position of an end of the first shaft relative to the left-side frame; a second shaft (D) defining a plurality of axially-spaced locking apertures (5), the second shaft being configured to slide relative to the right-side frame to adjust a position of an end of the second shaft relative to the right-side frame; and a first adjustment mechanism (see Figs 2a and 2b) including: an actuator (8) movably coupled to the left-side frame; a locking pin (4) movably coupled to the left-side frame and configured for receipt in a first locking aperture of the plurality of locking apertures of the first shaft in response to an actuation of the actuator; and a friction member 10) movably coupled to the left-side frame and configured to press against the first shaft in response to the actuation of the actuator to resist shaking of the first shaft relative to the left-side frame.
Regarding Claim 2, Lauritsen teaches that the actuation of the actuator drives the locking pin into the first locking aperture when the locking pin is in horizontal registration with the first locking aperture, and drives the friction member into pressing engagement with the first shaft (see Figs. 2a-2b).
Regarding Claim 3, Lauritsen teaches that the adjustment mechanism further includes a biasing member (15) operably engaged with the locking pin such that the biasing member biases the locking pin to a position in which the locking pin is external of the plurality of locking apertures.
Regarding Claim 4, Lauritsen teaches that the actuator is a lever (8), the lever including a cam (the inner end contacting the top of 6) configured to engage at least one of the locking pin or the friction member.
Regarding Claim 5, Lauritsen teaches that the cam of the lever is configured to drive movement of the locking pin (toward the shaft) and the friction member (along a horizontal axis, perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (along 12) of the first shaft) in response to a rotation of the lever.
Regarding Claim 6, Lauritsen teaches a first handle (3) supported at a top end of the first shaft, wherein a vertical position of the first handle relative to the left-side frame is adjustable by sliding the first shaft relative to the left-side frame; and a second handle (E) supported at a top end of the second shaft, wherein a vertical position of the second handle relative to the right-side frame is adjustable by sliding the second shaft relative to the right-side frame.
Regarding Claim 7, Lauritsen teaches that the left-side frame includes a left upright support (F), the first shaft being slidably received in the left upright support.
Regarding Claim 8, Lauritsen teaches an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a position of a handle (3) or an armrest of a mobility aid, the adjustment mechanism comprising: a sleeve (G) defining a passageway therethrough (see Figs. 2a-2b); an actuator (8) movably coupled to the sleeve; a locking pin (4) movably supported in the sleeve and configured to move relative to the sleeve in response to an actuation of the actuator; and a friction member (10) movably supported in the sleeve and configured to move along a horizontal axis and relative to the sleeve in response to the actuation of the actuator, the horizontal axis being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (along 12) defined by the sleeve.
Regarding Claim 9, Lauritsen teaches a biasing member (15) engaged with the locking pin, the biasing member being configured to resiliently bias the locking pin toward the actuator.
Regarding Claim 10, Lauritsen teaches that the actuator includes a cam (the inner end of 8) engaged with a head of the locking pin and configured to drive axial movement of the locking pin and the friction member in response to a rotation of the actuator relative to the sleeve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has not presented any evidence that the drawings are of sufficient quality to discern the details therein. The drawing objections are therefore maintained.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments regarding the “friction member,” please see clarified rejections (based on a different portion of the same Lauritsen reference) set forth above. Lauritsen teaches a friction member (10) that has the structure and function of the claimed friction member.
The remainder of the Applicant’s arguments relies on the alleged shortcomings of the rejection of Claims 1 and 8 addressed above, presents no further arguments advancing the patentability of the dependent claims and as such, is not deemed persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636