DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on November 14th 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-18 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on August 21th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (TW I646727 B) in view of Hung et al. (US 20230035417 A1) and Chang et al. (US 20220094060 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yen et al. further discloses an electronic device (Mobile device 402 includes the housing and antenna structure; Abstract and figure 4 of Yen et al.), comprising:
a housing including a first slot and a second slot, wherein the first slot and the second slot extend along a same direction, the first slot has a first closed end and a second closed end, and the second slot has a third closed end and an open end (Metal back cover 110 comprises a first slot 120 with a first and second closed end and a second slot 130 with a third closed end and an open end wherein said slots both extend in the same direction and the metal back cover 110 may be a housing cover 410; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1b of Yen et al. ); and
an antenna structure (Antenna structure formed by a ground, radiating elements, and a substrate may be disposed in the housing; Pg. 5 of Yen et al.) disposed in the housing and including:
a grounding element (Grounding element 140; Pg. 3 and figure 1c of Yen et al.);
a first radiating element having a first end and a second end, the second end is located above and between the third closed end and the open end, and an orthogonal projection of the first radiating element that is projected onto the housing partially overlaps with and crosses on the first slot (Feed unit 150 comprises multiple parts 151-153 and serves a first radiating element wherein a first end is connected to a source which may be coupled to a ground and a second end now labeled E2 is over and between the third open end and the closed end wherein an orthogonal projection of the first radiation element overlaps and crosses with both slots including the first slot; Pg. 3-5 and annotated figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.); and
a second radiating element(Parasitic portion 160 serves as a second radiating element; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Yen et al. fails to explicitly disclose a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element, the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other.
However, Hung et al. does disclose a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element (First radiating element 810 comprises an end that can be connected to a ground through a capacitive element 852 and also has another end between the open and close end of the open slot that can also be connected to a grounding element and has a second radiating element 812 that can be connected to a feeding element 816; Paragraph 72-79 and figure 8 of Hung et al.).
Chang et al. further discloses the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other (Device 100 comprise a radiating element 170 that can serve as a first radiating element that has an orthogonal projection which does not overlap with a second slot 130 and a radiating element 180 can serve as a second radiating element that couples with the second slot 130; Paragraph 25-38 and figure 1 of Chang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al. a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element as taught by Hung et al. since a ground connects the antenna circuit to a metal surface (Paragraph 48 of Hung et al.) and the position of the a feed point and a ground point on the radiators affects antenna radiation characteristics.
It would also have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al. and Hung et al. to have the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other as taught by Chang et al since position and coupling of the radiating element can affect operating frequency or shift the frequency to allow fine tuning (Paragraph 32-38 of Chang et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Yen et al. further discloses wherein an orthogonal projection of the second radiating element that is projected onto the housing partially overlaps with the second slot, the first radiating element and the second slot are separate from and coupled with each other, and the second radiating element and the second slot are separated from and coupled with each other (Projection of the second radiating element 160 overlaps with the second slot 130 wherein the first slot and first radiating element 150 are on separate surfaces E1 and E2 but couple to each other and second radiating element 150 and Second slot 130 are also on surfaces E1 and E2 and couple with each other; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Yen et al. discloses an antenna structure disposed in a housing of an electronic device (Mobile device 402 includes the housing and antenna structure; Abstract and figure 4 of Yen et al.), the housing including a first slot and a second slot, the first slot and the second slot extending along a same direction, the first slot having a first closed end and a second closed end, the second slot having a third closed end and an open end (Metal back cover 110 comprises a first slot 120 with a first and second closed end and a second slot 130 with a third closed end and an open end wherein said slots both extend in the same direction and the metal back cover 110 may be a housing cover 410; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1b of Yen et al.), the antenna structure comprising:
a grounding element (Grounding element 140; Pg. 3 and figure 1c of Yen et al.);
a first radiating element having a first end and a second end, the second end is located above and between the third closed end and the open end, and an orthogonal projection of the first radiating element that is projected onto the housing partially overlaps with and crosses on the first slot (Feed unit 150 comprises multiple parts 151-153 and serves a first radiating element wherein a first end is connected to a source which may be coupled to a ground and a second end now labeled E2 is over and between the third open end and the closed end wherein an orthogonal projection of the first radiation element overlaps and crosses with both slots including the first slot; Pg. 3-5 and annotated figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.); and
a second radiating element (Parasitic portion 160 serves as a second radiating element; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.)..
Yen et al. fails to explicitly disclose a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element, the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other.
However, Hung et al. does disclose a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element (First radiating element 810 comprises an end that can be connected to a ground through a capacitive element 852 and also has another end between the open and close end of the open slot that can also be connected to a grounding element and has a second radiating element 812 that can be connected to a feeding element 816; Paragraph 72-79 and figure 8 of Hung et al.).
Chang et al. further discloses the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other (Device 100 comprise a radiating element 170 that can serve as a first radiating element that has an orthogonal projection which does not overlap with a second slot 130 and a radiating element 180 can serve as a second radiating element that couples with the second slot 130; Paragraph 25-38 and figure 1 of Chang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al. a first radiating element having a first end wherein the first end is connected to the grounding element a second radiating element electrically connected to a feeding element as taught by Hung et al. since a ground connects the antenna circuit to a metal surface (Paragraph 48 of Hung et al.) and the position of the a feed point and a ground point on the radiators affects antenna radiation characteristics. it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al. and Hung et al. to have the orthogonal projection of the first radiating element does not overlap with the second slot, and wherein the second radiating element and the second slot are coupled with each other as taught by Chang et al since position and coupling of the radiating element can affect operating frequency or shift the frequency to allow fine tuning (Paragraph 32-38 of Chang et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Yen et al. further discloses wherein an orthogonal projection of the second radiating element that is projected onto the housing partially overlaps with the second slot, the first radiating element and the second slot are separate from and coupled with each other, and the second radiating element and the second slot are separated from and coupled with each other (Projection of the second radiating element 160 overlaps with the second slot 130 wherein the first slot and first radiating element 150 are on separate surfaces E1 and E2 but couple to each other and second radiating element 150 and Second slot 130 are also on surfaces E1 and E2 and couple with each other; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Claim(s) 3-7, 9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (TW I646727 B) in view of Hung et al. (US 20230035417 A1), Chang et al. (US 20220094060 A1), and Yoon et al. (US 12362459 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fail to discloses wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end (Antenna structure comprises closed and open slots 522 and 512 that can serve as a first and second slot wherein a second radiating element 250 comprises a feed point p11 wherein a feeding element connects to and this feed point is between a center line now labeled CL and a an open end of the slot; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end as taught by Yoon et al. since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 4, Yen et al. further discloses the second slot has an upper edge and a lower edge that are connected between the open end and the third closed end (Second Slot 130 has a upper edge and a lower edge as seen in figure 1b of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge.
However, Yoon et al. does have the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge (Antenna structure comprises closed and open slots 522 and 512 that can serve as a first and second slot wherein a second radiating element 250 comprises a feed point p11 and this feeding point is located between the edges of the open slot and thus would be between a first position 2mm away from an upper edge and a second position 1mm away from a lower edge; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second radiating element have a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge as taught by Yoon et al since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 5, Yen et al. further discloses an orthogonal projection of the first radiating element that is projected onto the housing is separated from the second closed end by a minimum horizontal distance (First radiating element 150 is separated from a second closed end of slot 120 by a distance that is roughly half of the length L1 of slot 120 as seen in figure 1a-1b wherein L1 is .5 times the wavelengths of FBH1, 1700mhz to 2100mhz, which through conversion would be a range of 71-88mm and thus antenna would be displaced by half of that so 35-44mm away from a second closed end; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1d of Yen et al.)
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end and the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm.
Although Yoon et al. does not explicitly disclose the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm. Yoon et al. does disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end and the minimum horizontal distance ranges (Slot 522 comprises a first and second closed ends and a Slot 512 comprising a third closed end and an open end wherein the second closed end is located between the first and third closed end wherein Slot 520 comprises a length of 521 which can be 21mm and radiating element 260 would be half of that at 11mm and thus the distance from a second closed end of the slot and the second radiating element would range between 1-11mm and as seen in figure 17b the horizontal distance is 2mm ; Paragraph 78-86, 137, and 204 as well as figure 5a-5b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end as taught by Yoon et al. since the positioning of the slots influences how current flows between them and the resonance generated by them (Paragraph 95-102 of Yen et al.). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact the position of the first radiating element in regards to the slots would affect the coupling of the elements and thus the radiation characteristics.
Regarding Claim 6, Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end, the second closed end and the third closed end are separated from each other by a gap, and the gap ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end, the second closed end and the third closed end are separated from each other by a gap, and the gap ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm (Slot 522 comprises a first and second closed ends and a Slot 512 comprising a third closed end and an open end wherein the second closed end is located between the first and third closed end and the second closed end and third closed end are separated by a gap which ranges with a distance of 2mm as seen in figure 17b; Paragraph 78-86 and 204 as well as figure 5a-5b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end, the second closed end and the third closed end are separated from each other by a gap, and the gap ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm as taught by Yoon et al. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact the positioning of the slots influences how current flows between them and the resonance generated by them (Paragraph 95-102 of Yen et al.) and gap distance would affect how the slots couple with each other and thus the overall radiation.
Regarding Claim 7, Yen et al. further discloses wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are separated from each other by a minimum distance (Radiating portion 150 and portion 160 are separated from each other by a minimum distance as seen in figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose a minimum distance, and the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm (Radiating element 1750 and Radiating element 1760 are separated from each other by a distance of roughly 17mm, which is greater than .3mm, based on the specific distances of all of the components as seen in figure 17b; Paragraph 203-208 of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have a minimum distance, and the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm as taught by Yoon et al. since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from the fact that the distance between radiating elements would affect how the couple with each other and thus the overall radiation of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 9, Yen et al. further discloses wherein the first radiating element extends from the first end to the second end and has a first extending length between the first end and the second end; wherein the second radiating element has a third end and a fourth end, the second radiating element extends from the third end to the fourth end and has a second extending length between the third end and the fourth end, and the first extending length is greater than the second extending length (Radiation portion 150 comprises a length from one end to the second end E2 and portion 160 comprises a length from one end to a second end W5 wherein length of portion 150 is greater than length of portion 160 as seen in figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fail to explicitly disclose the third end is electrically connected to the feeding element.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose a third end is electrically connected to the feeding element (Feed point p11 may be placed on an end of radiating portion 250 wherein this end may serve as a 3rd end; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have a third end is electrically connected to the feeding element as taught by Yoon et al. since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 13, Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fail to discloses wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end (Antenna structure comprises closed and open slots 522 and 512 that can serve as a first and second slot wherein a second radiating element 250 comprises a feed point p11 wherein a feeding element connects to and this feed point is between a center line now labeled CL and a an open end of the slot; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element, a center position between the third closed end and the open end defines a center line, and the feeding point is located between the center line and the open end as taught by Yoon et al. since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 14, Yen et al. further discloses the second slot has an upper edge and a lower edge that are connected between the open end and the third closed end (Second Slot 130 has a upper edge and a lower edge as seen in figure 1b of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge.
However, Yoon et al. does have the second radiating element has a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge (Antenna structure comprises closed and open slots 522 and 512 that can serve as a first and second slot wherein a second radiating element 250 comprises a feed point p11 and this feeding point is located between the edges of the open slot and thus would be between a first position 2mm away from an upper edge and a second position 1mm away from a lower edge; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second radiating element have a feeding point that is electrically connected to the feeding element and the feeding point is located between a first position 2 mm away from the upper edge and a second position 1 mm away from the lower edge as taught by Yoon et al since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 15, Yen et al. further discloses an orthogonal projection of the first radiating element that is projected onto the housing is separated from the second closed end by a minimum horizontal distance (First radiating element 150 is separated from a second closed end of slot 120 by a distance that is roughly half of the length L1 of slot 120 as seen in figure 1a-1b wherein L1 is .5 times the wavelengths of FBH1, 1700mhz to 2100mhz, which through conversion would be a range of 71-88mm and thus antenna would be displaced by half of that so 35-44mm away from a second closed end; Pg. 3-5 and figure 1d of Yen et al.)
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end and the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm.
Although Yoon et al. does not explicitly disclose the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm. Yoon et al. does disclose wherein the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end and the minimum horizontal distance ranges (Slot 522 comprises a first and second closed ends and a Slot 512 comprising a third closed end and an open end wherein the second closed end is located between the first and third closed end wherein Slot 520 comprises a length of 521 which can be 21mm and radiating element 260 would be half of that at 11mm and thus the distance from a second closed end of the slot and the second radiating element would range between 1-11mm and as seen in figure 17b the horizontal distance is 2mm ; Paragraph 78-86, 137, and 204 as well as figure 5a-5b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the second closed end is located between the first closed end and the third closed end as taught by Yoon et al. since the positioning of the slots influences how current flows between them and the resonance generated by them (Paragraph 95-102 of Yen et al.). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al. and Hung et al. to have the minimum horizontal distance ranges between 1 mm and 7 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact the position of the first radiating element in regards to the slots would affect the coupling of the elements and thus the radiation characteristics.
Regarding Claim 16, Yen et al. further discloses wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are separated from each other by a minimum distance (Radiating portion 150 and portion 160 are separated from each other by a minimum distance as seen in figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose a minimum distance, and the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm (Radiating element 1750 and Radiating element 1760 are separated from each other by a distance of roughly 17mm, which is greater than .3mm, based on the specific distances of all of the components as seen in figure 17b; Paragraph 203-208 of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have a minimum distance, and the minimum distance is greater than 0.3 mm as taught by Yoon et al. since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from the fact that the distance between radiating elements would affect how the couple with each other and thus the overall radiation of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 17, Yen et al. further discloses wherein the first radiating element extends from the first end to the second end and has a first extending length between the first end and the second end; wherein the second radiating element has a third end and a fourth end, the second radiating element extends from the third end to the fourth end and has a second extending length between the third end and the fourth end, and the first extending length is greater than the second extending length (Radiation portion 150 comprises a length from one end to the second end E2 and portion 160 comprises a length from one end to a second end W5 wherein length of portion 150 is greater than length of portion 160 as seen in figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.).
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fail to explicitly disclose the third end is electrically connected to the feeding element.
However, Yoon et al. does disclose a third end is electrically connected to the feeding element (Feed point p11 may be placed on an end of radiating portion 250 wherein this end may serve as a 3rd end; Paragraph 70-76 and annotated figure 5a-b of Yoon et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have a third end is electrically connected to the feeding element as taught by Yoon et al. since the location of the feeding point would affect the current direction (Figure 5b of Yoon et al.) and the overall radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (TW I646727 B) in view of Hung et al. (US 20230035417 A1), Chang et al. (US 20220094060 A1), and Huang et al. (US 9929473 B2).
Regarding Claim 8, Yen et al. further discloses wherein the feeding element is used to excite the second slot to generate a first operating frequency band (Feed source 190 feeds a signal that can excite the second slot to generate a higher mode band FBH2 that cans serve as a first frequency that is higher than two other frequencies being generated by the antenna device; Pg. 4 and figure 1a-1d of Yen et al.)
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. fails to explicitly disclose the feeding element is used to excite the second radiating element and the second slot to generate a second operating frequency band, and the second operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band; wherein the first radiating element, the second radiating element, the first slot, and the second slot jointly generate a third operating frequency band, and the third operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band and the second operating frequency band.
However, Huang et al. further discloses the feeding element is used to excite the second radiating element and the second slot to generate a second operating frequency band, and the second operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band; wherein the first radiating element, the second radiating element, the first slot, and the second slot jointly generate a third operating frequency band, and the third operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band and the second operating frequency band (Antenna comprising 2 slots 131 and 132 wherein antenna can resonate in a second resonance path 220 caused by slot 132 and a second radiating portion 302 wherein this second band 520 would be higher than a band 540 which can serve as the first band and furthermore the antenna can resonate in a resonance path 210 using both slots and both radiating elements wherein this path has a band 510 which can serve as the third band since it is lower than the other 2 bands; Paragraph 12-23 and figure 4 of Huang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. to have the feeding element is used to excite the second radiating element and the second slot to generate a second operating frequency band, and the second operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band; wherein the first radiating element, the second radiating element, the first slot, and the second slot jointly generate a third operating frequency band, and the third operating frequency band is lower than the first operating frequency band and the second operating frequency band as taught by Huang et al. to allow the slot antenna to resonate in multiple modes and thus cover multiple bands that can be higher or lower bands (Paragraph 11 of Huang et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10 and 18, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein a center line is defined along an extending direction of the first slot, and the center line is located between the upper edge, and the lower edge of the second slot, and between an upper edge and a lower edge of the first slot.” as recited in claim 10 and 18.
Yen et al., Hung et al., and Chang et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed inventions including an antenna structure comprising a first slot, a second slot, a first radiating element, a second radiating element, a grounding element, and a feeding element.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20220094060 A1 (CHANG; Kun-Sheng et al.) discloses an antenna device with 2 slots and radiating elements overlapping these slot antennas.
US 10978807 B2 (Yen; Ming-Ching et al.) discloses an antenna device comprising an open slot coupled to a closed slot with a radiating element disposed over the open slot.
US 10897087 B2 (Chen; Juhung et al.) discloses an antenna with a slot that comprises a divider element separating it into 2 slots with radiating elements disposed over each slot.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845