Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 – 3, 6, 8, and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman (US 2015/0020580 A1 – hereafter “Hoffman”).
As per claim 1, Hoffman teaches a temperature measurement apparatus for fluids, comprising:
a base (production equipment 1), wherein a fluid flowing in a flow direction passes through the base (see para [0026] – [0027]);
and a plurality of temperature sensors (4,5,6,7,8) disposed on or around the base (see para [0027]), the plurality of temperature sensors being configured to measure a plurality of temperatures of the fluid (see para [0027], [0054]).
As per claim 2, Hoffman further teaches a temperature collector configured to collect and process the plurality of temperatures of the fluid measured by the plurality of temperature sensors (see processor 11, and computer device 9, para [0029], [0031]).
As per claim 3, Hoffman further teaches a wire configured to connect the plurality of temperature sensors to the temperature collector (see In/Out device 10, para [0029]).
As per claim 6, Hoffman further teaches a support rod (internal rod) fixed in the base (production equipment 1), and wherein the plurality of temperature sensors (304, 305, 306, 308) are mounted to the support rod (see para [0062]).
As per claim 8, Hoffman further teaches an extension rod connected to the base and configured to extend parallel to the flow direction (internally hollow vertical rod extending into conduit 31 along a longitudinal axis of production equipment 1), wherein the plurality of temperature sensors (304, 305, 306, 308) are mounted on the extension rod (see para [0062]).
As per claim 10, Hoffman further teaches a support rod fixed in the base and configured to extend through a center of the base (vertical rod extending through the center of conduit 31), wherein at least one of the plurality of the temperature sensors (304, 305, 306, 308) is mounted on the support rod (see para [0062]).
As per claim 11, Hoffman further teaches a hole formed through the base and configured such that the fluid passes through the hole (conduit 31 formed through production equipment 1 through which the multiphase fluid passes), wherein the plurality of the temperature sensors (4,5,6,7,8) comprises a group of temperature sensors disposed around the hole (see para [0062]).
As per claim 12, Hoffman further teaches a hole formed through the base and configured such that the fluid passes through the hole (conduit 31 formed through production equipment 1 through which the multiphase fluid passes), wherein the plurality of the temperature sensors comprises a group of temperature sensors (4,5,6,7,8) connected to the base and disposed to be spaced apart from the base (see para [0027], [0062]).
As per claim 13, Hoffman further teaches a hole formed through the base and configured such that the fluid passes through the hole (conduit 31 formed through production equipment 1 through which the multiphase fluid passes), wherein the plurality of the temperature sensors comprises a group temperature sensor connected to the base and disposed in a center of the hole (internal rod with temperature sensors mounted thereon positioned at the center of conduit 31, see para [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Solbrig et al. (US 2016/0040579 A1 – hereafter “Solbrig”).
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “The temperature measurement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base is a gasket disposed between parts connected to each other, wherein the fluid flows through the parts.”
Hoffman fails to teach the base is a gasket disposed between parts connected to each other, wherein the fluid flows through the parts.
Solbrig teaches the center zone conduit 44 in sealing fluid contact with the downstream outlet end 36 of the filter structure, disposed between and connecting the center flow zone 40 and perimeter flow zone 42 of the particulate filter through which exhaust gas flows (see para [0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Solbrig to incorporate a gasket disposed between connected parts through which the fluid flows in order to provide a sealing connection between fluid flow components to prevent fluid leakage and ensure accurate temperature measurements.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “The temperature measurement apparatus of claim 4, wherein the fluid is exhaust gas flowing along exhaust system components of a vehicle, and wherein the base is a gasket configured to airtightly connect the exhaust system components to each other.”
Hoffman fails to teach the fluid is exhaust gas flowing along exhaust system components of a vehicle, and wherein the base is a gasket configured to airtightly connect the exhaust system components to each other.
Solbrig teaches exhaust gas 11 flowing through exhaust system components of an internal combustion engine vehicle, with center zone conduit 44 in sealing fluid contact connecting the exhaust system components to each other (see para [0016], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Solbrig to incorporate a gasket configure to airtightly connect exhaust system components through which exhaust gas flows in order to prevent exhaust gas leakage and ensure accurate temperature measurement of the exhaust gas flow.
As per claim 14 Hoffman teaches a temperature measurement method for moving fluids by a temperature measurement apparatus comprising a base, a plurality of temperature sensors, and a temperature collector configured to collect and process a plurality of temperatures measured by the plurality of temperature sensors, the temperature measurement method (see para [0026] – [0027]; [0029]);
but fails to teach comparing a first temperature of a fluid measured at an upstream of the base and a second temperature of the fluid measured at a center of a fluid flow configured to pass through the base; comparing the second temperature to a third temperature of the fluid measured at a downstream of the base; comparing the second temperature to one or more fourth temperatures of the fluid measured at a plurality of points in a perimeter of the fluid flow configured to pass through the base; and determining whether values of the first temperature, the second temperature, the third temperature, and the one or more fourth temperatures follow a predetermined order based on the comparisons.
Solbrig teaches comparing a first temperature of a fluid measured at an upstream of the base and a second temperature of the fluid measured at a center of a fluid flow configured to pass through the base (comparing temperatures at upstream inlet end 34 and center zone 40 of the particulate filter see para [0017], [0019]);
comparing the second temperature to a third temperature of the fluid measured at a downstream of the base (comparing center zone 40 temperature to temperatures at downstream outlet end 36, see para [0017], [0019]);
comparing the second temperature to one or more fourth temperatures of the fluid measured at a plurality of points in a perimeter of the fluid flow (comparing center zone 40 temperature to temperatures measured at perimeter zone 42, see para [0017], [0019]);
and determining whether values of the first temperature, the second temperature, the third temperature, and the one or more fourth temperatures follow a predetermined order based on the comparisons (controller 48 determining whether temperatures follow a predetermined level based on the comparisons, see para [0019] – [0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Solbrig to incorporate upstream, center, downstream, and perimeter temperature comparisons and predetermined order determination into the temperature measurement method of Hoffman in order to more accurately monitor and control fluid temperature distribution and detect abnormal temperature conditions within the fluid flow.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Murakami et al. (US 4,625,564 A – hereafter “Murakami”).
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “The temperature measurement apparatus of claim 6, further comprising one or more reinforcement members configured to reinforce fixation of the support rod to the base.”
Hoffman fails to teach one or more reinforcement members configured to reinforce fixation of the support rod to the base.
Murakami teaches bolts 18 fastening flange 12 to the vortex shedder 5, wherein the flange 12 serves as a fulcrum intermediate the ends of the sensor assembly 6, and the sensor assembly 6 is rigidly connected to the conduit 2 via said flange, thereby functioning as reinforcement members configured to reinforce fixation of the support rod (sensor assembly 6) to the base (conduit 2) (see col. 3, lines 15 – 30; col. 4, lines 40 – 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Murakami to incorporate reinforcement members configured to reinforce fixation of the support rod to the base in order to improve the structural stability of the support rod, prevent vibration-induced measurement error during fluid flow.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Davis et al. (US 2022/0333774 A1 – hereafter “Davis”).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “The temperature measurement apparatus of claim 8, wherein the extension rod is formed of a soft material.” Hoffman fails to teach the extension rod is formed of a soft material.
Davis teaches temperature sensor probe 16 formed of a flexible material, wherein the probe extends parallel to the fluid flow direction with a temperature sensor mounted thereon. Davis explicitly discloses that temperature probe 16 may be embodied as a flexible material composition, extending parallel to the stem of an analog temperature gauge within a fluid vessel (see para [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Davis to form the extension rod of a soft material in order to allow the extension rod to accommodate variations in pipe geometry and reduce the risk of damage to the sensor assembly during installation and operation within the fluid flow path, as such flexible/soft material probes were known alternatives to rigid probes in fluid temperature measurement contexts.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Solbrig in further view Bellis et al. (US 2013/0259088 A1 – hereafter “Bellis”).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “The temperature measurement method according to claim 14, further comprising: determining whether the one or more fourth temperatures measured at the plurality of points is within a designated error range with respect to one another; and comparing the second temperature with the one or more fourth temperatures, upon determining that the one or more fourth temperatures are within the designated error range.
Hoffman in view of Solbrig fails to teach a method determining whether the one or more fourth temperatures measured at the plurality of points is within a designated error range with respect to one another; and comparing the second temperature with the one or more fourth temperatures, upon determining that the one or more fourth temperatures are within the designated error range.
However, Bellis teaches checking each sensor ladder output against a corrected average from overlapping sensor ladders to determine whether temperature readings are within a designated error range with respect to one another, and comparing temperature outputs upon confirming readings are within the designated error range (see para [0052], [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hoffman in view of Solbrig in further view of Bellis to incorporate error range checking among perimeter temperature sensors prior to making temperature comparisons in order to ensure the reliability and accuracy of the perimeter temperature measurements before using them in the temperature comparison method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MANUEL SALVADOR CASTELLON JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 /JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855