DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/30/24 and 2/24/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. WO 2024/036657; English Machine Translation Attached).
In claim 1, Liu discloses (Fig. 1-5) a motor control unit, comprising: a cooling assembly comprising a box (1), the box comprising a cooling portion (4), a first mounting portion (upper portion of 4) and a second mounting portion (bottom portion of 4), the first mounting portion being on a side of the cooling portion (4) in a first direction, and the second mounting portion being on the other side of the cooling portion (4) opposite the first mounting portion in the first direction; a power assembly (5) being on the first mounting portion; and a filtration assembly (3) being on the second mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) being for simultaneous cooling of the power assembly (5) and the filtration assembly (3).
In claim 2, Liu discloses wherein the box (1) comprises a third mounting portion (portion of 6 mounted to 4), the third mounting portion is on a side of the cooling portion in a second direction (parallel to the first direction), and the motor control unit further comprises a three-phase output assembly (6) within the third mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) is for the cooling of the three-phase output assembly (6).
In claim 3, Liu discloses wherein the box comprises a fourth mounting portion (portion of 2 mounted to 4), the fourth mounting portion is on the other side of the cooling portion opposite the third mounting portion in the second direction; and the motor control unit further comprises a capacitor assembly (2) within the fourth mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) is for the cooling of the capacitor assembly (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. WO 2024/036657; English Machine Translation Attached) in view of Yu et al. (US 2024/0113601).
In claim 5, Liu teaches the control unit of claim 3, with the exception of wherein the fourth mounting portion is constructed as a recess structure, and the capacitor assembly is potted in the recess structure by a potting adhesive.
However, Yu teaches (Fig. 1-12) a motor control unit (1) wherein a mounting portion is constructed as a recess structure (100), and a capacitor assembly (400) is potted in the recess structure by a potting adhesive (332).
Therefore in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide increased heat conducting efficiency with the respective components (Yu; [0057]).
In claim 6, Liu teaches the control unit of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the cooling portion comprises a liquid inlet pipe, a liquid outlet pipe and a cooling cavity connected to the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe respectively and provided with an opening on a side facing the first mounting portion, the power assembly is fixedly mounted at the first mounting portion, and the power assembly and the cooling cavity define a closed space for accommodating a cooling liquid.
However, Yu teaches (Fig. 1-12) a motor control unit (1) wherein a cooling portion (100) comprises a liquid inlet pipe (250), a liquid outlet pipe (260) and a cooling cavity (230) connected to the liquid inlet pipe (250) and the liquid outlet pipe (260) respectively and provided with an opening on a side facing the first mounting portion (portion 100 having 300 on top), the power assembly (300) is fixedly mounted at the first mounting portion, and the power assembly (300) and the cooling cavity (230) define a closed space for accommodating a cooling liquid ([0064]).
Therefore in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide cooling fluid to better dissipate the heat of the respective components (Yu; [0057]).
In claim 7, Liu as modified teaches the control unit of claim 6, with the exception of further comprising a sealing member mounted at a junction of the power assembly and the cooling cavity.
However, Yu further teaches a sealing member (131) mounted at a junction (130) of the power assembly (300) and the cooling cavity (230).
Therefore further in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to seal the cooling fluid to better dissipate the heat of the respective components (Yu; [0057]).
Claim(s) 13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujihara et al. (US 2012/0103716) in view of Liu et al. WO 2024/036657; English Machine Translation Attached).
In claim 13, Fujihara teaches (Fig. 1-7) an electric drive assembly (M), comprising an electric drive housing (50) and a motor control unit (32).
Fujihara does not teach the motor control unit comprising: a cooling assembly comprising a box, the box comprising a cooling portion, a first mounting portion and a second mounting portion, the first mounting portion being on a side of the cooling portion in a first direction, and the second mounting portion being on the other side of the cooling portion opposite the first mounting portion in the first direction; a power assembly being on the first mounting portion; and a filtration assembly being on the second mounting portion, the cooling portion being for simultaneous cooling of the power assembly and the filtration assembly.
However, Liu teaches (Fig. 1-5) a motor control unit, comprising: a cooling assembly comprising a box (1), the box comprising a cooling portion (4), a first mounting portion (upper portion of 4) and a second mounting portion (bottom portion of 4), the first mounting portion being on a side of the cooling portion (4) in a first direction, and the second mounting portion being on the other side of the cooling portion (4) opposite the first mounting portion in the first direction; a power assembly (5) being on the first mounting portion; and a filtration assembly (3) being on the second mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) being for simultaneous cooling of the power assembly (5) and the filtration assembly (3).
Therefore in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a motor control unit of compact size so as to not interfere with the structure of the electric drive assembly (Page 1).
In claim 15, Fujihara as modified teaches the assembly of claim 13, with the exception of wherein the box further comprises a third mounting portion; and the third mounting portion is on a side of the cooling portion in a second direction, and the motor control unit further comprises a three-phase output assembly within the third mounting portion, the cooling portion is for the cooling of the three-phase output assembly.
However, Liu further teaches wherein the box (1) comprises a third mounting portion (portion of 6 mounted to 4), the third mounting portion is on a side of the cooling portion in a second direction (parallel to the first direction), and the motor control unit further comprises a three-phase output assembly (6) within the third mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) is for the cooling of the three-phase output assembly (6).
Therefore further in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a motor control unit of compact size so as to not interfere with the structure of the electric drive assembly (Page 1).
In claim 16, Fujihara as modified teaches the assembly of claim 13, with the exception of wherein the box further comprises a fourth mounting portion, and the fourth mounting portion on the other side of the cooling portion opposite the third mounting portion in the second direction; and the motor control unit further comprises a capacitor assembly within the fourth mounting portion, the cooling portion is for the cooling of the capacitor assembly.
However, Liu further teaches wherein the box comprises a fourth mounting portion (portion of 2 mounted to 4), the fourth mounting portion is on the other side of the cooling portion opposite the third mounting portion in the second direction; and the motor control unit further comprises a capacitor assembly (2) within the fourth mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) is for the cooling of the capacitor assembly (2).
Therefore further in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a motor control unit of compact size so as to not interfere with the structure of the electric drive assembly (Page 1).
In claim 19, Fujihara teaches (Fig. 1-7) a vehicle (M) comprising an electric drive assembly (32, 50); the electric drive assembly comprising an electric drive housing (50) and a motor control unit (32).
Fujihara does not teach the motor control unit comprising: a cooling assembly comprising a box, the box comprising a cooling portion, a first mounting portion and a second mounting portion, the first mounting portion being on a side of the cooling portion in a first direction, and the second mounting portion being on the other side of the cooling portion opposite the first mounting portion in the first direction; a power assembly being on the first mounting portion; and a filtration assembly being on the second mounting portion, the cooling portion being for simultaneous cooling of the power assembly and the filtration assembly.
However, Liu teaches (Fig. 1-5) a motor control unit, comprising: a cooling assembly comprising a box (1), the box comprising a cooling portion (4), a first mounting portion (upper portion of 4) and a second mounting portion (bottom portion of 4), the first mounting portion being on a side of the cooling portion (4) in a first direction, and the second mounting portion being on the other side of the cooling portion (4) opposite the first mounting portion in the first direction; a power assembly (5) being on the first mounting portion; and a filtration assembly (3) being on the second mounting portion, the cooling portion (4) being for simultaneous cooling of the power assembly (5) and the filtration assembly (3).
Therefore in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a motor control unit of compact size so as to not interfere with the structure of the electric drive assembly (Page 1).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujihara et al. (US 2012/0103716) in view of Liu et al. WO 2024/036657; English Machine Translation Attached), and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2024/0113601).
In claim 17, Fujihara as modified teaches the assembly of claim 16, with the exception of wherein the fourth mounting portion is constructed as a recess structure, and the capacitor assembly is potted in the recess structure by a potting adhesive.
However, Yu teaches (Fig. 1-12) a motor control unit (1) wherein a mounting portion is constructed as a recess structure (100), and a capacitor assembly (400) is potted in the recess structure by a potting adhesive (332).
Therefore in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide increased heat conducting efficiency with the respective components (Yu; [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-12, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitation of the (in)dependent claim(s), in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the features as presented in the (in)dependent claim(s) with the allowable feature being:
Claim 4: “wherein the first mounting portion, the third mounting portion and the fourth mounting portion are on a side of the box in the first direction, and the second mounting portion is on the other opposite side of the box in the first direction.”
Claim 8: “the cooling cavity comprising a plurality of sub-cavities spaced between the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe and connected to the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe respectively, and the sub-cavities are in one-to-one correspondence to the power modules; and each power module is hermetically mounted in the sub-cavity through one sealing member.”
Claim 10: “the motor control unit further comprising a control circuit board and a shield plate, wherein the control circuit board is arranged at a side, far away from the cooling portion, of the power assembly, and the shield plate is arranged between the control circuit board and the power assembly.”
Claim 11: “the motor control unit further comprising a filtration cover plate, wherein the filtration cover plate is fixedly mounted at the second mounting portion and defines, with the second mounting portion, a first accommodation space for accommodating the filtration assembly.”
Claim 12: “wherein the box further comprises a high- voltage input port connected to a battery assembly, a high-voltage output port connected to a drive motor, and a low-voltage signal interface connected to a control circuit board; and the box further comprises a boost wiring harness interface, one end of the boost wiring harness interface is connected to the filtration assembly, and the other end of the boost wiring harness interface is used to connect to the battery assembly.”
Claim 14: “a box of the motor control unit hermetically mounted on the opening of the mounting cavity, and the motor control unit and the mounting cavity defining a second accommodation space for accommodating a control circuit board and a power assembly of the motor control unit.”
Claim 20: “a box of the motor control unit hermetically mounted on the opening of the mounting cavity, and the motor control unit and the mounting cavity defining a second accommodation space for accommodating a control circuit board and a power assembly of the motor control unit.”
The examiner found no prior art satisfies all above conditions by itself or as combined during the prosecution period.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crosson et al. (US 12381441) teaches an electric machine assembly including a shaft configured to rotate about an axis and an end frame coupled about the shaft such that the shaft rotates relative to the end frame.
Sato et al. (US 2024/0421670) teaches a motor device including a motor and a motor control device.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834