DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments:
Applicant's amendments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered. Claim 1-20 remain pending in the application. The Applicant amended claim language and scope of the claims to overcome previous rejection. Accordingly, the amendment necessitated new search for rejection presented in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 as unpatentable is maintained.
With regard to the Remarks on page 11, Applicant argues that the references does not disclose element recited in claim 1. Applicant state that, the reference “Wang” fails to describe the claimed "configuration information" that "includes an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode and/or an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode," as claimed.
However, the examiner respectfully disagree. Wang still read on limitation in claim 1.
Regard to independent Claim 1 partially recited:
“the unified data management is configured to…
wherein the authentication mode includes an external authentication mode or an internal authentication mode, the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode and/or an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode, the authentication obtaining response message includes an anonymous subscription permanent identifier and authentication indication information indicating the authentication mode, and the anonymous subscription permanent identifier includes the anonymous domain information;”
Wang discloses the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks.
The processing circuitry is configured to receive, from an authentication server in the wireless communication network, a request for authentication data for a wireless communication device, and to transmit, to the authentication server, a response that indicates primary authentication of the wireless communication device is to be run with an external authentication server external to the wireless communication network and that includes an identifier to be presented to the external authentication server. (page 5 line 10 line 15)
And Wang further discloses,
The UE shall be configured with credentials from the Credentials holder, e.g., SUPI containing a network-specific identifier and credentials for any key-generating EAP-method. (page 9 line 35 to page 10 line 1)
For the above mentioned reasons, the rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained. Claim 8 recites feature similar to those recited in claim 1, and therefore the rejection of independent claim 8 is also maintained.
With regard to independent claim 13, which was amended, and recites feature similar to those discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13 partially recited:
“…and wherein the authentication mode is determined based on the anonymous domain information and configuration information, and the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode and/or an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode;”
As mentioned above, Wang discloses the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks.
The processing circuitry is configured to receive, from an authentication server in the wireless communication network, a request for authentication data for a wireless communication device, and to transmit, to the authentication server, a response that indicates primary authentication of the wireless communication device is to be run with an external authentication server external to the wireless communication network and that includes an identifier to be presented to the external authentication server. (page 5 line 10 line 15)
And Wang further discloses,
The UE shall be configured with credentials from the Credentials holder, e.g., SUPI containing a network-specific identifier and credentials for any key-generating EAP-method. (page 9 line 35 to page 10 line 1)
For the above mentioned reasons, Therefore, the rejection of claim 13 is maintained.
Subsequently, the rejection of all dependent claims are also maintained. Please see the Claim Rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (Hereinafter “Wang”, WO2023041634).
Regarding claim 1, 8, Wang discloses A communication system, wherein the communication system comprises unified data management and an authentication server function, (i.e., Figure 3 shows primary authentication with an external domain according to some embodiments. Figures 4 and 5 illustrate the different cases depending on the type of SUCI provided by the UE. As described on page 9 line 33-34. Figures 4 and 5 illustrate the different cases depending on the type of SUCI provided by the UE.)
the authentication server function is configured to send an authentication obtaining request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication obtaining request message includes an anonymous subscription concealed identifier, the anonymous subscription concealed identifier includes anonymous domain information, and the anonymous domain information indicates is usable to indicate an identifier of a network to which an authentication device capable of authenticating a terminal device belongs; (i.e., 3. The AUSF shall initiate a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get service operation. The AUSF shall select a UDM also using the SUCI/SUPI provided by the AMF as specified in TS 23.501 V17.1.1. As described on page 10 line 15 - 18.)
the unified data management is configured to:
receive the authentication obtaining request message from the authentication server function, determine, based on the anonymous domain information and configuration information, an authentication mode for authenticating the terminal device, (i.e., 4. In case the UDM receives a SUCI, the UDM shall resolve the SUCI to the SUPI before checking the authentication method applicable for the SUPI. As described on page 10, line 19-26.)
and send an authentication obtaining response message to the authentication server function, (i.e., 5. The UDM shall provide the AUSF with the UE SUPI and shall indicate to the AUSF to run primary authentication with an external Credentials holder. As described on page 10, line 27-32 .)
wherein the authentication mode includes an external authentication mode or an internal authentication mode, the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode and/or an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode, the authentication obtaining response message includes an anonymous subscription permanent identifier and authentication indication information indicating the authentication mode, and the anonymous subscription permanent identifier includes the anonymous domain information; (The processing circuitry is configured to receive, from an authentication server in the wireless communication network, a request for authentication data for a wireless communication device, and to transmit, to the authentication server, a response that indicates primary authentication of the wireless communication device is to be run with an external authentication server external to the wireless communication network and that includes an identifier to be presented to the external authentication server. As described on (page 5 line 10 line 15))
And Wang further discloses,
The UE shall be configured with credentials from the Credentials holder, e.g., SUPI containing a network-specific identifier and credentials for any key-generating EAP-method. As described on (page 9 line 35 to page 10 line 1)
the authentication server function is further configured to:
receive the authentication obtaining response message from the unified data management, and send an authentication request message to a network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function based on the authentication indication information, wherein the authentication request message is used usable to request to authenticate the terminal device, and the authentication request message includes the anonymous subscription permanent identifier. (i.e., 6. Based on the indication from the UDM, the AUSF shall select an NSSAAF as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.1 and initiate a Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation towards that NSSAAF as defined in section 14.4.x of TS 23.501 v17.1.1. As described on page 10, line 33 to page 11 line 1).
Regarding claim 2, 10, 11, 15, and 16, Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses wherein the anonymous subscription concealed identifier further includes anonymous user name information and a routing indicator, and the anonymous user name information is a default value xx (i.e., the UE may on the other hand provide an “anonymous SUCI” during the UE registration which triggers the primary authentication procedure,. As described on page 8 line 19.)
Regard to Claim 9, Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the anonymous domain information and configuration information, an authentication mode for authenticating the terminal device includes:
in response to the identifier of the network to which the authentication device capable of authenticating the terminal device belongs matches matching the identifier of the one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode, determining that the authentication mode for authenticating the terminal device is the external authentication mode; or
in response to the identifier of the network to which the authentication device capable of authenticating the terminal device belongs matches matching the identifier of the one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode, determining that the authentication mode for authenticating the terminal device is the internal authentication mode. (i.e., 4. In case the UDM receives a SUCI, the UDM shall resolve the SUCI to the SUPI before checking the authentication method applicable for the SUPI. The UDM decides to run primary authentication with an external entity based on subscription data or by looking at the realm part of the SUPI in NAI format. When anonymous SUCI is used, the UDM can still decide based on the realm part of SUPI, perhaps in combination with subscription data, that primary authentication is to be run with an external entity. Alternatively, the AUSF may skip the interaction with the UDM and decide to execute primary authentication based on local configuration of realm part of the SUPI. As described on page 10 line 19-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang (Hereinafter “Wang”, WO2023041634), in view of CASTELLANOS (Hereinafter “Castellanos”, WO2021094109).
Regarding claim 3, and 12 Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Wang further discloses wherein the system further comprises the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function;
the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function is configured to: receive the authentication request message from the authentication server function, and send an authentication response message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication response message includes a real subscription permanent identifier and/or an authentication success message, the real subscription permanent identifier includes real user name information, the real user name information identifies is usable to identify the terminal device, and the authentication success message is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., 10. The NSSAAF returns the MSK and the UE ID received from step 6 and/or the authenticated UE ID received from step 9 (SUPI or alternative UEID/GPSI) to the AUSF using the Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation response message. As described on page 11 line 17-21).
Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication response message from the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function, and send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; and
the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information.
In similarly endeavor, Castellanos discloses the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication response message from the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function, and send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., In operation 1 of Figure 1, the AUSF can inform the UDM about the result and time of an authentication procedure with a communication device using a Nudm UEAuthentication ResultConfirmation Request. As described in paragraph [0041] ).
And the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information. (i.e., In operation 2, the UDM stores the authentication status of the communication device (e.g., the SUPI, authentication result, timestamp, and the serving network name). As further described in paragraph [0041] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Castellanos into the invention of Wang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regard to claim 13, Wang discloses: A communication method, comprising:
sending an authentication obtaining request message to unified data management, wherein the authentication obtaining request message includes an anonymous subscription concealed identifier, the anonymous subscription concealed identifier includes anonymous domain information, and the anonymous domain information is usable to indicate an identifier of a network to which an authentication device capable of authenticating a terminal device belongs; (i.e., 3. The AUSF shall initiate a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get service operation. The AUSF shall select a UDM also using the SUCI/SUPI provided by the AMF as specified in TS 23.501 V17.1.1. As described on page 10 line 15 - 18.)
receiving an authentication obtaining response message from the unified data management, wherein the authentication obtaining response message includes authentication indication information and an anonymous subscription permanent identifier, the authentication indication information is usable to indicate an authentication mode for authenticating the terminal device, the anonymous subscription permanent identifier includes the anonymous domain information, and the authentication mode includes an external authentication mode or an internal authentication mode; (i.e., 5. The UDM shall provide the AUSF with the UE SUPI and shall indicate to the AUSF to run primary authentication with an external Credentials holder. As described on page 10, line 27-32 .)
and wherein the authentication mode is determined based on the anonymous domain information and configuration information, and the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the external authentication mode and/or an identifier of one or more networks corresponding to the internal authentication mode.
Wang discloses the configuration information includes an identifier of one or more networks.
The processing circuitry is configured to receive, from an authentication server in the wireless communication network, a request for authentication data for a wireless communication device, and to transmit, to the authentication server, a response that indicates primary authentication of the wireless communication device is to be run with an external authentication server external to the wireless communication network and that includes an identifier to be presented to the external authentication server. As described on (page 5 line 10 line 15)
And Wang further discloses,
The UE shall be configured with credentials from the Credentials holder, e.g., SUPI containing a network-specific identifier and credentials for any key-generating EAP-method. As described on (page 9 line 35 to page 10 line 1)
sending an authentication request message to a network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function based on the authentication indication information, wherein the authentication request message is usable to request to authenticate the terminal device, and the authentication request message includes the anonymous subscription permanent identifier; (i.e., 6. Based on the indication from the UDM, the AUSF shall select an NSSAAF as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.1 and initiate a Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation towards that NSSAAF as defined in section 14.4.x of TS 23.501 v17.1.1. As described on page 10, line 33 to page 11 line 1).
receiving an authentication response message from the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function, wherein the authentication response message includes a real subscription permanent identifier and/or an authentication success message, the real subscription permanent identifier includes real user name information, the real user name information identifies the terminal device, and the authentication success message is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., 10. The NSSAAF returns the MSK and the UE ID received from step 6 and/or the authenticated UE ID received from step 9 (SUPI or alternative UEID/GPSI) to the AUSF using the Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation response message. As described on page 11 line 17-21). And
Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
sending an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds.
In similar endeavor, Castellanos discloses: sending an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds. (i.e., In operation 1 of Figure 1, the AUSF can inform the UDM about the result and time of an authentication procedure with a communication device using a Nudm UEAuthentication ResultConfirmation Request. As described in paragraph [0041] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Castellanos into the invention of Wang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 5, 7, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang (Hereinafter “Wang”, WO2023041634), in view of TIWARI (Hereinafter “Tiwari”, WO 2020208996 A1) and further in view of CASTELLANOS (Hereinafter “Castellanos”, WO2021094109).
Regard to claim 5, 19 and 20 Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Wang further discloses: wherein an authentication response message further includes a master key, and the communication system further comprise an access and mobility management function and the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function; (i.e., 12. The AUSF shall use the most significant 256 bits of MSK as the KAUSF. The AUSF shall also derive KSEAF from the KAUSF as defined in Annex A.6 of TS 33.501 v17.2.1. As described on page 1, line 28-29).
the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function is configured to: receive the authentication request message from the authentication server function, (i.e., 6. Based on the indication from the UDM, the AUSF shall select an NSSAAF as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.1 and initiate a Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation towards that NSSAAF as defined in section 14.4.x of TS 23.501 v17.1.1. As described on page 10, line 33 to page 11 line 1).
and send the authentication response message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication response message includes a real subscription permanent identifier and/or an authentication success message, the real subscription permanent identifier includes real user name information, the real user name information identifies the terminal device, and the authentication success message is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., 10. The NSSAAF returns the MSK and the UE ID received from step 6 and/or the authenticated UE ID received from step 9 (SUPI or alternative UEID/GPSI) to the AUSF using the Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation response message. As described on page 11 line 17-21).
the authentication server function is further configured to:
receive the authentication response message from the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function; in response to the authentication success message, generate network-side first verification information based on the master key, the real subscription permanent identifier, and a network-side counter value; and send the authentication response message to the access and mobility management function, wherein the authentication response message includes the authentication success message, the network-side first verification information, and the network-side counter value; (i.e.,13. The AUSF shall send the successful indication together with the SUPI of the UE to the AMF together with the resulting KSEAF. As described on page 11 line 30-31).
the access and mobility management function is configured to: receive the authentication response message from the authentication server function, and send a non-access stratum security mode command message to the terminal device, wherein the non-access stratum security mode command message includes the authentication success message, the network-side first verification information, and the network-side counter value; (i.e., 14. The AMF shall send the EAP success in a NAS message; As described on page 11 line 32).
Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
the access and mobility management function is further configured to send an authentication intermediate message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication intermediate message includes terminal-side second verification information and a terminal-side counter value;
the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication intermediate message from the access and mobility management function, and send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; and
the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information.
In similar endeavor, Tiwari discloses: the access and mobility management function is further configured to send an authentication intermediate message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication intermediate message includes terminal-side second verification information and a terminal-side counter value; (i.e., 7. 13. The AMF/SEAF forwards the UE's response to the AUSF. As described in paragraph [0088]).
In addition, Castellanos discloses: the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication intermediate message from the access and mobility management function, and send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., In operation 1 of Figure 1, the AUSF can inform the UDM about the result and time of an authentication procedure with a communication device using a Nudm UEAuthentication ResultConfirmation Request. As described in paragraph [0041] ).
And the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information. (i.e., In operation 2, the UDM stores the authentication status of the communication device (e.g., the SUPI, authentication result, timestamp, and the serving network name). As further described in paragraph [0041] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Castellanos and Tiwari into the invention of Wang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regard to claim 7, Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Wang further discloses: wherein an authentication response message further includes a master key, and the communication system further comprises an access and mobility management function and the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function;
the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function is configured to: receive the authentication request message from the authentication server function, (i.e., 6. Based on the indication from the UDM, the AUSF shall select an NSSAAF as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.1 and initiate a Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation towards that NSSAAF as defined in section 14.4.x of TS 23.501 v17.1.1. As described on page 10, line 33 to page 11 line 1).
and send the authentication response message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication response message includes a real subscription permanent identifier, an authentication success message, and the master key, the real subscription permanent identifier includes real user name information, the real user name information identifies the terminal device, and the authentication success message is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., 10. The NSSAAF returns the MSK and the UE ID received from step 6 and/or the authenticated UE ID received from step 9 (SUPI or alternative UEID/GPSI) to the AUSF using the Nnssaaf_AIWF_Authenticate service operation response message. As described on page 11 line 17-21).
the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication response message from the network slice-specific and standalone non-public network authentication and authorization function, and send the authentication response message to the access and mobility management function, wherein the authentication response message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and/or the authentication success message, and an intermediate key Kseaf; (i.e.,13. The AUSF shall send the successful indication together with the SUPI of the UE to the AMF together with the resulting KSEAF. As described on page 11 line 30-33).
the access and mobility management function is configured to: receive the authentication response message from the authentication server function, and send a non-access stratum security mode command message to the terminal device, wherein the non-access stratum security mode command message includes the authentication success message; (i.e., 14. The AMF shall send the EAP success in a NAS message. As described on page 11 line 30-33).
Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
in response to the access and mobility management function and the terminal device successfully perform performing a non-access stratum security mode command procedure, the access and mobility management function is further configured to send an authentication result message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication result message includes authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds;
the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication result message from the access and mobility management function, and send an authentication result response message to the access and mobility management function;
the access and mobility management function is further configured to: receive the authentication result response message from the authentication server function;
the authentication server function is further configured to send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information; and
the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information.
In similarly endeavor, Tiwari discloses: in response to the access and mobility management function and the terminal device successfully perform performing a non-access stratum security mode command procedure, the access and mobility management function is further configured to send an authentication result message to the authentication server function, wherein the authentication result message includes authentication result indication information, and the authentication result indication information is usable to indicate that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds; (i.e., 12. The UE responds with the message generated in step 11.; 13. The AMF/SEAF forwards the UE's response to the AUSF. As described in paragraph [0088]).
In an addition Wang also discloses: the authentication server function is further configured to: receive the authentication result message from the access and mobility management function, and send an authentication result response message to the access and mobility management function;
the access and mobility management function is further configured to: receive the authentication result response message from the authentication server function; (i.e.,13. The AUSF shall send the successful indication together with the SUPI of the UE to the AMF together with the resulting KSEAF. As described on page 11 line 30-31).
And Castellanos discloses: the authentication server function is further configured to send an authentication result confirmation request message to the unified data management, wherein the authentication result confirmation request message includes the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information; (i.e., In operation 1 of Figure 1, the AUSF can inform the UDM about the result and time of an authentication procedure with a communication device using a Nudm UEAuthentication ResultConfirmation Request. As described in paragraph [0041].) and
the unified data management is further configured to: receive the authentication result confirmation request message from the authentication server function, and store the real subscription permanent identifier and the authentication result indication information. (i.e., In operation 2, the UDM stores the authentication status of the communication device (e.g., the SUPI, authentication result, timestamp, and the serving network name). As described in paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Castellanos and Tiwari into the invention of Wang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 4, 6, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang (Hereinafter “Wang”, WO2023041634), in view of TIWARI (Hereinafter “Tiwari”, WO 2020208996 A1) and further in view of CASTELLANOS (Hereinafter “Castellanos”, WO2021094109) and YING et al. (Hereinafter “Ying”, US20200228977).
Regard to claim 4, 6, 14, 17, and 18 Wang, Tewari and Castellanos disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: receiving a master key, generating network-side first verification information based on the master key, the real subscription permanent identifier, and a network-side counter value;
and sending the authentication response message to an access and mobility management function, wherein the authentication response message includes the authentication success message, the network-side first verification information, and the network-side counter value.
In similarly endeavor, Ying discloses further comprising receiving a master key, generating network-side first verification information based on the master key, the real subscription permanent identifier, and a network-side counter value; (i.e., 1106. The AUSF entity generates a key based on an input parameter. As described in paragraph [0346] to [0370]).
And Wang also discloses: sending the authentication response message to an access and mobility management function, wherein the authentication response message includes the authentication success message, the network-side first verification information, and the network-side counter value. (i.e., 12. The AUSF shall use the most significant 256 bits of MSK as the KAUSF. The AUSF shall also derive KSEAF from the KAUSF as defined in Annex A.6 of TS 33.501 v17.2.1.; 13. The AUSF shall send the successful indication together with the SUPI of the UE to the AMF together with the resulting KSEAF. As described on page 11 line 28-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ying into the invention of Wang, Castellanos and Tiwari in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644