DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 04/30/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (lines 12-14) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”.
Re claim 2, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (line 2) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”. It appears that “the plurality of converter stages” (lines 8-9) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”. It appears that “respective converter stage” (lines 9, 10) should be “respective resonant converter stage”.
Re claim 3, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (line 4) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”.
Re claim 4, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (lines 3, 7) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”.
Re claim 5, it appears that “the reciprocal” should be “a reciprocal”.
Re claim 6, it appears that “on at least one” (lines 4, 5) should be “on the at least”.
Re claim 11, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (line 2) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”. It appears that “the operating frequency” (lines 2, 3) should be “an operating frequency”.
Re claim 12, it appears that “the converter stages” (line 2) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”.
Re claim 13, it appears that “the plurality of converter stages” (line 2) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”. It appears that “the same” should be “a same”.
Re claim 14, it appears that “the resonant converter stages” (lines 11, 19) should be “the plurality of resonant converter stages”. It appears that “respective converter stage” (line 26-27) should be “respective resonant converter stage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re claim 3, it is unclear if “at least one output signal” (line 4) is the same or different as “the output signal” (lines 10-11) recited in claim 1.
Claims 4-8 inherit the same from claim 3.
Re claim 10, it is unclear if “a switching circuit” (line 4) is the same or different as “a switching circuit” (line 15) recited in claim 1. It is unclear if “a resonant circuit” (line 6) is the same or different as “a resonant circuit” (line 19) recited in claim 1.
Claims 11-13 inherit the same from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 recites “An executable program code”. The claim appears to be directed to a signal per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrison (WO 2006/043837).
Re claim 1, Harrison teaches a power converter [Fig 16], comprising: a plurality of resonant converter stages [13, 14 , 15, 16 ,17, 18] each comprising an input [4, 6, 8] and an output [22, 24, 26]; a rectifier circuit [28]; and a control circuit [as described in page 7, ln 5-11] configured to control operation of the plurality of resonant converter stages, wherein the input of each of the plurality of converter stages is configured to receive a respective input voltage [from 1, 2, 3], wherein the rectifier circuit is connected to the outputs of the plurality of converter stages and is configured to provide an output signal [output to 29, 30] based on a cascaded voltage that is dependent on converter stage output voltages [as secondary voltages] provided at the outputs of the resonant converter stages, and wherein each of the resonant converter stages comprises: a switching circuit [16, 17, 18] coupled to the input, configured to receive a first alternating voltage [from 1, 2, 3], and configured to generate a second alternating voltage [outputs of 16, 17, 18] based on the first alternating voltage; and a resonant circuit [capacitors in parallel to the transistors as well as the inductors in series with the primary windings] configured to receive the second alternating voltage and coupled to the output.
Re claim 10, Harrison teaches wherein each of the plurality of the resonant converter stages comprises: a switching circuit [16, 17, 18] connected to the input of the resonant converter stage; a resonant circuit [capacitors in parallel to the transistors as well as the inductors in series with the primary windings] connected to the switching circuit; and a transformer [19, 20, 21] comprising a primary winding [Fig 16] connected to the resonant circuit [connected in series to the inductor] and a secondary winding [Fig 16] inductively coupled with the primary winding and connected to the output [22, 24, 26] of the resonant converter stage.
Re claim 11, Harrison teaches wherein the operating frequency of each of the resonant converter stages is the operating frequency of the respective switching circuit [the switching frequency of the switches in 16, 17, 18 determines the operating frequency of each stage].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison in view of Deboy et al. (“Deboy”, US 2018/0278167).
Re claim 12, Harrison teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the resonant circuit of each of the converter stages comprises an LLC circuit with a capacitor, a first inductor, and a second inductor.
Deboy teaches a device [Fig 5A] wherein the resonant circuit of each of the converter stages comprises an LLC circuit with a capacitor [223], a first inductor [221], and a second inductor [222]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Harrison to include the features of Deboy because it is known for enabling smaller designs with integrated power density, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 13, Harrison teaches wherein the transformers of the plurality of converter stages have the same winding ratio [as shown in Fig 16].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection set forth in this Office action.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or disclose:
Re claim 2 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “the control circuit (7) is configured to: adjust an operating frequency of operating the resonant converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c), operate each of the plurality of resonant converter stages in a plurality of successive operating cycles at the same operating frequency, and individually adjust a power transfer duty cycle of each of the plurality of resonant converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c), wherein the power transfer duty cycle of each of the plurality of converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c) is a portion of each operating cycle of the respective converter stage (1a, 1b, 1c) in which power is received by the respective converter stage (1a, 1b, 1c) from the respective input (Ina, Inb, Inc)” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 14, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “the method comprises: adjusting an operating frequency of operating the resonant converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c); operating each of the plurality of resonant converter stages in a plurality of successive operating cycles at the same adjusted operating frequency; and individually adjusting a power transfer duty cycle of each of the plurality of resonant converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c), wherein the power transfer duty cycle of each of the plurality of resonant converter stages (1a, 1b, 1c) is a portion of each operating cycle of the respective converter stage (1a, 1b, 1c) in which power is received by the respective converter stage (1a, 1b, 1c) from the respective input (Ina, Inb, Inc)” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838