DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to a response filed on January 20th, 2026. In this office action:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Non-Final Office Action mailed on October 22nd, 2025,
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, and 19 were objected because of informalities.
Claims 3-5, 8, 14-15, 18, and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention was directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Pub. No. WO 2021/215886), hereinafter Li.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on January 20th, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 have been amended.
The previously raised claim objections for claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, and 19 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claims 3-5, 8, 14-15, 18, and 20 is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed on January 20th, 2026, have been fully considered by the Examiner, but are not persuasive.
1/ Applicant’s argument regarding “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101” (See Applicant’s arguments, Pages 8-13):
The Applicant argues that the claims as amended do not cover “Mental Processes” (See Step 2A, Prong I, Applicant’s arguments, Pages 9-11):
“...
independent claims 1 provides for a unique and specific way of solving the computer- related technological problem (e.g., collection of per-slice terminal device-side data). Further, the claims of the present invention provide significantly more to the technical field (e.g., sending configuration information to a terminal device over a first radio interface, wherein the configuration information includes slice information and a data collection metric that indicates to- be-collected terminal device-side data of a service) that has not been applied before in computers or networking, and recite patent-eligible subject matter. That is, Applicant believes that the claimed invention points to a combination that amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea because the claimed solution is necessarily rooted in computer technology since they address the problem described above specifically arising in the realm of communication networks.
The claimed invention uses "a data collection network element" to send "configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information" to a terminal device over a first radio interface. As such, the sending the "configuration information" is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process.
The claimed invention further receives "the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device" at "the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface." As such, the receiving "the terminal device-side data of the service" at "the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface" is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process.
Independent claim 1, as amended, further recites that "the data collection network element determines, "based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information." Again, determining is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process.
Accordingly, the claimed invention provides significantly more than the abstract idea by providing an improvement to the technological operation of communication networks.
Accordingly, Independent claim 1, as amended does not fall within the scope of "Mental Processes." Further, independent claims 6, 11, and 12 include similar limitations and thus are also not directed to abstract ideas.”
The Applicant argues that the claims as amended “Integrate Any Alleged Judicial Exception Into A Practical Application” (Step 2A, Prong II, Applicant’s arguments, Pages 11-12).
The Applicant argues that the claims as amended “Include Additional Elements That Are Sufficient to Amount to "Significantly More" Than the Judicial Exceptions” (Step 2B, Applicant’s arguments, Pages 12-13).
Examiner’s response to Applicant’s argument:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
For independent claims 1 and 11-12:
The Examiner is directing the 35 USC 101 rejection under Mental Process based on MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III:
The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III)
Claim 1 recites in part process steps which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are a series of mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process or a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
a/ With regards to limitation (1) “sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface, configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service; limitation (2) in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from a terminal device over a second radio interface, the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device,” the “sending” and “receiving” are reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “sending” and “receiving” data encompasses gathering data, which does not add a meaningful limitation as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “The claimed invention uses "a data collection network element" to send "configuration information ..." to a terminal device over a first radio interface. As such, the sending the "configuration information" is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process, and [t]he claimed invention further receives "the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device" at "the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface." As such, the receiving "the terminal device-side data of the service" at "the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface" is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process,” it is noted that even mental processes which may need the physical aids such as pen and paper can be still mental processes (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B)) and even the fact that the claimed invention is performing steps on a computer does not prevent the function from being a mental process (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)).
b/ With regards to limitation (3) “determining, by the data collection network element based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information,” the plain meaning of “determining” encompasses mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “determining” encompasses observing a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service and performing a judgment/opinion such as concluding the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “the data collection network element determines, "based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information." Again, determining is not able to be performed using a pen and paper and is not a mental process,” it is noted that even mental processes which may need the physical aids such as pen and paper can be still mental processes (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B)) and even the fact that the claimed invention is performing steps on a computer does not prevent the function from being a mental process (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). As result, the limitation recites a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The claim recites that limitation (1), limitation (2), and limitation (3) are being performed by a communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit”; in addition, the sending the configuration information is being performed by a “data collection network element” over a “first radio interface,” the receiving the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device over a “second radio interface,” is being performed by the “data collection network element,” and the determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is being performed by the “data collection network element,” which are recited at a high level of generality to sending the configuration information, receiving the terminal device-side data, and determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. An example of a case identifying a mental process performed on a generic computer as an abstract idea is Voter Verified, Inc. v. Election Systems & Software, LLC, 887 F.3d 1376, 1385, 126 USPQ2d 1498, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2018). In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification in explaining that the claimed steps of voting, verifying the vote, and submitting the vote for tabulation are "human cognitive actions" that humans have performed for hundreds of years. The claims therefore recited an abstract idea, despite the fact that the claimed voting steps were performed on a computer. 887 F.3d at 1385, 126 USPQ2d at 1504. Another example is Versata, in which the patentee claimed a system and method for determining a price of a product offered to a purchasing organization that was implemented using general purpose computer hardware. 793 F.3d at 1312-13, 1331, 115 USPQ2d at 1685, 1699. The Federal Circuit acknowledged that the claims were performed on a generic computer, but still described the claims as "directed to the abstract idea of determining a price, using organizational and product group hierarchies, in the same way that the claims in Alice were directed to the abstract idea of intermediated settlement, and the claims in Bilski were directed to the abstract idea of risk hedging." 793 F.3d at 1333; 115 USPQ2d at 1700-01. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III)
Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, there are additional elements. The additional elements are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of using a communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit”; in addition, the sending the configuration information is being performed by a “data collection network element” over a “first radio interface,” the receiving the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device over a “second radio interface,” is being performed by the “data collection network element,” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to sending and receiving are well understood, routine, conventional activity; See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).”
Therefore, the recitation of a computer (communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit,” “data collection network element,” “first radio interface,” and “second radio interface,”) to perform “sending” and “receiving” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which doesn’t not provide an inventive concept.
Therefore, it is reasonably concluded that claims 1 is not patent eligible.
Examiner’s note: The same Examiner’s response applies to independent claims 11 and 12.
2/ Applicant’s argument regarding “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)” (See Applicant’s arguments, Pages 13-18):
The Applicant argues that Li fails to disclose "sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface, configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information", "the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service", and "in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface, the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended.
...
Li does not describe "sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface, configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended. Li only describes "collect[ing] user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices" and "different mobile scenarios and/or different radio environments,"(Li, 54.)
Li also fails to describe that "the configuration information further include[es] a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service", and "in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from the terminal device over a second radio interface, the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended. Li only describes that "[t]he QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured, and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference."(Li, 80.) Li does not mention "sending ... a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service" as recited by independent claim 1, as amended.
Examiner’s response to Applicant’s argument:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Li discloses sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface (See Parag. [288]; Fig 16, the base station 1600 (data collection network element) may include a transceiver 1620 (a first radio interface). See Parag. [292]; The transceiver 1620 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [293]), configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service (See Parag. [22-31]; transmitting, by a node (data collection network element (e.g., base station, See Parag [79])), first information to one or more UEs (terminal device) … the first information is QMC (i.e., QoE Measurement Collection) configuration information (e.g., activating QMC configuration information) … the QMC configuration information includes one or more QMC references, different QMC references are used to identify different QMC jobs, and each QMC job includes one or more application references to identify service types … the activating QMC configuration information includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) … the activating QMC configuration information includes a reporting configuration, which includes one of the following reporting methods: session end reporting, periodic reporting, or event-triggered reporting … trigger events of the event-triggered reporting include one or more of the following events: changes of serving cell, changes of radio environment, or sudden degradation of quality of experience of users. See Parag. [80]; The QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured (the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service), and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference. See also Parag. [48] [64] [79-97] [185], Fig. 5, and Fig. 7).
Examiner’s interpretation 1: The Examiner has reasonably interpreted the claimed “configuration information” to be equivalent to the first information taught by Li, which is defined as Quality of Experience (QoE) Measurement Collection (QMC) configuration information. Li further defines the QMC configuration information to include activating QMC configuration information which includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) and a reporting configuration (e.g., event-triggered reporting), which is equivalent to the claimed “configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information.”
Examiner’s interpretation 2:
The Examiner has reasonably interpreted the transmitted QMC configuration information that includes one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured, taught by Li, to be equivalent to the claimed “configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service.”
Li further discloses in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from a terminal device over a second radio interface (See Parag [280]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a transceiver 1520 (a second radio interface). See Parag. [284]; The transceiver 1520 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [285]), the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs (terminal device), wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (the data collection network element). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See also [79-97], Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and and Fig. 7).
Examiner’s note: The same Examiner’s response applies to Applicant’s argument regarding independent claims 6 and 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims:
Claim 1 and 12 recite in part process steps which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are a series of mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process or a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. The claims recite in part:
(1) “sending,” by a data collection network element over a first radio interface, configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service; in response to the configuration information, (2) “receiving,” by the data collection network element from a terminal device over a second radio interface, the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device. The “sending” and “receiving” are reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “sending” and “receiving” information encompasses gathering data.
(3) “determining,” by the data collection network element based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information.” The plain meaning of “determining” encompasses mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “determining” encompasses observing a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service and performing a judgment/opinion such as concluding the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information.
Therefore, claims 1 and 12 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite that limitation (1), limitation (2), and limitation (3) are being performed by a communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit”; in addition, the sending the configuration information is being performed by a “data collection network element” over a “first radio interface,” the receiving the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device over a “second radio interface,” is being performed by the “data collection network element,” and the determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is being performed by the “data collection network element,” which are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., to sending the configuration information, receiving the terminal device-side data, and determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information), such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As described in MPEP 2106.0S(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 1 and 12 are directed to a judicial exception.
Claims 1 and 12 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of the (communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit,” “data collection network element,” “first radio interface,” and “second radio interface,”) to perform limitations (1), (2) and (3) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Claims 1 and 12 are not patent eligible.
Claim 11 recites in part process steps which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are a series of mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process or a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. The claim recites in part:
(1) “receiving,” by a terminal device over a first radio interface, configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric of a service from a data collection network element, wherein the data collection metric indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of the service; (2) in response to the configuration information, “sending,” by the terminal device over a second radio interface, the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element. The “receiving” and “sending” are reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “sending” and “receiving” information encompasses gathering data.
(3) wherein the terminal device-side data of the service is used to “determine,” based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information. The plain meaning of “determine” encompasses mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “determine” encompasses observing a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service and performing a judgment/opinion such as concluding the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information.
Therefore, claim 11 recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite that limitation (1), limitation (2), and limitation (3) are being performed by a communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit”; in addition, the receiving the configuration information is being performed by a “terminal device” over a “first radio interface,” the sending the terminal device-side data of the service is being performed by the “terminal device over a second radio interface,” and the determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is being performed by the “communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit,” which are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., to receiving the configuration information, to sending the terminal device-side data of the service, and to determining the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information), such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As described in MPEP 2106.0S(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 11 is directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 11 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of the (communication apparatus, comprising a “processor” and an “interface circuit,” “data collection network element,” “first radio interface,” and “second radio interface,”) to perform limitations (1), (2) and (3) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Claims 1 and 12 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims:
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 2 and 13 depend on claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further recite “receiving, from the terminal device, first slice information that carries the service, wherein the first slice information is included in the slice information”. The “receiving” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “receiving” information encompasses gathering data, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 2 and 13 are not patent eligible.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 3 and 14 depend on claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further recite “receiving indication information from an application service provider, wherein the indication information indicates to collect per-slice terminal device-side data ...”. The “receiving” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “receiving” indication information encompasses gathering data, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 3 and 14 are not patent eligible.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 4 and 15 depend on claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further recite “determining the slice information based on indication information”. The “determining” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as making a judgment based on the gathered data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “determining” encompasses observing the gathered information and making a judgement, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 4 and 15 are not patent eligible.
Claims 5, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 5, 16, and 20 depend on claims 1, 11, and 12, respectively, and further recite “wherein the terminal device- side data of the service includes quality of experience.” The claims are further limiting and defining the terminal device- side data {i.e., gathered data}, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 5, 10, 16, and 20 are not patent eligible.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 17 depends claims 12, and further recite “wherein the processor is configured to send the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element, in response to first slice information carrying the service in the slice information”. The “sending to the data collection network element” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “send the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element” encompasses gathering data, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 17 is not patent eligible.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 18 depends on claim 12, and further recite “send, to the data collection network element, first slice information that carries the service”. The “send to the data collection network element” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “send, to the data collection network element, first slice information” encompasses gathering data, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 8 and 18 are not patent eligible.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 19 depends on claim 12, and further recite “wherein the terminal device-side data of the service is used to determine terminal device-side data corresponding to the slice information.” The claims are further limiting and defining the terminal device-side data of the service {i.e., gathered data}, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 19 is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Pub. No. WO 2021/215886), hereinafter Li.
Claim 1. Li discloses [a] data collection method (See Parag. [22]; a method for Quality of Experience (QoE) Measurement Collection (QMC)), comprising:
sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface (See Parag. [288]; Fig 16, the base station 1600 (data collection network element) may include a transceiver 1620 (a first radio interface). See Parag. [292]; The transceiver 1620 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [293]), configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service (See Parag. [22-31]; transmitting, by a node (data collection network element (e.g., base station, See Parag [79])), first information to one or more UEs (terminal device) … the first information is QMC (i.e., QoE Measurement Collection) configuration information (e.g., activating QMC configuration information) … the QMC configuration information includes one or more QMC references, different QMC references are used to identify different QMC jobs, and each QMC job includes one or more application references to identify service types … the activating QMC configuration information includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) … the activating QMC configuration information includes a reporting configuration, which includes one of the following reporting methods: session end reporting, periodic reporting, or event-triggered reporting … trigger events of the event-triggered reporting include one or more of the following events: changes of serving cell, changes of radio environment, or sudden degradation of quality of experience of users. See Parag. [80]; The QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured (the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service), and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference. See also Parag. [48] [64] [79-97] [103] [185], Fig. 5, and Fig. 7. Examiner’s interpretation: Li teaches the QMC configuration information to include activating QMC configuration information which includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) and a reporting configuration, which is equivalent to the claimed “configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information”);
in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from a terminal device over a second radio interface (See Parag [280]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a transceiver 1520 (a second radio interface). See Parag. [284]; The transceiver 1520 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [285]), the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs (terminal device), wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (the data collection network element). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See also [79-97], Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and and Fig. 7), and
determining, by the data collection network element based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information (See Parag. [33]; obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report (See Parag. [32]; the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See Parag. [104-105]; the configuration condition information may include network slice information, for example single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), which is used to indicate which network slice needs to be measured. See Parag. [53] [80]. Examiner’s interpretation: The terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is determined based on the QMC report. Applicant describes in the specification that the terminal device-side data includes quality of experience; See specification, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 2. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 1,
Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the terminal device, first slice information that carries the service, wherein the first slice information is included in the slice information (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs, wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [54]).
Claim 3. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 1,
Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving indication information from an application service provider, wherein the indication information indicates to collect per-slice terminal device-side data of the service (See Parag. [54]; method and device for Quality of Experience (QoE) Measurement Collection (QMC). The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators (application service provider) collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices (collect per-slice terminal device-side data) … See Parag. [67]; The method or the device for quality of experience measurement collection (QMC) provided in the present disclosure may help operators (application service provider) to measure and collect the quality of experience of users on network slices, and evaluate whether slice resources are used reasonably and whether further optimization is needed according to measurement results. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See also Parag. [67] [94-95] [104-105]).
Claim 4. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 1,
Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining the slice information based on indication information (See Parag. [67]; The method or the device for quality of experience measurement collection (QMC) provided in the present disclosure may help operators to measure and collect the quality of experience of users on network slices, and evaluate whether slice resources are used reasonably and whether further optimization is needed according to measurement results … See Parag. [81]; measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. The QMC request information may include condition information for one or more requests, such as UE ID, Cell ID, network slice information and service type, etc.).
Claim 5. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 1,
Li further discloses wherein the terminal device- side data of the service includes quality of experience (See Parag. [32-33]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs … obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report. See also Parag. [43]; UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node).
Claim 6. Li discloses [a] data collection method (See Parag. [22]; a method for Quality of Experience (QoE) Measurement Collection (QMC)), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device over a first radio interface (See Parag. [288]; Fig 16, the base station 1600 (data collection network element) may include a transceiver 1620 (a first radio interface). See Parag. [292]; The transceiver 1620 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [293]), configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric of a service from a data collection network element, wherein the data collection metric indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of the service (See Parag. [22-31]; transmitting, by a node (data collection network element (e.g., base station, See Parag [79])), first information to one or more UEs (terminal device) … the first information is QMC (i.e., QoE Measurement Collection) configuration information (e.g., activating QMC configuration information) … the QMC configuration information includes one or more QMC references, different QMC references are used to identify different QMC jobs, and each QMC job includes one or more application references to identify service types … the activating QMC configuration information includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) … the activating QMC configuration information includes a reporting configuration, which includes one of the following reporting methods: session end reporting, periodic reporting, or event-triggered reporting … trigger events of the event-triggered reporting include one or more of the following events: changes of serving cell, changes of radio environment, or sudden degradation of quality of experience of users. See Parag. [80]; The QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured (the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service), and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference. See also Parag. [48] [64] [79-97] [185], Fig. 5, and Fig. 7); and
in response to the configuration information, sending, by the terminal device over a second radio interface (See Parag [280]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a transceiver 1520 (a second radio interface). See Parag. [284]; The transceiver 1520 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [285]), the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs (terminal device), wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (the data collection network element). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See also [79-97], Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and and Fig. 7).
Claim 7. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 6,
Li further discloses wherein the sending the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element includes: in response to first slice information that carries the service is being included in the slice information, sending the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element (See Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node. See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs, wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [22-31]).
Claim 8. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 6,
Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, to the data collection network element, first slice information that carries the service (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs, wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (data collection network element)).
Claim 9. Li discloses [t]he data collection method according to claim 6,
Li further discloses wherein the terminal device-side data of the service is used to determine, based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information (See Parag. [33]; obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report (See Parag. [32]; the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See Parag. [104-105]; the configuration condition information may include network slice information, for example single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), which is used to indicate which network slice needs to be measured. See Parag. [53] [80]. Examiner’s interpretation: The terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is determined based on the QMC report. Applicant describes in the specification that the terminal device-side data includes quality of experience; See specification, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 10 is taught by Li as described for claim 5.
Claim 11. Li discloses [a] communication apparatus, comprising a processor and an interface circuit, wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive a signal from another communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus and transmit the signal to the processor, or send the signal from the processor to another communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus; and the processor is configured to implement, through a logical circuit or by executing code instructions (See Parag. [280-286]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a processor 1510, a transceiver 1520 and a memory 1530 ... The transceiver 1520 may be connected to the processor 1510 and transmit and/or receive a signal. The signal may include control information and data. In addition, the transceiver 1520 may receive the signal through a wireless channel and output the signal to the processor 1510. The transceiver 1520 may transmit a signal output from the processor 1510 through the wireless channel ... The memory 1530 may be connected to the processor 1510 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method.), a method:
receiving, by a terminal device over a first radio interface (See Parag. [288]; Fig 16, the base station 1600 (data collection network element) may include a transceiver 1620 (a first radio interface). See Parag. [292]; The transceiver 1620 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [293]), configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric of a service from a data collection network element, wherein the data collection metric indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of the service (See Parag. [22-31]; transmitting, by a node (data collection network element (e.g., base station, See Parag [79])), first information to one or more UEs (terminal device) … the first information is QMC (i.e., QoE Measurement Collection) configuration information (e.g., activating QMC configuration information) … the QMC configuration information includes one or more QMC references, different QMC references are used to identify different QMC jobs, and each QMC job includes one or more application references to identify service types … the activating QMC configuration information includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) … the activating QMC configuration information includes a reporting configuration, which includes one of the following reporting methods: session end reporting, periodic reporting, or event-triggered reporting … trigger events of the event-triggered reporting include one or more of the following events: changes of serving cell, changes of radio environment, or sudden degradation of quality of experience of users. See Parag. [80]; The QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured (the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service), and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference. See also Parag. [48] [64] [79-97] [185], Fig. 5, and Fig. 7); and
in response to the configuration information, sending, by the terminal device over a second radio interface (See Parag [280]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a transceiver 1520 (a second radio interface). See Parag. [284]; The transceiver 1520 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [285]), the terminal device-side data of the service to the data collection network element (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs (terminal device), wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (the data collection network element). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See also [79-97], Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and and Fig. 7);
wherein the terminal device-side data of the service is used to determine, based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information (See Parag. [33]; obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report (See Parag. [32]; the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See Parag. [104-105]; the configuration condition information may include network slice information, for example single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), which is used to indicate which network slice needs to be measured. See also Parag. [53] [80]. Examiner’s interpretation: The terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is determined based on the QMC report. Applicant describes in the specification that the terminal device-side data includes quality of experience; See specification, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 12. Li discloses [a] communication apparatus, comprising a processor and an interface circuit, wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive a signal from another communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus and transmit the signal to the processor, or send the signal from the processor to another communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus; and the processor is configured to implement, through a logical circuit or by executing code instructions (See Parag. [288-294]; Referring to the Fig 16, the base station 1600 may include a processor 1610, a transceiver 1620 and a memory 163 ... The transceiver 1620 may be connected to the processor 1610 and transmit and/or receive a signal. The signal may include control information and data. In addition, the transceiver 1620 may receive the signal through a wireless channel and output the signal to the processor 1610. The transceiver 1620 may transmit a signal output from the processor 1610 through the wireless channel ... The memory 1630 may be connected to the processor 1610 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method), a method:
sending, by a data collection network element over a first radio interface (See Parag. [288]; Fig 16, the base station 1600 (data collection network element) may include a transceiver 1620 (a first radio interface). See Parag. [292]; The transceiver 1620 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [293]), configuration information including data collection and reporting configuration information and slice information, the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service (See Parag. [22-31]; transmitting, by a node (data collection network element (e.g., base station, See Parag [79])), first information to one or more UEs (terminal device) … the first information is QMC (i.e., QoE Measurement Collection) configuration information (e.g., activating QMC configuration information) … the QMC configuration information includes one or more QMC references, different QMC references are used to identify different QMC jobs, and each QMC job includes one or more application references to identify service types … the activating QMC configuration information includes configuration condition information (i.e., network slice information) … the activating QMC configuration information includes a reporting configuration, which includes one of the following reporting methods: session end reporting, periodic reporting, or event-triggered reporting … trigger events of the event-triggered reporting include one or more of the following events: changes of serving cell, changes of radio environment, or sudden degradation of quality of experience of users. See Parag. [80]; The QMC configuration information may include one or more QMC jobs, each QMC job is identified by a QMC reference, each QMC job may include one or more service types to be measured (the configuration information further including a data collection metric that indicates to-be-collected terminal device-side data of a service), and measurement configuration of each service type is identified by an application reference. See also Parag. [48] [64] [79-97] [185], Fig. 5, and Fig. 7);
in response to the configuration information, receiving, by the data collection network element from a terminal device over a second radio interface (See Parag [280]; Referring to the Fig. 15, the UE 1500 may include a transceiver 1520 (a second radio interface). See Parag. [284]; The transceiver 1520 may include a RF transmitter for up-converting and amplifying a transmitted signal. See also Parag. [285]), the terminal device-side data of the service from the terminal device (See Parag. [32]; receiving QMC report(s) from at least one of the UEs (terminal device), wherein the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information. See also Parag. [43]; in response to the QMC configuration information being the activating QMC configuration information, the determining, by the UE, information related to the QMC based on the received first message comprises: determining, by the UE, whether to perform QoE measurement based on the configuration condition information included in the QMC configuration information, and if a determination result is yes, UE performs QoE measurement and transmits the QMC report obtained by the measurement to the node (the data collection network element). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See also [79-97], Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and and Fig. 7); and
determining, by the data collection network element based on a correspondence between the service and the slice information and the terminal device-side data of the service, the terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information (See Parag. [33]; obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report (See Parag. [32]; the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See Parag. [104-105]; the configuration condition information may include network slice information, for example single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), which is used to indicate which network slice needs to be measured. See Parag. [53] [80]. Examiner’s interpretation: The terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is determined based on the QMC report. Applicant describes in the specification that the terminal device-side data includes quality of experience; See specification, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 13 is taught by Li as described for claim 2.
Claim 14 is taught by Li as described for claim 3.
Claim 15 is taught by Li as described for claim 4.
Claim 16 is taught by Li as described for claim 5.
Claim 17 is taught by Li as described for claim 7.
Claim 18 is taught by Li as described for claim 8.
Claim 19. Li discloses [t]he communication apparatus of claim 12,
Li further discloses wherein the terminal device-side data of the service is used to determine terminal device-side data corresponding to the slice information (See Parag. [33]; obtaining, by the node, the required Quality of Experience (QoE) information based on the QMC report (See Parag. [32]; the QMC report includes one or more of the following information: serving cell information, network slice information, QoS information, or DRB information). See also Parag. [54]; The method and device according to the present disclosure can help operators collect user Quality of Experience (QoE) information on different network slices. See Parag. [81]; The QMC request information may be a request for measuring and collecting specific quality of experience information of a specific UE or a specific cell or a specific network slice. See Parag. [104-105]; the configuration condition information may include network slice information, for example single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), which is used to indicate which network slice needs to be measured. See Parag. [53] [80]. Examiner’s interpretation: The terminal device-side data of the service corresponding to the slice information is determined based on the QMC report. Applicant describes in the specification that the terminal device-side data includes quality of experience; See specification, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 20 is taught by Li as described for claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shi et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0092762) – Related art in the area of continuation of Quality of Experience Measurement Collection following relocation or handover of a terminal. (Abstract; Quality of Experience (QoE) Measurement collection is continued from a source network node (200) servicing a terminal (210) to a target network node (200) following a relocation or handover of the terminal (210). When the source network node (200) is preparing for the relocation, e.g., SRNS Relocation, Intra-RAT handover (e.g., X2 handover), or Inter-RAT handover, for a terminal (210) which has QoE Measurement configured, the trace session information, which has been received by the source network node from a Measurement Initiating node (200), is sent (12) from the source network node (200) to the target network node (200). The target network node (200) provides (14, 26) information about the handling of the ongoing Qo E measurement to the source network node (200), e.g., whether the QoE measurement is to be continued or terminated. The source network node (200) updates to the Measurement Initiating node (200) that the trace session is transferred to the target network node (200). The Measurement Initiating node (200) may then continue the trace session management towards the target network node (200). The trace session information transferred (12, 22) to the target network node (200) may be the same as that in the source network node (200), or it may be modified by the Measurement Initiating node (200)).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Examiner, Art Unit 2445
/OSCAR A LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2445