DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230110649, PCT filed 3/18/2020) in view of Chang et al. (US20160344063).
2. Regarding claims 1-3, Wang teaches a secondary battery comprising: an electrode wound body including a positive electrode and a negative electrode that are stacked with a separator interposed therebetween and are wound around a central axis extending in a first direction (Assembling a lithium-ion battery: Stacking the positive electrode, the separator, and the negative electrode in sequence, and placing the separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode to serve a function of separation. Winding the electrode plates, putting the electrode plates into a packaging shell, injecting the electrolytic solution, sealing the shell, and finally performing chemical formation to make a lithium-ion battery [0104]);
a positive electrode current collector plate facing a first end face of the electrode wound body, the first end face being in the first direction; a negative electrode current collector plate facing a second end face of the electrode wound body, the second end face being opposite to the first end face in the first direction (The positive electrode includes a positive current collector and a positive active material layer disposed on the positive current collector. The positive active material layer includes the positive active material according to this application. The negative electrode includes a negative current collector and a negative active material layer disposed on the negative current collector [0041]);
an electrolytic solution; and a battery can containing the electrode wound body, the positive electrode current collector plate, the negative electrode current collector plate, and the electrolytic solution (Winding the electrode plates, putting the electrode plates into a packaging shell, injecting the electrolytic solution, sealing the shell [0104]), wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode covered part in which a positive electrode current collector is covered with a positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode comprises a positive current collector and a positive active material layer, see claim 18)),
and a positive electrode exposed part in which the positive electrode current collector is not covered with the positive electrode active material layer and is exposed, the positive electrode exposed part being joined to the positive electrode current collector plate (a single-side-coated positive electrode plate [0107]),
the negative electrode includes a negative electrode covered part in which a negative electrode current collector is covered with a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode exposed part in which the negative electrode current collector is not covered with the negative electrode active material layer and is exposed, the negative electrode exposed part being joined to the negative electrode current collector plate (Using a metal lithium film as a negative electrode, where one side of the metal lithium film is attached to the current collector copper foil [0108]),
first edge parts of the positive electrode exposed part that is wound around the central axis, second edge parts of the negative electrode exposed part that is wound around the central axis, or both are bent toward the central axis to overlap each other, the first edge parts being adjacent to each other in a radial direction of the electrode wound body, the second edge parts being adjacent to each other in the radial direction (Winding the electrode plates [0104]),
the positive electrode active material layer (the binder improves bonding between particles of the positive active material, and also improves bonding between the positive active material and the positive current collector. In some embodiments, the binder includes…polyvinyl fluoride…polytetrafluoroethylene, poly(1,1-difluoroethylene) [0044]; The binder may include or be selected from…polyacrylonitrile [0067]), and the negative electrode active material layer (the binder improves bonding between particles of the positive active material, and also improves bonding between the positive active material and the positive current collector. In some embodiments, the binder includes…polyvinyl fluoride,…polytetrafluoroethylene, poly(1,1-difluoroethylene) [0044]; The binder may include or be selected from…polyacrylonitrile [0067]) each include a fluorine compound and a nitrogen compound (Winding the electrode plates (The Examiner notes this indicates both positive and negative electrode plates), putting the electrode plates into a packaging shell, injecting the electrolytic solution, sealing the shell, and finally performing chemical formation to make a lithium-ion battery [0104]; Selecting a position of the electrode plate ((The Examiner notes this indicates either positive and negative electrode plate) randomly, processing the electrode plate at the selected position by using an ion beam cross section polisher (model: JEOL-IB-09010CP) to obtain a section of the electrode plate. Taking an image of the section by photographing at a magnification of not less than 5.0 K with a scanning electron microscope [0131]),
a weight ratio of a fluorine content to a nitrogen content in the positive electrode active material layer (Select a position of the by-product on the particle surface for X-ray energy spectrum analysis. Based on the total weight of carbon, oxygen, nitrogen, and fluorine, measuring the average weight percentage of fluorine and the average weight percentage of nitrogen, denoted as ωF and ωN respectively. ωF means a weight percentage of fluorine in the 4 elements, and ωN means weight percentage of nitrogen in the 4 elements. Selecting at least three by-product positions for analysis and measurement, and using an averaged result as the element content in the by-product [0132]) is greater than or equal to 3 and less than or equal to 50 (In some embodiments of this application, the by-product layer includes carbon, oxygen, fluorine, and nitrogen; based on a total weight of carbon, oxygen, fluorine, and nitrogen, an average weight percentage of fluorine is ωF, an average weight percentage of nitrogen is ωN, and ωF−ωN≥5% [0015]), and
a weight ratio of a fluorine content to a nitrogen content in the negative electrode active material layer (Select a position of the by-product on the particle surface for X-ray energy spectrum analysis. Based on the total weight of carbon, oxygen, nitrogen, and fluorine, measuring the average weight percentage of fluorine and the average weight percentage of nitrogen, denoted as ωF and ωN respectively. ωF means a weight percentage of fluorine in the 4 elements, and ωN means weight percentage of nitrogen in the 4 elements. Selecting at least three by-product positions for analysis and measurement, and using an averaged result as the element content in the by-product [0132]) is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 30 (In some embodiments of this application, the by-product layer includes carbon, oxygen, fluorine, and nitrogen; based on a total weight of carbon, oxygen, fluorine, and nitrogen, an average weight percentage of fluorine is ωF, an average weight percentage of nitrogen is ωN, and ωF−ωN≥5% [0015])
3. They are silent the weight percentages of fluorine and nitrogen taught is a ratio.
4. Chang teaches oxidation-reduction reaction peaks resulting from the decomposition of the electrolyte [0175] and they teach 17.99 weight % fluorine to 4.45 weight % nitrogen (Table 3) (ratio 17.99: 4:45) for the benefit of current values increased accordingly as the cycle was repeated [0175].
5. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang with Chang’s teachings for the benefit of current values increased accordingly as the cycle was repeated.
6. Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches wherein the electrolytic solution includes a fluorine compound (lithium salt in the electrolytic solution according to this application includes at least one of or is at least one selected from: lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) [0059]) and a nitrile compound (the electrolytic solution includes a nitrile-containing additive [0016]).
7. Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches wherein at least one of the fluorine compound included in the positive electrode active material layer, the fluorine compound included in the negative electrode active material layer, or the fluorine compound included in the electrolytic solution includes at least one of fluorinated ethylene carbonate (3 wt % fluoroethylene carbonate [0102])
8. Regarding claims 6 and 7, Wang teaches the nitrile compound comprises succinonitrile (The nitrile-containing additive includes at least one selected from the group consisting of: adiponitrile, succinonitrile, 1,3,5-pentane tricarbonitrile, 1,3,6-hexane tricarbonitrile, 1,2,6-hexane tricarbonitrile and triacetonitrile ammonia. [0016])
9. Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes a negative electrode active material including at least one of silicon (examples of the negative active material may include…silicon [0047]).
10. Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches wherein the positive electrode active material layer includes a positive electrode active material including at least one of lithium cobalt oxide (Among the numerous positive active materials, lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2) [0030]).
11. Regarding claims 13 and 14, Wang teaches an electric vehicle comprising: the secondary battery according to claim 1; a converter configured to convert electric power suppled from the secondary battery into a driving force; a drive unit configured to perform driving in accordance with the driving force; and a controller configured to control operation of the secondary battery (Using electric vehicles as an example, people require the electric vehicles to have a long cruising range and be chargeable and dischargeable at a high power. This requires an energy device of electric vehicles to possess a high energy density and a high-power density [0004]).
12. Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches an electric aircraft comprising:
the battery pack according to claim 13; a plurality of rotary wings;
a motor configured to rotate each of the rotary wings; a support shaft supporting each of the rotary wings and the motor; a motor controller configured to control rotation of the motor; and an electric power supply line configured to supply electric power to the motor, wherein the battery pack is coupled to the electric power supply line (wide application of the electrochemical devices in…unmanned aerial vehicles, people have imposed higher requirements on the electrochemical devices [0004]).
13. Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches an electric tool comprising: the secondary battery according to claim 1; and a movable unit configured to receive electric power from the secondary battery (wide application of the electrochemical devices in electric vehicles [0004])
14. Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches an electronic equipment comprising
the secondary battery according to claim 1 as an electric power supply source (By virtue of advantages such as a high specific energy, a high working voltage, a low self-discharge rate, a small size, and a light weight, lithium-ion batteries are widely applied in the field of consumer electronics [0003]).
15. Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230110649, PCT filed 3/18/2020) in view of Chang et al. (US20160344063) and further in view of Yasuda et al. (US20190296337).
16. Yasuda teaches concentration of electrolyte salt is preferably from 1 mol/L to 3 mol/L, and more preferably from 0.5 mol/L to 2.5 mol/L [0168], wherein a ratio of a thickness of the positive electrode covered part (The current collector may include a portion where the active material-containing layer is not formed on a surface of the current collector [0065]) to a thickness of the positive electrode current collector is greater than or equal to 5.0 and less than or equal to 6.5 (The thickness of the current collector is preferably from 5 μm to 20 μm [0064]) for the benefit of being capable of rapid charge-and-discharge, nonaqueous electrolyte batteries have the benefit that charging time is remarkably short, and are able to improve motive performances, for example, in hybrid automobiles [0003].
17. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang with Yasuda’s teachings for the benefit of being capable of rapid charge-and-discharge, nonaqueous electrolyte batteries have the benefit that charging time is remarkably short, and are able to improve motive performances, for example, in hybrid automobiles.
18. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230110649, PCT filed 3/18/2020) in view of Chang et al. (US20160344063) and further in view of Masuoka (US 20220320585, PCT filed 5/28/21).
19. Masuoka teaches wherein a positive electrode active material layer contained in the positive electrode has a basis weight of 15 to 100 mg/cm2 [0031] for the benefit of providing a high-capacity cell pack [0017].
20. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang with Masuoka’s teachings for the benefit of providing a high-capacity cell pack.
Conclusion
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752