Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 17 of Remark, applicant argues that Rico in view of Kundu does not teach the amended limitation of claim 1 and claim 3. Applicant argues that Kundu does not disclose the first information including both a type of band on which the target uplink channel is transmitted and a frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel or the number of RB set contained because Kundu at most discloses that the frequency hopping option for Msg3 can be disabled and the UE can obtain information related to shared spectrum and thus used shared spectrum for transmission when shared spectrum is enabled. Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 consistent with specification, the first information is the information related to the target uplink signal such as a type of band that the target uplink signal or channel is transmitted or operated which is the shared spectrum access band. Kundu teaches the information of the type of band, the shared spectrum access, that the target uplink signal (msg 3) is operated on (See Kundu Claim 21).
Additionally, Rico teaches “frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel or the number of RB set contained” because it teaches the first information including the first frequency hopping configuration includes the information that UE will identify the time- frequency resource over which the system information msg can be transmitted (See Rico, Fig. 14, step 1405). Further, using the time-frequency resource, the user will transmit the target uplink transmission (See Rico, Fig. 14, step 1415 [0369-0371]). Therefore, Rico in view of Kundu teaches the amended limitation of claim 1 and claim 13. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6, 11-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2020/0350949) (hereafter “Rico”) in view of Kundu et al. (US 2020/0413485 A1)(hereafter “Kundu”).
Regarding claim 1, An uplink transmission information determining method, comprising: before transmitting a target uplink signal or target uplink channel, obtaining, by a terminal, first information related to the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico, Fig. 4 [0239] At 410, base station 105-c may broadcast a SIB. The UE 115-c may receive and process the SIB to obtain PUCCH parameters. In some cases, during initial access, the UE 115-a may use configuration provided in the SIB (first information) to determine PUCCH parameters. In some cases, the PUCCH configuration included in the SIB may indicate a number of repetitions, as well as the different resources, for each CE level of a set of CE levels. For example, the SIB may provide a common configuration (e.g., PUCCH-ConfigCommon) that indicates one or more PUCCH parameters for each CE level.
Rico, Fig. 4 [0244] At 435, UE 115-c may transmit an uplink transmission (target uplink signal) to base station 105-c within a configured uplink resource. In an example, the uplink transmission may be a PUCCH transmission that may include an ACK/NACK, channel state information (CSI), or both.
and determining, by the terminal, expected transmission information in a case that the first information meets a preset condition, wherein the expected transmission information comprises: information of not expecting or ;
Rico [0194]; In some cases, the base station 105-a may transmit a SIB to the UE 115-a, where the SIB may include parameters configured for frequency hopping. That is, the frequency hopping configuration may include a number of parameters (e.g., strings including one or more parameters) that may be used to configure a frequency hopping pattern. For example, the SIB may include in a frequency hopping configuration a first parameter or a first string of parameters to indicate whether frequency hopping is between two or four narrowbands for PDSCH and MPDCCH.
Rico [0197] For example, in CE Mode A, the frequency hopping configuration may configure a one-bit indication in DCI to dynamically trigger frequency hopping “ON” or “OFF” for the corresponding transmission. When in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode A, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping if the RRC parameter given above is set to “true” and the one-bit indication in the DCI triggers frequency hopping “ON.” Similarly, in an example, when in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode B, the UE 115-a may directly follow the RRC frequency hopping parameter. That is, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping in accordance with the RRC frequency hopping parameter (first configuration) independent of DCI (e.g., there may be no DCI indication for frequency hopping; if the RRC parameter is set to “true,” the UE 115-a may use frequency hopping, and if not (that the first information meets a preset condition ( if not true=“false”), the UE 115-a may not use frequency hopping ( expected transmission information).
frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or a number of
Rico [0369] At 1405, the UE may receive a system information message including a first frequency hopping configuration for a first CE mode with a first frequency hopping interval and a second frequency hopping configuration for a second CE mode with a second frequency hopping interval, where the first frequency hopping interval is different than the second frequency hopping interval. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the system information message may be communicated, demodulate a transmission including the system information message over the time-frequency resources, and decode the demodulated transmission to obtain bits that indicate the system information message.
Rico [0371] At 1415, the UE may transmit, while in the idle mode, a first uplink transmission associated with a transport block on the allocated resources and according to one or more of the set of parameters.
Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprises the following:
a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises unlicensed band, or shared spectrum access band;
Kundu teaches wherein the first information comprises the following:
a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises
Kundu [0060] In an example embodiment, the RAR UL grant field “Frequency hopping flag” can be repurposed to indicate the LBT procedure type to the UE, disabling the frequency hopping option for Msg3.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled, and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that the first information comprises a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises shared spectrum access band;
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, The method according to claim 1, wherein the target uplink channel comprises at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); or the target uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Rico, Fig. 3 [0207]; In some cases, the base station 105-b may transmit a response to the PUR uplink transmission at 335. The response may include a control channel (e.g., PDCCH/MPDCCH) or data channel (e.g., PDSCH) message.
Regarding claim 3, The method according to claim 1, wherein the preset condition comprises a second condition; wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
transmitted or operating on
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled (second condition), and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that the first information comprises a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises shared spectrum access band;
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type
of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity
solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
transmitted or operating on an unlicensed band/shared access band, wherein an operating carrier contains more than one LBT sub-band or PRB set; transmitted or operating on an unlicensed band/shared access band, wherein an operating BWP contains more than one LBT sub-band or PRB set or the transmission or operation is on a non-initial UL BWP; a frequency domain bandwidth scheduled or configured containing more than one LBT sub-band or PRB set; the target uplink channel being a PUCCH, wherein the PUCCH is configured with interlaced transmission; a value of an intra-cell guard band configuration for a carrier on which the target uplink signal is transmitted or operates being not equal to 0; or a configured grant retransmission timer being configured.
Regarding claim 4, The method according to claim 3, wherein the expected transmission information comprises at least one of the following:
expecting a network-side device to configure first configuration information that frequency hopping transmission is not to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or not expecting the network-side device to configure second configuration information that frequency hopping transmission is to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0197]; For example, in CE Mode A, the frequency hopping configuration may configure a one-bit indication in DCI to dynamically trigger frequency hopping “ON” or “OFF” for the corresponding transmission. When in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode A, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping if the RRC parameter given above is set to “true” and the one-bit indication in the DCI triggers frequency hopping “ON.” Similarly, in an example, when in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode B, the UE 115-a may directly follow the RRC frequency hopping parameter. That is, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping in accordance with the RRC frequency hopping parameter (first configuration) independent of DCI (e.g., there may be no DCI indication for frequency hopping; if the RRC parameter is set to “true,” the UE 115-a may use frequency hopping, and if not (that the first information meets a preset condition ( if not true=“false”= expecting the network-side device to configure first configuration information that frequency hopping transmission is not to be performed), the UE 115-a may not use frequency hopping ( expected transmission information).
or defaulting to not performing frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico does not teach wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu teaches wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled (second condition), and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that that the first information meets the second condition.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, The method according to claim 3, the expected transmission information is not expecting or frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0197]; That is, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping in accordance with the RRC frequency hopping parameter (first configuration) independent of DCI (e.g., there may be no DCI indication for frequency hopping; if the RRC parameter is set to “true,” the UE 115-a may use frequency hopping, and if not (that the first information meets a preset condition ( if not true=“false”), the UE 115-a may not use frequency hopping ( expected transmission information).
Rico does not teach wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu teaches wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled (second condition), and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that that the first information meets the second condition.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, A terminal comprising a processor (Rico, Fig. 8, Ref. 840), a memory (Rico, Fig. 8, Ref. 830), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
Rico [0303] The code 835 may include instructions to implement aspects of the present disclosure, including instructions to support wireless communications. The code 835 may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as system memory or other type of memory.
before transmitting a target uplink signal or target uplink channel, obtaining, by a terminal, first information related to the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico, Fig. 4 [0239] At 410, base station 105-c may broadcast a SIB. The UE 115-c may receive and process the SIB to obtain PUCCH parameters. In some cases, during initial access, the UE 115-a may use configuration provided in the SIB (first information) to determine PUCCH parameters. In some cases, the PUCCH configuration included in the SIB may indicate a number of repetitions, as well as the different resources, for each CE level of a set of CE levels. For example, the SIB may provide a common configuration (e.g., PUCCH-ConfigCommon) that indicates one or more PUCCH parameters for each CE level.
Rico, Fig. 4 [0244] At 435, UE 115-c may transmit an uplink transmission (target uplink signal) to base station 105-c within a configured uplink resource. In an example, the uplink transmission may be a PUCCH transmission that may include an ACK/NACK, channel state information (CSI), or both.
and determining, by the terminal, expected transmission information in a case that the first information meets a preset condition, wherein the expected transmission information comprises: information of not expecting frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0194]; In some cases, the base station 105-a may transmit a SIB to the UE 115-a, where the SIB may include parameters configured for frequency hopping. That is, the frequency hopping configuration may include a number of parameters (e.g., strings including one or more parameters) that may be used to configure a frequency hopping pattern. For example, the SIB may include in a frequency hopping configuration a first parameter or a first string of parameters to indicate whether frequency hopping is between two or four narrowbands for PDSCH and MPDCCH.
Rico [0197] For example, in CE Mode A, the frequency hopping configuration may configure a one-bit indication in DCI to dynamically trigger frequency hopping “ON” or “OFF” for the corresponding transmission. When in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode A, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping if the RRC parameter given above is set to “true” and the one-bit indication in the DCI triggers frequency hopping “ON.” Similarly, in an example, when in the connected mode and operating according to CE Mode B, the UE 115-a may directly follow the RRC frequency hopping parameter. That is, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping in accordance with the RRC frequency hopping parameter (first configuration) independent of DCI (e.g., there may be no DCI indication for frequency hopping; if the RRC parameter is set to “true,” the UE 115-a may use frequency hopping, and if not (that the first information meets a preset condition ( if not true=“false”), the UE 115-a may not use frequency hopping ( expected transmission information).
a frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or a number of RB sets contained.
Rico [0369] At 1405, the UE may receive a system information message including a first frequency hopping configuration for a first CE mode with a first frequency hopping interval and a second frequency hopping configuration for a second CE mode with a second frequency hopping interval, where the first frequency hopping interval is different than the second frequency hopping interval. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the system information message may be communicated, demodulate a transmission including the system information message over the time-frequency resources, and decode the demodulated transmission to obtain bits that indicate the system information message.
Rico [0371] At 1415, the UE may transmit, while in the idle mode, a first uplink transmission associated with a transport block on the allocated resources and according to one or more of the set of parameters.
Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprises the following:
a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises shared spectrum access band;
Kundu teaches wherein the first information comprises the following:
a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises unlicensed band, or shared spectrum access band;
Kundu [0060] In an example embodiment, the RAR UL grant field “Frequency hopping flag” can be repurposed to indicate the LBT procedure type to the UE, disabling the frequency hopping option for Msg3.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled, and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that the first information comprises a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises unlicensed band, or shared spectrum access band;
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
And frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or the number of LBT sub-bands or RB sets contained.
Regarding claim 11, An uplink transmission configuration method, comprising: obtaining, by a network-side device, first information related to a target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0204] At 330, the UE 115-b may transmit an initial (e.g., grant-free) uplink transmission using the preconfigured uplink resources. The UE 115-b may determine various parameters for the uplink transmission. For example, the UE 115-b may determine whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, frequency hopping parameters (e.g., a hopping interval, a frequency offset, or a number of transmission subframes between hopping), or a number of repetitions for the uplink transmission.
Rico [0213]; In some cases, the base station 105-b may utilize the same RRC field (e.g., in PUR-Config) for enabling or disabling frequency hopping for both MPDCCH and PDSCH (target uplink signal). In some other cases, different RRC fields may be used for the MPDCCH and PDSCH.
And determining, by the network-side device, expected transmission information of a terminal in a case that the first information meets a preset condition
Rico [0207]; For example, the base station 105-b may signal whether or not to use frequency hopping for retransmissions in PUR-Config (e.g., carried over RRC) (PUR- Config = 330 = first information)
Rico [0209] In a third option, the base station 105-b may utilize a combination of RRC and DCI for signaling whether to use frequency hopping for retransmission. For instance, in a first step, a RRC field (or a flag) may enable or disable the possibility of hopping. Further, a DCI field may be used to enable/disable the hopping for a particular (re)transmission (e.g., the DCI field may only be present if RRC bit (first information) associated with frequency hopping is set to true (preset condition)).
wherein the expected transmission information comprises:
information of not expecting frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel,
Rico [0204] At 330, the UE 115-b may transmit an initial (e.g., grant-free) uplink transmission using the preconfigured uplink resources. The UE 115-b may determine various parameters for the uplink transmission. For example, the UE 115-b may determine whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, frequency hopping parameters (e.g., a hopping interval, a frequency offset, or a number of transmission subframes between hopping), or a number of repetitions for the uplink transmission.
Rico [0213]; In some cases, the base station 105-b may utilize the same RRC field (e.g., in PUR-Config) for enabling or disabling (not expecting) frequency hopping for both MPDCCH and PDSCH (target uplink signal). In some other cases, different RRC fields may be used for the MPDCCH and PDSCH.
and sending, by the network-side device, target configuration information to the terminal based on the expected transmission information, wherein the target configuration information is used to configure transmission resources for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico, Fig. 3 [0207] In some cases, the base station 105-b may transmit a response to the PUR uplink (target configuration information) transmission at 335. The response may include a control channel (e.g., PDCCH/MPDCCH) or data channel (e.g., PDSCH) message. For example, the UE 115-b may monitor a control channel within a window (e.g., a predetermined number of subframes) of transmitting the uplink transmission at 330. In some examples, the response may be an ACK for the PUR uplink transmission. However, if the preconfigured uplink resources transmission fails, the base station 105-b may trigger a retransmission based on a dynamic grant for the UE 115-b at 335. In some cases, the base station 105-b may signal the use of frequency hopping for retransmission of the PUSCH using one or more options.
Rico [0210] In some cases, a wireless communications system may support one or more of the above options. Further, the UE 115-b may select one of them, for example, based in part on the CE Mode. In some cases, a preconfigured uplink resources retransmission may be associated with a PUR-RNTI and transmitted grant-free or triggered by a given DCI format (e.g., a retransmission may also be associated with the PUR-RNTI).
a frequency domain position scheduled or configured for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or a number of RB sets contained.
Rico [0369] At 1405, the UE may receive a system information message including a first frequency hopping configuration for a first CE mode with a first frequency hopping interval and a second frequency hopping configuration for a second CE mode with a second frequency hopping interval, where the first frequency hopping interval is different than the second frequency hopping interval. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the system information message may be communicated, demodulate a transmission including the system information message over the time-frequency resources, and decode the demodulated transmission to obtain bits that indicate the system information message.
Rico [0371] At 1415, the UE may transmit, while in the idle mode, a first uplink transmission associated with a transport block on the allocated resources and according to one or more of the set of parameters.
Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprises the following: a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises shared spectrum access band;
Kundu teaches wherein the first information comprises the following:
a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates, wherein the type of the band comprises
Kundu [0060] In an example embodiment, the RAR UL grant field “Frequency hopping flag” can be repurposed to indicate the LBT procedure type to the UE, disabling the frequency hopping option for Msg3.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled, and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that the first information comprises a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates is shared spectrum access band.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, The method according to claim 11, wherein the preset condition comprises a second condition,
Rico [0209] In a third option, the base station 105-b may utilize a combination of RRC and DCI for signaling whether to use frequency hopping for retransmission. For instance, in a first step, a RRC field (or a flag) may enable or disable the possibility of hopping. Further, a DCI field may be used to enable/disable the hopping for a particular (re)transmission (e.g., the DCI field may only be present if RRC bit (first information) associated with frequency hopping is set to true (preset condition)).
Rico does not teach wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: transmitted or operating on a shared spectrum access band;
Kundu [0060] In an example embodiment, the RAR UL grant field “Frequency hopping flag” can be repurposed to indicate the LBT procedure type to the UE, disabling the frequency hopping option for Msg3.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled, and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that the first information comprises a type of a band on which the target uplink signal or target uplink channel is transmitted or operates is shared spectrum access band.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
transmitted or operating on a shared spectrum access band, wherein an operating carrier contains only one LBT sub-band or PRB set;
transmitted or operating on a shared access band, wherein an operating BWP contains only one LBT sub-band or PRB set or the transmission or operation is on an initial uplink bandwidth part (initial UL bandwidth); a frequency domain bandwidth scheduled or configured containing only one LBT sub-band or PRB set; or a value of an intra-cell guard band configuration for a carrier on which the target uplink signal is transmitted or operates being equal to 0;
Regarding claim 13, The method according to claim 12, the expected transmission information comprises at least one of the following:
expecting the network-side device to configure first configuration information that frequency hopping transmission is not to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or not expecting the network-side device to configure second configuration information that frequency hopping transmission is to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0213]; In some cases, the base station 105-b may utilize the same RRC field (e.g., in PUR-Config) for enabling or disabling frequency hopping for both MPDCCH and PDSCH (target uplink signal). In some other cases, different RRC fields may be used for the MPDCCH and PDSCH.
or defaulting to not performing frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico does not teach wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu teaches wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled (second condition), and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that that the first information meets the second condition.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, The method according to claim 13, the expected transmission information is not expecting frequency hopping transmission for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel;
Rico [0189] Wireless communications system 100 may be an NR system that may utilize any combination of licensed, shared, and unlicensed spectrum bands (first information meets the second condition), among others. The flexibility of eCC symbol duration and subcarrier spacing may allow for the use of eCC across multiple spectrums.
Rico [0202]; In some cases, the base station 105-b may include a flag for PUR operation (e.g., a parameter that persists after transitioning out of the connected mode) in the connected mode RRC configuration to enable or disable frequency hopping (expected transmission) for an initial preconfigured uplink resources transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission).
Rico does not teach wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu teaches wherein in a case that the first information meets the second condition.
Kundu Claim 21, during a third step of the 4-step CBRA procedure, encode a third message (Msg3) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the gNB using the scheduled UL grant, the PUSCH transmission using shared spectrum when the shared spectrum channel access is enabled (second condition), and the PUSCH transmission using non-shared spectrum sensed by the UE to be idle during a channel access procedure when the shared spectrum channel access is not enabled;
In view of Kundu, Rico is modified such that that the first information meets the second condition.
Rico and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, frequency hopping system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to include the type of the band and type of LBT category in which the uplink signal is transmitted for the seamless wireless connectivity solution (Kundu [0006] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 16, The method according to claim 11, wherein the target uplink channel comprises at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);
Rico [0207] In some cases, the base station 105-b may transmit a response to the PUR uplink transmission at 335. The response may include a control channel (e.g., PDCCH/MPDCCH) or data channel (e.g., PDSCH = uplink target channel) message.
or the target uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a signal transmitted through the target uplink channel.
or in a case that the first information does not meet the first condition, the expected transmission information is not expecting or not supporting frequency hopping transmission not to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel; or in a case that the first information meets the second condition and does not meet the first condition, the expected transmission information is not expecting or not supporting frequency hopping transmission not to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel.
Regarding claim 20, A network-side device, comprising a processor (Rico, Fig. 12, Ref. 1240), a memory (Rico, Fig. 12, Ref. 1230), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the uplink transmission configuration method according to claim 11 are implemented.
Rico [0360] The memory 1230 may include RAM, ROM, or a combination thereof. The memory 1230 may store computer-readable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 1240) cause the device to perform various functions described herein.
(Please refer to rejection of claim 11).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico in view of Kundu in further view of Wu ( WO 2021062814 A1).
Regarding claim 7, The method according to claim 1, wherein after the determining, by the terminal, expected transmission information, the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, information based on the expected transmission information,
Rico [0197]; That is, the UE 115-a may apply frequency hopping in accordance with the RRC frequency hopping parameter (first configuration) independent of DCI (e.g., there may be no DCI indication for frequency hopping; if the RRC parameter is set to “true,” the UE 115-a may use frequency hopping, and if not (that the first information meets a preset condition ( if not true=“false”), the UE 115-a may not use frequency hopping ( expected transmission information).
Rico does not teach wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
whether target configuration information by a network-side device for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel matches the expected transmission information;
or a frequency domain mapping method of the target uplink signal.
Wu teaches wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
whether target configuration information by the network-side device for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel matches the expected transmission information;
or a frequency domain mapping method of the target uplink signal.
Wu [0093]; In an optional solution, the mapping of the target uplink control information UCI to the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH includes: rate-matched HARQ-ACK, target UCI, and CSI Part 2 of at least one UCI bit The sequence is mapped on the data symbol after the first demodulation reference signal DMRS of the PUSCH;
Wu [0196]; For the case where the number of information bits of HARQ-ACK is greater than 2 bits, HARQ-ACK, CG-UCI, and CSI both map the bit sequence after rate matching on the data symbol after the first DMRS of the PUSCH. The most important signals HARQ-ACK and CG-UCI are mapped next to the DMRS, followed by CSI Part 1, and finally CSI Part 2, which are also mapped in a frequency domain first manner.
In view of Wu, Rico is modified such that the second information comprises a frequency domain mapping method of the target uplink signal.
Rico and Wu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the PUSCH transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to define the second information as after determining the disablement of the frequency hopping.
Regarding claim 8, The method according to claim 7, wherein after the terminal determines whether the target configuration information by the network-side device for transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel matches the expected transmission information, the method further comprises:
[0093]; In an optional solution, the mapping of the target uplink control information UCI to the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH includes: rate-matched HARQ-ACK, target UCI, and CSI Part 2 of at least one UCI bit The sequence is mapped on the data symbol after the first demodulation reference signal DMRS of the PUSCH
(According to claim 7, the target information meets a frequency domain mapping method of the target uplink signal and not the expected transmission information)
in a case that the target configuration information matches the expected transmission information, transmitting, by the terminal, the target uplink signal or target uplink channel according to the target configuration information;
and in a case that the target configuration information does not match the expected transmission information, ignoring, by the terminal, the target configuration information and transmitting the target uplink signal or target uplink channel according to the expected transmission information, or dropping, by the terminal, transmission of the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, or feeding back, by the terminal, first indication information to the network-side device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the target configuration information does not match the expected transmission information; wherein the target configuration information not matching the expected transmission information comprises: the target configuration information is used to configure frequency hopping transmission to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, and the expected transmission information indicates that the target uplink signal or target uplink channel does not expect or does not support frequency hopping transmission; and the target configuration information matching the expected transmission information comprises: the target configuration information is used to configure frequency hopping transmission to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel, and the expected transmission information indicates that the target uplink signal or target uplink channel expects or supports frequency hopping transmission; or the target configuration information is used to configure frequency hopping transmission not to be performed for the target uplink signal or target uplink channel.
Claims 9-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico in view of Kundu in further view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0100004 A1)(“Yang”).
Regarding claim 9, The method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the target uplink channel is a dedicated PUCCH, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, target configuration information for the dedicated PUCCH, wherein the target configuration information comprises a hopping configuration indication.
Yang [0089]; In some instances, when the UE 115 transmits HARQ-ACK prior to receiving configuration with dedicated PUCCH resources, the UE 115 may apply frequency hopping to the PUCCH transmission. FIG. 5 illustrates an example depiction 500 of possible frequency hopping patterns when applied to PUCCH repetitions (PUCCH configured with repetition). As seen in FIG. 5, the UE 115 may transmit PUCCH repetitions in slots 510, 520 and 530.
[0090] The UE 115 may use intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping for PUCCH repetitions, depending on various factors. For example, in some instances, the base station 105 may transmit an indication of whether to perform intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping (e.g., via SIB= hopping configuration information).
In view of Yang, Rico is modified such that the target configuration information for the dedicated PUCCH, wherein the target configuration information comprises a hopping configuration indication.
Rico and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the frequency hopping transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to explain the target configuration for the dedicated PUCCH to explain the signal processing techniques ( Yang [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, The method according to claim 9, wherein, in a case that the dedicated PUCCH is not configured with repetition, the hopping configuration indication comprises an intra-slot frequency hopping indication;
or in a case that the dedicated PUCCH is configured with repetition, the hopping configuration indication comprises an intra-slot frequency hopping indication or an inter-slot frequency hopping indication.
Yang [0089]; In some instances, when the UE 115 transmits HARQ-ACK prior to receiving configuration with dedicated PUCCH resources, the UE 115 may apply frequency hopping to the PUCCH transmission. FIG. 5 illustrates an example depiction 500 of possible frequency hopping patterns when applied to PUCCH repetitions (PUCCH configured with repetition). As seen in FIG. 5, the UE 115 may transmit PUCCH repetitions in slots 510, 520 and 530.
Yang [0090]; The UE 115 may use intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping for PUCCH repetitions, depending on various factors. For example, in some instances, the base station 105 may transmit an indication of whether to perform intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping (e.g., via SIB).
In view of Yang, Rico is modified such that the target configuration information for the dedicated PUCCH, wherein the target configuration information comprises a hopping configuration indication.
Rico and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the frequency hopping transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to explain the target configuration for the dedicated PUCCH to explain the signal processing techniques ( Yang [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, The method according to claim 11, wherein in a case that the target uplink channel is a dedicated PUCCH, the target configuration information comprises a hopping configuration indication.
Yang [0097] At 705, the base station 105 transmits, to a user equipment (UE), information scheduling a PUCCH transmission on a PUCCH resource prior to configuring dedicated PUCCH resources for the UE 115.
Yang [0100] In some instances, the base station 105 may transmit to the UE an indication of the type of frequency hopping to use for the PUCCH transmission.
In view of Yang, Rico is modified such that the target configuration information for the dedicated PUCCH, wherein the target configuration information comprises a hopping configuration indication.
Rico and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the frequency hopping transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to explain the target configuration for the dedicated PUCCH to explain the signal processing techniques ( Yang [0058]).
Regarding claim 18, The method according to claim 17, wherein, in a case that the dedicated PUCCH is not configured with repetition, the hopping configuration indication comprises an intra-slot frequency hopping indication;
or in a case that the dedicated PUCCH is configured with repetition, the hopping configuration indication comprises: an intra-slot frequency hopping indication or an inter-slot frequency hopping indication.
Yang, Fig. 7 [0097]; At 710, the base station 105 may determine a repetition level for the PUCCH
transmission.
Yang [0100];Although not explicitly illustrated in FIG. 7, the base station 105 may perform additional operations that are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, the base station 105 may receive the PUCCH transmission via intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping. In some instances, the base station 105 may transmit to the UE an indication of the type of frequency hopping to use for the PUCCH transmission.
[0032]; The PUCCH transmission repetitions may also incorporate different types of frequency hopping, such as intra-slot or inter-slot frequency hopping, or different patterns of repetition, such as intra-slot repetition or inter-slot repetition, depending on various factors.
In view of Yang, Rico is modified such that the target configuration information for the dedicated PUCCH, wherein the target configuration information comprises an intra-slot frequency hopping indication or an inter-slot frequency hopping indication.
Rico and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the frequency hopping transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Rico in the manner described above to explain the target configuration for the dedicated PUCCH to explain the signal processing techniques ( Yang [0058]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478