DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 6,101,746) in view of Auger (US 2013/0333248).
Regarding Claim 1, Evans discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising: a first sole plate (10) extending from an anterior end of the sole structure to a posterior end of the sole structure (as seen in Fig.4) and including an anterior plate portion (forefoot portion of 10) and a posterior plate portion (midfoot & heel portion of 10), the anterior plate portion attached to the posterior plate portion along a joint (i.e. the point where the forefoot portion and the midfoot portion meet is a joint, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant); a first cleat set (22) disposed in a forefoot region and including a first plurality of traction elements (11) arranged in a first annular pattern about a first axis (i.e. center point of 22) disposed in the forefoot region (as seen in Fig.4); a second cleat set (14) disposed in a heel region (15) of the sole structure and including a second plurality of the traction elements (11) arranged in a second annular pattern about a second axis (i.e. center point of 14) disposed in the heel region (as seen in Fig.4). Evans does not disclose a flex zone extending along the joint from a first relief on a medial side of the first sole plate to a second relief on a lateral side of the first sole plate, each of the first relief and the second relief defined by a respective arcuate recess formed along a peripheral edge of the first sole plate and extending to a respective apex. However, Auger teaches a sole (102) with cleats (132-138,142,144) including an anterior plate portion (toe portion of 102) and a posterior plate portion (forefoot, midfoot & heel portion of 102), the anterior plate portion attached to the posterior plate portion along a joint (see dashed line in annotated Figure below); and having a flex zone (see dashed line in annotated Figure below) extending along the joint from a first relief on a medial side of the first sole plate to a second relief on a lateral side of the first sole plate (as seen in Fig.6), each of the first relief and the second relief defined by a respective arcuate recess formed along a peripheral edge of the first sole plate and extending to a respective apex (see annotated Figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sole plate of Evans to have a flex zone, as taught by Auger, in order to provide a sole that is flexible in the forefoot, to facilitate proper toe-off when the shoe is in use.
Regarding Claim 2, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 1, further comprising a third cleat set (24) including a third plurality of traction elements (11) arranged in a third annular pattern about the first axis (as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claim 3, When in combination, Evans and Auger disclose a sole structure of Claim 2, wherein the flex zone (of Auger) is formed between the first cleat set and the third cleat set (of Evans; as seen in Fig.4, the flex zone of Auger would be between 22 and 24).
Regarding Claim 4, When in combination, Evans and Auger disclose a sole structure of Claim 1, wherein the first cleat set (Evans: 22) includes a first one of the traction elements aligned with the first relief and the second relief across a lateral direction of the first sole plate (Evans: as seen in Fig.4, one of 11 in 22 would be aligned with the first relief and the second relief across a lateral direction of the first sole plate of Auger).
Regarding Claim 5, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 1, wherein each of the first plurality of traction elements (11 of 22) are oriented in a first rotational direction about the first axis (as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claim 6, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 1, wherein the second cleat set (14) includes a first one of the traction elements (medial 11) oriented in a first rotational direction about the second axis and a second one of the traction elements (lateral 11) oriented in an opposite second rotational direction about the second axis (as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 6, wherein the second/third cleat set includes a third one of the traction elements (rear 11) oriented in the first rotational direction about the second axis (as seen in Fig.4). Evans does not explicitly disclose in the embodiment of Fig.4, a fourth one of the traction elements oriented in the second rotational direction about the second axis. However, Evans further teaches a heel cleat set a first one of the traction elements (forward medial 11) oriented in a first rotational direction about the second axis and a second one of the traction elements (forward lateral 11) oriented in an opposite second rotational direction about the second axis, and a third one of the traction elements (rear lateral 11) oriented in the first rotational direction about the second axis and a fourth one of the traction elements (rear medial 11) oriented in the second rotational direction about the second axis (as seen in Fig.13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heel cleat set of Fig.4 of Evans to include a fourth traction element, as also taught by Evans Fig.13, in order to provide the optimum level of traction to a user during sporting activities, enhancing gripping and self-cleaning properties.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Modified Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 7, wherein the first one of the traction elements (forward medial 11) is diametrically opposed to the third one of the traction elements (rear lateral 11) across the second axis and the second one of the traction elements (forward lateral 11) is diametrically opposed to the fourth one of the traction elements (rear medial 11) across the second axis (as seen in Fig.13).
Regarding Claim 11, Evans discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising: a first sole plate (10) extending from an anterior end of the sole structure to a posterior end of the sole structure (as seen in Fig.4) and including an anterior plate portion (forefoot portion of 10) and a posterior plate portion (midfoot & heel portion of 10), the anterior plate portion attached to the posterior plate portion along a joint (i.e. the point where the forefoot portion and the midfoot portion meet is a joint, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant); a first cleat set (22) disposed in a forefoot region and including a first plurality of elongate traction elements (11) arranged in a first annular pattern about a first axis (i.e. center point of 22) disposed in the forefoot region (as seen in Fig.4); a second cleat set (24) including a second plurality of elongate traction elements (11) arranged in a second annular pattern about the first axis (as seen in Fig.4). Evans does not disclose a flex zone extending from a first relief on a medial side of the first sole plate to a second relief on a lateral side of the first sole plate, each of the first relief and the second relief defined by a respective arcuate recess formed along a peripheral edge of the first sole plate and extending to a respective apex. However, Auger teaches a sole (102) with cleats (132-138,142,144) including an anterior plate portion (toe portion of 102) and a posterior plate portion (forefoot, midfoot & heel portion of 102), the anterior plate portion attached to the posterior plate portion along a joint (see dashed line in annotated Figure above); and having a flex zone (see dashed line in annotated Figure above) extending from a first relief on a medial side of the first sole plate to a second relief on a lateral side of the first sole plate (as seen in Fig.6), each of the first relief and the second relief defined by a respective arcuate recess formed along a peripheral edge of the first sole plate and extending to a respective apex (see annotated Figure above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sole plate of Evans to have a flex zone, as taught by Auger, in order to provide a sole that is flexible in the forefoot, to facilitate proper toe-off when the shoe is in use.
Regarding Claim 12, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 11, further comprising a third cleat set (14) disposed in a heel region (15) of the sole structure and including a third plurality of elongate traction elements (11) arranged in a third annular pattern about a second axis (i.e. center point of 14) disposed in the heel region (as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claim 13, When in combination, Evans and Auger disclose a sole structure of Claim 12, wherein the flex zone (of Auger is formed between the first cleat set and the third cleat set (of Evans; as seen in Fig.4, the flex zone of Auger would be between 22 and 24).
Regarding Claim 14, When in combination, Evans and Auger disclose a sole structure of Claim 11, wherein the first cleat set (Evans: 22) includes a first one of the traction elements aligned with the first relief and the second relief across a lateral direction of the first sole plate (Evans: as seen in Fig.4, one of 11 in 22 would be aligned with the first relief and the second relief across a lateral direction of the first sole plate of Auger).
Regarding Claim 15, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 12, wherein the third cleat set (14) includes a first one of the traction elements (medial 11) oriented in a first rotational direction about the second axis and a second one of the traction elements (lateral 11) oriented in an opposite second rotational direction about the second axis (as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claim 18, Evans discloses a sole structure of Claim 11, wherein each of the first plurality of elongate traction elements (11 of 22) are oriented in a first rotational direction about the first axis (as seen in Fig.4).
2. Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 6,101,746) and Auger (US 2013/0333248), in view of Schiller (US 2016/0286905).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Evans and Auger disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Evans does not disclose the sole further comprising a second sole plate attached to the first sole plate and surrounded by the first plurality of traction elements. However, Schiller teaches a sole having a first sole plate (16), and a second sole plate (68) attached to the first sole plate and surrounded by a first plurality of traction elements (17)(as seen in Fig.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sole of Evans to include a second sole plate, as taught by Schiller, in order to provide a sole that prevents accumulation of ground surface material, such as mud, dirt, clay, sand, slush, etc., compacting on the sole of the article of footwear in the user activity.
3. Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 6,101,746) and Auger (US 2013/0333248), in view of Auger (US 2012/0180343).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Evans and Auger disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Evans does not disclose wherein each of the traction elements includes a base portion including a first material of the first sole plate and a tip portion including a second material different than the first material. However, Auger ‘343 teaches a sole with traction members including a portion including a first material of the first sole plate (140; para.80) and a tip portion (150) including a second material (para.82) different than the first material (as seen in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the traction elements of Evans to include a tip portion of a different material from the first sole plate, as taught by Auger ‘343, in order to provide traction elements with enhanced durability.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732