DETAILED ACTION
DRAWINGS
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (see claims 1, 7 and 13) the phrase, “wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply” is not shown. There is no connecting node shown connecting a second end of a first switch T1 in a first bridge arm 11A coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply. Currently a second end of a first switch T3 in a second bridge arm 11B (see figs.1-2, 4-5 & 8-9) in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply via switch K4 is shown with a connecting node. Power supply needs to be referenced. Reference 11 for power battery (see spec., para. [0052], page 10) needs to be shown. An electric vehicle (see claim 13) must be shown.
Secondly, the phrase, “a motor drive system comprising: wherein the controller 12 obtain a rotor position angle of the motor 10; and control a bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms in a control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle to enable the power supply to charge the power battery must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Controller 12 obtaining the position angle of motor 10 is not shown in any of motor drive system figs.1-2, 4-5 & 8-9. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase, (see spec., para. [0007], page 2) “wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply” is not clear as there is no connecting node shown connecting a second end of a first switch T1 in a first bridge arm 11A coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply. Currently a second end of a first switch T3 in a second bridge arm 11B (see figs.1-2, 4-5 & 8-9) in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply via switch K4 is shown with a connecting node.
The phrase, (see spec., para. [0052], page 10) “an anode of the power battery 11” is not clear. Is it the positive terminal of the power battery 11? The first bridge arm 11A may be coupled to any one of the plurality of bridge arms 11B-11C at a midpoint (see spec., para. [0057], page 11) is not clear. Figs.1-2, 4-5, 8-9 show bridge arms 11A, 11B, 111C connect via respective connecting point to connect windings S1, S2, S3 of motor 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
As to claims 1, 7 & 13, The phrase, “wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply” is not clear as there is no connecting node shown connecting a second end of a first switch T1 in a first bridge arm 11A coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply. Currently a second end of a first switch T3 in a second bridge arm 11B (see figs.1-2, 4-5 & 8-9) in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode 1 of a power supply via switch K4 is shown with a connecting node.
Dependent claims 2-6 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claim 1.
Dependent claims 8-12 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claim 7.
Dependent claims 14-18 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claim 13.
Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyagi et al. (Pub.No.: US 2007/0024219 A1 and Aoyagi hereinafter) in view of Masahiro IEZAWA et al. (Pub.No.: US 2021/0067069 A1 and IEZAWA hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A motor drive system, comprising: a plurality of bridge arms;
a motor; and
a controller;
wherein each bridge arm of the plurality of bridge arms comprises a first switch and a second switch, a first end of the first switch is coupled to a first electrode of a power battery, a second end of the first switch is coupled to a first end of the second switch, and a second end of the second switch is coupled to a second electrode of the power battery;
wherein the motor comprises a plurality of windings, the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of bridge arms, a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint, and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end of a first switch in a corresponding bridge arm;
wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply, and a second electrode of the power supply is coupled to the power battery; and
wherein the controller is configured to:
obtain a rotor position angle of the motor; and
control a bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms in a control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle, to enable the power supply to charge the power battery.
(As to claim 1, Aoyagi teaches (see figs.1-6, para. [0002], [0015]) a motor drive system (fig.1), comprising: a plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) (of inverter 2);
a motor 3; and
a controller 15, 16, 17 (see fig.1, microcomputer, see para. [0019]);
wherein each bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] of the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) comprises a first switch Tr1 and a second switch Tr2, a first end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first electrode (P terminal, see fig.1) of a power battery 1 (fig.1), a second end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first end of the second switch Tr2, and a second end of the second switch Tr2 is coupled to a second electrode (N terminal, see fig.1) of the power battery 1;
wherein the motor 3 comprises a plurality of windings (see fig.1), the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence (via U, V, W) with the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]), a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint (middle connecting point connecting windings, see fig.1), and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end U/V/W of a first switch Tr1/Tr3/ Tr5 in a corresponding bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6;
wherein a second end of a first switch Tr1 in a first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) is coupled to a first electrode [positive] of a power supply 14 (via diode 10), and a second electrode [negative] of the power supply 14 is coupled to the power battery 1 (N terminal, see fig.1); and
wherein the controller [15, 16, 17] (see fig.1, microcomputer, see para. [0019]) is configured to:
obtain a rotor position of the motor 3 (see para. [0017]); and
Aoyagi teaches control a bridge arm] [Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] other than the first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) in a control manner (motor drive mode control or Battery charge mode control, see figs.1-6) based on (rotor position sensing or rotor position estimation, see para. [0017]) to enable the power supply 14 to charge the power battery 1 (See para’s [0021], [0022] thru [0025] & figs.1, 3, 4, 5 & 6).
Aoyagi teaches (see fig.1, para. [0017]) control a bridge arm (of inverter 2) based on rotor position, but does not mention rotor position angle.
IEZAWA teaches a motor drive system (fig.1) wherein a bridge arm (23-24 of U phase/25-26 of V phase/27-28 of W phase (of inverter 21, see fig.1, para’s [0024] thru [0034]) is controlled (via control 18, 29, 30) based on corresponding rotor position angle (via rotor position angle sensor 16, see fig.1, para’s [0035]-[0036]), wherein a battery 13 is charged (see para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to control a bridge arm based on corresponding rotor position angle of IEZAWA in the system of Aoyagi because rotation angle signal can be calculated with high accuracy (see IEZAWA, para. [0014]).
As to claim 7, A charging method, applied to a motor drive system that includes a plurality of bridge arms and a motor, the method comprising; obtaining a rotor position angle of the motor, wherein each bridge arm of the plurality of bridge arms comprises a first switch and a second switch, a first end of the first switch is coupled to a first electrode of a power battery, a second end of the first switch is coupled to a first end of the second switch, and a second end of the second switch is coupled to a second electrode of the power battery, wherein the motor comprises a plurality of windings, the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of bridge arms, a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint, and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end of a first switch in a corresponding bridge arm, and wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply, and a second electrode of the power supply is coupled to the power battery; and controlling a bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms in a control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle, to enable the power supply to charge the power battery.
(As to claim 7, Aoyagi teaches (see figs.1-6, para. [0002], [0015]) a charging method (via figs.1-6, para’s [0010], [0011], [0012] & [0026]), applied to a motor drive system (fig.1) that includes a plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) (of inverter 2) and a motor 3, the method (via figs.1-6, para’s [0010], [0011], [0012] & [0026]) comprising; obtaining a rotor position of the motor 3 (see para. [0017]);
wherein each bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] of the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) comprises a first switch Tr1 and a second switch Tr2, a first end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first electrode (P terminal, see fig.1) of a power battery 1 (fig.1), a second end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first end of the second switch Tr2, and a second end of the second switch Tr2 is coupled to a second electrode (N terminal, see fig.1) of the power battery 1;
wherein the motor 3 comprises a plurality of windings (see fig.1), the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence (via U, V, W) with the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]), a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint (middle connecting point connecting windings, see fig.1), and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end U/V/W of a first switch Tr1/Tr3/ Tr5 in a corresponding bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6;
wherein a second end of a first switch Tr1 in a first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) is coupled to a first electrode [positive] of a power supply 14 (via diode 10, see fig.1), and a second electrode [negative] of the power supply 14 is coupled to the power battery 1 (N terminal, see fig.1); and
wherein the controller [15, 16, 17] (see fig.1, microcomputer, see para. [0019]) control a bridge arm] [Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] other than the first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) in a control manner (motor drive mode control or Battery charge mode control, see figs.1-6) based on (rotor position sensing or rotor position estimation, see para. [0017]) to enable the power supply 14 to charge the power battery 1 (See para’s [0021], [0022] thru [0025] & figs.1, 3, 4, 5 & 6).
Aoyagi teaches (see fig.1, para. [0017]) control a bridge arm (of inverter 2) based on rotor position, but does not mention rotor position angle.
IEZAWA teaches a motor drive system (fig.1) wherein a bridge arm (23-24 of U phase/25-26 of V phase/27-28 of W phase (of inverter 21, see fig.1, para’s [0024] thru [0034]) is controlled (via control 18, 29, 30) based on corresponding rotor position angle (via rotor position angle sensor 16, see fig.1, para’s [0035]-[0036]), wherein a battery 13 is charged (see para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to control a bridge arm based on corresponding rotor position angle of IEZAWA in the system of Aoyagi because rotation angle signal can be calculated with high accuracy (see IEZAWA, para. [0014]).
As to claim 13, An electric vehicle comprising a motor drive system, wherein the motor drive system comprises a plurality of bridge arms, a motor, and a controller;
wherein each bridge arm of the plurality of bridge arms comprises a first switch and a second switch, a first end of the first switch is coupled to a first electrode of a power battery, a second end of the first switch is coupled to a first end of the second switch, and a second end of the second switch is coupled to a second electrode of the power battery;
wherein the motor comprises a plurality of windings, the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of bridge arms, a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint, and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end of a first switch in a corresponding bridge arm;
wherein a second end of a first switch in a first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms is coupled to a first electrode of a power supply, and a second electrode of the power supply is coupled to the power battery; and
wherein the controller is configured to:
obtain a rotor position angle of the motor; and
control a bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms in a control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle, to enable the power supply to charge the power battery.
(As to claim 13, Aoyagi teaches (see figs.1-6, para. [0002], [0015]) an electric car (see para. [0031]) comprising a motor drive system (fig.1), wherein the motor drive system (fig.1) comprises: a plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) (of inverter 2), a motor 3 and a controller 15, 16, 17 (see fig.1, microcomputer, see para. [0019]);
wherein each bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] of the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) comprises a first switch Tr1 and a second switch Tr2, a first end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first electrode (P terminal, see fig.1) of a power battery 1 (fig.1), a second end of the first switch Tr1 is coupled to a first end of the second switch Tr2, and a second end of the second switch Tr2 is coupled to a second electrode (N terminal, see fig.1) of the power battery 1;
wherein the motor 3 comprises a plurality of windings (see fig.1), the plurality of windings are in one-to-one correspondence (via U, V, W) with the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]), a first end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a common endpoint (middle connecting point connecting windings, see fig.1), and a second end of each winding of the plurality of windings is coupled to a second end U/V/W of a first switch Tr1/Tr3/ Tr5 in a corresponding bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2]/[Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6;
wherein a second end of a first switch Tr1 in a first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) is coupled to a first electrode [positive] of a power supply 14 (via diode 10), and a second electrode [negative] of the power supply 14 is coupled to the power battery 1 (N terminal, see fig.1); and
wherein the controller [15, 16, 17] (see fig.1, microcomputer, see para. [0019]) is configured to:
obtain a rotor position of the motor 3 (see para. [0017]); and
Aoyagi teaches control a bridge arm] [Tr3-Tr4]/ [Tr5-Tr6] other than the first bridge arm [Tr1-Tr2] in the plurality of bridge arms ([Tr1-Tr2], [Tr3-Tr4], [Tr5-Tr6]) in a control manner (motor drive mode control or Battery charge mode control, see figs.1-6) based on (rotor position sensing or rotor position estimation, see para. [0017]) to enable the power supply 14 to charge the power battery 1 (See para’s [0021], [0022] thru [0025] & figs.1, 3, 4, 5 & 6).
Aoyagi teaches (see fig.1, para. [0017]) control a bridge arm (of inverter 2) based on rotor position, but does not mention rotor position angle.
IEZAWA teaches a motor drive system (fig.1) wherein a bridge arm (23-24 of U phase/25-26 of V phase/27-28 of W phase (of inverter 21, see fig.1, para’s [0024] thru [0034]) is controlled (via control 18, 29, 30) based on corresponding rotor position angle (via rotor position angle sensor 16, see fig.1, para’s [0035]-[0036]), wherein a battery 13 is charged (see para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to control a bridge arm based on corresponding rotor position angle of IEZAWA in the system of Aoyagi because rotation angle signal can be calculated with high accuracy (see IEZAWA, para. [0014]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a respective rejected base claim 1, 7 and 13, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state at a same turn-on start moment and a same turn-on end moment based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel in-phase control manner; or
controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a tum-on state at different tum-on start moments and/or different turn-on end moments based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel interleaved control manner; or controlling a main switch in any bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the series control manner; and wherein: based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the first electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the first switch; or based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the second electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the second switch. Allowable Claim 3 depend on allowable claim 2.
As to claim 4, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle is based on a preset relationship between a position angle set and a control manner, the relationship between a position angle set and a control manner comprises a correspondence between different position angle sets and different control manners, and each position angle set comprises one or more position angles. Allowable Claim 5 depend on allowable claim 4.
As to claim 6, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach the controller is further configured to: before obtaining the rotor position angle of the motor, determine that a vehicle to which the motor drive system belongs is in a stop state or a parking state.
As to claim 8, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state at a same turn-on start moment and a same turn-on end moment based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel in-phase control manner; or controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a tum-on state at different turn-on start moments and/or different turn-on end moments based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel interleaved control manner; or controlling a main switch in any bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the series control manner; and wherein: based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the first electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the first switch; or based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the second electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the second switch. Allowable Claim 9 depend on allowable claim 8.
As to claim 10, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle is based on a preset relationship between a position angle set and a control manner, the relationship between a position angle set and a control manner comprises a correspondence between different position angle sets and different control manners, and each position angle set comprises one or more position angles.
Allowable Claim 11 depend on allowable claim 10.
As to claim 12, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach before the obtaining the rotor position angle of the motor, the method further comprises: determining that a vehicle to which the motor drive system belongs is in a stop state or a parking state.
As to claim 14, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state at a same turn-on start moment and a same turn-on end moment based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel in-phase control manner; or
controlling main switches in two bridge arms other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a tum-on state at different tum-on start moments and/or different turn-on end moments based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the parallel interleaved control manner; or controlling a main switch in any bridge arm other than the first bridge arm in the plurality of bridge arms to be periodically in a turn-on state based on the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle being the series control manner; and wherein: based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the first electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the first switch; or based on the second electrode of the power supply being coupled to the second electrode of the power battery, the main switch is the second switch. Allowable Claim 15 depend on allowable claim 14.
As to claim 16, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach the control manner corresponding to the rotor position angle is based on a preset relationship between a position angle set and a control manner, the relationship between a position angle set and a control manner comprises a correspondence between different position angle sets and different control manners, and each position angle set comprises one or more position angles. Allowable Claim 17 depend on allowable claim 16.
As to claim 18, Aoyagi and IEZAWA fails to teach before obtaining the rotor position angle of the motor, determine that a vehicle to which the motor drive system belongs is in a stop state or a parking state.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846