DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) Rejection.
Claims 3-8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zocchi (US Pub.2004/0174818A1), hereinafter Zocchi.
Regarding Claim 1, Zocchi discloses a measurement application device comprising:
a measurement signal interface configured to acquire a measurement signal (Fig. 1, para [0028], where via the network 130, para [0028], where waveform data of the non-primary acquisition devices is provided to the primary acquisition device via the network 130);
a display coupled to the measurement signal interface and configured to display the acquired measurement signal (Fig. 6, para [028], where devices with a respective transparent window or image layer which is then "drawn" or superimposed over the base window or image layer. In this manner, waveform data supplied by multiple acquisition devices is simultaneously displayed via the primary acquisition device; [0046], waveform data…is simultaneously displayed);
a graphics acquisition interface configured to acquire graphical data (Fig. 4, and Fig. 5, where acquisition and process circuitry 417 and graphs 415, e.g., bar graphs represent the graphical data);
a data processor coupled to the graphics acquisition interface and the display (Fig.1, controller 115, Acquisition unit 113 and display unit 114, interface device 118, para [0016], where acquired sample streams suitable for use by the controller 115 and/or the processing and display unit 114. The acquisition unit 113, in response to commands received from the controller 115… acquisition unit communicates the acquired sample stream(s) to the controller 115 for further processing and, optionally, to the interface device 118),
and configured to extract a graph from the graphical data, and to display the extracted graph with the measurement signal on the display (Figs. 4 and 5, where provide graphical representations of oscilloscope display outputs… primary oscilloscope (e.g., oscilloscope 410.sub.1) is able to retrieve waveform data from each of the non-primary acquisition devices (e.g., oscilloscopes 410.sub.2 and 410.sub.3). The primary oscilloscope 410.sub.1 then displays upon its display device 415.sub.1 the waveforms W.sub.1, W.sub.2 and W.sub.3 generated by each of the three oscilloscopes 410).
Regarding Claim 11, Zocchi discloses a computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device, the method comprising:
acquiring graphical data(Fig. 4, and Fig. 5, where acquisition and process circuitry 417 and graphs 415, e.g., bar graphs represent the graphical data);
extracting a graph from the graphical data(Figs. 4 and 5, where provide graphical representations of oscilloscope display outputs… primary oscilloscope (e.g., oscilloscope 410.sub.1) is able to retrieve waveform data from each of the non-primary acquisition devices (e.g., oscilloscopes 410.sub.2 and 410.sub.3). The primary oscilloscope 410.sub.1 then displays upon its display device 415.sub.1 the waveforms W.sub.1, W.sub.2 and W.sub.3 generated by each of the three oscilloscopes 410);
acquiring a measurement signal (Fig. 1, para [0028], where via the network 130, para [0028], where waveform data of the non-primary acquisition devices is provided to the primary acquisition device via the network 130);
displaying the acquired measurement signal (para [002], where acquiring signals under test (SUT) for subsequent processing and presentation on a display device; para [0046], waveform data…is simultaneously displayed; Abstract, where a primary test and measurement device merges a primary (i.e., local) a non-primary (i.e., remote) waveform data to produce a display signal that, when presented on a display device); and
displaying the extracted graph with the measurement signal (Figs. 4 and 5, where provide graphical representations of oscilloscope display outputs… primary oscilloscope (e.g., oscilloscope 410.sub.1) is able to retrieve waveform data from each of the non-primary acquisition devices (e.g., oscilloscopes 410.sub.2 and 410.sub.3). The primary oscilloscope 410.sub.1 then displays upon its display device 415.sub.1 the waveforms W.sub.1, W.sub.2 and W.sub.3 generated by each of the three oscilloscopes 410; para [0040], where a second process comprises retrieving and displaying remotely generated waveforms and/or acquired sample streams).
Regarding Claim 21, Zocchi discloses a non-transitory computer program product comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of:
acquiring graphical data (Fig. 4, and Fig. 5, where acquisition and process circuitry 417 and graphs 415, e.g., bar graphs represent the graphical data);
extracting a graph from the graphical data (para [0040], where a second process comprises retrieving and displaying remotely generated waveforms and/or acquired sample streams);
acquiring a measurement signal Fig. 1, para [0028], where via the network 130, para [0028], where waveform data of the non-primary acquisition devices is provided to the primary acquisition device via the network 130);
displaying the acquired measurement signal (para [0013], where multiple signal acquisition and/or analysis devices are desired to process signals under test and to provide a common display of the processed signals; para [0021], where acquisition unit 113 samples the signals under test at a sufficiently high rate to enable appropriate processing by the controller 115 and/or processing and display unit 114); and
displaying the extracted graph with the measurement signal (Fig.3, # 310, # 320, para [0040], where a second process comprises retrieving and displaying remotely generated waveforms and/or acquired sample streams).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device / the computer-implemented method for operating the measurement application device according to claims 1 and 11 correspondently, further Zocchi disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to extract/extracting a trace of the graph from the graphical data (Fig. 5, and 6, para [0045], where each of the retrieved non-primary device waveforms W.sub.2 and W.sub.3 are associated with a respective transparent layer by the primary acquisition device 410; para [0046], where FIG. 6 displays a primary acquisition device oscilloscope application graticule 610 including a local waveform W.sub.1; para [0045], where retrieve waveform data from each of the non-primary acquisition devices 410.sub.2 and 410.sub.3. Each of the retrieved non-primary device waveforms W.sub.2 and W.sub.3, e.g., trace of the graph represents the waveforms w3).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device/the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to according to claims 1 and 11, Zocchi disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to select at least one of a plurality of measurement signals for further processing with the extracted graph (see Fig. 4 and 5, para [0043], where a respective signal under test (SUT) which is acquired and processed by the acquisition and processing circuitry 417 to produce a respective waveform W).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device/ the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to according to claims 1 and 11 correspondently, wherein, if the graphical data comprises multiple graphs, or if multiple sets of graphical data are provided (Fig. 5, para [0043], where multiple waveform display will be discussed in more detail below with respect to FIGS. 5 and 6; para [0045], where simultaneous display of waveforms acquired within, for example, the context of the system 400 of FIG. 4), the data processor is further configured to allow a user to select at least one of the available graphs for further processing (Fig. 5, para [0047], where additional program continuously requests waveforms from the second oscilloscope using a CURVEs, query, normalizes the received waveforms to fit the display parameters of the first oscilloscope, e.g., requesting waveforms which fit the display parameters corresponds to the selecting at least one of the available graphs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zocchi in view of Pickerd et al (US Pub. 2023/0019734A1), hereinafter Pickerd and Farmer (US Pub.2013/0207929A1), hereinafter Farmer.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device/the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to claims 1 and 13 correspondently, but does not disclose further comprising a user input interface configured to receive at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis, and a scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data; and
wherein the data processor is further configured to adapt the displaying of the extracted graph according to the received at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis, and a scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data.
Pickerd discloses a user input interface configured to receive (Fig.2, # 30, 32, para [0014], where FIG. 1 shows an embodiment of a test and measurement instrument having this capability. The instrument 10, such as the SPO mentioned above, has one or more processors 12, a user interface 20 through which a user can provide inputs to the instrument, a display 16) at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis (On Fig. 4, para [0022], where FIG. 4 shows the results of a transformation resulting in a short pattern waveform image. Both images include the metadata. from the Fig. 4, the graph location in coordinate system with axes x and y, with value rage); and
wherein the data processor is further configured to adapt the displaying of the extracted graph according to the received at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph (Fig. 4, where x coordinate is Temperature, para [0016], where the metadata array contains the values of the swept parameter associated with each waveform. It may also contain other data such as temperature and humidity, time stamp, etc.), and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis (Fig. 4, where value range corresponds to the 225 until 400 temperature degree).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have a unit and a value range on a coordinate system, as taught by Pickerd into Zocchi in order to more accurately represent data.
Farmer discloses scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data (see Fig. 1F, 1G, 1H and 1I, para [0013], where FIG.1H illustrates an example display from the touch-sensitive display, where the display displays a graphical representation of a sub-set of the frequency-domain characteristics shown in FIG. 1G, the sub-set of frequency-domain characteristics corresponding to a window transform as defined by the single tap zoom-in gesture input denoted in FIG. 1G, and the circle region denotes a gesture corresponding to a continuous motion gesture input, e.g., enlarging or reducing the portion of graph , e.g., scaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a scaling of the graph, as taught by Farmer into Zocchi in order to user can select a very large portion of the waveform or a very small portion of the waveform for searching and better visualizing the desired waveform.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device/ the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to claims 1 and 11 correspondently, but does not disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to extract at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis, and a scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data.
Pickerd discloses the data processor is further configured to extract at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis (Fig. 4, para [0016], where the metadata array contains the values of the swept parameter associated with each waveform. It may also contain other data such as temperature and humidity (unit in the graph Fig. 4), time stamp, etc. The user may provide inputs as to what, if any, metadata the waveform images should include. The waveform image generation will then include the metadata for that waveform in the image; para [0022], where FIG. 4 shows the results of a transformation resulting in a short pattern waveform image. Both images include the metadata. from the Fig. 4, the graph location in coordinate system with axes x and y, with value rage, and unit is temperature (x coordinate), e.g., result of transformation is equally to extracting pattern waveform images resulting were show coordinate system with graph, range value and units).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have a unit and a value range on a coordinate system, as taught by Pickerd into Zocchi in order to more accurately represent data.
Farmer discloses scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data (see Fig. 1F, 1G, 1H and 1I, para [0013], where FIG. 1H illustrates an example display from the touch-sensitive display, where the display displays a graphical representation of a sub-set of the frequency-domain characteristics shown in FIG. 1G, the sub-set of frequency-domain characteristics corresponding to a window transform as defined by the single tap zoom-in gesture input denoted in FIG. 1G, and the circle region denotes a gesture corresponding to a continuous motion gesture input, e.g., enlarging or reducing the portion of graph , e.g., scaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide scaling of a graph, as taught by Farmer into Zocchi in order to user can select a very large portion of the waveform or a very small portion of the waveform for searching and better visualizing the desired waveform.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Zocchi and Pickerd disclose the measurement application device and the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to claims 4 and 14 correspondently, but Zocchi does not disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to adapt the displaying of the extracted graph according to the extracted at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis, and a scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data.
Pickerd discloses the data processor is further configured to adapt the displaying of the extracted graph according to the extracted at least one of a unit of at least one coordinate system axis of a coordinate system comprising the graph, and a value range of the at least one coordinate system axis, and a scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data (Fig. 4, para [0022], where a short pattern waveform image as the first frame of a video sequence in a playback window displayed on the user interface. The displayed images result from some sort of transform applied to the waveform to generate the image. FIG. 3 shows the results of a transformation that creates eye diagrams, and FIG. 4 shows the results of a transformation resulting in a short pattern waveform image. Both images include the metadata; para [0016], where the metadata array contains the values of the swept parameter associated with each waveform. It may also contain other data such as temperature and humidity (unit in the graph Fig. 4), time stamp, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have a unit and a value range on a coordinate system, as taught by Pickerd into Zocchi in order to more accurately represent data.
Farmer discloses scaling of the at least one coordinate system axis from the graphical data (see Fig. 1F, 1G, 1H and 1I, para [0013], where FIG. 1H illustrates an example display from the touch-sensitive display, where the display displays a graphical representation of a sub-set of the frequency-domain characteristics shown in FIG. 1G, the sub-set of frequency-domain characteristics corresponding to a window transform as defined by the single tap zoom-in gesture input denoted in FIG. 1G, and the circle region denotes a gesture corresponding to a continuous motion gesture input, e.g., enlarging or reducing the portion of graph , e.g., scaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a scaling on a graph, as taught by Farmer into Zocchi in order so the user can select a very large portion of the waveform or a very small portion of the waveform for searching and better visualizing the desired waveform.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Zocchi, and Pickerd and Farmer disclose the measurement application device/ the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to claims 4 and 14 correspondently, further Zocchi discloses wherein the data processor is further configured to automatically configure the measurement application device based on at last one of the [operating parameters](para [0019], where trigger automatic calibration functions and/or adapt other operating parameters of a DSO, logic analysis or other data acquisition device).
Zocchi and Farmer do not disclose the configuration based on the unit, orientation, and scaling detected for the at least one axis.
Pickerd discloses the unit, detected for the at least one axis (FIG. 3 shows the results of a transformation that creates eye diagrams, and FIG. 4 shows the results of a transformation resulting in a short pattern waveform image. Both images include the metadata; para [0016], where the metadata array contains the values of the swept parameter associated with each waveform. It may also contain other data such as temperature and humidity (unit in the graph Fig. 4), time stamp, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have configuration based on a unit on a coordinate system, as taught by Pickerd in combination of Zocchi and Farmer in order to more accurately represent data and to improve readability and legibility.
Farmer discloses scaling detected for the at least one axis (see Fig. 1F, 1G, 1H and 1I, para [0013], where FIG. 1H illustrates an example display from the touch-sensitive display, where the display displays a graphical representation of a sub-set of the frequency-domain characteristics shown in FIG. 1G, the sub-set of frequency-domain characteristics corresponding to a window transform as defined by the single tap zoom-in gesture input denoted in FIG. 1G, and the circle region denotes a gesture corresponding to a continuous motion gesture input, e.g., enlarging or reducing the portion of graph , e.g., scaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide configuration based on a scaling detected for the at least one axis, as taught by Farmer into Zocchi in order so the user can select a very large portion of the waveform or a very small portion of the waveform for searching and better visualizing the desired waveform and to improve readability and legibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide configuration based on at least one of the unit, orientation, and scaling detected for the at least one axis, in order to improve readability and legibility.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zocchi, in view of Daisuke et al., (JP 2007170996A), hereinafter Daisuke.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Zocchi disclose the measurement application device/ the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to according to claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to compare the measurement signal with the extracted graph, and to output a pass/fail signal based on predefined pass/fail criteria.
Daisuke discloses the data processor is further configured to compare the measurement signal with the extracted graph (page 6, lines 36-38, where defect waveform is read from the reference waveform storage unit 5a, and the defect is determined by comparing the waveform with the measurement data of the defect candidate extracted in S9.), and to output a pass/fail signal based on predefined pass/fail criteria (page 6, lines 5-11, where a normal waveform is set and an offset amount of a normal waveform obtained from a sample is prepared. As the normal waveform, for example, the range Frange is “± 0.25” and the offset Foffset is “0”. As a result, the inspection waveform is normalized and normalized to a waveform in which the offset amount is 0 and the range width is ± 0.25… the range of the normal waveform obtained by actually measuring the sample is assumed that the maximum value Amax is 2600 and the minimum value Amin is 2100 will be described, e.g., the range of the normal waveform corresponds to the predefined pass criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a comparison of the measurements signal with the extracted graph, as taught by Daisuke into Zocchi in order to detect the defective waveform.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zocchi.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Zocchi discloses the measurement application device/the computer-implemented method for operating a measurement application device according to according to claims 1 and 11 correspondently, further Zocchi disclose the various control programs and other programs 244 and data(para [0030]), but do not explicitly disclose wherein the data processor is further configured to perform predefined mathematical calculations with the measurement signal, and the extracted graph, and output a result of the predefined mathematical calculations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to perform predefined mathematical calculations with the measurement signal, and the extracted graph, and output a result in order to improve performance and make reports more interactive and accurate.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857