DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 12/08/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, 15-18 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 55-60, 64, 62-63, 26, 30-31, 64, 1, 5, 10, 47, 51, 10 of app 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same subject matters and limitations as explained below.
Claims 1 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 55 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 1
17/551,997 claim 55
A method comprising:
determining, based on historical data of a device, a sleep period associated with a user of the device;
adjusting, based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep period,
55. A method comprising:
determining, based on historical deactivations of a device, a predicted deactivation time of the device;
adjusting, based on an amount of time remaining until the predicted deactivation time,
and based on an end time of a video program being output by the device,
at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program;
wherein the adjusting is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period;
and adjusting one or more color values of additional pixels of the video program as the end time approaches.
at least one color value of one or more pixels of the device;
and adjusting one or more color values of additional pixels of the device as the predicted deactivation time approaches.
Claims 2 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 56 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 2
17/551,997 claim 56
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time, and the end time, an output a sound level of a video program.
56. The method of claim 55, further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time, a sound level of a content item.
Claims 3 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 57 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 3
17/551,997 claim 57
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time and the end time, at least one of an intensity or a brightness of a video program.
57. The method of claim 55, further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time, at least one of an intensity or a brightness of a content item.
Claims 4 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 58 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 4
17/551,997 claim 58
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the historical data of the device comprises information indicating when a display screen of the device changed from an ON state to an OFF state; andthe sleep period is associated with an expected future change of the display screen from the ON state to the OFF state.
58. The method of claim 55, wherein the historical deactivations of the device comprise information indicating when a display screen of the device changed from an ON state to an OFF state; and the predicted deactivation time is associated with an expected future change of the display screen from the ON state to the OFF state.
Claims 5 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 59 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 5
17/551,997 claim 59
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises: increasing, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decreasing, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, , a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
59. The method of claim 55, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value comprises: increasing, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decreasing, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
Claims 6 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 60 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 6
17/551,997 claim 60
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the sleep schedule period is based on a security system event, and the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises: determining, based on the end time, at least one color shift value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the at least one color shift value to the at least one color value of the one or more pixels for output by the one or more pixels.
60. The method of claim 55, wherein the determining the predicted deactivation time is based on a security system event, and the adjusting the at least one color value comprises: determining, based on the amount of time, at least one color shift value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the at least one color shift value to the at least one color value for output by the one or more pixels.
Claims 7 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 64 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 7
17/551,997 claim 64
7. The method of claim 1,
wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on the end time
64. The method of claim 55, wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on an amount remaining in a scheduled video content item.
Claims 8 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 62 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 8
17/551,997 claim 62
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels further comprises:receiving, for the one or more pixels, data indicating a plurality of color values to be output by the one or more pixels for display of the content item video program; determining, based on the end time, a color shift value of a color value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the color shift value to the color value for output by the one or more pixels.
62. The method of claim 55, wherein the adjusting at least one color value further comprises: receiving, for the one or more pixels, data indicating a plurality of color values to be output by the one or more pixels for display of a content item; determining, based on the amount of time, a color shift value of a color value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the color shift value to the color value for output by the one or more pixels.
Claims 9 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 63 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 9
17/551,997 claim 63
9. The method of claim 1,
wherein the adjusting the
one or more color values of additional pixels as the end time approaches comprises:
progressively adjusting color values for groups of the additional pixels corresponding to concentric regions of a display, such that color values of the groups of additional pixels in an outermost region are adjusted first, and as the end time further approaches, color values of the groups of additional pixels in one or more inner regions are successively adjusted.
63. The method of claim 55, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value comprises increasing a red color of a scheduled video program based on an amount of time remaining in the scheduled video program.
Claims 11 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 26 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 11
17/551,997 claim 26
11. An apparatus comprising:one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on historical data of a device, a sleep period associated with a user of the device;
adjust, based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep period,
and based on an end time of a video program being output by the device,
at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program;
wherein the adjusting
is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period;
and adjust one or more color values of additional pixels of the video program as the sleep schedule approaches.
26. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on historical deactivations of a device, a predicted deactivation time of the device;
adjust, based on an amount of time remaining until the predicted deactivation time,
at least one color value of one or more pixels of the device; and adjust one or more color values of additional pixels of the device as the predicted deactivation time approaches.
Claims 12 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 30 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 12
17/551,997 claim 30
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:increase, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decrease, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, , a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
30. The apparatus of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: increase, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decrease, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
Claims 13 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 31 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 13
17/551,997 claim 31
13. (New) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the sleep period is determined based on a security system event, and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:determine, based on the end time, at least one color shift value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and apply the at least one color shift value to the at least one color value of the one or more pixels for output by the one or more pixels.
31. The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the predicted deactivation time is determined based on a security system event, and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the amount of time, at least one color shift value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and apply the at least one color shift value to the at least one color value for output by the one or more pixels.
Claims 14 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 64 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 14
17/551,997 claim 64
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to
adjust the one or more color values of additional pixels by spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on the end time.
64. The method of claim 55, wherein the
adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on an amount remaining in a scheduled video content item.
Claims 15 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 1 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 15
17/551,997 claim 1
15. one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause:determining, based on historical data of a device, a sleep period associated with a user of the device; adjusting, based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep period and based on an end time of a video program being output by the video program, at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program;
wherein the adjusting is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period;
and adjusting one or more color values of additional pixels of the device as the end time approaches.
1. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause: determining, based on historical deactivations of a device, a predicted deactivation time of the device; adjusting, based on an amount of time remaining until the predicted deactivation time, at least one color value of one or more pixels of the device; and adjusting one or more color values of additional pixels of the device as the predicted deactivation time approaches.
Claims 16 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 5 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 16
17/551,997 claim 5
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises: increasing, in a linear manner as the
end time approaches, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decreasing, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
5. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the adjusting the at least one color value comprises:
increasing, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decreasing, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
Claims 17 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 10 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 17
17/551,997 claim 10
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on an amount remaining in a scheduled video content item.
Claims 18 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 47 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 18
17/551,997 claim 47
18. A system comprising:a display device; and a computing device, wherein the computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to: determine, based on historical data of the display device, a sleep period associated with a user of the display device;
adjust, based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep period,
and based on an end time of a video program being output by the display device, at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program;
wherein the adjusting is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period
and adjust one or more color values of additional pixels of the video program as the end time approaches; and
the display device configured to display the at least one adjusted color value of one or more pixels of the display device.
47. A system comprising: a controller and a device, wherein the controller comprises: one or more first processors; and memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the controller to: determine, based on historical deactivations of a device, a predicted deactivation time of the device;
adjust, based on an amount of time remaining until the predicted deactivation time,
at least one color value of one or more pixels of the device; and adjust one or more color values of additional pixels of the device as the predicted deactivation time approaches, and
wherein the device comprises: one or more second processors; and memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the device to: provide information indicating the historical deactivations of the device.
Claims 19 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 51 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 19
17/551,997 claim 51
19. The system of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
increase, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decrease, in a linear manner as the end time approaches, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
51. The system of claim 47, wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the controller to:
increase, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a red color value of each of the one or more pixels; and decrease, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels.
Claims 20 are determined to be obvious in light of claim 10 of 17/551,997 (now is US patent US 12,005,195 B2) based on reasons below for having similar limitations.
Instant application claims 20
17/551,997 claim 10
20. The system of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to
adjust the one or more color values of additional pixels by spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of the display device based on the end time.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the
adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on an amount remaining in a scheduled video content item.
Claims 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Applicant is advised that should claims 7 be found allowable, claims 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant use the term “sleep schedule period” on Page 3, Line 5-6, based on comparison with other claim(s) with similar terms used, it should have been “sleep period”.. Appropriate correction is required. For examining purpose, it will be treated like any other places of the amendment as ”sleep period”.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant use the term “content item video program” on Page 3, Line 18, based on comparison with other claim(s) with similar terms used, it should have been “video program”.. Appropriate correction is required. For examining purpose, it will be treated like any other places of the amendment as video program”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 11, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al.(US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Herf teaches a system comprising (Herf, Fig. 4, Element 400, System):
a display device (Herf, Fig. 4, Element 440 Input/Output device); and a computing device ,wherein the computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Herf, Column 14, Line 3-7, “The system 400 includes a processor 410, a memory 420, a storage device 430, and an input/output device 440” “The processor 410 is capable of processing instructions for execution within the system 400”), cause the computing device to: determine, based on historical data of the display device (Herf, Column 9, Line 64-66 – Column 10, Line 1-3 “management application 214 may obtain data from user data database 216, such as data that indicate user preferences for display 204… other display elements as part of a profile, etc.), data that indicates a history of use by the user”), a sleep period associated with a user of the display device (Herf, Column 11, Line 6-9, “visual stimulation for a user over the course of a particular time period, such as over the course of a day or over the course of a predefined number of hours before the user's scheduled time to go to bed”; Column 9, Line 21-22, “reduce interference with the user's natural sleep patterns <read on sleep period> from being exposed to light from display 204”); adjust, based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep period (Herf, Column 9, Line 21-22, “reduce interference with the user's natural sleep patterns <read on sleep period> from being exposed to light from display 204”; Column 13, Line 4-7, “the change in brightness will adversely affect their ability to get to sleep, so that they can re-adjust the brightness or shorten the amount of time they spend with their device for the remainder of the day”), [[ and based on an end time of a video program being output by the device, ]] at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program (Herf, Column 12, Line14-18, “a system may adjust one or more appliances alone or in coordination to limit the amount of stimulating light levels a person or different people receive so as to allow them to have quicker and better sleep”; Column 10, Line 65-67-Column 11, Line 1-5, Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis; Column 6, Line 35-38, “a user interacts with one or more applications or as video provided on display 104 changes. Such light, which may be provided in a variety of colors for different areas of the display 104 may be received”); and adjust one or more color values of additional pixels of the video program as the [[ end ]] time approaches (Herf, Column 8, Line 21-29, “with evening or a normal sleep time approaching, then a system may increase the level of melanopic lux” “the computer's colors may be shifted more aggressively away from blue light” Column 10, Line 65-67-Column 11, Line 1-5, Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis, and the light management application 214 can combine such a model with information about the content that is being and has been provided to display); and the display device configured to display the at least one adjusted color value of one or more pixels of the video program (Herf, Column 2, Line 56-62, “The user may adjust the overall color of the computer display (e.g., by selecting a choice to return their display from adjusted color temperature to “accurate” colors), and the computer may then lower or raise the display brightness to compensate for the change in stimulating light level created by the color temperature adjustment” Column 10, Line 65-67, “Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis… the content that is being and has been provided to display”).[[ wherein the adjusting is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period ]]
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting is delayed based on the end time of the video program being scheduled to occur during the sleep period…adjust time based on an end time of a video program being output by the device.
However, Xu teaches adjust time based on an end time of a video program being output by the device, at least one color value of one or more pixels of the video program (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information) [0096], “The attribute of the schedule tag may be, but is not limited to, a shape, a color, brightness, a level of opacity, a form, or flicker of the schedule tag.”; [0114], “display a color of a schedule tag generated based on schedule information between 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m., and a color of a schedule tag generated based on schedule information between 6:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m”),
Xu and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display content on display device based on timed period. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Xu provided a way of adjusting different characteristic value including color, brightness based on state of the device approaching to scheduled start/end time. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate color changing methodology taught by Xu into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to dynamically adjust the characteristic value including color, brightness, shape of the display content based on the scheduled start/end time which provide more user friendly displaying environment for user to really enjoy the smoothly viewing experience.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Dobrynewsk teaches wherein the delaying an adjusting action based on the video program being output (Dobrynewsk, Paragraph [0004], "During computer use, there are certain ituations of long inactivity ... Such situations include an Internet television content playback"; Paragraph [0048], "configuring management of display related resources, not to invoke resources saving action i.e. taking actions directed at not invoking a screen saver or not reducing screen brightness ... Thus a resources saving action will not be invoked while the client generates an output signal... based on the input sequence of images"; it is noted that because the resource-saving adjusting action is expressly not invoked while the video/image sequence is being generated, the adjusting is deferred until generation of the video program output ceases, which corresponds to delaying the adjusting based on the end time of the video program).
Dobryniewski and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with
managing display behavior during time periods in which a display device is presenting visual content to a user, particularly in situations involving reduced user interaction and time-based display management. Herf provided a way of determining a sleep schedule period associated with a user and adjusting one or more color values of pixels of a display device based on an amount of time remaining until the sleep schedule period in order to reduce stimulating light as sleep approaches. Dobryniewski provided a way of configuring management of display-related resources not to invoke resource-saving actions, including not invoking a screen saver or not reducing screen brightness, while a video/image sequence is being generated and output by a client device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the delayed invocation of display-adjusting actions taught by Dobryniewski into the modified invention of Herf such that the adjusting of color values based on the sleep schedule period is delayed while the video program is being output when the end time of the video program is scheduled to occur during the sleep period. The motivation is to avoid disrupting video playback and user viewing experience during video program output while still achieving the sleep-related display adjustment objectives discussed by Dobryniewski in Paragraphs [0004]
and [0048].
Regarding Claim 1, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 18 but as a method and the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches all the limitations as of Claim 18. Therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time, [[ and the end time, ]] an sound level of a video program (Herf, Column 11, Line 6-20, “visual stimulation for a user over the course of a particular time period, such as over the course of a day or over the course of a predefined number of hours before the user's scheduled time to go to bed” “Measurement can be determined using a light sensor on a device that the user carries, whereas inference may be made by determining a user's immediate ambient environment ( e.g., inside or outside) via sound measurement”).
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose adjusting based on the end time.
However, Xu teaches adjusting, based on the end time, an sound level of video program (Xu, Paragraph [0119], “the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information”; [0033], “The controller may be further configured to output a preset notification, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag” [0326], “The output unit 120 may output an audio signal, a video signal, or a vibration signal, and may include a display unit 121, a sound output unit 122”)
Xu and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display content on display device based on timed period. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Xu provided a way of adjusting the output characteristic including sound based on state of the device approaching to scheduled start/end time. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate characteristic changing methodology taught by Xu into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to dynamically adjust the different output characteristics including sound level of the display content based on the scheduled start/end time which provide allow user to be aware of the scheduled program and to enjoy the smoothly viewing experience.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches further comprising: adjusting, based on the amount of time [[ and the end time ]], at least one of an intensity or a brightness of the video program (Herf, Column 7, Line 32-35, Column 13, Line 3-8, “a message may be presented to a user warning them that the change in brightness will adversely affect their ability to get to sleep, so that they can re-adjust the brightness or shorten the amount of time they spend with their device for the remainder of the day” “lowering of effect may partially or fully offset the change cause by the adjustment to brightness (e.g., so that the change in melanopic effect becomes zero as a result of the change in brightness level”; Column 13, Line 55-65, “an increase in brightness may be identified… for a movie of video game may be lowered…”).
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose adjusting based on the end time.
However, Xu teaches adjusting, based on the end time, at least one of an intensity or a brightness of the video program (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information) [0096], “The attribute of the schedule tag may be, but is not limited to, a shape, a color, brightness, a level of opacity, a form, or flicker of the schedule tag.”),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels further comprises (Herf, Column 10, Line 62-66, “system 224 may be accessed over the Internet to obtain data that characterizes the amount of melanopic stimulating light that particular makes and models of displays provide to users. Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis”):
receiving, for the one or more pixels, data indicating a plurality of color values to be output by the one or more pixels for display of the video program (Herf, Column 4, Line 61-65, “visual stimulation that a person receives over the course of a day, and particularly in the time just before their natural bedtime. Two main variables are the amplitude/brightness and color temperature oflight to which a person is exposed”; Column 9, Line 47-52, “control of the overall color temperature (and adjustments to meet changes in overall color temperature) can be made by providing appropriate inputs for system color calibration controls, pixel shaders or other compositor-enabled techniques, or backlight controls (which may include color, e.g., for RGB/OLED displays)”; Column 6, Line 35-37, “one or more applications or as video provided on display 104 changes. Such light, which may be provided in a variety of colors for different areas”);
determining, based on the [[ end ]] time, a color shift value of a color value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the color shift value to the color value for output by the one or more pixels (Herf, Column 8, Line 25-31, “the user is determined to have "burned the midnight oil" by working on their computer constantly through the evening, the computer's colors may be shifted more aggressively away from fluxomblue light so as to save as much of the user's ability to get to sleep as possible; Column 10, Line 62-66, “system 224 may be accessed over the Internet to obtain data that characterizes the amount of melanopic stimulating light that particular makes and models of displays provide to users. Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis”);
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]].
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time, a color shift value of a color value (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information) [0096], “The attribute of the schedule tag may be, but is not limited to, a shape, a color, brightness, a level of opacity, a form, or flicker of the schedule tag.”),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
Regarding Claim 11, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 18, but in a apparatus. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski disclose the limitations of claims 1. Additionally, Herf discloses an apparatus that maps to Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0090]-[0091] (Herf, Fig. 4, Column 14, Line 1-5, 38-45, “The system 400 includes a processor 410, a memory 420, a storage device 430, and an input/output device 440. Each of the components 410,420,430, and 440 are interconnected using a system bus 450” “The apparatus can be implemented in a computer program product tangibly embodied in an information carrier, e.g., in a machine readable storage device for execution by a programmable processor; and method steps can be performed by a programmable processor executing a program of instructions to perform functions of the described implementations). Thus, Claim 11 is met by Herf according to the mapping presented in the rejection of claims 18, given the system corresponds to the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 18 and the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches all the limitations as of Claim 18. And the combination discloses these features can be implemented on a computer readable storage medium (Herf, Column 4, Line 5-11, the actions discussed above may be carried out as operations by the execution of code that is stored on one or more tangible, non-transitory machine-readable media. In some implementations, such media is part of a system and is in operable communication 10 with one or more computer processors that execute code to generate the operations).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al.(US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Stanley-Marbell et al. (US-20150347204-A1, hereinafter Stanley-Marbell).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but StanleyMarbell teaches wherein the historical data of the device comprises information indicating when a display screen of the device changed from an ON state to an OFF state (Stanley-Marbell, Paragraph [0067], [0095], sampling daemon 102 can receive notifications when the mobile device's screen is turned on or off (e.g., "system.backlight" event); attribute event data stored in event data store 104 (e.g., historical data) can be used by sampling daemon 102 to predict the occurrence of future events) ;
and the sleep period is associated with an expected future change of the display screen from the ON state to the OFF state (StanleyMarbell, Paragraph [0006], [0067], sampling daemon 102 can receive notifications when the mobile device's screen is turned on or off ( e.g., "system.backlight" event), when the mobile device 100; The attribute events can be stored and later used to predict future occurrences of the attribute events; [0047], “mobile device 100 can be configured with a predefined attribute (e.g., "system.sleepWake") that indicates whether mobile device 100 is in sleep mode <read on sleep period>”).
StanleyMarbell and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display device based on historical timed data. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. StanleyMarbell provided a way of adjusting the color value based on state of the device on/off and increase red color and decreasing blue color in a linear way. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate color changing methodology taught by StanleyMarbell into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to adjust the color of image displayed on screen based on user habit and adjust the red/blue color properly when machine is in on or off state in order to provide user with the most smoothly viewing experience.
Claim(s) 5, 12, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al.(US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of BrantonHousley (US-20170318345-A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises: increasing, [[ in a linear manner as the end time approaches ]] a red color value of each of the one or more pixels (Herf, Column 12, Line 9-15, 51-56, “increase in brightness will generally result in an increase in melanopic-affecting stimulating light for a user, and that increase can be offset by a change in overall color temperature for the display that is relatively warmer in temperature (e.g., a shift to the red end of the color spectrum)” “multiple parameters may be changed in response to identifying a change in brightness level ( or other independent variable), and they may be adjusted for reasons other than maintaining a constant melanopic effect for the display”)
; and decreasing, [[ in a linear manner as the end time approaches]], a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels (Herf, Column 8, Line 19-22, “if it is determined that the user has been away from exciting blue light for a longer period than is typical for that user, with evening or a normal sleep time approaching”)
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]] approaching.
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time approaching (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information)),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose increasing and decreasing in a linear manner.
However, BrantonHousley teaches wherein the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises: increasing, in a linear manner as the end time approaches a red color value of each of the one or more pixels (BrantonHousley, Paragraph [0004], "when the current time reaches a predefined period of time before the threshold night value, gradually adjusting the white color balance of the video signal to increase the red component value incrementally over the predefined period of time"; Paragraph [0057], "Images and video include a white color balance. Color on a television or other display device screen is typically a combination of red, green, and blue (RGB) components"); and decrease, in a linear manner as the amount of time decreases, a blue color value of each of the one or more pixels (BrantonHousley, Paragraph [0057], [0071 ], "Method 600 can allow for configuration of a predefined period of time over which to gradually reduce the blue light component of the video. The predefined period of time can be set to a default when the blue light reduction functionality is implemented on the set-top box"; "the white color balance can be set to decrease the blue light component").
BrantonHousley and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display device based on historical timed data. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. BrantonHousley provided a way of adjusting the color value based on the user's sleep habit and increase red color and decreasing blue color in a linear way. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate red/blue color changing methodology taught by BrantonHousley into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to adjust the color of image displayed on screen based on user habit and adjust the red/blue color properly in order to provide user with the most comfortably viewing experience.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 5 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 16, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 5 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 5 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al. (US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1) as applied to Claim 1, 11 above respectively, in view of Gobeyn et al. (US 20080294016 A1, hereinafter Gobeyn).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the determining the sleep period [[ is based on a security system event ]], and the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels comprises (Herf, Column 9, Line 21-22, “reduce interference with the user's natural sleep patterns <read on sleep period> from being exposed to light from display 204”; Column 12, Line 9-15, 51-56, “multiple parameters may be changed in response to identifying a change in brightness level ( or other independent variable), and they may be adjusted for reasons other than maintaining a constant melanopic effect for the display”; Column 10, Line 62-66, “system 224 may be accessed over the Internet to obtain data that characterizes the amount of melanopic stimulating light that particular makes and models of displays provide to users. Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis”):
determining, based on the [[ end ]] time, at least one color shift value of the at least one color value of the one or more pixels; and applying the at least one color shift value to the at least one color value of the one or more pixels for output by the one or more pixels (Herf, Column 8, Line 25-31, “the user is determined to have "burned the midnight oil" by working on their computer constantly through the evening, the computer's colors may be shifted more aggressively away from fluxomblue light so as to save as much of the user's ability to get to sleep as possible; Column 10, Line 62-66, “system 224 may be accessed over the Internet to obtain data that characterizes the amount of melanopic stimulating light that particular makes and models of displays provide to users. Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis”).
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]].
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information)),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose that the determination is based on a security system event.
However, Gobeyn teaches the determining the sleep period is based on a security system event (Gobeyn, Table-US-00001 : The privacy settings database 440 provides privacy settings that associate subject or user identification with the desired privacy levels for that individual. Exemplary privacy settings provide:… Personal behavioral factors - such as use of cosmetics or alcohol or drugs, exercise Dietary habits, sleep habits <read on sleep period>), and the adjusting the at least one color value of the one or more pixels (Gobeyn, Paragraph [0103], “color changes can be detected if camera 120 has color specific detection devices. For example, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array”).
Gobeyn and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display device based on historical timed data. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Gobeyn provided a way of adjusting the color value based on the user's sleep habit and privacy settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate privacy setting taught by Gobeyn into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to adjust the color based on personalized privacy setting of the sleeping habit which provide more secured data protection at the same time be more flexible allow customized color adjustment based on sleeping habit.
Regarding Claim 13, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 6 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 14, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al. (US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1) as applied to Claim 1, 11 above respectively, in view of Osterhout et al. (US 20150356779 A1, hereinafter Osterhout).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels comprises (Herf, Column 12, Line 9-15, 51-56, “increase in brightness will generally result in an increase in melanopic-affecting stimulating light for a user, and that increase can be offset by a change in overall color temperature for the display that is relatively warmer in temperature (e.g., a shift to the red end of the color spectrum)”; Column 10, Line 65-67-Column 11, Line 1-5, Such models may express the excitation on a per-pixel basis of per-group-of-pixels basis)
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]] approaching.
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time approaching (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information)),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
Herf does not explicitly disclose but Osterhout teaches spreading a redshift to one or more pixels of a display based on the end time (Osterhout, Paragraph [0112], [0196], “Full color images can be presented to a user by sequentially providing illumination light with complimentary colors such as red, green and blue” “Bright pixels in the image are provided by pixels that remain in the “on” state for the entire time of the cycle, while dimmer pixels in the image are provided by pixels that switch between the “on” state and “off” state within the time of the cycle, or frame time when in a video sequence of images” “the originating color may be red, indicative of high speed, and it may change over the course of the trace to yellow, indicative of a slowing trace”).
Osterhout and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting color of image on the display. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Osterhout provided a way of adjusting the color value based on the state of the device associated remaining of the displaying. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate color changing methodology taught by Osterhout into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to adjust the color of image displayed on screen consistently based on the cycle of the activity which will enhance the system flexibility and to provide more comfortable viewing experience to users.
Regarding Claim 14, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herf et al.(US 10255880 B1, hereinafter Herf) in view of Xu et al. (US 20170269792 A1, hereinafter Xu), further in view of Dobrynewsk (US 20170017291 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Brockwell et al. (US 20100112680 A1, hereinafter Brockwell).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels as the [[ end ]] time approaches comprises:(Herf, Column 12, Line 9-15, “an increase in brightness will generally result in an increase in melanopic-affecting stimulating light for a user, and that increase can be offset by a change in overall color temperature for the display that is relatively warmer in temperature (e.g., a shift to the red end of the color spectrum)” Column 6, Line 35-38, “a user interacts with one or more applications or as video provided on display 104 changes. Such light, which may be provided in a variety of colors” Column 13, Line 5-10, “they can re-adjust the brightness or shorten the amount of time they spend with their device for the remainder of the day”)
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]] approaching.
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time approaching (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information)),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Brockwell teaches progressively adjusting color values for groups of the additional pixels corresponding to concentric regions of a display (Brockwell, Paragraph [0177], “a linear or non-linear scale is printed as concentric circles along the radial progression in colour”; [0182], “This can be achieved by a special adaptation of the moving colour-band device to modify the continuous scale into a graduated scale”; it is noted since the changing color for pixels are gradually and continuously from outside to center, the current pixel that are changing are the additional pixels relative to the previous pixel(s) changed), such that color values of groups of additional pixels in an outermost region are adjusted first (Brockwell, Paragraph [0176], [0177], “uses planar diffusion in two dimensions from the edge of a film toward the centre” “Colour migrates in this form from the edge towards the centre”), and as the end time further approaches, color values of groups of additional pixels in one or more inner regions are successively adjusted (Brockwell, Paragraph [0177], “Colour change at each concentric circle epresents an increasing level of exposure according to a scale of interpretation calibrated for the particular industrial application…moved the colour change from the outer edge toward the centre by one level on the printed scale”).
Brockwell and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display content on display device based on timed period. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Brockwell provided a way of adjusting display based on concentration region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate displaying content changing methodology taught by Brockwell into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to gradually adjust the color for displaying content from outermost region to inner region which will provide smooth transition of displaying at the same time provide user with proper alert when time approaching the end of display period which is more user friendly viewing environment.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Herf, Xu and Dobryniewski teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels as the [[ end ]] time of the video program approaches (Herf, Column 12, Line 9-15, “an increase in brightness will generally result in an increase in melanopic-affecting stimulating light for a user, and that increase can be offset by a change in overall color temperature for the display that is relatively warmer in temperature (e.g., a shift to the red end of the color spectrum)” Column 6, Line 35-38, “a user interacts with one or more applications or as video provided on display 104 changes. Such light, which may be provided in a variety of colors” Column 13, Line 5-10, “they can re-adjust the brightness or shorten the amount of time they spend with their device for the remainder of the day”)
But, Herf does not explicitly disclose [[ adjusting based on the ]] end [[ time ]] approaching.
However, Xu teaches determining, based on the end time approaching (Xu, Paragraph [0090], A schedule tag having a length..based on schedule start time and schedule end time [0119], The mobile terminal 100 may change and display at least one of a color, a shape, and brightness of… image included in the clock GUI, according to the time information corresponding to the displayed schedule tag… the time information corresponding to the schedule tag may include at least one of schedule start time and end time included in the schedule information)),
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of changing characteristic of display content (color, brightness, shape) of Xu into Herf is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Brockwell teaches gradually increasing an area of adjusted pixels in a concentric pattern (Brockwell, Paragraph [0177], “it can be seen that a linear or non-linear scale is printed as concentric circles along the radial progression in colour onto the upper sealing layer. Colour migrates in this form from the edge towards the centre” [0182], “This can be achieved by a special adaptation of the moving colour-band device to modify the continuous scale into a graduated scale”; it is noted since the changing color for pixels are gradually and continuously from outside to center, the current pixel that are changing are the additional pixels relative to the previous pixel(s) changed; it is noted when changing color gradually from outside toward center it is in a concentric pattern).
Brockwell and Herf are analogous since both of them are dealing with adjusting display content on display device based on timed period. Herf provided a way of adjusting the output display content based on the historical usage. Brockwell provided a way of adjusting display gradually from outmost to center region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate displaying content color changing methodology taught by Brockwell into modified invention of Herf such that system will be able to gradually adjust the color for displaying content from outermost region to inner region which will provide smooth transition of displaying at the same time provide user with proper alert when time approaching the end of display period which is more user friendly viewing environment.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of Claim 10 under Nonstatutory Double Patenting are withdrawn in view of Applicant amendment to the Claim 10.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 11, 15, 18, filed on 12/08/2025, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In regard to Claims 2-8, 10, 12-14, 16-17, 19-20, they directly/indirectly depends on independent Claim 1, 11, 15, 18 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than the independent claim 1, 11, 15, 18. The limitations in those claims in conjunction with combination previously established as explained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 filed on 12/08/2025, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art combination does not teaches “wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels as the end time approaches comprises ... progressively adjusting color values for groups of the additional pixels corresponding to concentric regions of a display, such that color values of the groups of additional pixels in an outermost region are adjusted first, and as the end time further approaches, color values of the groups of additional pixels in one or more inner regions are successively adjusted”.
In response to the argument, prior art Herf teaches in Colum 12, Line 9-15, Column 6, Line 35-38, Column 13, Line 5-10 that color values are modified based on the video length which teaches the limitation “adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels as the time approaches”. Prior art Xu teaches in Paragraph [0090], [0119] that the determination of even is based on the scheduled time approach which in combine with Herf teaches the limitation “wherein the adjusting the one or more color values of additional pixels as the end time approaches comprises”. Prior art Brockwell teaches in Paragraph [0117], [0176], [0177], [0182] that pixels color is changed from edge toward center gradually and since the pixels currently changing is relative to the additional pixels that previous changed so the Brockwell teaches the rest of the claim limitations. Hence the combination of the prior arts fully anticipate all the limitation in Claim 9. Therefore, applicant argument cannot be considered persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20080252794 A1 Display device and color adjustment method thereof, and method for displaying video signal
US 20100310164 A1 Color image or video processing
US 4998292 A Programming method and/or equipment for audio or video appliances
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614