DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 4/1/2026 is received and reviewed. Claims 1, 12, 13 and 16 are amended and claims 18 and 19 are newly submitted. The amendment to the specification is entered. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position as in claims 1 and 16.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position of claims 1 and 16 and the intermediate position defined by engagement of a detent mechanism (claims 18 and 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 1 and 16 recite “the intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position”. It’s unclear what a defined retentive position is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, and 15-17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Soto et al. (Soto, U.S. 5,914,816). Soto discloses the invention as claimed. Soto teaches a pivot assembly 10 for pivoting a viewing device 14 in relation to a helmet 12, the pivot assembly comprising: a connection plate 24 configured to be coupled to a helmet interface assembly; a hinge barrel 70 pivotable about a pivot axis in relation to said connection plate 24 among (a) a deployed position in which said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate in positive, locking retention (Figure 1 shows the deployed position with hinge barrel 70 held relative to plate 24 in positively, locking retention as plunger 96 is held within detent 100); (b) a stowed position in which said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate in positive, locking retention (Figure 2 shows the stowed position with plunger 96 held within detent 102); and (c) an intermediate position between said deployed and stowed positions, the intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position as Soto teaches the hinge barrel is retained in the intermediate position, considered as a defined retentive position, until application of an actuating force as outlined herein, wherein said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate by a threshold retentive force and wherein displacement of the hinge barrel from the intermediate position relative to the connection plate requires application of an actuating force which exceeds the threshold retentive force. Column 5, lines 34-41 disclose the spring pressure (plungers 96 are spring-biased in a frictional relationship with the shaft of the barrel 70) is such that the friction between the balls and the shaft is sufficient to retain the night vision goggle in a selected position even if the night vision goggle has not been fully rotated into the use or stowed position. In other words, the spring pressure should be sufficient to prevent a pivotal free fall of the night vision goggle should the user not detent the system in its stowed position. For claim 9, Soto teaches the pivot assembly of claim 1, further comprising a carriage assembly 50 coupled to the hinge barrel 70 via intermediate flange 72, the carriage assembly 50 configured to interface with the viewing device 14.
For claim 10, Soto teaches the pivot assembly of claim 9, further comprising the carriage assembly 50 comprises one or more rail members (shown in Fig.3 extending through openings in carriage/socket assembly 52) secured to the hinge barrel 70 (via intermediate flange 72) and a sliding carriage 52 configured to be selectively positioned on the one or more rail members for adjusting a distance between the viewing device and an eye of a user.
For claim 11, Soto teaches the pivot assembly of claim 1, further comprising a helmet interface assembly 40 coupled to the connection plate 24, the helmet interface assembly 40 configured to secure the pivot assembly to a helmet 12.
For claim 15, Soto teaches the pivot assembly of claim 1, further comprising a tilt adjustment assembly 104 for adjusting a tilt position of the viewing device 14 relative to an eye of a user.
For claim 16, Soto teaches a helmet mount apparatus for a viewing device, the helmet mount apparatus comprising a helmet interface assembly 40 configured to engage with a helmet 12, a pivot assembly 10 coupled to the helmet interface assembly 40, the pivot assembly 10 comprising a connection plate 24 configured to be coupled to a helmet interface assembly 40, a hinge barrel 70 pivotable about a pivot axis in relation to said connection plate 24 among (a) a deployed position in which said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate 24 in positive, locking retention (Figure 1 shows the deployed position with hinge barrel 70 held relative to plate 24 in positively, locking retention as plunger 96 is held within detent 100); (b) a stowed position in which said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate in positive, locking retention (Figure 2 shows the stowed position with plunger 96 held within detent 102); and (c) an intermediate position between said deployed and stowed positions, the intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position as Soto teaches the hinge barrel is retained in the intermediate position, considered as a defined retentive position, until application of an actuating force as outlined herein, wherein said hinge barrel is held relative to said connection plate by a threshold retentive force and wherein displacement of the hinge barrel from the intermediate position relative to the connection plate requires application of an actuating force which exceeds the threshold retentive force. Column 5, lines 34-41 disclose the spring pressure (plungers/balls 96 are spring-biased in a frictional relationship with the shaft of the barrel 70) is such that the friction between the balls and the shaft is sufficient to retain the night vision goggle in a selected position even if the night vision goggle has not been fully rotated into the use or stowed position. In other words, the spring pressure should be sufficient to prevent a pivotal free fall of the night vision goggle should the user not detent the system in its stowed position. A carriage assembly 50 is coupled to the pivot assembly 10, the carriage assembly 50 configured to engage with the viewing device 14.
For claim 17, Soto teaches the helmet mount apparatus of claim 16, in combination with the viewing device 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soto '816 in view of Teetzel et al. (U.S. 9,709,792). Soto discloses the invention substantially as claimed but doesn't teach the pivot assembly of claim 1, wherein the helmet interface assembly includes a breakaway mechanism configurable between a non-breakaway configuration and a breakaway configuration, wherein the helmet interface assembly is configured to securely lock to a mounting fixture disposed on the helmet when the breakaway mechanism is in the non-breakaway configuration and wherein the helmet interface assembly is configured to separate from the mounting fixture upon application of a predetermined force when the breakaway mechanism is in the breakaway configuration. Teetzel teaches a helmet interface assembly 116 including a breakaway mechanism 113 configurable (movable) between a non-breakaway configuration and a breakaway configuration, wherein the helmet interface assembly is configured to securely lock to a mounting fixture 114 disposed on the helmet when the breakaway mechanism 113 is in the non-breakaway configuration and wherein the helmet interface assembly 116 is configured to separate from the mounting fixture upon application of a predetermined force when the breakaway mechanism is in the breakaway configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Soto by substituting the quick release mechanism assembly 22 with the breakaway mechanism as taught by Teetzel, as the breakaway mechanism may prevent injury to the wearer in the event of entanglement or impact of the optical/viewing device and doesn't require a strap 30 for retention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soto in view of Teetzel as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of O'Connell (U.S. 11,229,252). Soto discloses the invention substantially as claimed but doesn't teach the pivot assembly of claim 13, wherein the mounting fixture is selected from the group consisting of a three-hole shroud and a one hole shroud. O'Connell teaches a helmet with a mounting fixture consisting of a three-hole shroud 36 with three holes 46. The shroud is configured to be coupled to a helmet and is a known retention system for an accessory device such as night vision goggles or a camera allowing for maintaining the accessory device to be in a stowed or use position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Soto to provide the mounting fixture as a three-hole shroud, as the shroud may be securely coupled to a helmet and the shroud is capable of receiving a retention element of the accessory device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 12, 18, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are considered. Applicant submits independent claims 1 and 16, as currently amended, distinguish patentably over Soto et al. as Soto’s disclosure that the friction between the ball plungers and the shaft may be sufficient to prevent free fall of the device when positioned between the detents merely reflects incidental frictional resistance encountered between two discrete detent-defined positions and therefore Soto doesn’t disclose, teach, or suggest an intermediate position that constitutes a defined retentive position. The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s remarks with regard to the newly added limitations to claims 1 and 16. The amended language “the intermediate position comprising a defined retentive position” doesn’t distinguish the claims over Soto, as the intermediate position is a functional recitation of the hinge barrel position as being pivotable about a pivot axis in relation to the connection plate and the position of the hinge barrel frictionally retained in an intermediate position between the deployed and stowed positions is considered to constitute a defined retentive position. Regarding Applicant’s argument that the third position (intermediate position?) is not merely a point along a continuum of motion, but a defined retentive position at which the hinge barrel is intentionally held and from which displacement requires overcoming a threshold retentive force, the Examiner submits that the defined retentive position is not disclosed in the specification such that the interpretation sought by Applicant is possible. Also note that the limitation doesn’t recite further structural language associated with a defined retentive position. The arguments to the rejections of the dependent claims under 35 USC 103 hinge upon the same arguments presented with regard to the 102(a)1 rejections.
Regarding the previously indicated drawing objection, this rejection is withdrawn based on Applicant’s response citing the US 8,739,313 incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732