DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). The priority date is 05/09/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on April 30, 2024 is being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS forms are attached with the instant office action.
Claims 1-7 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a cosmetic composition derived from a product of nature without significantly more, and a liposome with products of nature (Caffeine (Caffeine), Turmeric extract (Curcuma longa root extract), Amla extract (Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract), Saw Palmetto extract (Serenoa serrulata fruit extract), Rosemary extract (Rosmarinus officinalis leaf extract), Ginseng extract (Panax ginseng root extract), Pumpkin Seed extract (Cucurbita pepo extract), and French Maritime Pine Tree extract (Pinus pinaster bark extract). The claim recites, A cosmetic composition for inhibiting function of 5-alpha reductase in a scalp the composition comprising following active ingredients: Caffeine (Caffeine), Turmeric extract (Curcuma longa root extract), Amla extract (Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract), Saw Palmetto extract (Serenoa serrulata fruit extract), Rosemary extract (Rosmarinus officinalis leaf extract), Ginseng extract (Panax ginseng root extract), Pumpkin Seed extract (Cucurbita pepo extract), and French Maritime Pine Tree extract (Pinus pinaster bark extract) and the composition in a liposome. The first step of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within a statutory category (see MPEP 2106.03). Since claims 6 and 7 are directed to a composition for inhibiting function of 5-alpha reductase in a scalp skin, the claims are directed to compositions of matter.
Effective January 7, 2019, subject matter eligibility determinations under 35 U.S.C. § 101 follow the procedure explained in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No.4, 50-57), which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf. Applicants are kindly asked to review this guidance as well as MPEP 2106.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on December 16, 2014 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)), Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)) and Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co. - 333 U.S. 127 (1948)). (inter alia). See eg. MPEP 2106.04(b)
The Supreme Court has explained that the judicial exceptions reflect the Court’s view that abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena are "the basic tools of scientific and technological work", and are thus excluded from patentability because "monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2116, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). The Supreme Court’s concern that drives this "exclusionary principle" is pre-emption. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980. The Court has held that a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, laws of nature, or natural phenomena; i.e., one may not patent every "substantial practical application" of an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, even if the judicial exception is narrow.
While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1052, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Instead, questions of preemption are inherent in and resolved by the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (the Alice/Mayo test referred to by the Office as Steps 2A and 2B). It is necessary to evaluate eligibility using the Alice/Mayo test, because while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible.
Products of Nature: When a law of nature or natural phenomenon is claimed as a physical product, the courts have often referred to the exception as a "product of nature". Products of nature are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but they have been labeled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. See Myriad 133 S. Ct. at 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 (claims to isolated DNA held ineligible because they "claim naturally occurring phenomena" and are "squarely within the law of nature exception"); Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948) (claims to bacterial mixtures held ineligible as "manifestations of laws of nature" and "phenomena of nature"). Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis uses the terms "law of nature" and "natural phenomenon" as inclusive of "products of nature".
It is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. Instead, the key to the eligibility of all non-naturally occurring products is whether they possess markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A. Nature-based products, as used herein, include both eligible and ineligible products and merely refer to the types of products subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis used to identify product of nature exceptions.
The Markedly Different Characteristics Analysis
The markedly different characteristics analysis is part of Step 2A, because the courts use this analysis to identify product of nature exceptions. If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible. If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim is directed to a "product of nature" exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis in Step 2B to determine whether any additional elements in the claim add significantly more to the exception.
Nature-based Product Claim Analysis
Where the claim is to a nature-based product by itself, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the entire product. Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts. Where the claim is to a nature-based product in combination with non-nature based elements, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied only to the nature-based product limitation. For a product-by-process claims, the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart.
The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated based on what is recited in the claim on a case-by-case basis. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is a product of nature exception. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does have markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is not a product of nature exception. Because the markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, the first step in the analysis is to select the appropriate counterpart(s) to the nature-based product. When there are multiple counterparts to the nature-based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. When the nature-based product is a combination produced from multiple components, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components of the combination. Because there is no counterpart mixture in nature, the closest counterparts to the claimed mixture are the individual components of the mixture, i.e., each naturally occurring species by itself. See, e.g., Funk Bros., 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281 (comparing claimed mixture of bacterial species to each species as it occurs in nature).
Markedly changed characteristics can include structural, functional, chemical changes. In order to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2111, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart. If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
Step 1: Determine if the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. YES, the claims are directed to a composition of matter, which are statutory categories within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Step 2A: PRONG ONE: Evaluate whether the claim recites a Judicial Exception
(e.g., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea; see MPEP 2106.04). YES, the claims are product claims reciting something that appears to be a nature-based product (i.e., Caffeine (Caffeine), Turmeric extract (Curcuma longa root extract), Amla extract (Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract), Saw Palmetto extract (Serenoa serrulata fruit extract), Rosemary extract (Rosmarinus officinalis leaf extract), Ginseng extract (Panax ginseng root extract), Pumpkin Seed extract (Cucurbita pepo extract), and French Maritime Pine Tree extract (Pinus pinaster bark extract) which is not markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring counterpart (i.e., the individual nature-based products).
Because the claim states the nature-based products which are plant extracts the markedly different characteristics is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation to its natural counterpart.
The claim recites the naturally occurring components found within Caffeine (Caffeine), Turmeric extract (Curcuma longa root extract), Amla extract (Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract), Saw Palmetto extract (Serenoa serrulata fruit extract), Rosemary extract (Rosmarinus officinalis leaf extract), Ginseng extract (Panax ginseng root extract), Pumpkin Seed extract (Cucurbita pepo extract), and French Maritime Pine Tree extract (Pinus pinaster bark extract) plants. This equates to a plant extract. The process of creating a plant extract is by partitioning the starting plant material into separate compositions based upon some property. The closest naturally occurring counterparts of extracted components are those same components when found existing in the plant in an unseparated form, even when purified and/or concentrated because they are chemically identical to the extracted compounds/components. All of these are naturally occurring in nature and are not markedly different from its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. The properties of the nature-based product as claimed are not markedly different than the properties of these naturally occurring counterparts found in nature as these activities would inherently be found in the plant they come from. The components which would give the activities claimed in the instant invention would inherently do the same in nature as there has been nothing done in the instant invention that would make them act in any different way.
Step 2A prong two evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional recited elements in the claim beyond the judicial exception and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the plant extract composition is only comprising the nature-based components. The claims do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because in this context, such integration for a claimed product would be a physical form of the specific practical application instead of a more general composition that is not so limited.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these components and their activity are already found naturally occurring in nature and the addition of an intended use does not impart any added benefit to the compounds or integrate the composition into a practical application.
Step 2 B evaluates whether the claim as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)).
The claims as a whole do not amount to more than the recited exceptions because there aren’t any other additional elements to consider, which does not add an inventive concept to the claims. Thus, the claims are not eligible subject matter under current 35 U.S.C. 101 standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaa Youssef et. al. “A Comprehensive Review of Natural Alternatives for Treatment of Alopecia with an Overview of Market Products”, (Journal of Medicinal Food, J Med Food 25 (9) 2022, 869–881) in view of de Rijk, Jan (US 20090214628 A1).
In instant claim 1 recites, method for inhibiting function of 5-alpha reductase in a scalp skin, comprising topically applying to the scalp skin with a cosmetic composition, Yossef et.al. however, teaches, “natural and herbal hair loss products are widely available in the local and international markets in variable pharmaceutical forms with different mechanisms of action, namely, androgen antagonists, nutritional supplements, vasodilators, and 5a-reductase inhibitors or dihydrotestosterone blockers. Thus, it is of great importance to encourage researchers to investigate these natural alternatives that can act as potent therapeutic agents having diverse mechanisms of action as well as limited side effects, (Abstract, lines 4-8); red ginseng (Panax ginseng) rhizome extract showed inhibitory activity on 5 alpha-reductase (Discussion Pg. 873 bottom right column), Rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis) leaf extract and 12-methoxycarnosic acid were reported to improve hair regrowth by inhibiting the binding of DHT to androgen receptors.44 Finally, saw palmetto (Serenoa repens) and its active constituents including b-sitosterol and fatty acids were reported to have 5 alpha-reductase inhibitory effects as well, (Discussion Pg. 872 top left column), Amla (Phyllanthus emblica) fruit extract is considered a major hair nutritional herb owing to its high content of vitamin C and its antioxidant effects, and was reported in several herbal drug combinations for hair loss, (Discussion Pg. 873 bottom right column), 3. Coffee (Coffea arabica) Caffeine, 75% extract of coffee residues, Increase in rate of hair growth and hair weight with the activity attributed to caffeine; Curcuma rhizome (Curcuma longa) Curcumin, DHT blocker, Curcumin analogs showed antiandrogen activity through 5 alpha Reductase inhibition mechanism; Pumpkin seed oil (Cucurbita spp.), Phytoestrogens in pumpkin are reported to have estrogenic-like properties and could also exert an effect in a hormone-dependent disease such as alopecia, 5 alpha-reductase inhibitor; Red ginseng(Panax ginseng), Ginsenoside, red ginseng oil, Inhibitory activity on 5a-reductase; Rosemary leaves (Rosmarinusofficinalis), 5 alpha-reductase inhibitor; Saw palmetto berries (Serenoa repens) 5 alpha-reductase inhibitor (Discussion Table 2. Reported Herbal Remedies for Alopecia, Their Chemical Constituents, Concentration, and Mechanism of Action, pg.873)”.
Youssef discloses the method of applying each of the components to a scalp and therefore it would have been obvious to make the composition with all the components together for ease of delivery to the scalp. Additionally, since the active step of applying these components to the scalp are the same as currently claimed for each component that Yosussef et. al. teaches in the reference renders obvious the claimed invention of applying a cosmetic composition including all the components, because a person skilled in the art would have been motivated to make a single composition for ease of use of application.
Although Youssef et. al., does not explicitly teach French Maritime Pine Tree extract (Pinus pinaster bark extract), however, de Rijk ‘628, teaches “the compositions of the present invention include an antimicrobial agent. "Antimicrobial agent" as used herein is a compound that kills microorganisms or prevents or inhibits their growth or reproduction… pinus pinaster bark extract” (Antimicrobial agents [para. 0242]),” (as recited in claims 1 and 6). Additionally, de Rijk ‘628 teaches, “a composition and method for improving the appearance or condition of skin is provided wherein an effective amount of the composition described herein in a pharmaceutically or cosmetically-acceptable topical carrier is applied to the surface of the skin or to the scalp using a hair care product (Brief Summary of Invention [para. 0019]),” (as in instant claim 1).
Furthermore, In instant claims 3,4 and 7, recite composition includes liposome, de Rijk ‘628, teaches “One acceptable vehicle for topical delivery of some of the compositions of this invention, particularly those which include proteins, may contain liposomes, described composition may be prepared by combining the desired components in a suitable container and mixing them under ambient conditions in any conventional high shear mixing means well known in the art for non-ionic liposomes preparations (Topical Delivery Via liposomes [para. 0164]). Furthermore, de Rijk ‘628, teaches “Compositions according to the invention comprise a buffer or pH adjuster. Buffers or pH adjusters that may be used include weak acids and bases such sodium hydroxide, citric acid, (Carriers [para. 0320]), (as in instant claim 4e); The compositions of the invention also provide visible improvements in skin condition following chronic topical application of the composition. Typically, applications would be on the order of about once per day over such extended periods, however application rates can vary from about once per week up to about three times per day or more, (Method of regulating skin conditions [para. 0255]), (as instant claim 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant applications effective filing date to have provided a method and a cosmetic composition for inhibiting function of 5-alpha reductase in a skin, because Youssef et. al., and de Rijk. teaches providing the composition for skin with the active ingredients recited in claims 1 to 7 that inhibit 5-alpha reductase.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine the compositions each of which are taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form another composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining the teachings from the references, flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success to achieve the cosmetic composition for inhibiting 5-alpha reductase, because the cited references teach providing the composition in a similar manner for providing cosmetic composition, and because, success merely requires preparing the composition thereof, especially in the absence of the criticality of some undisclosed features, or unexpected results.
Youssef et. al. and de Rijk ‘628 are relied upon for the reasons to prepare a cosmetic composition for 5-alpha reductase on the skin. While Youssef et al. and de Rijk ‘628 may not disclose certain percent solutions, it is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization of adjusting pH which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filled. As evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALPA NILESH AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655