DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments:
Applicant's amendments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered. Claim 1-19 remain pending in the application. The Applicant amended claim language and scope of the claims to overcome previous rejection. Accordingly, the amendment necessitated new search and new references of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1-19 under 35 USC § 103 as unpatentable is maintained.
In response to applicant's argument on page 11 with regard to claim 1: Applicant stated that A prima facie case of obviousness has not been established. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The combination of Trichopoulos, and Gummadi still read on the independent claim 1.
Trichopoulos discloses:
obtaining an environment image, the environment image including environmental location information of a base station and a terminal; [0033] In some examples, a three-dimensional (3D) image of the environment around the antenna (or antenna array) is produced. …The image processing includes constructing a map of line-of-sight (LOS) and non-line-of-sight (NLOS) objects in the environment by distinguishing NLOS objects and correctly projecting their positions relative to the LOS objects.
[0036] FIG. 1A is a schematic diagram of an environment 10 around an antenna array 12 for an imaging system 14 according to embodiments of the present disclosure. Whereas Figure 1 read on the environment image, including the terminal 16; antenna array or base station [0040] by using the same hardware as a wireless communication system. For example, the antenna array 12 can be implemented in a base station (BS).
based on the environmental location information in the environment image, determining obstacle information on a direct path from the base station to the terminal; [0037] One of the key enablers in this approach is the ability of the imaging system 14 to provide images for NLOS areas, including NLOS areas seen through multiple reflections, without requiring a priori knowledge of the geometry of the environment 10. In this regard, many surfaces 18 in the environment 10 (e.g., building surfaces and surfaces of other solid objects) exhibit roughness comparable to wavelengths of certain electromagnetic waves (e.g., mmWaves), The imaging system 14 read on this feature, wherein the system determining the image environment including obstacle information such as building and other solid objects.
in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining a target edge point of the obstacle; [0063] In greater detail, operation 804 includes sub-operation 808, with mapping an LOS object based on a scattering of the plurality of RF signals indicated in the response signal. Operation 804 continues at sub-operation 810, with identifying an NLOS object from the response signal. Operation 804 and 810 read on this feature of the claim.
Similarly, Gummandi discloses:
based on the target edge point, determining an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a target beam between the base station and the terminal (line 31-42 page 8 or paragraph (31)) The UE 105 may measure one or more of a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), a Receive-Transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference, an Angle of Arrival (AOA), a Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), an Angle of Departure (ADD), a Reference Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). In the case of OTDOA, UE 105 may measure a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) between signals such as a position reference signal (PRS), Cell specific Reference Signal (CRS), or Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) transmitted by nearby pairs of transceivers and base stations (e.g. gNBs 110).) Read on the emission angle, incidence angle and propagation distance.
the target beam being a strongest beam of all beams between the base station and the terminal; Page 13 line 60-63: UE 105 can measure the received signal power of each PRS beam using Rx beam 404a, 404b or 404c.
And Page 14 line 3-5: the signal power measured by UE 105 will be highest using Rx beam 404b
determining whether beam strength information between the base station and the terminal is obtained; (page 13 line 55- page 14 line 25) Beam latching, also referred to as RxTx pairing, is illustrated FIG. 4. Assume, as an example, that PRS beam 402c in FIG. 4 can be received LOS by UE 105 and that other PRS beams 402a, 402b, 402d and 402e cannot be received LOS by UE 105….. Alternatively, UE 105 may report some or all of the signal measurements for the different Cxz (RxTx) combinations to a location server such as LMF 152 which may perform the same type of evaluation.
in response to obtaining the beam strength information, determining a strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; (page 13 line 19-22) By finding the Rx beam and associated angles of azimuth and elevation that maximize received signal strength, the UE 105 is able to measure an AOA. and
based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, the propagation distance and the strength feature, determining a target beam direction. (page 13 line 48-51) The measured AOA of the Tx beam is the angle of the paired Rx beam. Using the AOA of the Rx beam or the AOD of the TX beam, the direction between the UE 105 and base station 110-1 can be estimated.
Subsequently, the dependent claims are rejected as shown below in detail.
Regarding new claim 19: Combination of Trichopoulos and Gummadi still read on the features of claim 19. Please see the rejection detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 10, 12, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Trichopoulos et al. (Hereinafter “Trichopoulos”, US 20200163040), in view of Gummadi et al. (Hereinafter “Gummadi”, US11619702).
Regarding claim 1, and 10, Trichopoulos disclose: An intelligent beam prediction method and system comprising a processor configured to:
The exemplary computer system 900 in this embodiment includes a processing device 902 or processor, a main memory 904. As described in paragraph [0066]).
Trichopoulos further discloses:
obtaining an environment image, the environment image including environmental location information of a base station and a terminal; [0033] In some examples, a three-dimensional (3D) image of the environment around the antenna (or antenna array) is produced. …The image processing includes constructing a map of line-of-sight (LOS) and non-line-of-sight (NLOS) objects in the environment by distinguishing NLOS objects and correctly projecting their positions relative to the LOS objects.
[0036] FIG. 1A is a schematic diagram of an environment 10 around an antenna array 12 for an imaging system 14 according to embodiments of the present disclosure. Whereas Figure 1 read on the environment image, including the terminal 16; antenna array or base station [0040] by using the same hardware as a wireless communication system. For example, the antenna array 12 can be implemented in a base station (BS).
based on the environmental location information in the environment image, determining obstacle information on a direct path from the base station to the terminal; [0037] One of the key enablers in this approach is the ability of the imaging system 14 to provide images for NLOS areas, including NLOS areas seen through multiple reflections, without requiring a priori knowledge of the geometry of the environment 10. In this regard, many surfaces 18 in the environment 10 (e.g., building surfaces and surfaces of other solid objects) exhibit roughness comparable to wavelengths of certain electromagnetic waves (e.g., mmWaves), The imaging system 14 read on this feature, wherein the system determining the image environment including obstacle information such as building and other solid objects.
in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining a target edge point of the obstacle; [0063] In greater detail, operation 804 includes sub-operation 808, with mapping an LOS object based on a scattering of the plurality of RF signals indicated in the response signal. Operation 804 continues at sub-operation 810, with identifying an NLOS object from the response signal. Operation 804 and 810 read on this feature of the claim.
an emitter configured to emit the target beam based on the target beam direction; and a receiver configured to receive the target beam.
(i.e., The mapping device includes an antenna and a transceiver configured to receive a response signal to a plurality of transmitted radio frequency (RF) signals via the antenna. As described in paragraph [0011]).
Trichopoulos discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
based on the target edge point, determining an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a target beam between the base station and the terminal, the target beam being a strongest beam of all beams between the base station and the terminal.
determining whether beam strength information between the base station and the terminal is obtained.
in response to obtaining the beam strength information, determining a strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; and
based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, the propagation distance and the strength feature, determining a target beam direction.
Similarly, Gummandi discloses:
based on the target edge point, determining an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a target beam between the base station and the terminal ( paragraph (31) in text) The UE 105 may measure one or more of a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), a Receive-Transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference, an Angle of Arrival (AOA), a Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), an Angle of Departure (ADD), a Reference Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). In the case of OTDOA, UE 105 may measure a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) between signals such as a position reference signal (PRS), Cell specific Reference Signal (CRS), or Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) transmitted by nearby pairs of transceivers and base stations (e.g. gNBs 110).) Read on the emission angle, incidence angle and propagation distance.
the target beam being a strongest beam of all beams between the base station and the terminal; Page 13 line 60-63, or paragraph (51) in text): UE 105 can measure the received signal power of each PRS beam using Rx beam 404a, 404b or 404c.
And paragraph (51) in text): the signal power measured by UE 105 will be highest using Rx beam 404b
determining whether beam strength information between the base station and the terminal is obtained; (paragraph (51) in text)) Beam latching, also referred to as RxTx pairing, is illustrated FIG. 4. Assume, as an example, that PRS beam 402c in FIG. 4 can be received LOS by UE 105 and that other PRS beams 402a, 402b, 402d and 402e cannot be received LOS by UE 105… Alternatively, UE 105 may report some or all of the signal measurements for the different Cxz (RxTx) combinations to a location server such as LMF 152 which may perform the same type of evaluation.
in response to obtaining the beam strength information, determining a strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; (paragraph (51) in text)) By finding the Rx beam and associated angles of azimuth and elevation that maximize received signal strength, the UE 105 is able to measure an AOA. and
based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, the propagation distance and the strength feature, determining a target beam direction. (paragraph (48) in text)) The measured AOA of the Tx beam is the angle of the paired Rx beam. Using the AOA of the Rx beam or the AOD of the TX beam, the direction between the UE 105 and base station 110-1 can be estimated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 3, and 12, Trichopoulos and Gummadi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above
In similar endeavor, Gummadi further discloses: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes:
determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48)).
And determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. (i.e., the location of the UE 105 may be obtained by triangulation from the intersection point of the three center PRSs or the intersection area of the three PRS beams. As described in paragraph (23) ).
Regarding claim 4, and 13, Trichopoulos and Gummadi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above
In similar endeavor, Gummadi further discloses:
further comprising:
in response to not obtaining an environment image, obtaining beam strength information between the base station and the terminal; (i.e., The UE 105 may measure one or more of a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), a Receive-Transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference, an Angle of Arrival (AOA), a Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), an Angle of Departure (ADD), a Reference Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). As described in paragraph (31) ).
based on strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information, determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48) ).
And determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. (i.e., the location of the UE 105 may be obtained by triangulation from the intersection point of the three center PRSs or the intersection area of the three PRS beams. As described in paragraph (23) ).
Regarding claim 7, and 16, Trichopoulos and Gummadi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Gummadi further discloses:
wherein determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam between the base station and the terminal based on the target edge point includes:
determining an angle from the base station to the target edge point as the emission angle; (i.e., Obtaining a differential Angle of Departure (DAOD) for the pair of directed beams transmitted by the at least one base station. As described in paragraph (6) ).
determining an angle from the target edge point to the terminal as the incidence angle; (i.e., obtaining a differential Angle of Arrival (DAOA) for a pair of directed beams transmitted by at least one base station; As described in paragraph (6)).
And Trichopoulos further discloses:
determining a sum of distances of paths from the base station to the target edge point and from the target edge point to the terminal as the propagation distance. (i.e., Note that when the wireless device 16 is in NLOS, the range {circumflex over (r)} does not represent the actual distance of the wireless device 16 from the center of the antenna array 12, but rather the total travelling distance from the wireless device 16 to the antenna array 12 through the (multiple) reflections. As described in paragraph [0051] ).
Regarding claim 19, Trichopoulos and Gummadi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Gummadi further discloses: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes:
receiving a horizontal direction model of the emission beam, a vertical direction model of the emission beam, and a reception beam model, the horizontal direction model of the emission beam being configured to predict a horizontal direction corresponding to a strongest beam in the horizontal directions of the emission beams, the vertical direction model of the mission beam being configured to predict a vertical direction corresponding to the strongest beam in the vertical directions of the emission beams, the reception beam model being configured to predict a reception direction corresponding to the strongest beam in the reception directions of the reception beams. ( i.e., The UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. Rx beam matching is the inverse of beam forming. By finding the Rx beam and associated angles of azimuth and elevation that maximize received signal strength, the UE 105 is able to measure an AOA. As described in paragraph (48)).
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Trichopoulos et al. ( Hereinafter “Trichopoulos”, US 20200163040), in view of Gummadi et al. (Hereinafter “Gummadi”, US11619702), and further ), in view of CHANG (Hereinafter “Chang”, WO 2022001479).
Regarding claim 5, and 14 Trichopoulos and Gummadi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
further comprising, after determining the obstacle information on the direct path from the base station to the terminal based on the environment location information:
in response to the obstacle information indicating that no obstacle is on the direct path, determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam based on the direct path.
In similar endeavor, Chang discloses: further comprising, after determining the obstacle information on the direct path from the base station to the terminal based on the environment location information:
in response to the obstacle information indicating that no obstacle is on the direct path, determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam based on the direct path. (i.e., If there is no occlusion, the base station calculates the straight-line path distance and angle between the base station and the UE according to the coordinates, and controls the base station antenna to send a shaped beam to the UE. As described on page 18 line 10-13 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chang into the invention of Trichopoulos and Gummadi in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 6, and 15 Trichopoulos, Gummadi, and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Chang further discloses: wherein in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining the target edge point based on the obstacle includes:
determining edge points visible in a straight line from the base station to the terminal based on edge information of the obstacle; (i.e., if there is an occlusion, the 3D model is used to find the Find out the reflection or scattering path between the base station and the UE, determine the best reflection or scattering path and reflection/scattering point. As described on page 18 line 13-16 ).
And based on path information from each edge point to the base station and the terminal, determining the target edge point. (i.e., and determine the length of the path and the position and angle of the reflection/scattering point; As described on page 18 line 13-16 ).
Regarding claim 8, and 17 Trichopoulos, Gummadi and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Chang further discloses: further comprising, after obtaining the environment image:
detecting the environmental location information of the base station and the terminal; (i.e., Detect the target moving object by using the active detection perception signal and/or the passive detection perception signal, and track the position change of the target moving object according to the detection result of the target moving object. As described on page 16 line 4-6 ).
And in response to the environmental location information changing, updating the environment image based on the environment location information. (i.e., The three-dimensional environment model is updated according to the position change of the target moving object. As described on page 16 line 7-8 ).
Regarding claim 9, and 18 Trichopoulos, Gummadi and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Gummadi further discloses: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes:
receiving a horizontal direction model of the emission beam, a vertical direction model of the emission beam, and a reception beam model, the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model updating based on an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a sampled beam and strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48) ).
Chang also further discloses: inputting the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam and/or the strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information into the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model to obtain a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; (i.e., the outline and orientation information are input into the model building software, and the outline and orientation information are entered according to the outline and orientation information. As described on page 15 line 38-43 ).
And Gummadi further discloses: based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam, determining the target beam direction. (i.e., The measured AOA of the Tx beam is the angle of the paired Rx beam. Using the AOA of the Rx beam or the AOD of the TX beam, the direction between the UE 105 and base station 110-1 can be estimated. As described in paragraph (50) ).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644